Benihana at Fairmont Royal York

4.5
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1099 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Benihana is a Japanese steak and seafood house that features teppanyaki style dining spaces, sushi / sashimi bar and a traditional Japanese menu. It’s Japanese décor and experienced staff create an authentic Japanese ambiance. The combination of these aspects results in a unique experience for guests of all ages. Inspired by the culture of Japan and reinvented with contemporary design, our Sushi & Sake Lounge provides the perfect backdrop to sip on premium sake while savouring expertly crafted culinary delights prepared by our skilled sushi chefs.

Special Offers

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Begin your New Year's celebration with a 5-course teppanyaki experience right at your table! Gather round the teppan grill for a meal and a show, and cheers to the new year ahead!

Tuesday, 31 December, 2019

What 1099 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.6
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
VC
Toronto
22 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We celebrated my nephews 16th birthday and the service was excellent. Edward made my nephew feel special and really put on a show for us which made our experience over the top. Thank you!

L
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 7 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service...food was delicious. The chef was also very entertaining

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you enjoyed a delicious meal and received excellent service. We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
OT
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 4 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Came to celebrate my birthday and was not disappointed! Service was amazing, food was delicious. A wonderful evening!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 6 December 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful experience! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
M
Toronto
8 reviews
Dined on 29 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The staff is always friendly and welcoming. Food is fresh and delicious.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 6 December 2019

Thank you for your five-star rating! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
D
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 29 November 2019
Overall4food3service4ambience5

I always order the teriyaki steak but this time they did not season the meat nor did they put the teryiki sauce on the meat while it was being prepared. The lack of seasoning on the chicken was also absent. Twice I had to request soya sauce to provide the lack of salt on the meats.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 6 December 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. Debra. We are truly sorry to learn that your meal was not seasoned to what you have had in the past. This is truly atypical and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we may follow-up with the Chef. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
OT
Atlantic Canada
2 reviews
Dined on 29 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Always a good time here. Food is always flavourful and well cooked.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 6 December 2019

Thank you for your five-star rating! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 27 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Experience was amazing!! Toronto is just so expensive

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 6 December 2019

Thank you for your five-star rating! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
OT
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Overall had a great night. When we arrived we were asked to wait at the bar, but not for a long. Food was great. The teppanyaki show was entertaining. Shrimp, steak and chicken was very tasty and quiet the portion. The meal was started with mushroom and onion soup as well as a house salad. I found the ambiance of the restaurant out of date and a little old fashion. It was quite loud but tolerable.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 6 December 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are pleased to know overall you had a great night and enjoyed a delicious meal and entertaining show. We appreciate your feedback on the ambiance and noise and have shared your comments with the Management Team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
L
1 review
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This place blew me away! The decor and atmosphere is Amazing! Our chef was very entertaining. My kids sat in their seats the whole time! My child actually ate shrimp!! Food was fresh! The Calamari appetizer melted in your mouth! Quality food, great atmosphere and Exceptional service! Was my first time and won’t be my last!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 6 December 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are thrilled to learn your family had an incredible experience and your children were thoroughly entertained. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
AB
1 review
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had an incredible meal with great service. Everyone was very friendly and efficient and the food was phenomenal!!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 6 December 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Aaron. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful experience. We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
DD
Edmonton
7 reviews
Dined on 19 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The service and the food were excellent!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 6 December 2019

Thank you for your five-star rating, Diana! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
BP
1 review
Dined on 16 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Me and my friend's boyfriend decided to take her and another friend here for their birthday celebration. Started off with one of the best cocktails I have ever had (Lychee Sake Sangria) and dinner was awesome. The server was a very nice guy and the cook at our table was just so sweet and friendly and entertaining. My friend said it was the best birthday she's ever had. So happy her boyfriend chose this restaurant. Thank you very much for an unforgettable evening.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 22 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Brenna. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful experience celebrating your friends birthday. We appreciate your kind words and have shared your comments with our Management Team to recognize our colleagues. We hope to welcome you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
JB
1 review
Dined on 9 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was wonderful, great steak. Our Teppanyaki cook (Jimmy or Timmy) was so funny & had knife skills! Very entertaining. Make sure you get an entertaining cook at the table it really makes your night.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 15 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Janet. We are delighted to know you had an entertaining experience at the Teppan tables and enjoyed a delicious steak. We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
JB
London
7 reviews
Dined on 9 November 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Nice experience, food was good and plentiful.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 15 November 2019

Thank you for your four-star rating, Janice! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
OT
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 9 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This place was amazing! We had a group of 7 and some people ran late. Unlike most places this restaurant didn’t rush us or give us a hard time for being late for our reservation. We still got amazing service and the food was melting in our mouths! Prices may seem scary at first but when all things considered, for a special occasion and a night out in the city it was well worth it! A must do at least once.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 15 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know that your group had an amazing experience and our team was accommodating and delivered exceptional service. We hope to welcome you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
A
1 review
Dined on 8 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing Chef Tato … does great show and prepares excellent Food!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 15 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Andre. We are delighted to know you had an amazing experience and enjoyed the show from our expert Chef! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
CF
1 review
Dined on 7 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing restaurant
Amazing food
Loved the service

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 15 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Carolina. We are delighted to know you had an amazing experience and received wonderful service! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
OT
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on 7 November 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Wonderful service and even a delicious chocolate cake for our birthday celebration.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 8 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you received wonderful service and enjoyed a delicious special treat! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
JS
1 review
Dined on 5 November 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience4

We enjoyed a marvelous meal and met some new friends. Our host was very accomodating and explained the process very well. The waiter then took our orders and brought our drinks very promptly and made sure our experience was fantastic. Our chef arrived and not only did he prepare an incredible meal he also joked and entertained us with his skills. We have recommended Benihana at the Fairmont to many already and will continue to do so. We are already planning our next visit.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 15 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Jerry. We are thrilled to learn of the marvelous experience you had with us and that from start to finish everything was flawless! Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
LT
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 2 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic. Great show, delicious food, and overall fun.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 8 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Laura. We are delighted to know you had a fantastic experience. We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
A
Salt Lake City
9 reviews
Dined on 2 November 2019
Overall3food4service2ambience3

The chef forgot my wife’s shrimp as part of her meal, and they put wasabi on my sons nigiri which they shouldn’t do. They should ask first if you want wasabi. The meat was very nice, but those two mistakes took a lot out of our experience here.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 8 November 2019

Hi Andre, We are sorry to learn of the reported shortfalls during your recent visit. As a measure of explanation it is traditional to place wasabi between the fish and rice when making Nigiri. We do serve this traditional style however we are happy to modify if this is not a preference to our guest. This certainly does not excuse your overall experience and have shared your feedback with our Management Team for internal review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Report
AM
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 2 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food. Large quantity, so be hungry. A bit pricey. Especially ice cream. Staff excellent. Ambience warm. Will be comi g back.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 8 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Allan. We are delighted to know you had a fantastic experience and received excellent service from our team. We look forward to welcoming you in the future! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
DT
Detroit
1 review
Dined on 2 November 2019
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Food was great, chef was entertaining and talented!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 8 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Debra. We are delighted to know you had a entertaining experience and enjoyed your meal. We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
HB
Toronto
6 reviews
Dined on 2 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went with our two kids who are 8 and 5 and they had a blast! they were entertained and amused through out the dinner.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 8 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Hanadi. We are delighted to know your kids had a fabulous and entertaining evening! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
BR
Toronto
22 reviews
Dined on 1 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As much fun as 25 years ago when I last went. Fun to experience.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 8 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Brad. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful experience, just as you remembered from 25 years ago. We hope to welcome yo welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 1 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was cool

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 8 November 2019

Thank you for your five-star rating! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
DB
1 review
Dined on 29 October 2019
Overall4food3service5ambience3

Was really excited to go after all these years. I guess I was expecting more than was actual. It was a little entertaining but not quite as dramatic a show as I thought. Ambiance was average for a hotel. Lightening was higher than I expected.
Took my husband for his birthday so we wanted to make an evening of it. We were seated where they wanted us and the only ones at the table. We moved seats so we could see better and were told to move back. Our seat mates came and immediately told the server they were in a rush. So we asked to move. All in all just an okay evening.
Guess I expected more.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 1 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Deborah. We are truly sorry to learn you were not satisfied with your overall experience. We can assure you this is certainly not indicative of the level of service we are known to provide. We we have shared your comments with the Management Team for internal follow-up on what had transpired. It is our genuine hope that we will have an opportunity to better serve you in the future and restore your trust in our restaurant. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
SD
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 26 October 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience4

If i have to, I would go for the experience not for the food. Our cook was really good with the tricks, so we enjoyed the show. Food is normal, nothing extraordinary.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 1 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, San. While we are pleased to know you enjoyed the Teppan show, we are sorry to learn you were only just satisfied with your meal. We appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with our Management Team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
J
1 review
Dined on 26 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We loved our dinner at Benihana. Our server Donna was excellent. This is our fourth time coming to this restaurant in the last year and we have always had excellent service from Donna and the food is great. Kiddos to the man that made out meal too. He made the meal extra special by acknowledging both my daughter whose birthday it was and my oldest daughter. It was great as he made them Both feel special and went the extra mile for sure. We will be coming back and will request our server Donna again as she is just lovely and so friendly!!! My daughter enjoyed her 3rd with a fabulous dinner experience.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 1 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Jody. It is wonderful to learn of the very special experience you had with your family. We are delighted to know that our Colleagues went above and beyond to ensure it was a fantastic visit. Your kind words are appreciated and have been shared with our Management Team. We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
PD
Toronto
32 reviews
Dined on 24 October 2019
Overall1food2service1ambience1

I hadn’t been there for 6 or 7 years and the last time was for lunch, which they’ve stopped doing. They’ve renovated and it’s awful, I’ve seen better facilities and ambience at airports. The sushi was good, but order size was small and expensive. We won’t be back.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 1 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Peter. We are truly sorry to learn of your disappointing recent visit. We can assure you this is certainly not indicative of the quality experience we are known to provide. We appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with the Director of Food and Beverage for internal review. It is our genuine hope that we will have an opportunity to better serve you in the future and restore your trust in our restaurant. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
JD
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 24 October 2019
Overall2food1service3ambience3

Worst steak I’ve ever had. It was like the cook was in such a hurry and the restaurant wasn’t even busy

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 1 November 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Joseph. We are sorry to learn you were unsatisfied with your meal. We can assure you this is certainly not indicative of the quality offering we are known to provide. Thank you for your feedback and I have shared your comments with the Executive Chef for internal review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
PK
1 review
Dined on 23 October 2019
Overall2food2service1ambience2

We regularly go to Teppanyaki because it is fun and entertaining. This is the worst show I have ever been. The cook barely said anything and just cooked. And the food was not great. The fried rice was not much different than plain rice and a glass of wine was as much as I would pay for a bottle. You don’t mind if the show had been entertaining but overall worst Teppanyaki we have ever attended. I felt bad for those that this was their first experience as they did not enjoy the food or show. Definitely not worth price.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 25 October 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Paula. We are sorry to learn you were disappointed with your recent visit. We can assure you this is certainly not the type of experience our guests have come to expect from us. We truly appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with the Director of Food and Beverage and Executive Chef for internal review. It is our genuine hope that we will have an opportunity to better serve you in the future and restore your trust in our restaurant.

Report
MB
1 review
Dined on 19 October 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Very entertaining and good food but the wine list really falls short. This is located in 5 star Fairmont property and the options we very disappointing.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 25 October 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. While we are please to know you had an entertaining experience, we are sorry to learn you were disappointed with some of the options. We appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with the Management Team for internal review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Sepcialist

Report
C
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 19 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely meal with our entertaining chef. The complimentary cheesecake at the end of our meal in honour of our anniversary was an unexpected but appreciated touch.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 25 October 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you had an entertaining experience and our team recognized your special occasion! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
ED
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 18 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Third time coming here a d never disappointed! The staff are great and the food is always amazing!
Definitely will be coming back!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 21 October 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know you had a wonderful experience and delicious meal! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
B
1 review
Dined on 16 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

For the first time ever hearing about this restaurant , my boyfriend & I had our anniversary here! We left more than happy .
We didn’t even have time to speak to each other because we were too busy eating and enjoying how amazing the food was lol

Great time !!!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 21 October 2019

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to know for your first experience you had a wonderful anniversary celebration with us. We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
D
Montreal
11 reviews
Dined on 12 October 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Très chère pour du riz blanc salade iceberg et viande grillée. Rien de spécial et aucune saveur sauf très salé.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 21 October 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Dominique. We are sorry to learn you were not satisfied with your meal. We appreciate your feedback on the price as well as seasoning of the dish and have shared your comments with the Management Team for internal review. It is our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future for an exceptional experience. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
SR
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on 12 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great as usual!

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 21 October 2019

Thank you for the five-star rating, Sebastien! We hope to welcome you again soon! - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
KH
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 5 October 2019
Overall4food3service4ambience5

It was fun. The food is just ok

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 21 October 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Karen. While we are pleased to know you had a fun experience, we are sorry to learn you were not fully satisfied with your meal. We appreciate your feedback and have shared your comments with the Management Team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report
M
Ottawa
1 review
Dined on 5 October 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience5

We loved the food, however it is quite pricey and our grill master/chef did not really perform any tricks or out on a show like we are used to seeing.

Benihana at Fairmont Royal York
Responded on 21 October 2019

Thank you for sharing your review, Michelle. While we are pleased to know you enjoyed a tasty meal, we are sorry to learn you were not fully satisfied with your experience. We can assure you this is an atypical situation and we have shared your comments with the Management Team for internal review. It is our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. - Meaghan, Guest Experience Specialist

Report