Albert's Didsbury

4.2
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
3746 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British
Albert’s Restaurant and Bar is the second Albert’s opening and is a sister restaurant to Albert’s Shed in Castlefield. A slick, modern space with dining for 160 guests inside and a fabulous covered & heated outside dining terrace for 60 – perfect for alfresco dining.

The menu is modern British with an eclectic mix of Albert’s favourites and dishes from around the globe, all using only fresh local ingredients. The restaurant is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner and every Saturday and Sunday mornings for breakfast.
Sort by
Filters
JO
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 4

Only cause for slight complaint was that they had run out of Cheese and onion pie on Sunday afternoon and when I ordered the Lemon tart that was not available also .
The restaurant was lovely ,Service was good andoverall a nice Sunday lunch experience

g
Manchester
9 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

Our friend accidentally went to a different Albert's but staff were happy for us to wait for her. they took our order. food was average but nobody came over to ask if it was ok and would we like any more drinks.. It took us over 5 minutes to get someone's attention to pay the bill..

LB
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 2food 1service 4ambience 3

Terrible brunch - the avocado on toast only had two tiny pieces of avocado, and was prominently raw red onion and tomato. Waffles were ok. Avocado on toast is so easy to make, can't help feeling they were skimping to save money. Will not return or recommend.

EP
Manchester
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I have been to alberts on a number of occasions and I always receive great food and service.the new decor is lovely

LD
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 2

Food and service was very good but ambiance was spoiled as the music was far too loud. We had come to visit our son and wanted to actually hear what he was saying without having to shout.

JT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 10 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent service and outstanding food. Would definitely recommend.

KP
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 10 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Food excellent as usual
Service a bit slower than normal

SM
1 review
Dined on 9 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always a treat to go to Albert s. Great food, great service. Always made to feel as though a special occasion.

RH
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

The only bad thing i would say is the service was very slow and we had to keep asking, also some of the staff looked quite scruffy (shirts / blouses to tight one male in particular also full of stains and marks) one waiter Gessepi absolutely great guy.

AP
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I love the Sunday roast at Alberts, excellent food and service. Very good value too.

JB
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had a wonderful time . ...food fabulous!!! Thank you to the lovely staff who really looked after us!

KP
London
3 reviews
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 4

I’m been going to Alberts since it opened a good few years ago & I was a little disappointed with a few things on this visit. The food was lukewarm & the service was quite average.

NK
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wonderful meal for my partners birthday and some of the best restaurant service iv ever had! So professional and not at all over bearing. Thank you

KC
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

The restaurant was lovely and the food was excellent. The only thing that let the experience down was the slow service. We waited for about 45 mins for our main course. We had planned to stay for dessert but given how slow the service was, we chose not to. If that could be improved then the whole dining experience would be excellent.

Albert's Didsbury
Responded on 9 September 2019

Thank you for your comments Kirsty, I am very sorry to hear that the service was slow on this occasion I have passed your feedback onto the General Manager who will certainly be speaking to the team, Karen

Report
EA
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Always have a fab time here, i do feel that the music is too loud and i have to shout across the table, but other than that, cant fault the place! Food and service great as always!

c
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I go to Alberts Didsbury for most special occasions. I would thoroughly recommend.

KP
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Great service, great food it’s as simple as that. Would highly recommend Alberts I have been many times and never had a bad experience, not even average.

M
London
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

Told table wasn’t set and would be a couple of minutes and to wait in the bar area. 15minutes later still waiting for table so Spoke to receptionist as she admitted to forgetting about us due to an issue with a table outside! Main meals were fine but pudding was too heavy and I couldn’t eat much of it. Tables next to us still not cleared an hour after the diners left and floor not cleaned. Disappointing compared to previous great experiences at this restaurant

Albert's Didsbury
Responded on 9 September 2019

I'm sorry to hear that Martina, I would really like to look into your experience in further detail please would you mind sending myself an email with the name of your booking and what time your booking was for, Karen

Report
DB
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 3

Food was good, service was stretched resulting in forgotten drinks order and we give up waiting for someone to take the dessert order, car park is negligible and obviously full. I would recommend to go at a quite time of day.

Albert's Didsbury
Responded on 9 September 2019

I'm sorry to hear your experience was not a positive one David. If you would like to send me over your contact details I would like to management team to look into this in further detail. If you could also add your booking name and time I would really appreciate it.

Report
IB
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 5

The staff was very good and the food was really nice a bit on the expensive side, but noice of the music was terrible you couldn’t have a conversation without shouting, they really need to tone down the music it spoilt the evening in a way as it was my husbands 70th, don’t get me wrong I do like background music but not as loud as that was

OT
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Really great service lovely food

B
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 6 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

As always, Alberts was a excellent right from service to food with great choice on offer and very helpful staff.

M
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We were one hour early for our table and although we were offered a table straight away, we chose to have a drink in the bar before lunch. From the time we entered the bar to the time we paid for our meal the staff we delightful. The young man on the bar was an absolute delight and extremely attentive. Once we sat for lunch the food was delicious and the service impeccable. Thank you again. We will be back.

SS
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Newly decorated and is nice with a buzzy atmosphere. We had the 2 course set lunch which had a good choice on the menu, generous portions and good tasty food. Excellent value for money at £12.50

EB
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent service and very attentive. The service just perfect for us with those small waits between courses. Wonderful

M
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 5 September 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 4

The food was good but the service outside was a little lacking. Had to go in to find a waiter at one point.

Albert's Didsbury
Responded on 9 September 2019

I am sorry to hear that you had a problem with non attentive service during your visit Morgana. If you would like to send me over your contact details I would like to look into why this happened. If you could also add your booking name and time that would be great

Report
CM
Manchester
5 reviews
Dined on 5 September 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Great food, food served promptly and hot, excellent service, great ambiance

TS
London
5 reviews
Dined on 4 September 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Go to Alberts about once every three weeks or so. There were the odd times in the past that I had a bit of a moan but I have to say that it’s been a long time since I have experienced any kind of problem there.
The food is good, the staff are great, great atmosphere and good value for money.
Highly recommend.

r
1 review
Dined on 4 September 2019
Overall 4food 2service 3ambience 5

No salt on table. Had to wait before we could get someone's attention. We weren't sure if the bread and butter was for both to share or for the soup order so the person who ordered the soup ate it all only to be givemy some with the soup . Perhaps should have been placed in the middle or on two plates. Fish was taateless

L
Manchester
5 reviews
Dined on 3 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Really lovely evening. Good menu, great service. Will definitely go again.

C
1 review
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall 4food 5service 2ambience 4

Good food. And lovely place.
The service was quite poor. Very slow and unattentive. At times a little rude for example desser menus just shoved in front of us with no information. Then took 20 mins for anyone to come and take order after asking twice.

Albert's Didsbury
Responded on 5 September 2019

We are disappointed to read your review, we never wish for any guest to leave the restaurant unhappy and feel like the staff have been rude. Please would you mind sending myself an email with what name your booking was under and also what time your booking was under. Karen

Report
l
1 review
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

From start to finish it was a highly disappointing experience, table was booked for 6:30, didn’t get seated till 7:08 (to be precise).
Had to constantly ask for a waiter/waitress, food was cool. Could go on and on, list of disappointment goes on. Will not go again.

Albert's Didsbury
Responded on 5 September 2019

Thank you for your review Laura, I'm really sorry to read that you did not have an enjoyable visit. I would be very interested in gaining the list of issues which you faced so that the General Manager can look into what happened. Please would you mind sending me an email with what name your booking was under and also what time your booking was for, Karen

Report
JF
1 review
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent service, lovely food, really enjoyable, would recommend.

LS
London
4 reviews
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic food and our waiter was amazing thank you we will be back

GM
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 4

Lunch dining
My wife and I go regularly as we live locally.
Saturday and or Sunday lunchtime.
Every time we are there the service is great and friendly the only challenge is the standard and quality of the food.
We used to have rib eye steak until recently but had a most terrible two steaks recently.
They were tough and extremely fatty. Of course we sent them both back and accepted the replacements but they were only ok.
CAU in Didsbury used to do the best anywhere in Manchester but unfortunately they are no longer there.

Albert's Didsbury
Responded on 5 September 2019

Thank you for your feedback Gerard I will certainly pass it onto our executive chef team. Karen

Report
EC
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 4

We used to enjoy coming to Alberta, but the last couple of times have been quite disappointing. Staff appear lost, confused and take a long time to notice when tables need clearing, when diners want a bill etc. Also took 20 minutes for 4 coffees to arrive in an otherwise empty restaurant. Brunch wasn’t particularly tasty - very dry toast, cold poached eggs and a jug of “fresh” (concentrated) orange juice with more ice cubes in than orange. “Fresh leaf mint tea” cam in a bag from Twinings. Overall, a disappointing experience.

Albert's Didsbury
Responded on 5 September 2019

I'm really sorry to hear your experience was not a positive one. If you would like to send me over your contact details and if you could also add your booking name, date and time I would really appreciate it. From this information we will identify which staff members were working and ensure that further training in given in the correct areas, Karen

Report
GA
1 review
Dined on 30 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had an amazing night with nice company .... thank you Alberts

CM
London
1 review
Dined on 30 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

4th time there. Excellent service and food with a lively atmosphere. One of our favourite places.

MB
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 30 August 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Excellent overall experience, food was very good as was the service. Really enjoyed it and will definitely be going back.

R
1 review
Dined on 30 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

Waited at what seemed a long time between starters and mains appreciate it was Friday afternoon. Main meal was lovely but not as hot as it could or should have been. Starters was prawns and bread that accompanied the dishes was very hard. Did not want to make a fuss as it was my fathers 80th birthday. Have been before with colleagues and friends and experience was better. I don’t live locally but parents do and wanted them to have the best experience possible. The lady who took the order was lovely

Albert's Didsbury
Responded on 5 September 2019

Thank you for your review Rosie, I'm sorry to read that elements of your meal were not up to standard, I will certainly pass you feedback onto the head chef. May I ask did I manager pop over to see you during your meal? Karen

Report
1
2
3
94