Albert's Worsley

Star_8_Created with Sketch.Star_8_Created with Sketch.Star_8_Created with Sketch.Star_8_Created with Sketch.star-quarterCreated with Sketch.
4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
3056 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British
Top tags:
  • Special Occasions
  • Lunch
  • Good for Birthdays
We opened our first restaurant in Castlefield, Manchester in 2004 with a clear aim: To deliver quality food to local customers at a reasonable price in a sharp, modern space with friendly, unpretentious service. We have pursued that goal ever since and it has earned us many loyal customers. Our menu is probably classed as British with some additional favourites from Italy and around the globe. Albert's Worsley provides a slick, modern space with dining for 180 guests inside and features a fabulous outside dining terrace for 60.
What 3056 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
m
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined 3 hours ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food, especially enjoyed the tomahawk steak . Will be back again soon

Report
Helpful
MS
London
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

Food was delicious however sauce for steak was slightly cold. Took quite a while for the waitress to take our order

Report
Helpful
LH
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Absolutely beautiful! Dinner for 8 booked for Father’s Day and we were not disappointed! Food was exceptional and service was perfect! I even received a complimentary glass of Prosecco and a brownie for completing a half marathon that day! We will definitely be back

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 2ambience 5

The building / interior at Albert’s is really nice! Very upmarket. The food was delicious with both myself and partner opting for the Sunday Set Menu (£21 for 3 courses). The Pork Sunday Roast was amazing and plenty of food for a hungry appetite. The starters we had were Broccoli and Stilton soup and Chicken Satay Skewer, both of which were great. For dessert there was a choice of 3, and I opted for the Sticky Toffee Pudding (which was great, except it could have done with a little more ice cream!) and my partner had the Chocolate Bomb.
The only downside to the whole meal was that I think the entire waiting staff swap shifts at around 3pm. This was very noticeable as the service was excellent up to this point, but we waited over 20 minutes to pay our bill despite asking staff several times.

Report
Helpful
C
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 1ambience 3

Service was very slow, and few and far between the bill came which had stuff we didn’t even order!

Report
Helpful
LC
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 2food 5service 1ambience 1

Alberts is my favourite place for breakfast and so I decided to take my step dad for father’s day breakfast. The service here is usually amazing but it felt like nobody could be bothered , a lady came around with coffee and spilt it all over the cup saucer and table just shrugged it off and walked away , it left a large stain on the table and we had to ask for a new set. Nobody seemed to be interested in taking our order nor the table next to us yet there were 3 girls following each other with coffee whilst tables were waiting to be served which didn’t look good , and when we asked the girl said she couldn’t but would get somebody else , we waited but still nobody arrived but managed to order 10 minutes later. Our food was lovely however we did feel as though we were being pushed out after our plates were cleared. I requested the bill which was the wrong tables, I have worked in a restaurant myself and knew it was a easy mistake however when we told our waiter he went away and brought the same one back again? I informed him it wasn’t ours and he tried to go through it as thought it was ( this had 4 meals on two adults two children’s and a Bloody Mary we had 2 breakfast and 2 coffees) eventually the bill was sorted but it felt like it was a big deal - it isn’t our fault our bill had been put on the wrong table. I always tip but didn’t as I felt it wasn’t deserved. Overall this is a lovely place I would recommend on any other occasion but the staff on let it down I was devastated as I had raved about it so much and felt like it looked bad on me.

Report
Helpful
PJ
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely night, amazing food and great place. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
OQ
Berkshire
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

Excellent food for the money - definitely coming back again

Report
Helpful
SH
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely varied menu, great atmosphere, delicious food and friendly service. Would definitely recommend and will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
KF
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Absolutely loved it , gorgeous place and excellent food and staff was all lovely , will definitely be going back

Report
Helpful
MG
Manchester
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I have always loved Albert's my fav place for types off occasions really friendly staff, good atmosphere, food is on form. The only thing I think you need to improve is things are starting to fall apart ie chairs, salt and pepper pots etc don't let the little things ruin the decor and environment which is stylish, modern looking restaurant

Albert's Worsley
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for your positive review Maria, I just wanted to reassure that the furnishing are currently being looked into but thank you for mentioning these in your review as we do appreciate your feedback from a customers point of view. Karen Communications Manager

Report
Helpful
L
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

Definitely know that the food in Alberts Shed in Manchester is so much tastier. The service was slow and it was extremely noisy.

Report
Helpful
FF
Manchester
9 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely! We had the set lunch, excellent value for money. The chicken & coconut ‘broth’ is amazing! Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
P
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 4

Food was very nice. Went with another couple and we split the bill 50/50 both of us paid by card and left a cash tip. However I discovered when we got home that a gratuity had been added to the bill and was never mentioned to us before we paid. If it had we wouldn't have left a cash tip. Not the way to treat customers.

Report
Helpful
GA
Manchester
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 3ambience 5

Lovely place , going to be a regular eating out venue for us now.

Report
Helpful
CW
1 review
Dined on 12 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Top notch food and service great staff would highly recommend for sure

Report
Helpful
JJ
1 review
Dined on 12 June 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Great place for lunch and meet up with friends. One of the main courses was cool when it arrived so we returned it. The manager came over and sincerely apologised and said a new dish would be made and offered a drink on the house whilst we waited.

We didn’t expect anything else so was a great experience to see that whole price of the lunch was removed from the bill. Great to see that when things go wrong they are prepared to put it right .

Love this place

Report
Helpful
A
Manchester
5 reviews
Dined on 10 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always love going to Alberts. Food is great and so are the cocktails!!

Report
Helpful
C
1 review
Dined on 9 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

We had a nice experience on Sunday with a lovely waitress Bev

Report
Helpful
L
Spain
1 review
Dined on 9 June 2019
Overall 1food 1service 5ambience 5

Service by Bev was amazing but the standard of food was very low. Will unfortunately not be returning.

Albert's Worsley
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review Lorna and I am delighted to read that Bev was amazing from the service point of view but I would like to find out further details why you wouldn't want to re visit Albert's due to the food. Please would you mind contacting me so I can investigate with the kitchen what the issues where that you had on the day. Karen Communications Manager

Report
Helpful
EE
1 review
Dined on 9 June 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 4

We were in a party of 6 -2 adults and 4 teenagers. We were celebrating my daughters 16th Birthday
I had the salmon which was quite nice but the prawns were a little chewy. The portion size was also a little small and it wasn’t heated enough. My husband had the garlic chicken with spring onion mash and tender stem broccoli he thought the portion size was far too small very small portion of the mash. It also arrived not heated enough. The teens enjoyed their food.
The ambiance was very nice and the service was very good. I couldn’t complain there, but the food did let it down. Sorry but it has put me off going again.
I have been on other occasions and thoroughly enjoyed the food. It was on the early bird tea menu though.

Albert's Worsley
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Albert’s Emma. Whilst it is great to hear you chose our venue to visit for your daughters 16th Birthday, I am sorry to read your comments regarding the food experience that yourself and your husband received. I am delighted to hear that the teens enjoyed their food. Should you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact myself, Karen Communications Manager

Report
Helpful
LS
1 review
Dined on 9 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Lovely food...service very good.Was very noisy but it didnt spoil our ladies lunch.

Report
Helpful
MB
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Food lovely. Husband.disappointed with the taste of beer from the pump and had to replace for a bottle of beer.

Report
Helpful
J
1 review
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 2food 1service 1ambience 3

Started off good.The starters were lovely when main meal arrived both my husband and my veg was cold and my sauce was also cold the waitress apologized and ordered more this took 30 minutes to arrive when it arrived it was just warm.we were then offered the sweet menu we waited for over 15 minutes before anyone came to see if required sweets we decided not to bother as we had already waited long enough .

Albert's Worsley
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review Joanne I am sorry to hear that you had issue with the food and service and therefore you did not enjoy your visit to Albert's. Please would you mind contacting me with what time you dined and also what name the booking was under so I can look into the issues you faced. Karen Communications Manager

Report
Helpful
RS
1 review
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Lovely meal and service. Tried to have a drink at bar after but couldn’t get served despite it not being busy, too many staff in area to serve tables. Ended up visiting the swan!

Albert's Worsley
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review Richard, I am very sorry to hear that you were not able to gain a drink in the bar area after your meal. I will certainly bring this to the attention of the General Manager to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. Hopefully we will see you again soon, Karen Communications Manager

Report
Helpful
k
Manchester
6 reviews
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

Staff were really helpful when I realised I had booked for 2 ppl instead of 4 ppl the day prior to the booking. We were sat in a booth which is always good, at some of the middle tables you are sat nearer to the person on another table on the other side of a low divide than you are your partner sat opposite you!

Lamb salad starter was really good and the tomahawk pork was lovely. I prefer a normal size chip to fries or brick sized as the only options, but the broccoli and pork were excellent.

Service felt a little like there wasn’t a dedicated waiter in our area despite it being less busy than usual. The bar service at the table is never the best but the staff are always friendly and helpful even if the drinks are a little slow.

Report
Helpful
A
1 review
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 4food 5service 2ambience 4

We really enjoyed our first experience at Albert's and definitely will be back. Unfortunately we had a young trainee waitress who was struggling slightly with the ordering process and systems. Perhaps the management could have kept a eye on her progress and our service could have been improved, although we did appreciate it was a Saturday evening and the restaurant was very busy. Nevertheless the young lady was very polite with a great attitude towards giving us a great customer service, no complaints on her politeness and manners towards us. It was no problem for my wife and I as we have a young daughter who is also a waitress at another well known high street restaurant who went through similar training experiences. That said, the food was excellent and the venue had a great ambiance and perhaps our next visit may warrant a higher rating and better review. Regards AJ

Report
Helpful
MF
1 review
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent service! Lovely Food! Staff were very polite.

Report
Helpful
KP
Cheshire
3 reviews
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent food and service. Very resonabley priced.

Report
Helpful
LH
1 review
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 5food 2service 5ambience 5

Loved the place, the friendly staff and the food was great and plentiful. We had brunch and as well as all of the usual English varieties there were tasty offerings from other countries which some of our group had and got full marks for.
Well done to the ALBERT extended family.

I popped in on a different day for a quick drink and bar snack/platter which was also great.

Report
Helpful
RL
1 review
Dined on 7 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 3

Starter was ok the tomahawk pork chop was excellent and sticky toffee pudding was really nice.

Report
Helpful
LH
Manchester
4 reviews
Dined on 7 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Visit mid week for better service! Drinks quite expensive. Food nice, good for groups.

Report
Helpful
KW
1 review
Dined on 6 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent service and great food! The waitress was lovely and really attentive

Report
Helpful
A
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 6 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The wife and I came for our anniversary the food was amazing

Report
Helpful
DW
1 review
Dined on 6 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I came for my daughters 12 birthday meal with family and friends had a lovely meal and time thanks

Report
Helpful
G
1 review
Dined on 6 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great place and fabulous lunch set menu for the price.

Report
Helpful
C
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 5 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had an evening meal this week with my mum and daughter - the waitress asked us if it was a special occasion - my daughter had passed her uni exams - she brought a glass of prosecco for her on the house !
Our food was gorgeous - the ambience was fantastic- the service was brilliant - thank you for a great night - we’ll be back

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on 4 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

All in all very good but they did forget to bring my coffee ended up canceling it as had to go

Report
Helpful
BL
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 3 June 2019
Overall 4food 5service 2ambience 4

We arrived at 6-50 pm our table being booked for 7pm it was 7-30 before we were seated. We ordered drinks at 7-10 pm and were served them at 7-45pm. Our starters were served at 8-30pm. Quality of food was very good but the service was poor ,getting served soup then having to ask several staff for soup spoons . The restaurant didn’t seem too busy so not sure what the problem was.

Albert's Worsley
Responded on 9 June 2019

Thank you for your review Betty, I am sorry to hear that you did not experience quick or efficient service during your visit. We really do appreciate your feedback though so that we can improve our service moving forward. Karen Communications Manager

Report
Helpful
I
London
1 review
Dined on 3 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

Really enjoyed the food, however the wine is way over priced for the quality felt it was very poor. The food I feel is value for money as the quality is high against other similar priced restaurants in the area, but felt a bit ripped off with the wine

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
77
null