Albert's Shed

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
4378 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British
Albert’s Shed is a stylish city centre restaurant with the advantage of a location at the centre of the Castlefield canal basin.
The restaurant has ample car parking and provides a picturesque environment for dining out with friends, family or colleagues.

Special Offers

Treat your mum this Mother's Day

Breakfast Menu & £27 Bottomless Brunch: 10-11:45AM – £27.50 Mother’s Day Set Menu: 12:30-10PM – From 7PM onward we will be offering additional dishes of Albert's Favourites also.

Sunday, 22 March, 2020

What 4378 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
Manchester
4 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience3

The food was excellent but the restaurant is looking a little tired.

W
London
4 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food3service1ambience2

Very mediocre food and substandard service. Service was so bad we were forced to collect our own drinks because the waiters couldn’t be bothered and cancel other drinks because they took too long.

Food was sounded nice on the menu but was fairly basic.

JR
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Brilliant service and food. We will definitely visit again! Thank you!

OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic service, attentive waitress, food was full of flavour and good value for money

PG
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, great service, great place!

I have been to Albert's Shed many times, and it never disappoints.

RB
New York Area
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Lovely food, helpful staff, lovely location. We travel from Sheffield to eat at Albert’s Shed - maybe there could be one in Sheffield. My only negative comment is that the Toilets are ready for a refurb.

AL
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3food5service3ambience4

We were first in the restaurant and hoped we would be served promptly. We had to ask to be served for drinks, to take our food order, to take the empty starters away (after 30 mins of finishing them), for the main course. We didn’t anticipate having to be in the restaurant for 2 and a half hours for lunch so some of the guests missed their train. The food was beautiful though.

EA
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was great from the minute we walked in to leaving. Food was phenomenal and only £12.50 for two courses... couldn’t believe it. The seafood curry was lovely, couldn’t fault it.

OT
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 18 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great food at a great price.

CW
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2020
Overall1food2service1ambience3

This is the second time that I’ve visited Albert Shed Castlefield and it was a dreadful experience. I had pre-booked a table for an occasion but when we arrived we got seated next to a group of young adults on a double date who were extremely loud to the point we could hear ourselves. There were several tables empty but hadn’t been cleared. My partner was trying to sit down but a member if bar staff was dragging rubbish through the dining room and was frustrated that my partner didn’t let her past!
We ordered our drinks and food at the same time, drinks arrived but then when the started come it was disappointing, my partner ordered bruschetta and to say it was tiny was an understatement now I know it’s not the usual as we had it before and it was a decent size and quality. We both felt disappointed and decided that after that evening we wouldn’t be returning again.
It’s a shame that we also had to sit and wait for 20 minutes for asking for our bill that it took me walking up to a till and demanding to pay the bill so we could leave.

Albert's Shed
Responded 4 days ago

I’m really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at Albert’s during your visit Carla. We take all comments on board which we received from guests and we will highlight these issues with the management team. Please would you mind replying to this message with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and your email address, Karen

Report
LB
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Nice overall. Good service and food was tasty. Would come again.

ML
1 review
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience2

Very disappointing our first visit to Alberts recommended by family and friends but we didn’t enjoy the food

Albert's Shed
Responded 4 days ago

I’m sorry to hear your experience was not a positive one Mark, I would like to learn further details of your visit, Please would you mind replying to this message with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and your email address

Report
DM
1 review
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Lovely food. Great service. Great prices. Highly reccomend

LP
1 review
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing as always, great value for money. Will be sure to go again soon.

OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We have been here a couple of times and every time is just amazing .. Staff are very helpful and friendly and the food is beautiful! Will definitely be returning when we come back to Manchester

M
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall2food3service1ambience2

Took my daughters for a post valentine's treat. Overall very poor customer service. Once seated we waited for 15 minutes before anyone approached our table to take the drinks order (had to ask).
We ordered drinks, then noticed them sat on the bar for a further 10 minutes (had to ask again one of the waiters constantly walking past if they could bring them to our table) When drinks arrived asked if we could order our food. Food came in good time. One of my daughters steak was cold so a passing waiter took it away and promptly brought a fresh replacement. No one came to check if we were happy with our meal.
After finishing our meals we waited a further 15 minutes before anyone came to clear the table (again had to ask a waitress if she could clear our table who then went over to the waiter I assume was ment to be waiting our table to collect our plates)
The whole experience was disappointing, and I will not be dining there again.
I will stick to the Didsbury, and Worsley branch!

Albert's Shed
Responded 4 days ago

Please accept our apologies for the issues which you received during your visit Michelle, these are not the standards which we set here at Albert's. Please would you mind replying to this message with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and your email address, Karen

Report
S
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Amazing value for money and our go-to restaurant in Manchester. Staff amazing, quick service!

AC
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall2food3service2ambience3

Been several times before, If this had been my first visit I would never go back.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 17 February 2020

Thank you for your review Andy, I’d really like to hear more details regarding your experience during this visit. Please would you mind replying to this message with what name the booking was under, the time of the booking and your email address, Karen

Report
D
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall2food3service2ambience1

Looked forward to our evening together , should of complained on the night but didn't want it to spoil our evening, service not great then asked how I would like my steak cooked but ended up with opposite gave to my hubby. Sat near toilets and outside door so felt in way was hot then cold draft.

Albert's Shed
Responded 4 days ago

I’d like to hear more details regarding the service which you received, please would you mind replying to this message with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and your email address, Karen

Report
DD
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service excellent way to spend Valentine's Day

S
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Food was good, service very quick with a good atmosphere, slightly over priced but was valentines

J
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

We went on Valentines day and it was a set menu but as soon as we ordered the starters came out in 3 minutes flat (pre made obviously)
Same for the mains and desserts, as soona s the waitress took them away, the next course came out. We were in and out in 40 minyes....not ideal. Conyeyor belt.

Albert's Shed
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review Jane, I'm sorry that you felt rushed during your meal. I will certainly pass your feedback onto the kitchen team and the managers to help improve service for any future visits, Karen

Report
OT
Bath
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I went there with my husband for Valentine's dinner. Everything was good. Strongly recommend

DT
London
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our waiter Hayley was fantastic. Was very attentive and always made sure we had what we needed
Will definitely be coming back soon

JT
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall2food2service4ambience3

I would recommend Albert's Shed any day of the year, apart from Valentines Day. We both felt as if we were rushed out as quickly as possible. Whilst I understand that it is a busy evening for the restaurant, being handed each course in quick succession and then being rushed out completely spoiled the evening for us.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 17 February 2020

Thank you for your review Jay, I'm very sorry if you felt that your meal was rushed. Please may I ask what name your boking was under and what time your booking was for so I can then look into what the timings were with the team, Karen

Report
JB
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 13 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful food, service really friendly, love eating here

OT
1 review
Dined on 13 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very nice evening, food was excellent. Atmosphere even better! Will be dining here again.

A
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 8 February 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Food very poor standard!

Albert's Shed
Responded on 17 February 2020

Thank you for your review, please would you mind replying to this message with further details of your visit so we can look into your experience. Would you mind also letting me know what name the booking was under, what time your booking was for and also your email address, Karen

Report
JC
1 review
Dined on 8 February 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Food and service on Saturday was amazing as always

AG
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 8 February 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience3

Great place to eat, but the potato's on one dish were "cool" and had to send it back. Otherwise great !

Albert's Shed
Responded on 17 February 2020

Thank you for your feedback Alan I'm sorry to read that your potatoes were cool, I have passed on your feedback to the kitchen team to prevent this from happening again in the future,Karen

Report
S
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 8 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I have been here many times. Had a lovely meal, as usual. Lovely place, clean, comfortable, friendly and helpful staff. Extremely good value.

AE
London
3 reviews
Dined on 8 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Lovely restaurant with a very good menu. Nice atmosphere and restaurant is clean and well decorated. Staff all very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, well cooked and flavourful. Really enjoyed our visit and will be back!

KP
1 review
Dined on 7 February 2020
Overall1food1service2ambience4

What a shame. Had a lovely meal here last year but this time so disappointing. Steak was inedible. The replacement fish was worse. Drinks stood on the bar for ages before serving. Sadly we probably won’t return despite the very apologetic staff. I suggest a change in the kitchen.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 11 February 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Karen, I'm sorry that you had a poor experience whilst at Albert’s. Please would you mind replying to this message with your contact details so that we can investigate this further. Please can you include what name the booking was under and what date and time the booking was for. I would really appreciate it.

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 7 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service great food

P
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 5 February 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience3

top service in lively setting with a good range of food. Lunch and dinner menus quite varied

KM
1 review
Dined on 5 February 2020
Overall2food4service2ambience2

Under usual circumstances Albert Shed is excellent however we dined at 5.30 at the end of the lunch menu and the staff pretty much ignored us. We had to ask three times for water. I wouldn’t go at this time again because we felt like second class diners not the 3 business women catching up at the end of a busy day.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 11 February 2020

Thank you for your review Kerry, I’m really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at Albert’s during your visit. Please accept our apologies for the issues which you received during your visit, these are not the standards which we set here at Albert's. Please would you mind replying to this message with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and what your email address is, Karen

Report
D
1 review
Dined on 2 February 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Excellent all round. I Would definitely recommend.

KS
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 31 January 2020
Overall2food1service3ambience2

We were allocated a table beside the dumb waiter where cutlery was constantly being sorted and noisily avoid this table. It was also the thoroughfare to the kitchen.

The service was reasonable: there were several large noisy groups that we were sat beside and would have preferred a quieter table altogether.

The food was not brilliant. Not a great experience for an £90 meal tbh.

Will not rush back......

Albert's Shed
Responded on 11 February 2020

I’m sorry to hear your experience was not a positive one Ken. Please would you mind replying to this message including what name the booking was under, the time of the booking and your email address so we can investigate into your visit in further details, Karen

Report
GC
Manchester
4 reviews
Dined on 31 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Lovely food, as always, good ambience although noise levels were very high. Goood service top. I think Alberts really look after you.

CT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 31 January 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Although the service was disappointing, it is usually very good, the food was lovely and good value. We had a lovely evening.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 11 February 2020

Thank you for taking the time to place a review Cath, I’d really like to hear more details regarding the service which you received. Please would you mind replying to this email with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and your email address, Karen

Report