Avista Restaurant & Bar

4.2
244 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Business Meals

Restaurants you may also likeView all

About

AVISTA, the contemporary restaurant located in the heart of Mayfair.


With exposed brick walls, a natural beige and cream colour scheme and a striking arrangement of fresh flowers, 75-seat Avista Restaurant is the ideal venue for business meetings and discreet gatherings. Private dining for 14 is an option while Avista Bar is the perfect discreet hideaway for enjoying cocktails and aperitifs.

Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of Operation
Lunch: Tuesday- Friday: 12:00pm - 2pm;
Dinner: Tuesday- Friday: 6:30pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 6:30pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Closed
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
020 7596 3399
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress Code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private Party Facilities
Avista can accomodate 14 guest in our private dining room facing Grosvenor Square we also have the chef table which is located in the semi-private dining patio in the main restaurant which is available for up to 20 guests max.
The restaurant is an excellent ideal venue for a private function for up to 90 people.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public Transit
Bond Street Tube StationBond Street Tube Station 5min.
Green Park Tube station 10min.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Reviews from verified diners
244 reviews
4.2 out of 5 stars
Outstanding
48%
Very Good
33%
Good
14%
Fair
5%
Poor
0%
4.3
food
4.6
service
4.0
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on 29 March 2018

Great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 31 December 2017

Superbe soirée de réveillon dans ce restaurant italien !
Service impeccable , mets raffinés .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 27 December 2017

First class. The best non Michelin starred dinner in England. Attentive service, good wines and outstanding food. Highly recommended

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on 19 October 2017

Attentive service and quiet ambiance make this an ideal restaurant to bring clients, friends and or family. The food is nicely prepared and tasty. Leave room for dessert. The coffee is also good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 13 October 2017

Wonderful greeting, inventive presentation and food, great sommelier...... love it!! Will return again and again......

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 6 October 2017

Always love to visit this for a friends get together or just us on a Friday night. It's a hidden gem on Grosvenor square... great tasting menu and wine pairings were excellent!! Even dessert and Amuse bouche were amazing and just the right portions!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 28 September 2017

Service was brilliant and good was amazing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 12 August 2017

The presentation of the food is very nice.
We had a great evening

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on 23 June 2017

staff a bit unfriendly. food was OK (had the five course taster).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 31 March 2017

Great dining experience. Definitely for people who enjoy dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 18 February 2017

Great food and great service! Grazie Fabio! Grazie Arturo!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on 16 February 2017

There was no vegetarian or fish option on the set menu, only pork.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 14 February 2017

Atmosphere was stunning. Staffs were friendly and caring. Food was of high value. Best valued food in town! Would definitely revisit this place. tasting menu was meticulously designed and executed. food was aesthetic and delicious. utterly tremendous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 3 February 2017

Flavoured food to a high standard service and presentation! Well done to the chef and the concept of the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 25 December 2016

Experience was an absolute delight. Ate there on Christmas Day with three children. Staff were responsive and attentive. Very kid friendly.
Was a pre fixe at a reasonable price - far more so than a number of other restaurants we considered and have eaten at in previous years on our trips to London for the holidays.

Although we are not necessarily a fan of Italian cuisine, it would not take many more meals such as we had to make me a convert.

They provided christmas crackers for all of us to start the festivities as well as an amuse bouche

The six adults ordered the sea trout, venison carpaccio, and the crab for starters. All of us were delighted. Great layering of flavors.

For the mains, we had the capon, the halibut, and guinea fowl. Again we were all thrilled

For dessert, we covered the full range of options. But hands down the star of that course was the Avista rocher. The best I have ever had. Everyone who ordered any of the other desserts were totally envious during the entire course.

We come to London for the holidays every other year. Avista was by far the best Christmas Day lunch that we have had for our three generation family holiday gatherings. And at a reasonable price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 24 December 2016

We had a superb evening with attentive and professional staff. Very friendly waiters and ambience. The food was creative and delicious. The environment was perfect for a date and we had a lovely evening where we were able to talk without interruption or noise from surrounding tables. Our table was perfect and the seating was comfortable. All in all it was a perfect evening and I would happily recommend this to others.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on 14 December 2016

Was there to meet friends for lunch. Nice setting and staff was very nice. Had some issues identifying gluten free options on the menu, but found a dish that would work

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on 25 November 2016

Very nice restaurant and ambience. We were a group of six (three veg and three non veg) all going for the five course tasting menu. All the food was excellent and freshly prepared, however the service just took too long! We had to wait a minimum of 15 minutes between each course because they were not prepared for the vegetarian tasting menu at all, even though I had mentioned it on the booking weeks before. We ended up spending three hours completing five courses and it almost got to the point at the end where we just wanted to leave because we did not want to wait any longer! The staff kept telling us the 'dishes were coming', but there was no reassurance. One good thing however is that we got an extra course in between because they realised they could not keep us waiting even longer for the main course. Good food, but would not return or recommend unless you have everyone in your party eating the same menu options.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on 21 October 2016

The sevice and ambiance were excellent. The food was nearly perfect except for the pork
tenderloin which was a little dry otherwisw an outstanding meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 23 September 2016

Fantastic place, I went for an anniversary dinner, we've had the tasting menu and it was brilliant, really outstanding dishes, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious, very attentive staff and nice atmosphere. 5*

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on 22 August 2016

Very attentive lovely waiters who really wanted you to enjoy the well presented lunch. Food was good but not quite as wow as I think was intended. Nonetheless, great service and very good value on Grosvenor Square makes for a lovely afternoon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 2 August 2016

A fantastic lunch time experience. The staff were friendly, attentive and knowledgeable and the food was superb. I have already recommended to friends.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on 9 July 2016

Polite and attentive service but, on a Saturday night, the restaurant was completely empty by 9.15 pm. The portions were reasonable and well presented but they lacked finesse. Nothing was memorable. The bill, at a hundred pounds for two light meals and one glass of wine was too costly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on 7 July 2016

The food, drinks and service were all excellent. A very pleasant meal. The ambience was only spoilt by 2 young children, on an adjacent table, who could not sit still for 2 minutes at a time. Totally out of control the whole time. Their ''yummy mummies'' making no attempt to control them.
This will not stop me returning in the future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 24 June 2016

Interesting tasting menu!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on 11 June 2016

Original 5 course menu, throughout which one gets to taste different dishes. The main course (fish) was really good. Only the petits fours coming at the end were not interesting. The restaurant had better change them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 11 June 2016

Booked a taster meal for an early fathers day dinner after a show at the London Palladium. It was absolutely delicious and the service superb to match. Each course was beautifully presented with wonderful flavours. The chardonnay recommended was very good and went well with the food. Would absolutely recommend Avista. Looking forward to returning.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on 20 April 2016

We took advantage of the offer on Top Table for a 7 course taster menu lunch. My companion did not like one of the courses and, when we asked if it was possible to choose something else, the chef was quickly consulted and two very acceptable alternatives were offered. The service was good - efficient but not hurried. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 16 April 2016

My husband booked here for my 40th the food was Devine every course was an explosion of flavours. I loved the service it was 5star without being over bearing. It was friendly and honest. I would definitely come here again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on 22 March 2016

food is very good quality and so as the service. Recommend trying

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 7 January 2016

Just 25 meters from the US Embassy, quiet and relaxing atmosphere with excellent food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 24 December 2015

We went to Avista for Christmas Eve dinner as a special occasion and it definitely lived up to our expectations. The service was impeccable and the food was delicious! It was a great way to spend Christmas Eve with family while being away from home for the holidays.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on 16 October 2015

I thought that a return visit would be more enjoyable. The décor and seating arrangements were very good, and at least one of the waiters seemed to appreciate the way to correct for some minor confusion over the wine. However, the portions throughout were far too small. My companions dessert of two different flavours of ice cream could have been contained in an egg-cup. The starter of smoked trout consisted on a very small number of pieces. The main courses ( pork in one case, baked cod in the other) were served in huge dishes where the food was almost lost. An attempt to charge extra for more bread, and a rather inflated price for an average wine spoilt the occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 9 October 2015

My visit last Friday evening was my third time at Avista. It is definitely not your usual hotel restaurant. I continue to be baffled why Avista has not been discovered. The food is excellent, really; the service is professional and seamless; the ambiance is remarkably quiet - you can actually have a conversation at normal volume.
My wife is of Italian extraction and we have enjoyed dozens of trips to Italy - the food at Avista is at a very high standard. We repeatedly recommend it without reservation.
Parking is easy in the evening when the business traffic is gone.
There is a separate wing of the dining room good for group dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 5 September 2015

We visited the restaurant to celebrate our 16 years wedding anniversary, using the Groupon voucher, both my husband and I thought the food was outstanding and of high quality. We would definitely visit again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on 8 August 2015

The quaity of the food was superior, as usual. The service was very good until a more important customer retained all the attention of the staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on 30 May 2015

We had a lovely dinner, with exellent food, but the restaurant was too quiet for my tasting.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on 27 May 2015

Very nice members of staff. It is a great time to spend with my father.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on 20 May 2015

We decided to give this a try during west end restaurant week with a last minute booking and I am very pleased we did. Ended up having a very enjoyable evening. The food was delicious and of a very hight standard and excellent value due to the deal that week which was actually based on the lunch time express menu which was of a very high standard if you are looking for a business lunch. As we went mid week the atmosphere was a bit on the quiet side however the service we recieved from the staff more than compensated for this.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on 28 March 2015

I was a little nervous booking a restaurant i didnt know based upon online reviews, but I needn't have been. The food was excellent and the service outstanding. It is not cheap but well worth the extra for a smooth, enjoyable evening. We were a party of seven seated in a raised area set a little apart from the main dining area. Which meant that it felt like we had our own space and the background noise was limited. The tiramisu is the best we ever tasted. The food was Italian with a contemporary twist. The sole was served with mushrooms and potato foam. Little nibbles of breadsticks and artisanal bread were also served with the main course. The asparagus and egg starter was also tasty and beautifully presented. I would definitely book this restaurant again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7