Asha's Manchester

4.2
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
264 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary Indian
Top tags:
  • Special Occasions
  • Spicy
  • Good for a Date
Adding a little spice to your life. Asha’s is an internationally acclaimed award winning Indian restaurant with branches located in Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Bahrain, Birmingham, Manchester, Kuwait and Qatar.
What 264 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
N
Manchester
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 4

They have billed me wrongly for items I didn’t receive.

JW
Manchester
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Very tasty, taste bud tingling food. I will return.

ID
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 15 September 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

The food was not the best, it was quite expensive for quality and quantity. The bathroom floor was sticky and the restaurant didn't look very clean. The staff was lovely and very attentive.

JB
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food, fantastic service and amazing cocktails!

MB
1 review
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 1

Previous visits amazing food , unfortunately not this time. Mixed kebab starters cold and chicken chewy. Main meal lamb organ josh very little meat sauce not tasty and only Luke warm, chicken jalfrezis lacked substance and taste, rice cold. Service rushed and not welcoming overhaul very disappointing service , celebrating an anniversary not nice at all .

DO
1 review
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall 3food 5service 2ambience 4

Had an excellent starter but mains very expensive .Won't be going back

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 12 September 2019

Dear DianeO, Thank you for your review. If you have a moment to email us at reservations@ashasmanchester.co.uk with further comments (regarding the mains and service) I would greatly appreciate it. We always want our guests to leave with a good memory of Asha's Manchester so we would love if you would be willing to visit us again and give us a chance to provide you a more positive experience. Kind regards, Helena

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Attentive but not intrusive service. Delicious food savoured. A very pleasant occasion to remember.

B
London
5 reviews
Dined on 4 September 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

Excellent starters (I had lamb chops and tried friends mushroom starter), but the mains disappointed. Two of us had Vindaloo, but it was their own take on this and was far too sweet. My friend had a Rogan Josh that he said was too salty and the waiter agreed. The meat was excellent as were sides, but we did not like the interpretation of classic dishes. I'm sure other dishes would have been nice, as it was high quality.

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 12 September 2019

Dear Berry, Thank you for your review and I apologise the mains did not live up to the taste you had in mind. I hope you would be willing to give us another try and we'll make sure we live up to your expectation. If you have any further comments regarding the service and ambience please email us at reservations@ashasmanchester.co.uk, your reviews are crucial for us to grow and provide a better experience the next time you choose to visit us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Helena

Report
OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 4 September 2019
Overall 1food 1service 3ambience 2

First 2 items ordered on the menu were unavailable. Battered prawns were soggy, venison samosas overdone (nearly broke a tooth on them). Mains were bland with an overdose of clove. We were not looking for “hot” spice but flavour. It was sadly missing. Not sure how this ended up in the Michelin guide - it is just hype. Service was friendly enough is the best I can say.

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 12 September 2019

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review and I sincerely apologise our food was not satisfactory. Please email us at reservations@ashasmanchester.co.uk for us to rectify the issues and provide you with the quality we are capable of if you choose to visit us once again and give us a second try. Kind regards, Helena

Report
MP
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

From the welcome on arrival to leaving, this was a great experience, well worth it. The food was delicate and tasty, I had the chicken biriyani and venison somoasa and we shared the monkfish tikka. Highly recommended

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 12 September 2019

Dear MikeP, Thank you for your positive review about the experience and food. We are delighted that you've enjoyed your time and thank you for recommending us. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Helena

Report
R
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 4

We were sat next to the door where staff were going in and out of. It wasn’t conducive to the romantic meal I had in mind, however, I asked to be moved and this was accommodated. We both love this restaurant, great food and ambiance (as long as you’re not placed near the kitchen door 😀).

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 12 September 2019

Dear Rebekah, Thank you for your review. I apologise you did not enjoy your first table and I'm glad we were able to rectify the issue on the night and live up to the experience you had in mind. We hope to welcome you again at Asha's Manchester. Kind regards, Helena

Report
J
Glasgow
5 reviews
Dined on 25 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Once again the good and service were fab. Lovely gesture re our celebration. Really appreciated that.
Will definitely be back -highly recommend this restaurant for outstanding food and service

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 11 September 2019

Dear Jm123, Thank you for your kind review in regards to our food and service, and thank you for choosing to dine with us at Asha's Manchester. We would be delighted to host you once again. Kind regards, Helena

Report
CK
1 review
Dined on 23 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 2

We were a party of 4 and shared popadoms and a pickle tray for four. Only got 1/2 a popadom each with a half left over, so 5 halves in total ???
Main course, I had murgh makhani and asked for it very hot. It was very hot and quite nice too. All of us thought the main course was nice but incredibly expensive for what it was. Breads and rice were ok too. Warm plates brought for main course some 10 minutes before the food arrived so were cold and we had to ask for them to be changed.
9.40pm and had a couple with a screaming baby sat across from us !!! Not for us on a night out thank you.

AR
1 review
Dined on 23 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

Decor glitzy but in a classy way. Food generally good; the short menu is always a good sign. The tandoori starters were excellent, the Muscat Gosht gorgeous, the Murg Makhani a perfect balance of rich and savoury and the rice and naans all really nice. The vegetable dishes were a bit variable; the bhindi was lovely, the Hare Baingan (aubergine) rather bland and the Dal Makhani tasty but over-runny.

The wine list is decent and the mark-up not unreasonable given the setting.

The service is very friendly although not as slick as you'd expect given the decor and ambience. I'm not sure if that's a bad thing though!

Central Manchester isn't that well off for top class Indian restaurants. I can't think of another right now that's any better.

MR
Warwickshire
2 reviews
Dined on 22 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wonderful food from start to finish with wonderful service in a fantastic setting.

PP
London
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

First class food and service. We have visited several times and it’s consistently excellent.

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 21 August 2019

Dear PatriciaP, Thank you for your positive review! We are always pleased to put a smile on our guests' faces and provide a great experience. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Helena

Report
MG
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on 15 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food is high end so don't expect curry and chips here. layout is simple but nice and the service level is excellent.

Staff were very attentive but not over the top and were quick to help if you need anything.

Menu is clear and should cover most peoples tastes and the wine list is fairly well covered and at a good mix of prices.

I would recommend Asha for both couples and groups although if you want a more romantic night sit away from the groups as the noice level can be raised as the wine bottles go down.

Enjoyed our night and would be happy to book again next time in Manchester

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 21 August 2019

Dear MarkG, Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about the food and team at Asha's Manchester. It's our priority to ensure you experience a memorable night and it's our pleasure to host you again the next time you're in the city. Kind regards, Helena

Report
p
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 14 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Very different to your normal curry night. We had one of the fish platters and it was gorgeous.

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 21 August 2019

Dear paulc, Thank you for review. We pride ourselves on delivering traditional food with a modern twist, and we are grateful to be appreciated by our guests. Looking forward to welcoming you again at Asha's Manchester. Kind regards, Helena

Report
S
London
8 reviews
Dined on 11 August 2019
Overall 1food 1service 3ambience 3

Wasn’t impressed with food or choices available.

OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 10 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Anniversary meal

SP
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 9 August 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 2

The food wasn’t as flavourful as expected. Felt it was expensive for what it was and not worth a second visit

TM
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 4 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Good food 👍🏻I lovet 😍 The place is lovely and the service is excellent

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 7 August 2019

Dear TalalM, We are delighted that you have had a good experience at Asha's Manchester. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our team, we hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Helena.

Report
D
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 2food 3service 3ambience 2

On arrival, no greeting which was surprising for 8pm on a Saturday night so made our way upstairs to the restaurant. We were seated after a few minutes wait.

Order taken by a pleasant waiter. Starter arrived promptly but was a little tasteless but presented well.

The Chicken Biryani was white in colour and a little wet and insipid. Thankfully the Muscat Gosht was spicy and meaty which went well with the aforementioned as we used this as a boiled rice accompaniment.

We did not stay for dessert as we were disappointed.

To add insult to injury, we had to ask for the bill twice with a 20 minute wait before it arrived. We left a review on the tablet that they presented. The whole meal of a starter platter with Biryani and Muscat Gosht with a Roti and Raita cost in excess of £92 plus a service charge with drinks of £17, so the food cost was £75. We don’t mind paying for quality hence our attendance under the misapprehension that the food would be gourmet.

Very disappointed as their website portrayed a very different experience to be had. Incidentally others were complaining around us so not just our poor experience.

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 10 August 2019

Dear Debleauchamp We are deeply sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. Our team strives on delivering food of the freshest quality and prepared specifically for our guests, so we apologise if we delivered anything less than excellent, as our guests' happiness is our priority. We take on board all of our guests' comments and we hope you would be willing to return for us to have the chance to give you the experience and service we know we can achieve. Kind regards, Helena

Report
SG
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

One of, if not the, best curry I've ever had. Brilliant service and amazing surroundings. Will be going back when next in Manchester

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 10 August 2019

Dear SimonG, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a positive experience at our restaurant and that you enjoyed our dishes! It's our pleasure to welcome you back next time you're in Manchester. Kind regards, Helena

Report
TP
1 review
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 3

Would recommend as a one off. Too expensive for curry. Fantastic food but most expensive curry I have ever eaten. Won't come again sadly.

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 10 August 2019

Dear TooPricey, Thank you for your review. We apologise that you feel you would not want to come again, if you would like to email reservations@ashasmanchester.co.uk for more details on your visit and for us to provide you with a 5* star experience should you choose to visit us again we would extremely appreciate it. We take on all our guests' comments to ensure we grow and exceed expectations. Kind regards, Helena

Report
CB
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 31 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Absolutely fabulous food as always. Asha's never disappoints. Would (and have) recommended to friends who all agreed that this is a restaurant that you will want to visit again and again. Staff, knowledgeable and welcoming. Service levels just right and the food is fantastic.
Try the cocktails - out of this world! :)

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 10 August 2019

Dear CharlieBlake, Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review, the team at Asha's Manchester would be delighted to know that you've enjoyed your experience every time you visit, and I will pass on the message to our bartenders about the cocktails! And of course we are extremely grateful that you have recommended us to your friends, we aim to bring a smile to all our guests. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Helena

Report
VD
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My husband and I where celebrating our 3 year wedding anniversary. We came into the restaurant and was seated at a lovely table by the back of the restaurant. Our food was out of this world. You could taste all the different spices in my dish. I enjoyed every last piece. Amazing. After dinner the server brought us over a piece of cheese cake with Happy Anniversary written on the plate with chocolate as a surprise. That made us feel so special. Thank you for making our anniversary evening very special.

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 10 August 2019

Dear VictoriaDC, Once again, happy wedding anniversary! We are so pleased that you enjoyed such a memorable day with us, it's our pleasure to have given you a great experience. Thank you for your review on our dishes, we hope to welcome you and your husband again soon to try out more of what we have to offer and enjoy another great day with us. Kind regards, Helena

Report
RS
1 review
Dined on 26 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Overall a fantastic experience although on the expensive side.

LB
1 review
Dined on 20 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A beautifully decorated restaurant with friendly, helpful staff. The service was quick and the food was delicious. The variety of food and beverages was impressive and we found their pre-theatre dining menu very reasonably priced. Will definitely visit again.

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 26 July 2019

Dear LisaB, Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review about our team, the service and the food. We are delighted to read that you've had a lovely time at Asha's Manchester and hope to welcome you again. Kind regards, Helena

Report
F
1 review
Dined on 20 July 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

Not very authentic tasting. The starters (platter) contained coated meat which was flavourless inside.

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 26 July 2019

Hi Foodie21, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear of the experience you had recently at our restaurant. Your comments will be passed over to the team to ensure that our quality meets and exceeds your expectations should you wish to visit us again. If you have any further comments please do not hesitate to contact us at reservations@ashasmanchester.co.uk Kind regards, Helena.

Report
OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 19 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A friend said "got to be up there with the top three curries I've ever had."

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 26 July 2019

Hi Anonymous, Thank you so much for a wonderful comment! We pride ourselves on our freshly made food and our hard working team. We hope to welcome you again soon at Asha's Manchester. Kind regards, Helena.

Report
L
1 review
Dined on 17 July 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 3

Food lacked in flavour and taste was very mediocre but overpriced, staff were not engaging, table candles were not lit no hot towels etc. Nice decor surrounding restaurant

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 20 July 2019

Dear Larrysohal, We would like to sincerely apologise for the meal you had at our restaurant. We pride ourselves on delivering authentic, freshly prepared food of the best quality with professional, attentive service. It's very disappointing to see that you did not receive the level of food and service standards we know we can achieve. If you'd like to send us an email to reservations@ashasmanchester.co.uk with your comments we would greatly appreciate it. Kind regards, Helena

Report
D
London
3 reviews
Dined on 16 July 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 2

We booked a table for 3 to celebrate our daughter's graduation. The table was reserved for 2015 and we arrived a few minutes early, a group of 4 arrived just before us. They didn't have a reservation, but were seated before us and their order taken first.
At 2115 warm plates were delivered to our table, They were then left to get cold. Our food order was then brought to the table, it was stone cold!
I raised the is with our waiter and manager and complained that after an hour we had only received a few popadams and a cold meal. We had also been presented with a bill for another table.

Their response was " Just leave"

The restaurant wasn't overly busy and the reaction of the staff appalling.

I certainly would not recommend this restaurant.

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 19 July 2019

Good Evening Deb747, We are so sorry to hear you were dissapointed with your visit . If the welcoming was not up to your expectations and created a bad first impression it was certainly was not our intention. It is unacceptable that you waited a long while for food but I know the Manger on duty tried his best to make up for the short fall in service and in no way at any point suggested that 'you should just leave'. I can assure you this attitude has never been adopted by any of the team here

Report
DL
1 review
Dined on 16 July 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

The ambience, service and restaurant were very good. Our group enjoyed the starters but there was consensus that the main dishes were unremarkable. The food was on the expensive side so I had hoped for better.

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 20 July 2019

Dear DavidL, Thank you for providing us with your feedback about the restaurant and the food. We sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your main meals, we always work on exceeding expectations with high quality food and so are sorry you did not feel this way. Please email us at reservations@ashasmanchester.co.uk if you have any further comments (or main dishes' details) for us to take on board to improve your experience next time. Kind regards, Helena

Report
RP
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 15 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Lovely restaurant and service , food was wonderful . The only con was I was still eating and the waiter took my plate away

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 20 July 2019

Dear RitaP, Thank you for your kind review. I apologise on behalf of our team as we ensure our staff are trained to the highest standards, so we do hope to see you again for us to provide a 10/10 experience. Kind regards, Helena

Report
s
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 14 July 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

The expectation was huge pre-visit .But utterly disappointed.
The food that we chose looked great on the menu but tasted ordinary.
The ambience is great but not exactly matched in quality by the food.

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 20 July 2019

Dear surenc, We would like to apologise for the disappointing experience you had recently at our restaurant. We pride ourselves on delivering authentic food of the freshest and highest quality. It's very disappointing to see that you did not receive the level of food standards we know we can achieve. Please email us at reservations@ashasmanchester.co.uk as we would like to rectify some of the issues you had as your feedback is extremely valuable. Kind regards, Helena

Report
JB
1 review
Dined on 13 July 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 2

Visited on a Saturday night with moderately high expectations. Was left pretty disappointed. Service was not very good, took about 10 minutes to be offered a drink, 15 mins for someone to talk through the menu. After that we had to flag staff down if we wanted something.

Food really wasn't that impressive either. I would recommend going to your local town/village curry house to get a curry as my local places are better. Overall my girlfriend and I both left with the impression it was all a little tired and needed some life injecting back into every aspect of the restaurant... The toilets were also borderline a disgrace but that's a separate topic

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 20 July 2019

Dear JamesB, We would like to apologise for the disappointing experience you recently had at our restaurant and can ensure you that we are seriously investigating the points outlined in your review If you'd like to email us at reservations@ashasmanchester.co.uk for us to see how we can provide you and your girlfriend a better experience next time we would greatly appreciate it. Kind regards, Helena

Report
SM
1 review
Dined on 13 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent service, excellent food and very good value.

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 20 July 2019

Dear StuartM, Thank you for taking the time to provide a great rating and positive review! We hope to see you again soon, Kind regards, Helena

Report
GR
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 13 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food a lovey way to spend our Saturday afternoon :)

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 20 July 2019

Dear GillianR, Thank you for a positive review, we pride ourselves on delivering not only great food but also a great service for our guests, so we are grateful to see that you've enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Helena

Report
PM
London
1 review
Dined on 11 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It was all great. We’ve been about 4 times now. It’s always knockout.

Asha's Manchester
Responded on 26 July 2019

Dear PaulM, We are so delighted that you have good experiences at our restaurant! Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we hope to welcome you again for a 5th time. Kind regards, Helena

Report
1
2
3
7