Boro Bistro

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
688 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French

Top tags:

Casual
Boro Bistro has established itself as a tiny slice of France in London.

Situated in the leafy shades of Southwark Cathedral and neighboring Borough market, Boro Bistro proposes a nice bistro French food with large wine list, tasty Belgium beers, great range of platters of French cheeses and charcuterie to share with friends and family. The concept is like a Tapas restaurant you can choose from different tiny plates and jars so you can try various taste.

Come and enjoy our cosy garden like terrace for a relaxed moment.
Boro Bistro offers a vintage design with its sofas and romantic candles lights giving a relaxed and easy going ambiance.

If you are fond of festive atmosphere, join us on thursdays for live music, good time guaranteed !

What 688 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
RF
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great atmosphere and a really varied selection of dishes.

JS
London
1 review
Dined on 12 October 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Absolutely incredible. I’ve already recommended it to friends. The atmosphere was magical, really friendly and homey. The style and decorations of the restaurant made it delicious to the eyes. The staff were really helpful and super nice. The food was outstanding, truly mouth watering and leaves you wanting more. Really worth going to if you haven’t

OT
London
1 review
Dined on 11 October 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

great bistro. We live in Devon, 200 miles away and this is the 3rd time we have visited .... lovely ambience, cosy, romantic, laid back, great food, great wine....

ME
London
1 review
Dined on 11 October 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A fabulous restaurant with a delightful menu. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable - Nini in particular is an absolute gem!

MS
1 review
Dined on 10 October 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

low key and unpretentious with excellent food and first class service. Great tapas recommendations from the staff who picked our choice perfectly. Will definitely return and recommend ! 😍

VT
London
6 reviews
Dined on 5 October 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 3

Expensive for what it was. Some dishes were nice, others felt like a friend slapped it together and just charged you over the odds for a little snack (some salad had raw peas which were hard). Dishes involving meat were deceptive (two small slivers of duck which cost £9?). The service was a bit crap - waitress kept forgetting everything and although she did apologise at the end, we didn't feel we should have paid the 12.5% tip which is put onto the bill (not even discretionary?!). Very sad experience, lots of potential and the reviews seemed ok but def not in our experience.

JH
1 review
Dined on 5 October 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 2

Challenging place to find unless you know the area
While we had booked a table they couldn't find our reservation when we arrived, and never did so we just grabbed a table outside - not a great start

Service was sporadic -we had a waitress who started her intro buy advising it was her first day and couldn't describe the menu or advise ingredients in the products.
It took ages for our food to arrive with no apology for the delay or reason for the delay, despite, other tables arriving and ordering after us and receiving there food before us!
Some of our tapas was missing which we had to chase
Struggled in general with the service and had to wait ages to re-order drinks and then to receive them

On the plus side the food was lovely and a great range but service really let it down.
While it was busy Saturday lunchtime is wasn't packed so couldn't see what was causing the service issues

Boro Bistro
Responded on 9 October 2019

Hello, We would like to apologise for the disastrous service you received throughout your visit with us. The waitress in charge of your table was on her trial shift hence why she had no prior knowledge on the dishes. We should have communicated more with the waitress, supervised her work a little closer. We would appreciate it if you could send us an email to let us know what we could offer you as an apologie and more importantly so that you can enjoy the true Boro Bistro experience.

Report
L
London
1 review
Dined on 4 October 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

It is a very quirky restaurant, loved the decorations and vibe. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. The food was in small portions, which allowed us to try different options. Definitely will visit again.

JW
London
2 reviews
Dined on 28 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

After taking 10 minutes to find the Bistro, we were not disappointed when we got there! Great location which offers casual dining and drinking, both outdoors and indoors. Quirky decor, wonderful relaxed atmosphere, great staff. Service could have been quicker but we were pretty chilled and it was packed to the rafters. Great tapas style french food. Unusual dishes and very very tasty. So good we're going back next month.

S
London
37 reviews
Dined on 27 September 2019
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 3

Absolutely atrocious food. Bland, cold & deep fried. Truly inedible. This is is a student place with food that’s more becoming of a restaurant in the UK 30 years ago.
Disgraceful. Service poor too with very long waits between ordering. The audacity still to charge 12.50% service charge. This place doesn’t deserve to be in business. We are locals and thought we’d try somewhere new for a change. Big mistake.

Boro Bistro
Responded 4 days ago

Dear Simon, We are sorry to hear that our food wasn't to your satisfaction. We are currently in a transitional period consisting of training a new team which has been reflected in our service. We are doing everything we can to get back to a high standard service and resolve this problem. You shouldn't have been a witness to this lack of performance. That is why we would really appreciate it if you would give us a second chance by hosting you again. Please send us an email. Kind regards Anton

Report
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 26 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Awesome night. Great spot. Definitely coming back

m
London
10 reviews
Dined on 18 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic waitress, lovely food and great wine!

OT
London
1 review
Dined on 18 September 2019
Overall 2food 4service 1ambience 5

Very slow service - otherwise great

Boro Bistro
Responded 4 days ago

Hello, We are sorry to hear about the slow service you received. This isn't our usual standard of service and we are doing everything in our power to resolve this problem by training a new team. This is just a transitional period that you shouldn't have witnessed. We would really appreciate it if you would give us a second chance by sending us an email letting us know what we can do for you. Anton

Report
AG
1 review
Dined on 15 September 2019
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 3

Is very sad because the location and the bar itself are lovely - but the service is extremely poor and the dishes are ridiculously poor as well and overpriced. Also we were a few people and we ordered a few different plates, and no one was to say "wow, I love it", non of them. Definitely we wont come back.

Boro Bistro
Responded 4 days ago

Hello, We are really sorry to hear that you had such a disappointed experience. If you could give us more details about what was wrong with the dishes you ordered and the service you received, we would appreciate the feedback. Also, if there is anything we can do, please contact us by email to see what we can do to redeem ourselves. Kindest regards Chris

Report
V
Berlin
3 reviews
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

Nice location, but too small portions and “loveless” presentation of food. For a glass of wine or pint of beer probably a better choice.

DL
London
1 review
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Superb food at reasonable price for that part of London. Service was second to none! A lovely way to spend a birthday

FC
London
1 review
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Great atmosphere, service and yummy food - definitely recommend

DE
1 review
Dined on 10 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A real find. Staff very friendly and efficient. Food excellent plus great value. Ambiance “par excellence”. All around a great experience. Will be back.

AV
1 review
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall 4food 2service 5ambience 4

The service and atmosphere was fabulous cocktails lovely but he food was way overpriced for the portion sizes. The best value is probably the burgers !

D
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 3food 3service 1ambience 5

They must be short staffed as the service was very slow, we got up to get a drink at the bar at one point to be told we wasn't allowed to do that. Food ok, not hot enough by the time it got to us, burger raw, you shouldn't eat mince raw. Nice feel to the place, mood lighting etc, the toilets were different, even if you don't need to go, go and check them out.

Boro Bistro
Responded 4 days ago

Dear Dawnie, We are sorry that you experienced such a poor service. Indeed, we are currently in a transitional period, where we are training a new team and trying our best to get back to a high standard service as we used to perform. Regarding the food, we have spoken to the Chef to ensure this doesn't happen again. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere. However, we would like for you to enjoy the service and food as well, so please let us know what we can do to make this happen.

Report
TC
London
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

I love the atmosphere in Boro Bistro and the service is always excellent. Great selection of wines and lovely food. It’s my favourite place to meet up with friends when I’m in the area.

OT
London
1 review
Dined on 4 September 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 3

Service was so slow. It took 25 mins to get bread and my roast cauliflower was raw. Very quirky venue with great potential but just left itself down

J
London
57 reviews
Dined on 3 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A regular haunt of mine. I was there for a business/catch up supper with a colleague. The food was amazing, great service and the wine was fabulous! I would highly recommend BB

MB
London
48 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall 2food 3service 3ambience 3

Pleasant enough, but can't escape the feeling it is something of a tourist trap. The front yard, which stretches out alongside Southwark Cathedral, is nicely laid out, good for a drink. However, the interior is dark and cavernous - fine for winter evenings, but otherwise a bit gloomy, and frankly slightly scruffy. Service is fine but a little brusque. The food is tapas style, but everything is served together, which means freshness is variable. The food is adequate, reasonably well-cooked and seasoned, but unimaginative. The wine in my experience was poor value, overpriced for the mediocre quality.

Boro Bistro
Responded 4 days ago

Hello, Thank you for your comment, we appreciate your feedback. The interior design of Boro Bistro is very controversial when to satisfying customers, many people enjoy the quirkiness and others don’t. Please let us know why you felt our dishes were unimaginative. Our food is served all together because the majority of our customers prefer it this way. If there is anything we can you for you to enjoy the Boro Bistro experience, please let us know. Anton

Report
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I Always have a good time at Boro. The team working there have fun with you and are relaxed & friendly but attentive.
We arrived for our table which was inside - we asked the gentleman who greeted us at the entrance of a table would
Come up outside if he could please consider moving us and he said he would try.
We were so happy when 15mins or so later he came to let us know there was a table outside (May as well try and enjoy UK summer while it is here!).
I’m sure they can’t always accommodate that request but the effort was definitely appreciated. Merci!

MS
1 review
Dined on 22 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

If you want to escape from the hustle and bustle from the city and have a holiday feeling at the same time, go to Boro Bistro.
This “hidden” gem (look down at the right, when you cross London Bridge) is the ideal place.
The idea is to share plates of the finger licking delicious food (don’t forget the baked Camembert and the Merguez with mint and lime!) with a glass of good wine, beer,...
The food, the atmosphere and the French spoken by the staff take you on an instant holiday to “ la douce France “.
The only “remark”: take care if you need to use the restrooms, it is quite dark on the staircase downstairs (especially if you have been sitting in the sun before entering the premises)

M
London
26 reviews
Dined on 18 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Perfect location and lovely garden! The food was really good and the atmosphere very friendly.
Perfect for a get-together brunch with your friends!

RG
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A terrific find tucked away in a lovely courtyard very close to London Bridge.
Although it was very busy, the staff were very attentive and the atmosphere was great

OT
London
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great service, delicious food! We’ll definitely be back!!!

R
1 review
Dined on 16 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always love this place, bring my friends, family, everyone. Service is always really great, very personal

J
Hertfordshire
3 reviews
Dined on 15 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Perfect setting and Hungarian wine was very good and resonantly priced.

CW
London
4 reviews
Dined on 14 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Absolutely loved it here. They have a wide variety of options and all are delicious!

J
London
57 reviews
Dined on 12 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I’ve been going here for years and had many birthday drinks and networking meetings here so it was lovely to sit and catch up with a friend/colleague over a fabulous dinner at Boro Bistro! Service was excellent as was the wine list - and the price! Highly recommend.

OT
London
4 reviews
Dined on 8 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

One of my favourite restaurants I go to regularly. Good food cooked well and the staff are always so friendly and helpful. One of the few in London Bridge that still feels authentic & you can book which is so important when you're planning a meal.

S
London
4 reviews
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Another great meal. Sitting outside on a warm summer evening it Is easy to imagine you are in France. Food is great and good value. Staff are all friendly & helpful. One of my favourite restaurants in London and highly recommend

SP
1 review
Dined on 2 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic setting right next to the Cathedral with a great vibe. Excellent service, all the staff were really friendly and helpful. There is a good choice of both food and wine. The food was delicious. Will definitely be back

D
London
3 reviews
Dined on 1 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Quirky , relaxed , great vibes next to borough market , just lovely

ST
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We enjoy everything immensely. Can’t recommend it enough.

MH
London
1 review
Dined on 26 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I always come here it’s my favourite place in London to go with the girls and a bonus is it’s got outdoor seating. Great food and drink and the staff are always nice.

e
London
23 reviews
Dined on 22 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food, great service, amazing prices! The only thing that could make it better would be the lack of background music: it was a bit too loud for my taste, I'd turn it off completely. Otherwise, great!

1
2
3
18