This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitising, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.

Angels Share

4.2
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
96 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Scottish
This fashionable restaurant in Edinburgh’s West End, serves contemporary Scottish cuisine made from fresh local produce where possible. In close proximity the major shopping destinations of Princes Street. The chic interior of the restaurant, decorated in classic style with leather banquettes, glittering chandeliers and dark wood furniture, provides a charming space for a relaxed, yet elegant feel. The bar is brought alive with live music Thursday - Saturday evenings.

Other things to look out for are our delicious cocktails, a personal selection of fantastic wines, Scottish craft beers, plus our perfect pour Ultimate gins.

Please note we seat bookings both in our main bar and club room. If you require a quieter table, please leave a note upon booking.

Please note that no one under the age of 18 will be permitted in the venue after 8pm, Sunday - Thursday & after 5pm on Friday & Saturday.

Support Angels Share during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Personal Protective Equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking

Offers

Sunday Roast for 4 with a bottle of wine £60

Oct 26, 2020-Nov 30, 2020·Sun 12:00-20:00

Sunday Roast with a bottle of wine for £60 (based on 4 people sharing)

25% off food

Oct 26, 2020-Nov 30, 2020·Mon-Thu 12:00-20:00

25% off our A la Carte Menu.

Sunday Roast for £15 per person

Oct 26, 2020-Nov 30, 2020·Sun 12:00-20:00

Sunday Roast for £15 per person.

What 96 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
SA
SallyA
London
3 reviews
Dined on 22 September 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Lovely meal, excellent service and careful corona measures. Excellent vegan choices. So hard to see a usually buzzing venue so quiet. We were glad we could support.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Morayshire
2 reviews
Dined on 15 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A great experience all round, could not fault it.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 4 September 2020
Overall1food3service1ambience2

We reserved a table. After two hours spent in this restaurant eating and drinking the waiter brought us a bill we didn’t asked for, as we were going to order more drinks and food. He told us that our time here was over and the table was needed for someone else.That was quite rude. In response we demonstrated the confirmation e-mail in which there was no information about time limits. Moreover, no one told us about these time limits when we came to the restaurant as well. But for the stuff it was nothing and they did there best to kick us out as soon as possible. The attitude to us was very indifferent even when I promised to write a complaint. Never visit this place again.

Angels Share
Responded on 12 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on all our booking platforms - we have already responded to your review on Tripadvisor.

Report
s
style
New York Area
52 reviews
Dined on 28 August 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience4

We had a 2yr old so at first was told the booking could not be accepted as the venue thought we wanted the bar area but we booked for the restaurant. Was eventually allowed to dine in the restaurant but had to leave by 8pm as kids under 18yrs not allowed to stay longer in the restaurant. That was a shame as we were just about to order desert.

Given the lack of business due to Covid19 and the fact that there were 4 adults dining you would have thought there was some flexibility but obviously the restaurant is not interested in making any money.
Food was average and the fish and chips had 'fries' not chips which was very odd for Scotland.
The venue was nice enough but that was the only plus point about the experience.

Angels Share
Responded on 12 September 2020

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. As per our booking T&C's, children are not permitted in the bar after 5pm on weekends & 8pm on weekdays - this was sent out to you when your booking confirmed & is also listed on our profile on Opentable. In terms of our menu, we were a little unsure of what you meant by "the fish and chips had 'fries' not chips which was very odd for Scotland." as our menu reads "Fish Supper - Beer Batter, tartare sauce & crushed peas" Thanks for the review.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2020
Overall3food5service3ambience4

Staff were amazing but not enough of them
Our waitress was run off her feet
Bar staff was very short staffed appetiser came before our drinks

OT
OpenTable Diner
Ayrshire
1 review
Dined on 21 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really lovely staff where great

OT
OpenTable Diner
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Dined on 13 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very good!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Edinburgh
3 reviews
Dined on 10 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was lovely. Smaller menu than normal but was very nice.

JT
vipJamieT
Glasgow
9 reviews
Dined on 22 February 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience3

The menu has considerably diminished in terms of selection. There used to be much for choice here.

JL
JanetL
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Dined on 31 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome place , lovely food and attentive staff , great atmosphere 👍 .

d
diningoutlovers
Edinburgh
46 reviews
Dined on 10 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Ate from the set lunch menu which was excellent value. We had Fish Nd Chips and it was very good. Nice crisp batter and very nice chips. Will definitely return.

CW
ClareW
1 review
Dined on 3 January 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience4

We had a meal on friday which was lovely the only reason i have given 3 stars as 3 of the fish dishes we would of chose were not availale so we had the steak which was lovely but the peppercorn sauce wasn’t nice.
Overall though was really nice but very noisy when you were eating but i know its a bar!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Edinburgh
3 reviews
Dined on 28 December 2019
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Always a great place to be at.

Thank you for a nice evening!

D
vipDoggy
Chicago
31 reviews
Dined on 16 November 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Everything delicious ! Prawns, chicken liver pâté, burger, monkfish !!

AM
AnneM
Edinburgh
4 reviews
Dined on 16 November 2019
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Service very slow. Food still good though!! This is the second time this has happened in the bar area. Maybe the restaurant are would have better service?!

AM
AnneMarieB
Edinburgh
25 reviews
Dined on 12 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Just lovely as always and great value

AS
AmandaS
Edinburgh
4 reviews
Dined on 10 November 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Excellent meal, but on the Sunday night it was very quiet, only 3 tables including us when we got there. So difficult to judge another night. Staff excellent

AR
AllisonR
1 review
Dined on 10 November 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience4

I booked through open table and was surprised on arrival at the restaurant that they were unaware of the booking. The restaurant was quiet so we were quickly seated. Service was good, pleasant manner, checked we had everything. Food was disappointing. Small portion of fish looked lost on plate. Although menu descriptions seemed to indicate plates had veg, chips etc on plate, quantities were limited. Mains need additional sides. Costly pub food.

MJ
McJo
Edinburgh
4 reviews
Dined on 19 October 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Really nice experience. Staff were attentive and professional. Had a lovely lunch.

NM
NeilM
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on 17 October 2019
Overall2food2service1ambience3

I like tha Angel Share as a bar, we have drank in here many times and have always been very happy so I decided to try an evening meal instead. We had a booking and the waitress took us to our table however that's where the service ended. We had no menus, no drinks order was taken and after 20 minutes of sitting without being served we decided to leave ond go elsewhere. Its a real shame as I have often seen people enjoying food so I assume it is good.
Possibly just an oversight but there were plenty of staff behind the bar on so not sure what went wrong.

AM
AnneM
Edinburgh
4 reviews
Dined on 1 October 2019
Overall2food4service1ambience4

We had to go uop and ask staff to come over to our table three times during our visit!! very disappointed in the servie - its always awqesome!! The staff appeared to be hudled around the corner of the bar (for some unknown reason).

D
vipDambuster
London
134 reviews
Dined on 17 September 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience4

A 'Full Scottish Breakfast" cannot be turned down, can it? Certainly not if it I should always as good as this one. Excellent all round - I would have liked 23 seconds more on my poached egg, but that is being very picky indeed.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Orlando
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great service and ambiance
Live music a bonus!

AM
AnneM
Edinburgh
4 reviews
Dined on 27 August 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Faultless as always. Very attentive without being intrusive. Reasonable time to wait for food. Could have sat there all afternoon - we were not rushed out of the door like some places!!!

A
vipAlastair
Edinburgh
3 reviews
Dined on 26 August 2019
Overall2food3service2ambience3

Have used Angels Share for food and drinks for a number of years and have always found the food to be good value for money and service to be warm and friendly.
That said, over the past few months the service in particular has deteriorated- seemingly linked to staff changes - and that, combined with increased restrictions applied to their Loyalty Card Scheme, has made this much less of a “go-to” venue than it once was.

AC
AlChris
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Dined on 12 August 2019
Overall2food3service3ambience3

They said on arrival that they had no record of our booking. After showing them your confirmation they fitted us in. Food and service were mediocre. We have been to Angels Share many times, this visit was very disappointing. They seem to have gone downhill

AM
AnneM
Edinburgh
4 reviews
Dined on 23 July 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Faultless!! Very attentive waitress without being over intrusive.

CA
CarolineA
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 13 July 2019
Overall4food5service4ambience4

We were a party of 4 who all thoroughly enjoyed our food and evening. Only negative of the evening was the rudeness of one of the servers. It's a bit of a long story however the restaurant dealt with the incident quickly and discreetly and this certainly wouldn't put any of us off from returning. Full marks for the food and all bar one of the servers.

MS
MarlynS
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 16 June 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience1

I was very disappointed with my latest visit to Angels Share given it has been a firm favourite for a long time.

Staff did not have the booking (booked via OpenTable)
Staff had to be reminded about the drinks order
The food was extremely poor (for a Sunday Roast with all the trimmings) - a huge chunk of meet, 1 yorkshire pudding and a serving of green beans!
Food was lukewarm

The general ambience was very quiet and having brought family from Northern Ireland based on previous experience we were absolutely embarrassed by the quality of food and service. We paid the bill out of sheer embarrassment and wishing not to make a fuss in front of family members whom we had not seen for a long time. We will not be back.

JN
JonnyN
London
12 reviews
Dined on 30 May 2019
Overall1food1service3ambience2

Mediocre from start to finish. Don’t order the Mussels as a starter, you get 12. Chicken risotto completely lacking any taste. To top it off, some robbed our umbrella off the back of my chair 😂. Stick to being a bar, you’ve got the food all wrong.

n
ninno63
Italy
1 review
Dined on 6 May 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Bellissimo locale dove si puo' mangiare,ma anche bere birra o altro in compagnia.La ragazza che ci ha servito è stata molto gentile e paziente per il nostro inglese non molto ferrato,ma ci siamo capiti molto bene.Cibo di alta qualità e preparazione molto competente,tutto delizioso.Siamo rimasti pienamente soddisfatti.

Report
IW
IreneW
Glasgow
2 reviews
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Have visited many times and it’s always a pleasure, have recommended to a few people

JD
JanetD
Philadelphia
3 reviews
Dined on 21 February 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good service and meal in an attractive setting and pleasant atmosphere. We were able to take our time over after lunch coffee without feeling any pressure to leave in a hurry.

JA
JanA
London
2 reviews
Dined on 8 February 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely venue food and value for money
Staff extremely nice very helpful and add to the experience

JF
JaniceF
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Dined on 3 December 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was a super day from beginning to end, meal was lovely, service was great plus compliment's to the chef

RP
RuthP
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 29 November 2018
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Disappointing! Having eaten many times at the Angels Share the 'festive menu' very limited in choice, the head front of house staff was rude and very unhelpful when asked to hang up our extremely wet coats. Will maybe return after the Christmas season, meanwhile regrettably will choose another venue for our annual Christmas Eve lunch.

AM
AnneMarieB
Edinburgh
25 reviews
Dined on 28 November 2018
Overall4food5service2ambience5

As you see from all my previous reviews I've never been disappointed until this visit. Brought 6 friends for a meal before a show and really disappointed in service provided.
Meals arrived asked for salt and various sauces. After 10 mins I wemt to find out where the salt etc was. Eventually a girl came , I explained I was disappointed as by now most of us were half way through our meals. She was just rude !
Another waitress saved the day as without her input, after years of coming here, I said I would never be back. Service needs sorted out

MP
MoP1
Ayrshire
2 reviews
Dined on 27 November 2018
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Food excellent as always, only issue was a mix up with the Tuesday steak deal & also a different menu given for desserts.
Website needs updated with current menu & offers.

SM
StuartM
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 10 November 2018
Overall3food1service4ambience4

Disappointed with food. Menu limited so went for burger which was rare in the middle.

c
callamero
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 27 October 2018
Overall3food2service4ambience3

Nice lounge to sit in for meal and drink - quiet but nice ambience.
Staff were very polite and service great.
Food was ok but we were not overly impressed by food on night - salmon in a bowl of coconut broth.

FAQs

Angels Share is rated 4.2 stars by 96 OpenTable diners.

Angels Share does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://vouchers.giftvouchersolutions.com/vouchersales/choose.aspx?c=ANGEL.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.