The restaurant has ample car parking and provides a picturesque environment for dining out with friends, family or colleagues.
Seared King Scallops
with morphetts farm's black pudding, crispy pancetta, white grapes and a tarragon cream sauce
chargrilled chicken breast in a coconut, chilli & lime sauce with pak choi, edamame beans and red peppers served with wild & jasmine rice and a hand pressed chilli & spring onion flatbread
a tenderised 5 oz rump steak with herb salted thin cut chips and peppercorn sauce
Excellent service lovely food and surroundings staff great
Expensive but quality food and drink. Staff were attentive and pleasant even though it was busy.
Food was up to it’s usual standard, 3 of the party had the Alberts fish and chips which as always looked, I had the Turmeric Roasted Cod loin, which was disappointing, the piece of cod was barely the size of a fish finger. The other in our party had a burger which was a little dry.
The service was fantastic but for a Friday night Alberts was a little quiet this maybe because of the current situation.
Thank you for your review Jonathan, I will certainly pass your feedback regarding the dishes onto the senior kitchen team. I do hope that this experience will not prevent you from visiting us again in the future, Karen
6 friends went to celebrate a friend’s birthday and we all had the lunch time special menu. We have been to Albert’s Shed several times but this time I didn’t feel there was as much choice on the lunchtime menu. The food as always was very good and nicely presented.
Wonderful meal. Service was fantastic. Great value for money.
We went for a birthday meal and got a lovely surprise pudding. One of my favourite places to go.
Great meal. Great service. Never disappointed when we visit here. Food was served very quick
Great place. Good food and ambience. Waiter was great but had far too much on his hands - 4/5 big tables plus other tables to wait and was doing food and drinks. Really enjoyable evening but at a busy time like Sat 7pm more staff required. (Didn’t spoil my evening but an obvious issue).
WENT FOR BIRTHDAY CELEBRATIONS, HAD A LOVELY TIME, MENU CHOICE WAS GREAT, STAFF WERE ATTENTIVE, HIGHLY RECOMMEND
Excellent meal. Would 100% go back. There were some very loud people but not a lot can be done about that :)
This is a revisit after two years and if anything we enjoyed it more than ever....we won’t leave it so long next time. Staff very friendly and helpful, food wonderful and a great atmosphere all round.
Always have a lovely time and the food was great. Had the set menu which was great value. Only negative was the heating outside was on the whole time even though no one was sat outside wasting energy and it also was too warm in the restaurant. Asked for it to be turn down or off but manger didn’t know how to alter it.
Early afternoon lunch for 4 and the restaurant was quiet but we still had to wait to be asked if we wanted drinks prior to the meal. The service was slow at first but did pick up especially following a shift change
Excellent food and Excellent service,
I will be back when I'm next in Manchester.
Another great meal at Alberts Shed. Staff really friendly and food delicious and I think the price is reasonable.
Excellent food with a wide choice of options, including for vegetarians. The restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere and we were looked after well by our waiter despite it being a busy Saturday evening.
Food was absolutely stunning, service was second to none, and waiting time between ordering and being served was minimal. Second time eating here, I will be back again.
The reason I have given 2 stars is because of the issues I had with the service and menu whilst visiting.
I have visited once before and really enjoyed it - which is why we decided to visit again.
We were coming with my 1 year old who is experiencing teething issues at the minute, meaning she has to have food she can pick up and eat herself as she will not allow us to feed her at the moment. Prior to my visit I ensured there were suitable options on the menu before booking as my family are also vegetarian . There are hummus and vegetable sticks on the kids menu for little ones at £4.50, which would have been perfect! Once I ordered I was informed that you no longer serve this - but it had been replaced with chicken - which was obviously not suitable for a vegetarian diet. I then compromised by choosing the fish fingers. However I asked for a smaller portion as she would not eat it all so I resented to pay £7.50. I was then informed I could not have a smaller portion so had to pay for the larger meal. The waitress then came back again to inform me it was no longer fish fingers and was in fact a fillet which she cannot eat herself - then recommend the adult menu! I thought this recommendation was ridiculous so ended up having to pay £7.50 for a meal I didn’t even want in the first place.
On top of all of this we were waiting a ridiculous amount of time to even receive our menus and drink orders upon arrival. We weren’t even offered water while we wait which I thought was poor.
My meal was also unsatisfactory as the pie was dry and the veg was undercooked.
The only reason I have rated 3 stars for food was because my partner did actually enjoy his meal.
The baby changing rooms were also not clean and rather messy which also added to my bad experience.
It is such a shame that I had such a bad experience as I had high hopes from the previous visit.
Thank you for your review Shannon I'm very sorry that you faced the issues which you did during your visit. We do still have homemade beetroot hummus with fresh veggie sticks and flatbread on our little ones menu. I would really like to look onto what happened on your visit with the team, please would you mind replying to this message with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and your email address. Karen
Visited on a Saturday night. Had a lovely time food was really good and the service was great.
Food and service great thanks again. Friendly and accommodating staff.
Excellent, had the lunch menu........food was delicious, served hot, by fantastic staff.
Small mishap when one of the waiters dropped a water bottle in my direction (empty, fortunately) it was an accident but he was so apologetic, and so quick to clean the broken glass and check I was ok (the bottle hit me before the floor) offered a complimentary drink which was very kind but in fact comped half the bill when we got it.......far more than we could have expected. Needless to say left a decent tip the staff were all excellent. Will definitely return soon
Been a few times before and had exceptional service and experience. This time it wasn't as up to standard in my opinion. Service a little sporadic, a meal forgotten about and came a little later, however, was given a free glass of wine to compensate. Overall it was good the party enjoyed our afternoon, however due to always being 100% happy in the past, this visit had a couple of little issues. Everyone has an off day though, it won't put me off visiting again.
Thank you for your feedback Joanne, I'm very glad to read that you have visited in the past so you know that the service which you received on this occasion was not up to our standard. I will certainly ensure that your feedback regarding this visit is passed onto the management team, Karen
Waiter very attentive
Good Quality and great value.
All round lovely experience and will be going again
Brilliant food as always. Great new lunch menu. Exceptional value.
Great food service and ambiance . Wonderful location and accessibility
Always enjoy eating here. However, the service could be a little better. Staff can be slow and unresponsive. Sometimes they are very attentive and will be at your table for drinks and food reasonably quickly. Other times, I've been kept waiting for 10 mins before I've even been asked about drinks.
If you're in a rush, then make sure you ask for the bill with your mains. :-)
I’d like to hear more details regarding the service which you received Jonathan, please would you mind replying to this message with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and your email address so we can look into which staff were working and serving your table when you visited, Karen
After we had finished eating we stood by the entrance and outside was a GIANT RAT!!
Not what you want to see just after you’ve eaten a great meal.
Pretty put off to be fair
Thank you for your review Noreen, I will request the management team to look into what you saw as we have had no sightings, unfortunately it may have come from possibly near the canal. Thank you for letting us know, Karen
The food was excellent but the restaurant is looking a little tired.
Very mediocre food and substandard service. Service was so bad we were forced to collect our own drinks because the waiters couldn’t be bothered and cancel other drinks because they took too long.
Food was sounded nice on the menu but was fairly basic.
I’m sorry to hear your experience was not a positive one Will, please would you mind replying to this message with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and your email address so we can look into what happened during your visit, Karen
Food nice as always but the service was below par, particularly for drinks. We had to chase the two rounds we ordered numerous times. There only appeared to be one person on the bar despite a very busy restaurant. Not great for a Saturday night.
Please accept our apologies for the issues which you received during your visit Rachel, these are not the standards which we set here at Albert's. Please would you mind replying to this message with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and your email address, Karen
Brilliant service and food. We will definitely visit again! Thank you!
Fantastic service, attentive waitress, food was full of flavour and good value for money
Great food, great service, great place!
I have been to Albert's Shed many times, and it never disappoints.
Lovely food, helpful staff, lovely location. We travel from Sheffield to eat at Albert’s Shed - maybe there could be one in Sheffield. My only negative comment is that the Toilets are ready for a refurb.
Thank you for yoru feedback Ruth, I am delighted to let you know that we are in the process of planning a refurbishment which will include the bathrooms, Karen
We were first in the restaurant and hoped we would be served promptly. We had to ask to be served for drinks, to take our food order, to take the empty starters away (after 30 mins of finishing them), for the main course. We didn’t anticipate having to be in the restaurant for 2 and a half hours for lunch so some of the guests missed their train. The food was beautiful though.
Please accept our apologies for the issues which you received during your visit, we do take all comments on board which we received from guests and I will highlight the timing issues with the staff and management team, Karen
Service was great from the minute we walked in to leaving. Food was phenomenal and only £12.50 for two courses... couldn’t believe it. The seafood curry was lovely, couldn’t fault it.
Great food at a great price.
This is the second time that I’ve visited Albert Shed Castlefield and it was a dreadful experience. I had pre-booked a table for an occasion but when we arrived we got seated next to a group of young adults on a double date who were extremely loud to the point we could hear ourselves. There were several tables empty but hadn’t been cleared. My partner was trying to sit down but a member if bar staff was dragging rubbish through the dining room and was frustrated that my partner didn’t let her past!
We ordered our drinks and food at the same time, drinks arrived but then when the started come it was disappointing, my partner ordered bruschetta and to say it was tiny was an understatement now I know it’s not the usual as we had it before and it was a decent size and quality. We both felt disappointed and decided that after that evening we wouldn’t be returning again.
It’s a shame that we also had to sit and wait for 20 minutes for asking for our bill that it took me walking up to a till and demanding to pay the bill so we could leave.
I’m really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at Albert’s during your visit Carla. We take all comments on board which we received from guests and we will highlight these issues with the management team. Please would you mind replying to this message with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and your email address, Karen
Nice overall. Good service and food was tasty. Would come again.
Very disappointing our first visit to Alberts recommended by family and friends but we didn’t enjoy the food
I’m sorry to hear your experience was not a positive one Mark, I would like to learn further details of your visit, Please would you mind replying to this message with what name your booking was under, what time your booking was for and your email address
Lovely food. Great service. Great prices. Highly reccomend
Albert's Shed is rated 4.2 stars by 4407 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.