Albert's Shed

4.4
4091 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British
Albert’s Shed is a stylish city centre restaurant with the advantage of a location at the centre of the Castlefield canal basin.
The restaurant has ample car parking and provides a picturesque environment for dining out with friends, family or colleagues.
What 4091 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
MB
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 1

Food was ok.
Service was poor. We felt like we were inconveniencing the waitress. She was rude and reluctant to help.

Albert's Shed
Responded a day ago

Thank you for your feedback Michaela I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a friendly experience during your visit. I would like to look into your visit further to be able to identify the server please would you mind sending me an email with what name your booking was under and what time you visited. Karen

Report
s
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

This was the first time we had visited the restaurant and we really enjoyed the experience. We will definitely come back again. The food and service were excellent, the only slight issues was that it was very noisy so conversation was difficult.

AL
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Never had a bad meal at Alberts shed, we go for all occasions and enjoy it every time. The lunch time menu is always fantastic food at amazing prices. Will definitely keep going.

IW
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

The food and service were excellent! It was a quiet evening probably due to the poor weather but that was perfect for our visit

E
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Very nice food and drink.. good service. Had the lunch menu.. very good value.

A
1 review
Dined on 14 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

lovely food, great friendly service and reasonably priced, had a great evening and would definitely recommend to friends

JB
Cheshire
1 review
Dined on 11 August 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 3

Poor allergy information. Had to eat somewhere else. Ruined our evening. Waiting on staff aggressive and belligerent. Even though I had already informed the restaurant of the severe allergy, they still could not cater, and only informed us after drinks. The restaurant charged us for the drinks. I have contacted the restaurant directly with this via email and still, they are yet to reply. Shoddy.

Albert's Shed
Responded 6 days ago

I am disappointed to read this review Julie as we pride ourselves on taking food allergies very seriously and we have strict procedures in place and because of this we serve many customers who have dietary requirements every week with no problems. We never wish any guest to leave the restaurant unhappy. Could you contact myself so that I can investigate this in further detail as no email has been passed on to myself this week. Karen Communications Manager

Report
MS
1 review
Dined on 11 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food was excellent and the staff very friendly, will visit again

c
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 11 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

Sadly more than one food item on the menu was not available, including the tomahawk steak( share) which two of our party were looking forward to. One of the party has a nut allergy - on asking - he was told that the fries were cooked in oil used to cook other items which may have nuts in them - that’s fine, and understandable - so he ordered roast potatoes - which it seems are also ‘fried’ in the same oil to crisp them up ! they are not roast potatoes if they are fried - consequently he only had a choice of mashed or new potatoes - not the best experience - it did get to the stage where every time the waitress came to the table we expected bad news re our order 😆
The staff were very friendly and efficient and the food we eventually managed to get was pleasant.

TR
1 review
Dined on 11 August 2019
Overall 3food 2service 2ambience 4

Poor quality food the starter was frozen fish and portion size far to small
4calamari. Lovely place but food let it down

Albert's Shed
Responded a day ago

I appreciate your feedback Teresa, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your starter. Please would you mind messaging me if this was mentioned to your server or manager on the day? Karen

Report
ST
1 review
Dined on 10 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

Quality of food has slipped. Service slow. NIce and quiet sitting outside on the terrace.

Albert's Shed
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for your comments Stephen, I would really like to hear more details regarding the food and why you feel the quality has dropped in standard. Would you mind sending me an email so we can discuss further. Karen

Report
GR
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 10 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Outstandingly good food and fantastic service, an absolute treat.

TH
1 review
Dined on 10 August 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Good food in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The service was excellent. We had a n issue with on of the meals which was dealt with immediately and with no fuss whatsoever. Would definitely recommend.

SF
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 9 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Not been in sometime, however it was still upto its usual standard we really enjoyed the whole evening.

LM
1 review
Dined on 9 August 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Have been to the Albert's many times, food always very good and pleasant surroundings. They have a function room too - we had our Christmas company outing there last year.

BG
1 review
Dined on 9 August 2019
Overall 3food 2service 2ambience 3

Not this particular restaurant. There are better versions of this chain out there.

PC
London
2 reviews
Dined on 7 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 4

Welsh lamb cutler starter overpriced. Service lacking in basic expectations.

SC
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 5 August 2019
Overall 1food 2service 2ambience 2

Poor service
Not one out of 5 meals that we wanted were available.
When we questioned with the waiter why things were so poor he said it’s monday -what do you expect!

Albert's Shed
Responded on 11 August 2019

Susan I am sorry to hear your experience was not a positive one. If you would like to send me over your contact details, along with what time you booking was and also what name the booking was under. I will certainly look into why so many dishes were not available. I do apologise for the member of staff saying it was because it was Monday. Karen Communications Manager

Report
EE
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

We had such a lovely time, the food was excellent. Definitely one of our favourite Manchester restaurants

JH
1 review
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 5

There were 6 in our party. Generally we were not very satisfied with the food. I tried the Alberts cheese and onion pie which was disappointing because it contained what I would describe as a thick smooth cheese sauce without the onions, green beans which were not al dente but raw. Cost £15. Some thought the first courses were quite expensive and small portions. I have been here twice before and have found the food good. This was Saturday evening and maybe they were extra busy.

SN
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This is a lovely restaurant. The food and service are excellent. The restaurant has a lovely friendly atmosphere great place to celebrate a special occasion.

BN
1 review
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

First time we have been to the restaurant . We all thoroughly enjoyed the evening. Staff very friendly, could not fault anything.

OT
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Took a long time to get starters, which they apologised for. But then the mains were brought out quick quickly afterwards so didn’t seem timed well. Scallops starter was overly expensive for one large one and two small in a tiny dish. Mains were really tasty. Service was okay but not as good as should’ve been, we were left without drinks for quite a while and as we were sat outside, felt we couldn’t get anyone’s attention. Would go back again despite little niggles, which are easily rectified if restaurant reads feedback.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 11 August 2019

We certainly do take all of our customer feedback on board so thank you for placing a review and we will look forward to seeing you again in the future Karen Communications Manager

Report
M
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

One of my favourite places to eat. The lunch menu is such good value and the food excellent.

RC
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on 2 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food was amazing! Simple but so well presented! Cheese and onion pie to die for plus oysters so nice

AN
1 review
Dined on 2 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Fabulous food & great atmosphere. Very enjoyable evening

SW
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 31 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My friend and I visited Albert's Shed for the lunch menu before heading to a night at the Comedy Store on Wednesday. Our food was great and we really liked the look of the new menu. Unfortunately we were unable to get into the Comedy Store as it was too full so we came back for dessert and a cocktail... Our server, James, was very attentive - we had a really nice time and will definitely be back again.

KE
1 review
Dined on 31 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fabulous place - a real find! We ate from the lunch menu which was excellent value. The chicken noodle dish was to die for! Service was professional and friendly and nothing too much trouble. We will return - thank you 😊

SH
Liverpool
1 review
Dined on 31 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

First visit, lovely menu, reasonable prices, excellent service. My friends and I really enjoyed it and would return

LD
1 review
Dined on 29 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had a really lovely meal at Albert's shed for my daughters birthday. Gorgeous venue and atmosphere. The food and service was excellent, will go again.

TW
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 29 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A lovely afternoon , nice pleasant vibe. We had the afternoon lunch deal for £12.50, amazing value and lovely quality well cooked food. Six of us ate and all had different but all enjoyed our food. I will return

A
1 review
Dined on 28 July 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 3

Great food & very good value. The free Prosecco for my birthday was a nice touch.

a
1 review
Dined on 28 July 2019
Overall 3food 2service 1ambience 4

Service was disappointing. The order taken for drinks before our meal did not arrive until the middle of the meal. The food Sunday carvery was poor value. The Pork portion consisted of 1 small piece of meat with a small fried slice of salty stuffing. We ordered wine when the late drinks arrived thinking our new order would arrive quicker but arrived after we had finished eating. Stupidly ordered coffee but had to chase this up because they forgot this order as well. Consistently poor service. Manager apologised the first time but after 3 separate drink orders to told numerous times they forgot the drink order and will not revisit this place which is a pity as the ambiance and setting were great.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 11 August 2019

I am sorry to hear that you had a few issues whilst visiting at Alberts Shed, I am slightly confused as we do not have a carvery option so I would like to double check that you have placed the review for the correct venue in Castlefield Manchester? We have had a couple of occasions were reviews haven't been for our venue. Karen Communications Manager

Report
EB
1 review
Dined on 28 July 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 4

The starters and pudding were nice and we generally enjoyed it. However, the yorkshires were barely warm as were some of the veg although they were tasty. My roast beef was hard to cut, very chewy and I left most of it.

Albert's Shed
Responded on 11 August 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback Elizabeth. The quality of your Sunday main course dish definitely does not sound to our normal standards. I would like to know if this was brought to the attention of a manager during your visit? Would you mind please sending me an email with a note of what time you dined and also what name the booking was under. Karen Communications Manager

Report
AS
Liverpool
4 reviews
Dined on 28 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Went to Albert’s Shed for Sunday lunch with some friends and it was fantastic! Great food, drinks, service and atmosphere...all perfect for the occasion. Will definitely be back!

MJ
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

Need a bigger menu not much choice atall good location could do with a freshen up

L
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Food was lovely but bot very hot. Service was great. We were seated promptly and didnt have to wait too long for foos and drinks. Would go back.

CM
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 4

I was disappointed in the food quality was poor and cold. Over all I would not recommend this restaurant

GP
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Soup sent back as it was cold, said on menu served with bread none arrived. Veg was hard, cheese n onion pie far to small. Garlic bread dry. Waiter who served us had dirty clothes on. Pepperpot and salt pot both empty. Nobody asked if food was ok or if we would like any sauces etc

Albert's Shed
Responded on 3 August 2019

Please accept our apologies for the issues which you received during your visit Gary, these are not the standards which we set here at Albert's. I know you have just sent me your contact details so I can investigate further and address these issues Karen Communications Manager

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 4

As usual the food was excellent and good value for money . However we were left standing by the door for almost 7 minutes which was slightly uncomfortable and when we were eventually seated the table cloth had dirty marks on it. Overall nice meal but will be sticking to the Didsbury branch as I feel it was more friendly and cleaner

Albert's Shed
Responded on 3 August 2019

Thank you for your review and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback I will certainly pass your comments on to the General Manager, Karen Communications Manager

Report
1
2
3
103