24 Bar & Grill

3.8
199 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top tags:
  • Special Occasions
  • Casual
  • Good for a Date
The newest addition to Manchester's burgeoning food and drink scene, 24 Bar & Grill looks to provide a strong sense of provenance,
locality & community to its patrons and is dedicated to serving good
food at good value to good people. We combine the best qualities of a dine­ in or take­out lunch stop and an evening spot that welcomes
patrons for unique small plates, locally sourced meats and fresh entrees or an after­work drink among friends from the impressive
cocktail, wine and craft beer lists. The menu boasts fine, casual foods combined to impress. From North West reared beef or home ground
chuck steak burger, the food invites patrons to enjoy a moment of indulgence. With the current economy in mind, we are striving to
create a sense of belonging in their corner of Manchester, and it is that very culinary experience that will put patrons at ease, invite them to
stay, and keep them coming back.

Special Offers

Summer menu: 2/3 courses £18/£22

From the Summer menu.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 10 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 10 people

Starts: 19 December 2018

Ends: 31 August 2019

Availability: Sun 12:00-21:00
Mon-Sat 12:00-22:00

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1,000 point tables

Sun 12:00PM - 9:00PM
Mon - Sat 12:00PM - 10:00PM

What 199 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
3.9
food
3.9
service
3.6
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
71% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
HM
Manchester
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 2food 3service 3ambience 1

The food and service was ok but there was nobody in. It has zero atmosphere.

K
1 review
Dined on 10 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Was the nicest meal out in Mcr in ages!
Good choice of food on menus, lovely staff 2 for 1 cocktails until 8pm 👍

SJ
Manchester
12 reviews
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

The food was nice but nothing special. We visited as part of restaurant week but the offer wasn't on the menu and a different menu with different prices on was shown to us when we came to order dessert. We had to ask for a spoon for my soup and for some more cutlery for the main when they weren't automatically brought. There are much better places you can eat in Manchester for a similar price and better food and service.

K
London
18 reviews
Dined on 17 July 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 1

We were knackered from travel and thought the hotel restaurant would be a good shout. Wrong...the 'medium rare' fillet was charcoal so it was sent back. First time I've ever done that.

The sides were incredibly bland. In short, I can cook the same meal to a higher standard and I can assure you that nobody would pay restaurant prices for my cooking!

If you have the time to dine elsewhere, please do.

The place was almost completely empty, now I know why.

PM
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 12 July 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 2

Food was average little overpriced. The place was really quiet no atmosphere. The waitress was lovely and very attentive.

DA
Manchester
27 reviews
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 1

I don't know whether this was a bad day but our experience was very poor. We ordered a dish from the nibbles menu expecting it to come straight away but when I asked when they would arrive I was told firmly that they came with the starters which we thought very odd and wouldn't have ordered the dish at all if we had know. We ordered chicken croquettes as a starter but the waitress told us don't have it - it's not our best and tried to push the prawn starter. We didn't have the chicken but didn't have the prawn either but I thought this was very unprofessional - just get us the croquettes and let us decide. We were the only people in the restaurant but it still took 25 minutes to bring the starters - the mains arrived immediately after the starters with hardly any gap!! The chicken should have been garlic flavoured but I could not taste any garlic and did not like the burnt flat leaf parsley it was smothered in. The fish was nice but the mushy peas had been microwaved to death - were molten hot but also dried up around the side of the pot they came in. The coleslaw was not at all nice and the battered onion strings were in fact onion rings clearly previously frozen - slaw and onion rings tasted very cheap and did not taste cooked in house. As we sat waiting for our starters there were waiting staff just standing around chatting in an empty restaurant - it gave a very bad impression - we won't come back.

EG
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 14 June 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 2

Food was great, very well presented and tasted amazing. 2 4 1 cocktails before 8 was also a big plus. The only down side was the lack of people there, only 3 tables were taken including ourselves which was a shame.

SS
London
1 review
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 5

Lovely decor in the bar and restaurant, 2-for-1 cocktail deal was great value too.

Food was nice

OT
1 review
Dined on 1 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Spice Girls concert pre-meal!

Report
SH
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 11 May 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 3

A lovely find and would definitely recommend it was a shame we where the only diners !

OT
1 review
Dined on 4 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had a nice meal will definitely go again we were very surprised there wasn't more people in has we could not fault anything

JR
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 20 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Limited choices on the menu, but it was a deal and all of us were sorted eventually. (The waiter asked the chef for some minor adjustments to one of the dishes due to dietary requirements. ) The food was tasty.

MJ
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 12 April 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

Enjoyed food ver much. (We have been before)Our only complaint nobody to greet you on arrival hung around nearly 10 mins. Another couple arrived and they had the same experience. Nobody there for some time.

MI
Lancashire
1 review
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 3

Staff amazing. Food mediocre but can't complain as it was excellent value for money.

R
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Gorgeous food, outstanding service overall perfect evening meal !

PR
London
1 review
Dined on 29 March 2019
Overall 1food 1service 2ambience 1

Chips arrived cold had to send back. Not.much food for you money. Would not go again.

f
Manchester
20 reviews
Dined on 16 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

I hadn't visited this restaurant for a very long time due poor quality food and service. I was very please to see vast improvements in all areas. I will definitely be returning again soon.

24 Bar & Grill
Responded on 22 March 2019

Dear finedinequeen, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that since your last visit we have improved and both food and service were a lot better. We are looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Kind Regards, Izabela Redzik Food and Beverage Manager

Report
MD
London
1 review
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We both had sirloin steak and it was one of the best steaks we have ever had. And the 50% off with the open table offer made the whole meal excellent value for money.

24 Bar & Grill
Responded on 9 March 2019

Dear MelD, Thank you for such a great feedback. We are pleased you have taken the advantage and tried our -50% off ALC menu offer with Opentable and enjoyed your steaks that day. We are looking forward to have you dining with us again here at 24 Bar and Grill. Kind Regards, Izabela Redzik Food and Beverage Manager

Report
H
Manchester
104 reviews
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall 3food 4service 4ambience 4

I had the winter set menu and although the food was good and the waiter was very friendly and helpful, plus the decor was lovely, the experience was marred by me being the only dined in the restaurant. Nevertheless it was lunch time. Next time I will try their Lawn Coffee shop in the hotel

24 Bar & Grill
Responded on 9 March 2019

Dear Helen, Thank you for your recent review. We are very happy you were pleased with the food, service and the decor. We can't wait to have you trying our LAWN Coffee Shop in the near future. Kind Regards, Izabela Redzik Food and Beverage Manager

Report
AN
1 review
Dined on 23 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Apart from the small menu (ie not much to choose from on the set menu) it was absolutely beautiful and myself, my partner and our guests all agreed. Top notch.

24 Bar & Grill
Responded on 9 March 2019

Dear AnthonyN, Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed their meal. Our new Spring menu will be available in the next couple of weeks, we would love to see you back and trying it out this time. Kind Regards, Izabela Redzik Food and Beverage Manager

Report
T
1 review
Dined on 21 February 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 1

Great value for money when dining with an offer of 50% off when having a starter and a main. From there on we walked into the entrance and walked down to the restaurant in a bland soulless hallway. The first impression is everything as the saying goes. As we were greeted by an employee prior to entering into the actual dining area we were not asked if we would like for our bags and coats to be taken. The restaurant was too bright and no customers present. Music was incompatible and the restaurant looked more like a banquet room (have some paintings on the hallway to give it some character, dim the lights, have some candles on the tables, introduce a cloakroom and implement a playlist of soft uplifting music).
In regards to the food, I had the supergrain salad which had pieces of blue roll (apparently they dry the spinach with a blue roll which evidently is a wrong practice). For a main I had the half chicken which was a generous portion and appeared very appealing. The fat chips that accompanied the course were delicious however a bit overcooked and the chicken even though was nice it could do with the skin being more crispy rather than soft and soggy. Nevertheless, two people with 2 courses each and sharing a dessert including service charge and 2 drinks for the price of 35 pounds is great value for money. The restaurant can go a long way with some minor changes, especially on ambiance.

24 Bar & Grill
Responded on 9 March 2019

Dear pavlosT, Thank you for your comments. I have passed all food related suggestions to our kitchen team. We would like to inform you that we are in fact planning a refurbishment in our restaurant withing the next few months so overall atmosphere in the restaurant will definitely improve. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Izabela Redzik Food and Beverage Manager

Report
r
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 2

Nice experience here. One of the only negatives was how quiet it was for a Saturday night. Think it would benefit from having some background music in the dining area. It seemed like everyone could hear your conversation. Lovely food and a nice hidden gem. Staff friendly.

24 Bar & Grill
Responded on 9 March 2019

Dear richardm, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food and the service was friendly and attentive. We are looking forward to seeing you soon again here at 24 Bar and Grill. Kind Regards, Izabela Redzik Food and Beverage Manager

Report
UP
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2019
Overall 2food 4service 1ambience 3

Oh Dear!
Went on Valentines and the staff looked and behaved they had been to a funeral. . . . . .terrible and very blase staff . . . . it was a horrible atmosphere everytime a staff member appeared in sight, not happy at work and did not want to be there.
Thankfully, the food was great, really good, and the room is set out really well . . . great cutomers in the dining area . . but the staff and service, they would be rejected in McDonalds for lack of tact and non-sttentive of caring attitude.
While we were finising off we were told there was no-chance of any desert as the kitchen was closed (9.46pm) next to us two tabels were still being served their mains . . ..this was not the top hat, we got ready to leave and as these two (Romantic) couples were trying to have an intimate dinner, the members of staff started to drag tables accross the floor to set up for breakfast . . . . AWFUL. . . what are they thinking . . . . terrible attaitude and not a care for who is paying to be there. . . . . . . .. . we wnt onto Gaucho fro drinks where the service was amazing . . and the contrast could not be more extreme . . . I have to say hand-on-heart . . what a shame . . . . 24 Bar & Grill could be something great, but it is just annoying as it behaves like a travelodge canteen not a retaurant! . . D-I-S-A-P-P-O-I-N-T-E-D!!!!

24 Bar & Grill
Responded on 9 March 2019

Dear UPENDERM, Thank you for the recent feedback regarding your visit in the restaurant. I am sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not get everything correct during your visit. I would like to be able to talk to you more about this is you are able to contact me on 0161 238 4348. Kind Regards, Izabela Redzik Food and Beverage Manager

Report
MT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 9 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Nice quiet ambience! Fantastic food, Attentive staff. Would recommend to all

24 Bar & Grill
Responded on 9 March 2019

Dear MatthewT, Thank you very much for all for your review. It is lovely to hear that you do recommend us to everyone. We are looking forward to have you dining with us again soon. Kind Regards, Izabela Redzik Food and Beverage Manager

Report
RB
1 review
Dined on 5 February 2019
Overall 1food 1service 3ambience 1

The chicken served by the restaurant was raw and whilst the wait staff were friendly, the manager was rude and told us it was fine to eat - the waiting staff agreed that it was wholly inedible and "they'd never seen anything like that before". We left after this as we weren't comfortable that the rest of the food would be cooked well enough - the manager stated that she was "doing us a favour by not charging us for the raw food". So, If you want to risk getting ill from raw food and want to deal with bad management, go here - if not, I'd suggest going somewhere else.

SG
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 2 February 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Fantastic service. Enjoyed ourselves a lot. Thank you.

24 Bar & Grill
Responded on 9 March 2019

Dear Shaun G, Thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed yourself that day and the service was very good as well. We can't wait to see you again here at 24 Bar and Grill. Kind Regards, Izabela Redzik Food and Beverage Manager

Report
M
London
118 reviews
Dined on 21 January 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

A great find! Lovely decor and atmosphere, food was perfect for me and my son. Traditional food, good for families.

24 Bar & Grill
Responded on 9 March 2019

Dear Mark, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us. We are very pleased you have enjoyed the food and the atmosphere at the restaurant. We are hoping you will return to dine with us again soon. Kind Regards, Izabela Redzik Food and Beverage Manager

Report
OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 19 January 2019
Overall 3food 4service 4ambience 2

Food was good quality. The service was very good - we had a very attentive waiter named Ziggy who couldn’t do enough. The atmosphere was lacking as the restaurant was empty but it does deserve to be busier and represented great value for money.

24 Bar & Grill
Responded on 9 March 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the food and service by our waiter Ziggy was efficient and attentive. We are hoping to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Izabela Redzik Food and Beverage Manager

Report
NG
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 29 December 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great service and a lovely festive afternoon tea. Food was fresh and beautifully presented. Chloe the waitress couldn't do enough for us. Children's afternoon tea was great too. Well worth a visit.

OT
1 review
Dined on 12 December 2018
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

It’s cheap. It’s available for a last minute booking. There’s a reason for that.

SM
Glasgow
1 review
Dined on 8 December 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Stumbled across this one on Google for our visit to Manchester, and couldn't fault it....... If we're back in town we'll definitely be back!

SJ
1 review
Dined on 1 December 2018
Overall 2food 3service 2ambience 3

Restaurant wasn't particularly full or busy and the service was very slow, both on drinks and in waiting for sides for our meal- our main dish had gone cold by the time forgotten sides arrived

OT
1 review
Dined on 1 December 2018
Overall 2food 5service 1ambience 4

It was clear that the staff were stretched here. We waited over an hour for our first course and that again nearly for the plates to be taken away. However, the food was nice.

AA
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 1 December 2018
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 4

Super-attentive staff who did everything a good team should. Good value well executed bistro style food. Will visit again.

D
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on 27 October 2018
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 3

Food was not great. Steak was overdone to what was asked for. Found a fly in my drink and there was no sincerity from the staff just a simple sorry and got another drink. Dessert tasted like it had come out of the microwave. Very poor quality for a meal that cost over £100. Would have rather had a pub meal or a Nando’s.

LJ
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 21 October 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely food and service. Quiet. Nice restaurant Near to centre. Lovely cocktails

OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 21 September 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great service by ziggy
Food was delicious

DK
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 16 September 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was outstanding the service was outstanding they also have a great number of cocktails 2 for one between 4pm til 7pm. I would definitely dine there again.

j
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 1 September 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Went here as got a groupon bocher so was only a quick pit stop for a cocktail but bar was lovely staff very friendly and welcoming
Cocktails were fab! One of the best margaritas ive ever had
Brilliant little find of a bar and would definately return x

G
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 25 August 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Great food & lovely service :) also sampled a few cocktails. Only downside was the place was empty! Such a waste!

1
2
3
5