Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. London
  4. West End London
  5. Mayfair

Avista Restaurant & Bar

4.1
4.1
189 Reviews
£26 to £40
Italian
AVISTA, the contemporary restaurant located in the heart of Mayfair.


With exposed brick walls, a natural beige and cream colour scheme and a striking arrangement of fresh flowers, 75-seat Avista Restaurant is the ideal venue for business meetings and discreet gatherings. Private dining for 14 is an option while Avista Bar is the perfect discreet hideaway for enjoying cocktails and aperitifs.

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable booking network.

If you like, we'll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.


Is this your restaurant?
Claim this listing

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Fine Dining

  • Cuisines

    Italian

  • Hours of Operation

    Lunch: Tuesday- Friday: 12:00pm - 2pm; Dinner: Tuesday- Friday: 6:30pm - 10:00pm Saturday: 6:30pm - 10:00pm Sunday Closed

  • Phone number

    020 7596 3399

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress Code

    Smart Casual

  • Area

    Mayfair

  • Parking Details

    None

  • Public Transit

    Bond Street Tube StationBond Street Tube Station 5min.<br />Green Park Tube station 10min.

  • Additional

    Banquet, Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What 189 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

4.1
4.1 based on all time ratings
  • 4.2Food
  • 4.2Service
  • 3.8Ambience
  • 3.7Value

NoiseQuiet

Sort by

Filters

  1. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 29 March 2018

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Great service
  2. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 31 December 2017

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Superbe soirée de réveillon dans ce restaurant italien ! Service impeccable , mets raffinés .
  3. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 27 December 2017

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    First class. The best non Michelin starred dinner in England. Attentive service, good wines and outstanding food. Highly recommended
  4. JG

    JeffG

    London

    14 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    14 reviews

    Dined on 19 October 2017

    overall4food4service5ambience4
    Attentive service and quiet ambiance make this an ideal restaurant to bring clients, friends and or family. The food is nicely prepared and tasty. Leave room for dessert. The coffee is also good.
  5. AC

    AnnetteC

    London

    23 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    23 reviews

    Dined on 13 October 2017

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Wonderful greeting, inventive presentation and food, great sommelier...... love it!! Will return again and again......
  6. RB

    RoBh

    London

    52 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    52 reviews

    Dined on 6 October 2017

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Always love to visit this for a friends get together or just us on a Friday night. It's a hidden gem on Grosvenor square... great tasting menu and wine pairings were excellent!! Even dessert and Amuse bouche were amazing and just the right portions!
  7. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 28 September 2017

    overall5food5service5ambience3
    Service was brilliant and good was amazing
  8. F

    Foodie

    London

    74 reviews

    4.0

    74 reviews

    Dined on 19 August 2017

    overall4food4service5ambience4
    Lovely catch up with friends out of town, the service was spot on
  9. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 12 August 2017

    overall5food4service5ambience4
    The presentation of the food is very nice. We had a great evening
  10. a

    audrey9999

    London

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 23 June 2017

    overall4food4service3ambience3
    staff a bit unfriendly. food was OK (had the five course taster).
  11. E

    Eric

    San Antonio

    38 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    38 reviews

    Dined on 31 March 2017

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Great dining experience. Definitely for people who enjoy dining.
  12. IP

    IainP

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 18 February 2017

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Great food and great service! Grazie Fabio! Grazie Arturo!
  13. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 16 February 2017

    overall2food1service1ambience1
    There was no vegetarian or fish option on the set menu, only pork.
  14. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 14 February 2017

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Atmosphere was stunning. Staffs were friendly and caring. Food was of high value. Best valued food in town! Would definitely revisit this place. tasting menu was meticulously designed and executed. food was aesthetic and delicious. utterly tremendous.
  15. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 February 2017

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Flavoured food to a high standard service and presentation! Well done to the chef and the concept of the restaurant.
  16. TA

    TransAtlantic70

    London

    9 reviews

    5.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on 25 December 2016

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    Experience was an absolute delight. Ate there on Christmas Day with three children. Staff were responsive and attentive. Very kid friendly. Was a pre fixe at a reasonable price - far more so than a number of other restaurants we considered and have eaten at in previous years on our trips to London for the holidays. Although we are not necessarily a fan of Italian cuisine, it would not take many more meals such as we had to make me a convert. They provided christmas crackers for all of us to start the festivities as well as an amuse bouche The six adults ordered the sea trout, venison carpaccio, and the crab for starters. All of us were delighted. Great layering of flavors. For the mains, we had the capon, the halibut, and guinea fowl. Again we were all thrilled For dessert, we covered the full range of options. But hands down the star of that course was the Avista rocher. The best I have ever had. Everyone who ordered any of the other desserts were totally envious during the entire course. We come to London for the holidays every other year. Avista was by far the best Christmas Day lunch that we have had for our three generation family holiday gatherings. And at a reasonable price.
  17. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 24 December 2016

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We had a superb evening with attentive and professional staff. Very friendly waiters and ambience. The food was creative and delicious. The environment was perfect for a date and we had a lovely evening where we were able to talk without interruption or noise from surrounding tables. Our table was perfect and the seating was comfortable. All in all it was a perfect evening and I would happily recommend this to others.
  18. CG

    ChrisG

    Richmond

    30 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    30 reviews

    Dined on 14 December 2016

    overall4food5service4ambience4
    Was there to meet friends for lunch. Nice setting and staff was very nice. Had some issues identifying gluten free options on the menu, but found a dish that would work
  19. p

    puji85

    London

    9 reviews

    3.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on 25 November 2016

    overall3food4service2ambience4
    Very nice restaurant and ambience. We were a group of six (three veg and three non veg) all going for the five course tasting menu. All the food was excellent and freshly prepared, however the service just took too long! We had to wait a minimum of 15 minutes between each course because they were not prepared for the vegetarian tasting menu at all, even though I had mentioned it on the booking weeks before. We ended up spending three hours completing five courses and it almost got to the point at the end where we just wanted to leave because we did not want to wait any longer! The staff kept telling us the 'dishes were coming', but there was no reassurance. One good thing however is that we got an extra course in between because they realised they could not keep us waiting even longer for the main course. Good food, but would not return or recommend unless you have everyone in your party eating the same menu options.
  20. D

    David

    Chicago

    28 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    28 reviews

    Dined on 21 October 2016

    overall4food4service5ambience5
    The sevice and ambiance were excellent. The food was nearly perfect except for the pork tenderloin which was a little dry otherwisw an outstanding meal
  21. D

    Donna

    London

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 23 September 2016

    overall5food4service4ambience4
    Fantastic place, I went for an anniversary dinner, we've had the tasting menu and it was brilliant, really outstanding dishes, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious, very attentive staff and nice atmosphere. 5*
  22. GS

    GSLondon

    Melbourne

    177 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    177 reviews

    Dined on 22 August 2016

    overall4food3service5ambience3
    Very attentive lovely waiters who really wanted you to enjoy the well presented lunch. Food was good but not quite as wow as I think was intended. Nonetheless, great service and very good value on Grosvenor Square makes for a lovely afternoon.
  23. MR

    MaggieR

    Kent

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 2 August 2016

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    A fantastic lunch time experience. The staff were friendly, attentive and knowledgeable and the food was superb. I have already recommended to friends.
  24. JM

    JeremyM

    London

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 July 2016

    overall3food2service4ambience2
    Polite and attentive service but, on a Saturday night, the restaurant was completely empty by 9.15 pm. The portions were reasonable and well presented but they lacked finesse. Nothing was memorable. The bill, at a hundred pounds for two light meals and one glass of wine was too costly.
  25. BI

    BIGFELLOW

    Los Angeles

    27 reviews

    4.0

    27 reviews

    Dined on 7 July 2016

    overall4food4service4ambience4
    The food, drinks and service were all excellent. A very pleasant meal. The ambience was only spoilt by 2 young children, on an adjacent table, who could not sit still for 2 minutes at a time. Totally out of control the whole time. Their ''yummy mummies'' making no attempt to control them. This will not stop me returning in the future.
  26. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Hong Kong

    11 reviews

    5.0

    11 reviews

    Dined on 24 June 2016

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    Interesting tasting menu!
  27. K

    Katarafse

    London

    50 reviews

    vip
    3.0

    50 reviews

    Dined on 11 June 2016

    overall3food4service4ambience3
    Original 5 course menu, throughout which one gets to taste different dishes. The main course (fish) was really good. Only the petits fours coming at the end were not interesting. The restaurant had better change them.
  28. SC

    ShoC

    London

    6 reviews

    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 11 June 2016

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Booked a taster meal for an early fathers day dinner after a show at the London Palladium. It was absolutely delicious and the service superb to match. Each course was beautifully presented with wonderful flavours. The chardonnay recommended was very good and went well with the food. Would absolutely recommend Avista. Looking forward to returning.
  29. G

    Goodfoodeater

    London

    6 reviews

    4.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 20 April 2016

    overall4food4service4ambience3
    We took advantage of the offer on Top Table for a 7 course taster menu lunch. My companion did not like one of the courses and, when we asked if it was possible to choose something else, the chef was quickly consulted and two very acceptable alternatives were offered. The service was good - efficient but not hurried. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.
  30. K

    Karenogil

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 16 April 2016

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    My husband booked here for my 40th the food was Devine every course was an explosion of flavours. I loved the service it was 5star without being over bearing. It was friendly and honest. I would definitely come here again.
  31. c

    camj

    London

    126 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    126 reviews

    Dined on 22 March 2016

    overall4food3service4ambience4
    food is very good quality and so as the service. Recommend trying
  32. S

    Solo

    Philadelphia

    3 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 7 January 2016

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Just 25 meters from the US Embassy, quiet and relaxing atmosphere with excellent food and service.
  33. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 24 December 2015

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We went to Avista for Christmas Eve dinner as a special occasion and it definitely lived up to our expectations. The service was impeccable and the food was delicious! It was a great way to spend Christmas Eve with family while being away from home for the holidays.
  34. GF

    GreatFriday

    London

    56 reviews

    3.0

    56 reviews

    Dined on 16 October 2015

    overall3food3service3ambience4
    I thought that a return visit would be more enjoyable. The décor and seating arrangements were very good, and at least one of the waiters seemed to appreciate the way to correct for some minor confusion over the wine. However, the portions throughout were far too small. My companions dessert of two different flavours of ice cream could have been contained in an egg-cup. The starter of smoked trout consisted on a very small number of pieces. The main courses ( pork in one case, baked cod in the other) were served in huge dishes where the food was almost lost. An attempt to charge extra for more bread, and a rather inflated price for an average wine spoilt the occasion.
  35. LD

    LondonDiner3

    London

    13 reviews

    5.0

    13 reviews

    Dined on 9 October 2015

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    My visit last Friday evening was my third time at Avista. It is definitely not your usual hotel restaurant. I continue to be baffled why Avista has not been discovered. The food is excellent, really; the service is professional and seamless; the ambiance is remarkably quiet - you can actually have a conversation at normal volume. My wife is of Italian extraction and we have enjoyed dozens of trips to Italy - the food at Avista is at a very high standard. We repeatedly recommend it without reservation. Parking is easy in the evening when the business traffic is gone. There is a separate wing of the dining room good for group dining.
  36. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 5 September 2015

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    We visited the restaurant to celebrate our 16 years wedding anniversary, using the Groupon voucher, both my husband and I thought the food was outstanding and of high quality. We would definitely visit again.
  37. a

    algeko22

    London

    5 reviews

    3.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 8 August 2015

    overall3food4service3ambience2
    The quaity of the food was superior, as usual. The service was very good until a more important customer retained all the attention of the staff.
  38. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 27 May 2015

    overall4food4service5ambience4
    Very nice members of staff. It is a great time to spend with my father.
  39. SZ

    SelZ

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 20 May 2015

    overall4food4service5ambience3
    We decided to give this a try during west end restaurant week with a last minute booking and I am very pleased we did. Ended up having a very enjoyable evening. The food was delicious and of a very hight standard and excellent value due to the deal that week which was actually based on the lunch time express menu which was of a very high standard if you are looking for a business lunch. As we went mid week the atmosphere was a bit on the quiet side however the service we recieved from the staff more than compensated for this.
  40. M

    Myredhandbag

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 28 March 2015

    overall5food5service4ambience4
    I was a little nervous booking a restaurant i didnt know based upon online reviews, but I needn't have been. The food was excellent and the service outstanding. It is not cheap but well worth the extra for a smooth, enjoyable evening. We were a party of seven seated in a raised area set a little apart from the main dining area. Which meant that it felt like we had our own space and the background noise was limited. The tiramisu is the best we ever tasted. The food was Italian with a contemporary twist. The sole was served with mushrooms and potato foam. Little nibbles of breadsticks and artisanal bread were also served with the main course. The asparagus and egg starter was also tasty and beautifully presented. I would definitely book this restaurant again.

FAQs

Avista Restaurant & Bar is rated 4.1 stars by 189 OpenTable diners.

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable booking network.

If you like, we'll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.


Is this your restaurant?
Claim this listing

Additional information

  • Area

    Mayfair

  • Hours of Operation

    Lunch: Tuesday- Friday: 12:00pm - 2pm; Dinner: Tuesday- Friday: 6:30pm - 10:00pm Saturday: 6:30pm - 10:00pm Sunday Closed

  • Cuisines

    Italian

  • Dining style

    Fine Dining

  • Dress Code

    Smart Casual

  • Parking Details

    None

  • Public Transit

    Bond Street Tube StationBond Street Tube Station 5min.Green Park Tube station 10min.

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

  • Additional

    Banquet, Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo