Albert's Didsbury

4.1
3602 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British
Top tags:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Special Occasions
  • Lunch
Albert’s Restaurant and Bar is the second Albert’s opening and is a sister restaurant to Albert’s Shed in Castlefield. A slick, modern space with dining for 160 guests inside and a fabulous covered & heated outside dining terrace for 60 – perfect for alfresco dining.

The menu is modern British with an eclectic mix of Albert’s favourites and dishes from around the globe, all using only fresh local ingredients. The restaurant is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner and every Saturday and Sunday mornings for breakfast.
What 3602 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
AS
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 17 May 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Disappointed never advised restaurant wasn’t open by Alberts due to fire but find out on day on social media pages, a special occasion meal that was ruined as struggled to get a reservation anywhere that would suit! Keep loyal customers informed be awhile now before we visit!!

Albert's Didsbury
Responded on 25 May 2019

Thank you for your review Amanda, I am extremely sorry to hear that you did not receive contact from our reservations team regarding your booking as they have been making their way through future booking since the day of the fire. Please would you mind contacting me with your full contact details, the date which you had booked and also the time so I can look into this matter. Karen Communications Manager

Report
Helpful
MB
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 14 May 2019
Overall 1food 1service 5ambience 1

I booked a table on line. When I arrived at the restaurant it was all closed up. I went back to says later for lunch and it was still closed. Very disappointed

Report
Helpful
JR
1 review
Dined on 14 May 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Always a good experience. Today experience got cut short as we were evacuated due to an electrical fire in kitchen. Staff dealt professionally with this.

Report
Helpful
g
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 13 May 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Excellent venue for lunch. Food was delicious well presented and service good. Would definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
HQ
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 11 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and great service as always - loving new look too!!

Report
Helpful
LS
London
3 reviews
Dined on 11 May 2019
Overall 1food 1service 2ambience 1

Been going to alberts shed for many years and go regular,,
The food was disgusting I had the monkfish curry one piece of monkfish which was tough flavourless bland and just overall horrible.
Had more staff than customers which is rare for a Saturday midday ordered a salted caramel martini off the menu after 15 minutes the waitress came back they couldn’t find the the main component so I couldn’t have it
Will definitely be the last time I visit

Report
Helpful
S
London
5 reviews
Dined on 10 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Fantastic food and great service. Lovely ambience, the only thing was the music was a little bitt too loud

Report
Helpful
JG
1 review
Dined on 10 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I think this was one of the most enjoyable meals I have had for a long time. My husband and I took our friend for lunch and couldn’t believe how Great the experience was. The atmosphere was perfect, not too loud, not too quiet, beautiful furnishings, excellent service, fantastic food of a very high quality and at an amazing value! Two courses for £12.50 I think is absolutely remarkable and outstanding value. Not only that, but it really was exceptionally good food! The white tablecloths added that extra touch of luxury to a meal that was just wonderful. The staff were incredibly accommodating, polite, personable and prompt. I really couldn’t give this restaurant a better review. Well done Albert’s!! You really should be very proud of yourselves, it is everything I would want to the restaurant. We will be back!! Many thanks for a wonderful experience!!

Report
Helpful
J
1 review
Dined on 8 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Stunning food and brilliant service! Just as expected!

Report
Helpful
CB
Cheshire
1 review
Dined on 6 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely Bank Holiday brunch with our toddler, baby and 2 friends. Service was excellent and food as always was great.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on 5 May 2019
Overall 3food 5service 2ambience 5

No attention to detail or recognition for each of our party members. Just three of us but drinks order only taken from 2 of us, struggled to get someone to take additional order, starters arrived no soup spoon or bread with long wait to provide, waitress nice but not knowledgeable about food products, served by 3 separate waitresses so no consistency which caused them confusion, especially with the bill. Great food, good value but would prefer to pay more to receive great service. Would recommend for food but not return myself.

Report
Helpful
SG
1 review
Dined on 5 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My very favourite restaurant , love the food, the staff and the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
F
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 4 May 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 2

We’ve been to Alberts many times, we love the food and the decor, the one thing that lets the experience down is the level of music. When dining we couldn’t have a conversation properly as the music was way too loud. It is ok at the bar area but not the dining section. Maybe only have the speakers in the bar area so it is just back ground rather than full on club level!

Report
Helpful
CM
London
1 review
Dined on 4 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had a lovely meal at Albert's. The restaurant was busy but the service was excellent from the moment we came in until we left. We were seated near to the pass and was interesting to see the care and attention given to each dish as it left and the lovely rapport between the servers, the managers and the chefs as the evening went on. Food was lovely, I had saddle of rabbit which was excellent.

Report
Helpful
SF
1 review
Dined on 4 May 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

Please could you add some starters to the children’s menu? Even if it’s just carrot/cucumber sticks and humous. It is unfair to expect children to watch adults eat their starters while they wait for a main meal, and the starters on the main menu are not suitable for children. Thanks!

Albert's Didsbury
Responded on 8 May 2019

Thank you for your review Stephanie I have passed your feedback onto our kitchen development team. We do have homemade beetroot Hummus with fresh veggie sticks and flatbread on our little ones menu if your little one would like a smaller version for a starter.

Report
Helpful
M
Manchester
8 reviews
Dined on 4 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Thank you to all who were very accommodating on a Saturday afternoon. I had to leave to rescue my brother who had broken down so we had to delay our order by 1hr! Thank so you so much, once we got back and ate it was all a very enjoyable experience! Thank you x x

Report
Helpful
C
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 3 May 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Food was really tasty though the portion size was a bit on the small side. (Duck with black pudding). It comes with a fried egg but due to allergies I asked for some veg which they very happily agreed to.
Service was very attentive to the point we thought they were trying to rush us.
Drinks are expensive.

Report
Helpful
BE
1 review
Dined on 3 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Everything is amazing!
Everything is amazing!
Everything is amazing!
Everything is amazing!
Everything is amazing!

Report
Helpful
MT
1 review
Dined on 3 May 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 4

Hi, I have been to both Alberts in Worsley and Didsbury.

Both the service and quality of food was good

However I found it quite amusing to see how much small the portions are at Didsbury.

The beetroot tart was visibly smaller and my companion's Caesar salad was sadly lacking in lettuce end compared to Worsley.

Regards

Michelle

Report
Helpful
BC
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

What a transformation from the old to the new ,refurbishment very well done ,comfortable seating and a good ambience.prices a little on the high side but all in all an enjoyable lunch .

Report
Helpful
GH
1 review
Dined on 29 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent food - a brilliant place to take friends and colleagues for a lovely evening meal.

Report
Helpful
NV
1 review
Dined on 28 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Overall good food and well worth a visit. Very clean and professional

Report
Helpful
OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 28 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing service as always, food was spot on, maybe a little gravy float on the table to top up the Yorkshire puddings. Had a great Sunday roast, my nieces loved the colouring sheets. Always top of the list of places to go back to.

Report
Helpful
CM
London
1 review
Dined on 28 April 2019
Overall 2food 1service 4ambience 4

Been many times before but this was worse experience. Had Sunday lunch, toast from mushroom toast was cold and rock hard knife couldn’t cut into it. Beef was full of fat and again struggled to cut into it and swallow. Ended up leaving most of it. Really disappointed. Has put me off returning

Report
Helpful
SG
Cheshire
14 reviews
Dined on 28 April 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Great lunch at Alberts once again. The refurbishment looks great. Menu is as wide ranging and tasty as ever. Very good value and service friendly and fast.

Report
Helpful
O
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Amazing food, excellent service, would recommend to anyone, really nice place to have a group dinner, however was a bit noisy as the music was turned up too high for our liking, bit too much like a club. But still a great place to have a meal.

Report
Helpful
DM
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 2

I am so disappointed with my second experience since reopening! My first was ok but there were some issues with our order however we decided to give it another go. Firstly we were advised that there had been a mess up with our table and were told we had an hour and they needed the table back!! We were moved but felt pressured to order. Our waiter was very pushy and continually asked for our orders which became very frustrating as our conversations were interrupted each time. My starter was awful and had thick soggy batter ( this was not taken off my bill even though I and not eaten it) the Halloumi on my main course was hard and over cooked! My friends food was disappointing also it was a tiny portion. Also the music was very loud and we had to practically shout over it to have a discussion! I wont be returning after this experience

Report
Helpful
SP
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had the lunch menu. Everything was really good. Clean plates all round
Excellent service.
Can’t wait to go back

Report
Helpful
SM
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 4

Most enjoyable lunch menu and atmosphere. Will definitely be going again.

Report
Helpful
LF
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Family lunch for five Saturday 27/04. Food , service and atmosphere enjoyed by all. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
WY
1 review
Dined on 26 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely restaurant, beautiful food ,great service .Will definitely go again 😊

Report
Helpful
s
London
1 review
Dined on 26 April 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

Birthday was not acknowledged

Report
Helpful
OT
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 26 April 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

A great fizz Friday lunch.. as usual. 🥂

Report
Helpful
OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 25 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Delicious food.

Report
Helpful
CB
1 review
Dined on 25 April 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 4

Great ambiance and I really like the new ‘green’ look. My niece ordered the ‘lunch ‘ menu which was such a small portion of chicken and literally 3 pieces of potato. I know it’s only £12.50 but should perhaps come with a warning that it is a sizeably reducedportion! I had the rump of amb which was delicious!

Report
Helpful
AE
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 24 April 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

I was very disappointed that the menu had not changed in the slightest.
We ordered a garlic bread the underneath was totally burnt but my lovely friend wouldn’t send it back as she doesn’t like complaining
We won’t return

Report
Helpful
n
London
4 reviews
Dined on 22 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Good food in a usually lively place. We very much like it. Good value for money especially compared to London.

Report
Helpful
SS
1 review
Dined on 22 April 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 4

On every visit to date, Id have given Alberts 5 stars and I will still return, I love the atmosphere and service is always good. On this occasion I was celebrating with my brother and we splashed out on the seafood platter (@£70) and a bottle of Pinot Gris (white). We waited 20-30 minutes for the wine to arrive and when it did it was explained that they couldn't find the bottle. I thought it didnt taste right for a fine wine but didnt send it back, it wasnt until later that I realised it wasnt chilled and was almost at room temperature, which explained it tasting wrong. The seafood platter was ok, but I wouldnt order it again and I felt it was heavily overpriced for what was served. It was disappointing on this occasion, but I'll still return.

Report
Helpful
A
1 review
Dined on 21 April 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 3

Wasn’t Albert’s best. Service very slow and a long wait to be seated and for the food to arrive. When the food did arrive veg was cold and the fish barley warm. Would all perhaps be understandable if the restaurant was busy, but it was actually fairly quiet. First visit back to Albert’a post refurb. Hopefully a better experience awaits next time!

Report
Helpful
OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 21 April 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 4

Very slow service in all departments from bar to restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
91
null