Bocconcino

4.1
1298 reviews
£26 to £40
Italian
Bocconcino is an Italian fine dining restaurant in London, nestled in the heart of Mayfair. Step away from the bustle of Berkeley Street and into a stunning space that will transport you and your guests to the gorgeous climes of Italy, featuring authentic Italian cuisine with a contemporary flair, first class service, expertly produced cocktails, and a rich selection of wines. The restaurant benefits from a lively ambiance with DJ nights and a weekend bottomless brunch.

Their Chefs use only high quality ingredients imported straight from the diverse regions Italy, offering an excellent range of antipasti, hand-made pasta and wood-oven pizza. Larger dishes include an array of fresh seafood, catch of the day beautifully presented on their rich fish display.

The first Bocconcino restaurant was opened in a beautiful seaside Forte dei Marmi, and Bocconcino has since expanded to London and has been offering delicious food and first-class service in a stylish location in Central London.

Experiences

  • London Restaurant Festival: Dinner Set Menu

    £39.00 per person

    Sep 8 - Nov 30, 2021

    Enjoy 3 courses from our seasonal Dinner Set Menu. Please note that service charge is payable at the restaurant and will be added to your final bill.
  • London Restaurant Festival: Lunch Set Menu

    £29.00 per person

    Sep 8 - Nov 30, 2021

    Enjoy 2 or 3 courses from our seasonal Lunch Set Menu. 2 courses for £29 pp, 3 courses for £35 pp. Please note that service charge is payable at the restaurant and will be added to your final bill.
  • Bottomless Pizza Brunch & Bubbles

    £49.00 per person

    Oct 7, 2021 - Jan 31, 2022

    The payment is due at the restaurant, the credit card details are taken to secure the booking. Unlimited pizza and bottomless Prosecco for £49 per person for 90 mins. Alternatively, choose our premium package with a choice of Aperol Spritz/Bellini/Rossini for £55 per person. Please note that service charge is payable at the restaurant and will be added to your final bill.

Offers

  • Collect 1,000 bonus points

    Sun 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM, 5:00 PM - 7:30 PM, 9:30 PM - 10:00 PM, Mon - Sat 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM, 5:00 PM - 7:30 PM, 9:30 PM - 11:00 PM

    Receive points for dining rewards, KAYAK hotel savings and more.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1298 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
l
lesleyk
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing night. Everything was perfect. Charming staff and great food. We even got the best bespoke truffle bread in London!

s
sigrune
San Francisco
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Wouldn’t recommend this restaurant to anyone! Terrible seating, bad service, expensive food, food was not good, very loud and annoying music, cold breeze the whole time, everyone had to wear their jackets. Overall a bad experience.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time here and would 100% return again. We both very much enjoyed the wine and food. Staff were very friendly and recommended some food and wine.

RB
RichardB
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Noice too loud! Too dark would like more flavour in the food. Nice but not so I want to go back again.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really enjoyed the food, everything was spot on

EP
EugeniaP
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food3service4ambience3

The starters were good though the portions were pretty small. It may be one of the recent tactics seen elsewhere where the portions are reduced so that they don't increase the prices too much.

The pizzas were very dissapointing. The tomato sauce was heavy and overpowering and the porcini mushrooms barely visible. Will not order again!

It was cold, as we were close to the AC unit.

The service charge was include. It was pretty steep at 13%. However, they also add the option to provide a tip. You can select no, but just the fact that they are nudging people to provide a tip is off-putting. Almost everyone was affected by Covid, not just the restaurant business!

B
Bella73
Argyll
4 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall2food2service4ambience2

The music was too loud, the menu was fairly limited and the standard of food was average - all main courses were very salty! Sorry but won’t return!

LB
LindaB
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

An excellent lunch - the food was exceptional.
Attentive friendly service. It was a real pleasure and needs to be repeated.

JP
JaanPG
London
16 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food2service1ambience3

Bocconcino has been on my list for some time, and i'm disappointed to say that we had an awful experience and wouldn't recommend.

Service was non-existent. We waited 45 minutes for our order to be taken by waving down the waiter for attention. We had asked to speak to the sommelier for advice on wine which we had to wait another 20 minutes for. We didn't receive any advise or recommendations. That being said, we were surprised that our wine had then ordered before our food.

We had ordered starters, which were fine. Mediocre at best.
Our mains had arrived cold and lacked any flavour. We complained that the food had arrived cold and didn't finish our mains, but the restaurant didn't apologise or do anything about it.
The desserts were great and the best part of our meal I would say.

When asking for the bill we had asked for the service charge to be removed (which we really don't like doing and felt guilty for doing so), but were received with attitude and defensiveness from the waitress for absolutely no reason. We usually are happy to pay if it's due but we had a terrible experience.

Gutted that this was booked as a celebration.

T
Tantino
London
3 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Very over rated, pretentious, small portions and expensive.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Overall a nice lunch , service was very agreeable and full of attention
I thought the cheese choices for cheese plate were too narrow and the choice of wine by the glass very narrow as well
Good food

TR
TheodorRugholm
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great experience.

It is too far of a customer Journey to also write a review, should be optional

C
Coala
London
2 reviews
Dined on 9 October 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

had dinner last night for my Birthday. Worst experience ever. ordered grilled tuna and it is no secret that it needs to be medium-raw. however I specified that I wanted to have it rather raw. after two attempts of receiving dry and overcooked tuna steak, they proposed to order something else. the evening ended by my partner eating his meal on his own and me without a meal. what a disaster of experience. would not recommend. its extremely expensive and the kitchen is bad, to keep it diplomatic.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 9 October 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

The food in Bocconcino is fantastic but the service we received last night made the entire evening. Staff are smiley, friendly, helpful and I am excited to revisit the restaurant.

HF
HavalaF
London
1 review
Dined on 8 October 2021
Overall1food1service2ambience2

Not a great experience, food did not match up the high prices. Rushed through courses and told firstly we only had limited time for booking. Sorry to say Disappointing.

VS
ViktoriaS
London
2 reviews
Dined on 8 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I booked for my Italian friend who hasn’t been here before and I did worry if she is going to like it. Firstly, we were welcomed by a friendly staff and fairly quickly taken to our table, which was tackled away from the main floor. It almost felt like a private dinning. Our table was looked by Assistant Manager ( a very charming Italian guy) who was very attentive and his lovely female colleague(unfortunately, I don’t remember her name apart from she is from Bulgaria) . We went for a pizza and a red wine from Tuscany . Well, the food and wine were absolutely superb! My Italian friend was keep saying “Belisimo” and Thank you for finding this place! Once she was happy, I started enjoying my food&drink! Thank you for truly delicious pizza and your warm welcome! Victoria

PM
PhilipM
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 6 October 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience3

Food is good (but not the best Italian I’ve been to in London). I expected better service (especially as they add a 13.5% discretionary service charge). Service, for me is a integral part of the dining experience. I’ve paid less money for lunch in other restaurants and received better service.

b
burleo
London
10 reviews
Dined on 3 October 2021
Overall2food4service3ambience2

Early dinner at 6pm. Offered set menu and a la Carte but only given a la carte menu at table . Had to ask fir set which was far more reasonable and good choices. No house wine by the bottle on the wine menu. Again had to ask for house wine which was half the price of the cheapest bottle of wine on menu. Attitude of staff not very good. However food was nice and generous portions.

h
harrisonh
1 review
Dined on 2 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic night for a birthday. Will definitely be coming back.

Bocconcino
Responded on 7 October 2021

Dear Harrison, Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your celebration with us and we look forward to welcoming you to Bocconcino again soon.

Report
JC
JonathanC
London
3 reviews
Dined on 2 October 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Door man made us wait outside in the rain even though there was plenty of room at reception

Service was non existent, we basically had to wave to get attention for drinks and food order

Sommelier was really rude and tried to argue with the wine choice we made…at one point saying we should “open our minds” before walking away

Good was super basic, lacking flavour and quality

When we asked for a photo the waiter was who took the train photo said he would have to take the picture from afar to make us look good

I find it really cheeky that we are not asked if we would like to pay service charge before it’s added to the bill…particularly when total bill is £600+ and knowing that cost of service is already baked into the products.

Another pretentious Mayfair restaurant overcharging for basic menus and really poor service.

Don’t bother with this place, if you want a good dinning experience there are plenty of Michelin star restaurants in London where you will pay similar prices and get really quality foods.

Message to the Restaurant: stop adding service to the bill by default…if you do a good job customers will provide a tip, if you don’t then we won’t and this time you did not earn your tip but took it anyway…disgraceful!

MW
MissWor1d
London
29 reviews
Dined on 2 October 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Nice venue, great service and great food. However the Downfalls were the portion sizes were on the small side and very expensive for what it was. For example £27 for some plain pasta with mushrooms, as nice as it was, was overpriced. I’ve had better meals for £200 for two people with drinks. Also be aware that there are two spaces, the open ground floor is much livelier and nicer than the quieter much less lively top floor. Would have been nice if we had an option when booking.

Bocconcino
Responded on 7 October 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration to further improve our guests' dining experience with us!

Report
F
Fraggy
1 review
Dined on 2 October 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Overpriced, too much noise, however the service was very good.

S
Susotanned
London
2 reviews
Dined on 2 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing truffle pasta, though on the overpriced end.

R
Riojancal
1 review
Dined on 2 October 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience2

Food very good
Wasn’t impressed when the bill came and
2 glasses of white wine came to £50 !
remonstrated with staff who amended it to £8
a glass .

K
Kandis
London
5 reviews
Dined on 2 October 2021
Overall4food3service3ambience5

Good experience but the waitress service could have been better

LW
LydiaW
London
1 review
Dined on 1 October 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

There is nothing to complain about- we had 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 desserts and 2 cocktails and it came to £196
The food was nice enough, our waiter was lovely.
The front desk girls could smile more but once you’re seated it it quite a good Friday night venue.

The diners are an eclectic mix of young wannabe instagrammers, older couple on a date night and people who just want a nice dinner after work on a Friday.
Which was ok

The DJ was great and the music was a nice mix of Afro house classics and soulful disco with some 90’s chill out pop type stuff thrown in

I’d maybe go again but there’s lots of places to eat and so little time

Bocconcino
Responded on 6 October 2021

Dear Lydia, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us and we will take the feedback you provided into consideration to further improve our guests' dining experience with us!

Report
HO
HoriaOpris
1 review
Dined on 1 October 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience1

Firstly, hostesses did not say hello to my fiance as she walked in, didn't even acknowledge her presence until I walked in (I was paying for the cab). After we sat down, I ordered a glass of wine each and a starter, saying that I would like to wait another 20-25 minutes before I order the mains, as I didn't want to be rushed and eat very quickly. At that moment, the manager informed us that "we are on a timetable" and we can only spare "90 minutes per table". Initially they had said 105 minutes, but this apparently changed. Even with the 20 minutes delay between courses we would've still been well within the "timetable" limits, but alas, we had to order then and be served the main just 7-8 minutes after the starter (which is what I initially tried to avoid).
Aside of this, the goat's cheese ravioli were mediocre at best, while my fiance's pizza was a solid 6.5/10 (terrible, considering the pretentiousness and pricing of the restaurant).
We ended up paying over £120 for a below average meal and 2 glasses of wine each (granted, the wine was very good, even though overpriced). My fiance's wine, was the more expensive one and every time they brought us a new round, hers was considerably LESS FULL than mine, even though they were both supposed to be 175ml. So they obviously were being stingy with the expensive wine, which a SHAMEFUL and EMBARESSING move. Absolutely disgusting.

The atmosphere was absolutely terrible, loud clubbing music, not even music that would make one enjoy their meal more, just 2012 bangers with no connection to the mood/style/vibe of the place.
A complete mix of pretentiousness with kitsch and lack of quality overall.

Listen, if you're visiting London and you're thinking, "hmmm, what would make me regret going out?", then this is definitely the place for you.
If, however, you enjoy good food, nice people and friendly service, you might want to stay clear of this "Mayfair gem".

Kind regards,
Horia Opris

Bocconcino
Responded on 7 October 2021

Dear Horia, Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback as it helps us further improve our guests' dining experience with us. It is disappointing to read that your meal with us did not live up to your expectations as we always strive to provide the best possible food and service to all our guests. Please rest assured that your feedback has been passed to our management to be taken in consideration.

Report
I
Ilikeeating
1 review
Dined on 1 October 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience2

Music is too loud. Air conditioning is too cold. Chairs are too low had to ask for a pillow although we are not little people. Beef tartare is very very hot. Ravioli are dry and tasteless. Wines are expensive. A bowl of tomato salad (nothing except of tomatoes) is £10… Artichoke salad (pure artichoke from a tin I gather) tasteless and costs a whopping £22…

Bocconcino
Responded on 7 October 2021

Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with us. We strive to provide the best food and service to our guests and really appreciate your feedback, we will use it to further improve.

Report
M
Mary
London
1 review
Dined on 30 September 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience5

The food was really good, went to celebrate my friends birthday and we all enjoyed our meals however the service wasn’t great. The girl at reception was very dismissive and the waiters were very distracted but overall, would recommend. :)

Bocconcino
Responded on 6 October 2021

Dear Mary, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the service you received as we take great pride in customer satisfaction and work to ensure that every guest feels special. We have passed your feedback onto our team to ensure our standards are upheld at all times.

Report
S
Sam3344
London
6 reviews
Dined on 30 September 2021
Overall3food4service5ambience4

The wine prices are completely out of this world, even compared to its mayfair peers. No mid range wines or rather mid range wines priced easily twice as high as in other restaurant: Service and food was very good.
We won’t go back because of the wine.

Bocconcino
Responded on 6 October 2021

Dear Sam, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 30 September 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience3

Super, but a bit loud for a conversation

Bocconcino
Responded on 7 October 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback!

Report
MB
vipMarianaBS
London
7 reviews
Dined on 30 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Graduation. Nice for a special occasion, amazing food

S
Souzysou
1 review
Dined on 30 September 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience4

The quality of the food was poor for the price. Calamari too oily.
I will not be going back.

Bocconcino
Responded on 6 October 2021

Dear Souzysou, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the food did not meet your expectations. We always strive to provide the best food and service and will take your feedback into consideration to further improve.

Report
GK
GiselleK
1 review
Dined on 29 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Nice birthday dinner. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The ragu pasta was delicious as well Service was well-timed and friendly.

Bocconcino
Responded on 1 October 2021

Dear GiselleK, Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it! We hope to see you at Bocconcino again soon.

Report
GW
GrahamW
1 review
Dined on 28 September 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Great pizza and great service wine list is extensive but you do not need to spend a fortune if you want a simple lunch

Bocconcino
Responded on 1 October 2021

Dear GrahamW, Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate it! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us.

Report
RG
RichardG
1 review
Dined on 27 September 2021
Overall2food1service2ambience3

Starter aubergine parmigiano came out lukewarm. Main course of ravioli was bland.
Young waitresses who seemed Inexperienced.
Would not return.

Bocconcino
Responded on 1 October 2021

Dear RichardG, Thank you for leaving us a review. It is disappointing to read that the food did not live up your expectations. It is with regret that, on this occasion, our usual high standards of food and service were not met. Please rest assured that your feedback has been passed to our management to be taken in consideration.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
12 reviews
Dined on 25 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and very helpful staff. Great quality food as you would expect from a Mayfair restaurant

Bocconcino
Responded on 1 October 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We are all glad you have enjoyed your time with us! Looking forward to seeing you soon at Bocconcino.

Report
A
Anna
London
3 reviews
Dined on 25 September 2021
Overall2food3service3ambience1

I was quite disappointed with the atmosphere and the food compared to the price. The ambience was really poor and I was not impressed with the service.

Bocconcino
Responded on 1 October 2021

Dear Anna, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear you were not entirely satisfied with your experience and please rest assured that all of the points you have mentioned have been passed to the relevant department to be taken into consideration.

Report
j
joannar
London
3 reviews
Dined on 25 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great atmosphere and DJ, lovely staff. The manager was amazing and kept his eye on every table all night, think his name was ramanos? Great birthday evening!

Bocconcino
Responded on 1 October 2021

Dear Joannar, Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your birthday dinner with us and we cannot wait to see you at Bocconcino again soon!

Report
P
Prexy
London
3 reviews
Dined on 25 September 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience3

The food was okay and the service was good. Didn't appreciate being chased while waiting for them to bring the bill and reminded 3 times that we had to give up our table in 5 minutes. After we paid and went to the look we were chased in front of the bathroom by a rude waitress who was clearly clumsy but wanted to blame her clumsy on use using the customers bathroom near the stairs? That left a bad taste in our mouth.

Bocconcino
Responded on 1 October 2021

Dear Prexy, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we greatly appreciate it. We are sorry to hear you were not entirely satisfied with your experience. Despite the fact that we have a 1.45 hours return time policy in place, mentioned on the confirmation of all reservation and on all our bookings platforms, this should have not interfered with your experience. We have passed your feedback onto our team to ensure our standards are upheld at all times.

Report

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Bocconcino using the Order Online button. Bocconcino also offers delivery in partnership with Deliveroo and Uber Eats. Bocconcino also offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at 020 7499 4510.

Bocconcino is rated 4.1 stars by 1298 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.