Albert's Shed

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
4406 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British
Albert’s Shed is a stylish city centre restaurant with the advantage of a location at the centre of the Castlefield canal basin.
The restaurant has ample car parking and provides a picturesque environment for dining out with friends, family or colleagues.

Get it delivered

What 4406 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
JI
JeanetteI
1 review
Dined on 15 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service lovely food and surroundings staff great

H
Hmjg5
1 review
Dined on 14 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Expensive but quality food and drink. Staff were attentive and pleasant even though it was busy.

JA
JonathanA
1 review
Dined on 13 March 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience3

Food was up to it’s usual standard, 3 of the party had the Alberts fish and chips which as always looked, I had the Turmeric Roasted Cod loin, which was disappointing, the piece of cod was barely the size of a fish finger. The other in our party had a burger which was a little dry.

The service was fantastic but for a Friday night Alberts was a little quiet this maybe because of the current situation.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 15 March 2020

Thank you for your review Jonathan, I will certainly pass your feedback regarding the dishes onto the senior kitchen team. I do hope that this experience will not prevent you from visiting us again in the future, Karen

Report
S
Sueken
Atlanta
9 reviews
Dined on 9 March 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

6 friends went to celebrate a friend’s birthday and we all had the lunch time special menu. We have been to Albert’s Shed several times but this time I didn’t feel there was as much choice on the lunchtime menu. The food as always was very good and nicely presented.

KT
KathyT
1 review
Dined on 8 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful meal. Service was fantastic. Great value for money.
We went for a birthday meal and got a lovely surprise pudding. One of my favourite places to go.

K
Kar4469
Manchester
12 reviews
Dined on 7 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great meal. Great service. Never disappointed when we visit here. Food was served very quick

MW
MikeW
1 review
Dined on 7 March 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience5

Great place. Good food and ambience. Waiter was great but had far too much on his hands - 4/5 big tables plus other tables to wait and was doing food and drinks. Really enjoyable evening but at a busy time like Sat 7pm more staff required. (Didn’t spoil my evening but an obvious issue).

SU
SUES
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 7 March 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

WENT FOR BIRTHDAY CELEBRATIONS, HAD A LOVELY TIME, MENU CHOICE WAS GREAT, STAFF WERE ATTENTIVE, HIGHLY RECOMMEND

MG
MikeG
1 review
Dined on 7 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Excellent meal. Would 100% go back. There were some very loud people but not a lot can be done about that :)

TE
TonyE
1 review
Dined on 7 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is a revisit after two years and if anything we enjoyed it more than ever....we won’t leave it so long next time. Staff very friendly and helpful, food wonderful and a great atmosphere all round.

DG
DeborahG
London
1 review
Dined on 7 March 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Always have a lovely time and the food was great. Had the set menu which was great value. Only negative was the heating outside was on the whole time even though no one was sat outside wasting energy and it also was too warm in the restaurant. Asked for it to be turn down or off but manger didn’t know how to alter it.

TW
TimW
1 review
Dined on 6 March 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Early afternoon lunch for 4 and the restaurant was quiet but we still had to wait to be asked if we wanted drinks prior to the meal. The service was slow at first but did pick up especially following a shift change

LG
LiamG
1 review
Dined on 1 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and Excellent service,
I will be back when I'm next in Manchester.

AK
AngelaK
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Another great meal at Alberts Shed. Staff really friendly and food delicious and I think the price is reasonable.

M
Matt
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Excellent food with a wide choice of options, including for vegetarians. The restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere and we were looked after well by our waiter despite it being a busy Saturday evening.

M
Mavis
London
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was absolutely stunning, service was second to none, and waiting time between ordering and being served was minimal. Second time eating here, I will be back again.

S
Shannon
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall2food3service2ambience4

The reason I have given 2 stars is because of the issues I had with the service and menu whilst visiting.

I have visited once before and really enjoyed it - which is why we decided to visit again.

We were coming with my 1 year old who is experiencing teething issues at the minute, meaning she has to have food she can pick up and eat herself as she will not allow us to feed her at the moment. Prior to my visit I ensured there were suitable options on the menu before booking as my family are also vegetarian . There are hummus and vegetable sticks on the kids menu for little ones at £4.50, which would have been perfect! Once I ordered I was informed that you no longer serve this - but it had been replaced with chicken - which was obviously not suitable for a vegetarian diet. I then compromised by choosing the fish fingers. However I asked for a smaller portion as she would not eat it all so I resented to pay £7.50. I was then informed I could not have a smaller portion so had to pay for the larger meal. The waitress then came back again to inform me it was no longer fish fingers and was in fact a fillet which she cannot eat herself - then recommend the adult menu! I thought this recommendation was ridiculous so ended up having to pay £7.50 for a meal I didn’t even want in the first place.

On top of all of this we were waiting a ridiculous amount of time to even receive our menus and drink orders upon arrival. We weren’t even offered water while we wait which I thought was poor.

My meal was also unsatisfactory as the pie was dry and the veg was undercooked.

The only reason I have rated 3 stars for food was because my partner did actually enjoy his meal.

The baby changing rooms were also not clean and rather messy which also added to my bad experience.

It is such a shame that I had such a bad experience as I had high hopes from the previous visit.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 8 March 2020

Thank you for your review Shannon I'm very sorry that you faced the issues which you did during your visit. We do still have homemade beetroot hummus with fresh veggie sticks and flatbread on our little ones menu. I would really like to look onto what happened on your visit with the team, please would you mind replying to this message with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and your email address. Karen

Report
GM
GemmaM
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Visited on a Saturday night. Had a lovely time food was really good and the service was great.

AC
AndreaC
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food and service great thanks again. Friendly and accommodating staff.

AH
AlisonH
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent, had the lunch menu........food was delicious, served hot, by fantastic staff.
Small mishap when one of the waiters dropped a water bottle in my direction (empty, fortunately) it was an accident but he was so apologetic, and so quick to clean the broken glass and check I was ok (the bottle hit me before the floor) offered a complimentary drink which was very kind but in fact comped half the bill when we got it.......far more than we could have expected. Needless to say left a decent tip the staff were all excellent. Will definitely return soon

J
Joanne
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Been a few times before and had exceptional service and experience. This time it wasn't as up to standard in my opinion. Service a little sporadic, a meal forgotten about and came a little later, however, was given a free glass of wine to compensate. Overall it was good the party enjoyed our afternoon, however due to always being 100% happy in the past, this visit had a couple of little issues. Everyone has an off day though, it won't put me off visiting again.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 8 March 2020

Thank you for your feedback Joanne, I'm very glad to read that you have visited in the past so you know that the service which you received on this occasion was not up to our standard. I will certainly ensure that your feedback regarding this visit is passed onto the management team, Karen

Report
DJ
DawnJ
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely setting.
Waiter very attentive
Good Quality and great value.
All round lovely experience and will be going again

DM
DMD26
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 28 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Brilliant food as always. Great new lunch menu. Exceptional value.

m
michaelw
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 26 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food service and ambiance . Wonderful location and accessibility

JT
JonathanT
1 review
Dined on 26 February 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Always enjoy eating here. However, the service could be a little better. Staff can be slow and unresponsive. Sometimes they are very attentive and will be at your table for drinks and food reasonably quickly. Other times, I've been kept waiting for 10 mins before I've even been asked about drinks.
If you're in a rush, then make sure you ask for the bill with your mains. :-)

Albert's Shed
Responded on 1 March 2020

I’d like to hear more details regarding the service which you received Jonathan, please would you mind replying to this message with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and your email address so we can look into which staff were working and serving your table when you visited, Karen

Report
N
Noreen
1 review
Dined on 25 February 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience3

After we had finished eating we stood by the entrance and outside was a GIANT RAT!!

Not what you want to see just after you’ve eaten a great meal.

Pretty put off to be fair

Albert's Shed
Responded on 1 March 2020

Thank you for your review Noreen, I will request the management team to look into what you saw as we have had no sightings, unfortunately it may have come from possibly near the canal. Thank you for letting us know, Karen

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Manchester
4 reviews
Dined on 23 February 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience3

The food was excellent but the restaurant is looking a little tired.

W
Will
London
4 reviews
Dined on 23 February 2020
Overall3food3service1ambience2

Very mediocre food and substandard service. Service was so bad we were forced to collect our own drinks because the waiters couldn’t be bothered and cancel other drinks because they took too long.

Food was sounded nice on the menu but was fairly basic.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 1 March 2020

I’m sorry to hear your experience was not a positive one Will, please would you mind replying to this message with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and your email address so we can look into what happened during your visit, Karen

Report
RB
RachelB
Manchester
11 reviews
Dined on 22 February 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Food nice as always but the service was below par, particularly for drinks. We had to chase the two rounds we ordered numerous times. There only appeared to be one person on the bar despite a very busy restaurant. Not great for a Saturday night.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 15 March 2020

Please accept our apologies for the issues which you received during your visit Rachel, these are not the standards which we set here at Albert's. Please would you mind replying to this message with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and your email address, Karen

Report
JR
JennyR
1 review