Boro Bistro

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
775 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Boro Bistro has established itself as a tiny slice of France in London.

Situated in the leafy shades of Southwark Cathedral and neighboring Borough market, Boro Bistro proposes a nice bistro French food with large wine list, tasty Belgium beers, great range of platters of French cheeses and charcuterie to share with friends and family. We offer a tapas menu, you can choose from different tiny plates and jars so you can try various taste.

Come and enjoy our cosy garden like terrace for a relaxed moment.
Boro Bistro offers a vintage design with its sofas giving a relaxed and easy going ambiance.

If you are fond of festive atmosphere, join us on thursdays for live music, good time guaranteed !

What 775 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
LC
LucyCutting
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really cool vibe. Good range of food and drink. Really nice staff and attentive considering the volume of people. Really good with allergies as well, very clear menu to follow.

OB
OrlaBB
London
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Celebration with partner

J
vipJames
London
17 reviews
Dined on 5 August 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Wonderful, as ever - the food is excellent and the outdoor seating is perfect in the current environment!

KC
KelseyC
London
1 review
Dined on 5 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and delicious food. The outside seating area is great for the warmer weather.

LM
LisaM
London
2 reviews
Dined on 5 August 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Wonderful welcome back to one of my favourite restaurants - fantastic service, good wine list and lovely food as ever. The perfect place to while away a summer's afternoon after a wander around Boro Market.

R
Rupert
London
3 reviews
Dined on 4 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Well...we hadn’t visited this lovely little place for some time and have now been back twice in the last two weeks. Would thoroughly recommend, try the cheese and charcuterie board for two, spectacular! . Sweet out door space and good value for money, charming staff,

SC
ShantellC
1 review
Dined on 2 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Will definitely visit again! Love the outdoor seating area surrounded by plants. Vintage style decor. Decent priced meals and drinks. Left as a happy customer.

A
Andover123
1 review
Dined on 31 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely staff and delicious food, would definitely recommend

JW
JillW
1 review
Dined on 30 July 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great outdoor space, very buzzy and great staff. Good Covid measures but you need to book if you want an outdoor table or sofa

SA
SACHAW
London
1 review
Dined on 21 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First meal out since lowdown and was wonderful. Would definitely recommend.

r
vipreviewer
London
7 reviews
Dined on 19 July 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

A great hidden gem in London Bridge. The food is delicious & so much choice there's something for everyone.

We sat outdoors under the awning and could've stay for a few more hours longer!

J
Jess
London
1 review
Dined on 17 July 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

I always have a wonderful time at Boro Bistro. I think for the location, the food, the service and the ambience it's very good value.

If I had one small comment I would say the portion sizes are a little small for certain dishes but it wouldn't stop me coming back

Thanks

L
Liana
London
1 review
Dined on 17 July 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Everything was perfect as usual except that there's no option to have separate bills for one table as it creates a lot of palava at the end of the evening 😅

SC
vipStCatsDad
London
6 reviews
Dined on 16 July 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

In today's mandate for social distancing, but if you still like decent food and drink this location is a gem. Just off London Bridge / Borough Market the location is ideal for al fresco dining but its not noisy. The staff are very attentive and helpful. I have never had French tapas before but effectively that's what this is and its awesome. Well priced both for food and drink, this is a must for work or social gatherings.

w
whoopi
Bath
2 reviews
Dined on 14 March 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience4

The setting for this bistro is lovely and was so looking forward to eating there. The staff and ambience were fine but the food a real let down. Very disappointing.

RG
RebeccaG
London
2 reviews
Dined on 13 March 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience1

service was shocking and food very disappointing, the waitress who served us did not really pay any attention to us, I booked this for my Birthday celebrations a total of 8 people and did not leave me feeling very happy, a real shame

RP
RosannaP
London
2 reviews
Dined on 10 March 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

The service was ok but the waiter forget to bring part of our order. The food was good but not as good as it has been in the past. The ambience was ok but there was a bit of a damp smell.... overall an OK experience

A
Anna93
London
2 reviews
Dined on 8 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was amazing- especially the crab cakes.

Was such a nice experience and had a lovely waiter. 10/10

NM
NinaM
London
5 reviews
Dined on 6 March 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Lovely evening with friends we had ! Service was awesome and the athmosphere plus food were great. We’ll definitely return !
Thanks guys !

Boro Bistro
Responded on 8 March 2020

Hello Nina, Thank you for such a great comment, we are glad you enjoyed your evening with your friends. Your feedback on the service as well as the food is much appreciated. Looking forward on your return! Anton.

Report
PS
PennyS
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Waitress was polite, friendly, charming. Helpful with the birthday cake I supplied, and the staff brought it out with candles and sang to the birthday boy. The food was delicious, my only request was I would have liked more vegetables. My husband asked for medium rare steak and got well done, but it was all very tasty.

JP
JudeP
London
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great French food in a quirky ambiance. Friendly staff giving great service. Wonderful find !

Boro Bistro
Responded on 8 March 2020

Hello Jude, Thank you for kind and enlightening comment. We are glad you enjoyed the service but most importantly that you witnessed the true Boro Bistro experience. We hope to see you again soon! Kindest regards, Anton.

Report
JC
JoanC
Newcastle
6 reviews
Dined on 27 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love the food and the service was just great - really friendly and prompt

Boro Bistro
Responded on 8 March 2020

Hello Joan, Thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again very soon! Kindest regards, Anton.

Report
LB
LizB
London
6 reviews
Dined on 27 February 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Fantastic food in a small restaurant with a great vibe. Service was slow and table tiny but food was great and I really like this place.

Boro Bistro
Responded on 8 March 2020

Hello Liz, Thank you for your lovely comment, your feedback is much appreciated. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the food as well as the overall ambience. The issues regarding the service and table size is duly noted, however we hope to see you again soon! Anton.

Report
D
Diana
London
3 reviews
Dined on 26 February 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience4

The food was good , though the Tartiflette was a complete fluke ... I love that dusk but I actually couldn’t eat it in this place, it was really unpalatable.

Otherwise the rest of the food was OK, nothing to write home about , it the atmosphere is lovely, the service was good and they have good non alcoholic beer :)

I would go back knowing what I know ...

Boro Bistro
Responded on 8 March 2020

Hello Diana, Thank you for your comment, your feedback is much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere as well as the service. However, regarding the Tartiflette, we are sorry to hear it was not to your satisfaction especially as it is one of our best selling dishes. Glad the non alcoholic beer did is for you. We hope to see you again soon! Anton.

Report
HK
HelenK
1 review
Dined on 22 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This restaurant has a great atmosphere. The decor is quirky to say the least! The food is excellent and although everything is in small portions, similar to tapas, I still managed to eat too much! Not your run of the mill place and we will definitely be returning.

Boro Bistro
Responded on 25 February 2020

Hello Helen, thank you for your wonderful comment we appreciate your feedback on the food, as well as the decor. We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and we hope to you again soon! Anton.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 22 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely atmosphere, food was great and staff were very friendly

Boro Bistro
Responded on 25 February 2020

Thank you for your kind words and your overall feedback of your stay with us. We hope you return soon! Anton.

Report
S
Senyorb
London
1 review
Dined on 21 February 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Good spot for some tapas style food and a good catch up with friend. Nice and relaxed atmosphere.

Boro Bistro
Responded on 25 February 2020

Thank you for your friendly feedback, we are glad we are a destination you bring your friends. You can count us to set the mood. We hope to see you soon! Anton.

Report
AC
AliceC
London
1 review
Dined on 20 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and amazing food. Would strongly recommend and will be visiting again soon. Espresso martini was one of the best I’ve had.

Boro Bistro
Responded on 25 February 2020

Thank you for your amazing comment! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the food as well as the service. Regarding the Expression Martini, we have one waiting for you with your name on it. See you soon! Anton.

Report
SS
SheilaS
London
1 review
Dined on 19 February 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Excellent food
Great service
Good wine
I was so chuffed to find this place and it turn out so well

Boro Bistro
Responded on 25 February 2020

Thank you for your great comment, we appreciate the feedback. We are glad that your new discovery did not disappoint and we hope to see you soon. Anton.

Report
e
eatsalot
London
19 reviews
Dined on 19 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Busy but not horribly so on a Wednesday night so not too noisy. Bistro look and atmosphere such as you might easily find in Paris.
We sat inside as it was raining and windy, but outside is lovely in the summer
We had a couple of bottles of Hungarian Pinot Grigio which was really really good. And the burgers were stupendous!

Boro Bistro
Responded on 25 February 2020

Thank you for comment and for the feedback on the wine and burgers. We like to think of ourselves as a little piece of France in London, so if you can't make it to Paris our door will be open. We hope to see you soon. Anton.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Great food

Boro Bistro
Responded on 25 February 2020

Thank you for your kind feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Anton.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 8 February 2020
Overall5food5service3ambience4

Nice staff, nice venue. Good food. Would definitely return

G
George
London
2 reviews
Dined on 6 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing! Lovely food & wine, super friendly staff.
Can’t wait to go back.

Boro Bistro
Responded on 11 February 2020

Thank you for such a lovely comment, we are glad you enjoyed everything. Can’t wait to have you back! Kind regards, Anton.

Report
CR
ChristinaR
London
3 reviews
Dined on 5 February 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience5

This place is cool and has a nice vibe. The boro board is really nice but the rest of the food is pretty average, quite greasy and sometimes bland.

Boro Bistro
Responded on 12 February 2020

Hi Christina, Thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear your enjoyed the atmosphere and our cheese and meat board. Regarding the tapas, we would appreciate if you could send us an email with more details. We are always happy to receive feedback in order to improve ourselves. Many thanks Kindest regards Chris

Report
VW
VickiW
Surrey
2 reviews
Dined on 5 February 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Loved this place. Really unusual and buzzing atmosphere. Food great and service spot on. Would definitely go back.

Boro Bistro
Responded on 11 February 2020

Thank you for your lovely comment, we are glad to hear you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you soon! Kind regards, Anton.

Report
A
Amanda
Brighton
2 reviews
Dined on 5 February 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Great service and food, great ambience. Slightly tricky to find. Definitely will go again now I know where it is.

Boro Bistro
Responded on 11 February 2020

Thank you for your kind comment, we are looking forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, Anton.

Report
PN
PatriciaN
1 review
Dined on 4 February 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience3

This is a tapas style restaurant with friendly staff and a lively atmosphere.
However, the service was really chaotic. We ordered 7 dishes to share and sat back whilst the servers tried to give us food that we hadn't ordered. We eventually got 6 out of our 7 dishes. The quality of the food was very mixed, some nice dishes but some very mediocre ones. We had to ask where our 7th dish was and it came after a long wait. It was a very dry black pudding croquet and not worth waiting for.
When the bill came, surprise surprise, it had items on which we hadn't ordered or eaten so I asked for an amended bill, which I paid. It was only after this that I noticed that the bill contained a 12 5% service charge. As the service was so poor, I felt cheated. I certainly wouldn't have paid it had I seen it earlier.

Boro Bistro
Responded on 12 February 2020

Hello Patricia, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. As we told you on TripAdvisor, we are really sorry for the service your received that evening, this is not the standards we wish for our customers. We would be happy to refund you the amount or send us an email to see what we can do for you. Kindest regards Chris

Report
B
Birthdaygirl
Kent
2 reviews
Dined on 1 February 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience5

Lovely evening celebrating my birthday. Food was very nice I just wasn’t that keen on mine. I think the tables needed to be cleared away quicker and when we paid we didn’t get our change for over 15 minutes and then not all of it was given so was a bit annoying in the end. The first waitress was lovely and very helpful but we seemed to of got someone else by the end. Some plates were chipped which may be part of the ambience but not really a plus point for me. The table wasn’t ready or set up for when we arrived and then not for the correct amount of people in our party so we were a bit squashed in but we had fun anyway

Boro Bistro
Responded on 11 February 2020

Thank you for your comment, we really appreciate your feedback. Regarding your change, we apologise for the wait you shouldn’t have waited 15 min and it is unacceptable you didn’t receive the full amount; this will be looked into. The chipped plates is part of the ambience but your opinion has been noted. We would also like to apologise for our lack of organisation, you table should have been set up for the correct amount of people before you arrived. Anyway we are glad you had fun!

Report
JS
JamesS
Warwickshire
3 reviews
Dined on 1 February 2020
Overall3food2service2ambience3

Ambience was good although tables are very tightly packed in. Food was good without being memorable

Boro Bistro
Responded on 11 February 2020

Thank you for your comment , we appreciate your feedback! Kind regards, Anton.

Report
HH
vipHappyHoosier8
Denver
35 reviews
Dined on 28 January 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Quirky spot with a decent wine list and delicious nibbles. Will be back!

Boro Bistro
Responded on 11 February 2020

Thank you for your comment, we hope to seee you soon! Kind regards, Anton.

Report

FAQs

Boro Bistro is rated 4.3 stars by 775 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.