Albert's Shed

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
4132 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British
Albert’s Shed is a stylish city centre restaurant with the advantage of a location at the centre of the Castlefield canal basin.
The restaurant has ample car parking and provides a picturesque environment for dining out with friends, family or colleagues.
What 4132 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
CE
Manchester
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Lovely space in which to relax and a generous Bottomless Brunch! Great way to spend a Sunday morning

CS
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was amazing. The staff were lovely and very attentive. We will definitely be back. Such a great place for date night.

LT
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 2

We arrived and our table was just outside the kitchen so I got knocked about 2 times by the waiters bringing foid out on a hurry. We waited a while for the starters and I ordered the prawns with bread my bread for dropped on the floor the waitress for a new piece our mains arrived some chips where cold and my broccoli was hard!! We did complain and didn't pay for my main course. We wont be going back it's over priced too. We have been on several occasions and this was the worst.

Albert's Shed
Responded 20 hours ago

I'm sorry to hear your experience was not a positive one Lorraine. If you would like to send me over your contact details we can look in your visit in further detail. If you could also add your booking name, date and time I would really appreciate it, Karen

Report
OT
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Very good yet again, love going there. Excellent food, wine and service.

CJ
Manchester
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Love Albert Shed! Went for Early Bird Special which was great value for money. As always food was scrumptious. On sunny day great to sit outside. Love the seating area outside which is linked to Dukes 92.

LM
Manchester
4 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Good atmosphere, great food and service, excellent value for money. Casual dining at it's best.

LP
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Absolutely loved our food at Albert a shed staff friendly and helpful lovely place going back in a few weeks excellent place

C
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Clean, bright, airy restaurant, decor makes it look stylish. Friendly and efficient staff, great menu choice. Loved the flavours in the crab and avocado starter, good portion size to. All the table enjoyed their food which varied from saddle of rabbit to tomahawk chop, it's a big chop make sure you have a good appetite! Would recommend for a special occasion or a night with friends. Can be noisy at weekends but midweek is fine if you like a quieter eating environment.

OT
1 review
Dined on 9 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always enjoy the lunch menu. A regular birthday treat with my mum. The staff were very attentive and gave good service. They also brought a glass of fizz complementary for my birthday and a dessert with candle which was lovely.

SC
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall 4food 5service 2ambience 4

Food was good service was terrible and we asked for someone to take order for a sweet

M
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This is the third time I’ve been to Albert’s Shed and it was as good as ever! The staff are excellent, the food is top quality and excellent value. Whenever I’m in Manchester for food my first choice is Albert’s Shed. Cheers.

CO
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A lovely evening for my wife and I celebrating our first anniversary. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The service was sensational, and quick with any request we had.

OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Really nice meal we have been to many restaurants in Manchester and never to this one I don’t know why we waited so long to go . Definitely go again.

JM
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Perfect in every way. Great food and brilliant service. The lovely waitress even recommended a good rum to try. Will definitely be back

ND
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Service was very good, excellent welcome when we arrived, overall great dxperiencey

A
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Good food and service would definitely go again only bad point was my pizza base was far too soggy in places and not as tasty as the king prawn and chorizo topping

VG
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely as always ! Excellent food and service ! Great atmosphere ... just seemed to be noisier than usual

TR
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fab place brought friends from Australia. They loved it.

V
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

One of the best date night restaurants in Manchester. Everything was perfect - the food, service, ambiance. Will definitely be back.

MB
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Really enjoyed our meal at Alberts Shed. The food was fine ‘diningish’ without really small portions. We will definitely visit again when in Manchester.

LM
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Took my Mum here for her birthday while in the city for the Ashes Test. The food is amazing and the staff friendly and welcoming. Only gripe was the music was too loud and we found ourselves struggling to hear each other. However this won't stop me visiting again.

D
Yorkshire
6 reviews
Dined on 4 September 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

Understaffed .... not fair on the waiting staff , all was far too rushed and the order came wrong

Albert's Shed
Responded on 9 September 2019

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you felt like your service was rushed and that the order came incorrectly. Please would you mind emailing me with what name your booking was under and also what time your booking was for?

Report
AR
London
1 review
Dined on 4 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

The menu was very interesting - slightly unusual but there were lots of things in both starters and mains that I liked to sound of. The two courses I had were very good, and my wife enjoyed her food too. Service was friendly and I'll definitely eat at Albert's Shed again when next in Manchester.

CM
1 review
Dined on 3 September 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 5

Nice atmosphere, good food and friendly, professional service.

OT
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I treated my husband for his birthday and our two children to the Sunday lunch menu , the food was delicious and the service was outstanding

AD
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

Great atmosphere but ran out of sirloin steak on a Saturday night! Dealt with my sons nut allergy well and waiter quite attentive.

OT
Chicago
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 5

Slow service. We’re out of several dishes.

Albert's Shed
Responded 20 hours ago

Thank you for your review, I'd really like the General Manager to look into why the service which your experienced was so slow. Please would you mind contacting me to let me know what name of your booking was under and time and would you also mind listing what items you requested that were unavailable, Karen

Report
SA
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Table for 8 booked quite last minute but this was no issue. Table was set nicely very clean. Service was a little slow but the food came super quick so I guess that's all that matters. Food was hot and tasty. Well done we will be back

SH
1 review
Dined on 30 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

Food was very good. The music was far too loud and we were seated below speaker. We asked waitress could it be turned down and she obliged. The waitress Ali was very friendly and attentive and such a pleasant young lady with nothing being too much trouble. It was a pleasure to be serve by her.

GC
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Have been here many times and it's still first class food and service

S
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Relaxed atmosphere (lunch time); fast efficient service by very pleasant staff and delicious food - at a very reasonable price. Have been before & will go again. Would certainly recommend.

KW
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Great server kept us supplied with drinks all night great seats only negative asked for steak very very well done was still a little bit pink . The server was a friendly and polite . But overall enjoyed our night

OT
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

Decent food and decent area

SF
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 25 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Visited Sundsy afternoon, lovely afternoon with good food and service.

BJ
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2019
Overall 2food 1service 1ambience 1

Despite the restaurant being reasonably empty inside we were sat on a table next to the kitchen where we witnessed an argument between the staff, one of the party ordered bruschetta which when it arrived looked nothing like bruschetta, one of the main courses was fish and chips but the batter was uncooked and another ordered the turmeric cod which was tasteless

Albert's Shed
Responded on 29 August 2019

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your experience here at Albert's and we are thankful for the feedback. I am very sorry that you had to witness staff arguing. I would like our General Manager Simon to investigate what happened during your visit also regarding the food. please would you mind emailing me with what name your booking was under and also what time you dined.

Report
MW
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Good service, good food. Very busy but to be expected on a bank holiday. Lunchtime 2 course deal is excellent value! Will definitely return.

LE
1 review
Dined on 23 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food was absolutely outstanding!
Will definitely be returning

t
1 review
Dined on 22 August 2019
Overall 3food 4service 4ambience 2

The service was brilliant, couldn't fault our waiter at all. He was very efficient and friendly and dealt with my girlfriends allergy amazingly. You find when you go to most restaurants that they can make it really awkward and uncomfortable for the person with an allergy but he was just lovely about it. Although all of this was good I was very disappointed with the lady on the desk at the front doors. I'm not sure whether she was a manager or not but the whole time me and my partner were there she was none stop on a mobile phone walking around the restaraunt taking no notice of her staff or the customers surrounding her. She was also slouching on the bar whilst talking to other staff at times. Myself being an events manager think that this is very unprofessional and doesnt look great from a customer service point of view. It did make me feel very uncomfortable whilst eating my dinner and i did say to my partner that I wanted to say something but she said didnt want me want to. It looks really bad when a manager is slouching around on a phone whilst all the other staff are working hard. I dont know whether whatever she was doing was work related but it should be done out of sight and there should be a manager interacting and welcoming guests. When I go to a restaraunt I expect to receive a full and excellent experience and if I dont then I shouldn't be spending my hardworking money on a restaraunt/manager that doesnt care. All the staff were amazing and attentive though.

Regards
Tracy

Albert's Shed
Responded on 27 August 2019

Thank you for your review Tracey, I'm delighted to read that your server was brilliant and handled your friend's allergy so your friend felt relaxed. I'm disappointed however to read that the person you mentioned was on their phone walking around the restaurant. I would like to reassure you that we will be looking to who the person was and then addressing it with them, hopefully this will not prevent you from dining at Albert's in the future Karen

Report
JL
London
1 review
Dined on 21 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

I must admit being slightly disappointed. The ambience and service were fine but we found the food to be average. I admit to expecting more

Albert's Shed
Responded on 27 August 2019

I'm sorry to hear your experience with your food wasn't a positive one John. If you would like to send me over your contact details and we would like to look into your visit in further detail. If you could also add your booking name, date, time and what dishes your ordered I would really appreciate it.

Report
JB
1 review
Dined on 20 August 2019
Overall 1food 3service 1ambience 1

Been here many times. But on a Tuesday night when only 5 tables are occupied I don’t want to sit side with the other diners , there’s room for all to have some privacy. The waitress had other ideas and was less than helpful on the subject .paid the bill after the main course without leaving a tip .

Albert's Shed
Responded on 23 August 2019

Thank you for your review John, I have also replied to your review on TripAdvisor. I have spoken to all the waiting team who served you on the evening including our general manager who was on duty and I believe an alternative table was offered as you requested in quieter area of the restaurant but I know that a large party was due in shortly to that area so you chose not to move. I apologise if any offence was caused on the evening as I can assure you that there was non intended. Karen

Report
1
2
3
104