Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. London
  4. South East London
  5. London Bridge
Butlers Wharf Chop House Restaurant, London,

Butlers Wharf Chop House Restaurant

4.2
4.2
3696 Reviews
£26 to £40
British
As the name suggests, Butlers Wharf Chop House Restaurant is just the place if you’re in the mood for something meaty – don’t miss Head Chef Alexandru Sotirs' dry aged grass-fed steaks. Elegant without being stuffy, it’s a relaxed riverside destination where provenance is key, with the likes of Select Butchery, London cured salmon, Jersey Rock Oysters and native lobster. Sit back and enjoy that famous view of Tower Bridge (from the terrace if you’re lucky), you’re in safe hands

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 26 times today
Experiences are available.
Private dining

Private dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Price
    £26 to £40
  • Cuisines
    British, Steak
  • Hours of Operation
    Sun 12:00–20:00 Lunch Tue–Sat 12:00–15:00 Dinner Mon–Sat 17:30–21:00
  • Phone number
    020 7403 3403
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Diners Club, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress Code
    Smart Casual
  • Private party facilities
    Our spacious, airy restaurant is a glowing tribute to a traditional English boating house or cricket pavilion with oak-lined walls and comfortable solid seating. In finer weather the doors can be opened on to the riverside terrace providing al fresco dining with the best view of Tower Bridge.
  • Private party contact
    Kinga Czerwinska: 020 3196 4959
  • Area
    London Bridge
  • Parking Details
    <br>Closest parking is Butlers Wharf 46-50 Gainsford Street London Southwark SE1 2 NE
  • Public Transit
    <br>Nearest Underground Stations London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern lines) & Tower Hill (District & Circle lines)
  • Additional
    Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Experiences

  • Sunday Roast

    £27.00 per person

    Multiple dates available
    A relaxed riverside destination serving a menu of chophouse classics, steaks & nostalgic British recipes, plus Tower Bridge views. Join us for our special Sunday Roast : Greens farms Half Chicken £24 Old Spot Pork Belly £25 35 Day dry-aged Sirloin £27
    Sunday  Roast photo
  • London Restaurant Festival

    £30.00 per person

    1 May - 30 Jun 2024
    A relaxed riverside destination serving a menu of chophouse classics, steaks & nostalgic British recipes, plus Tower Bridge views. join us for London Restaurant Festival: Set menu: 2 course £25 / 3 course £30
    London Restaurant Festival photo
  • Set Menu

    £30.00 per person

    Multiple dates available
    D&D London is bringing back the great British Chop House – heading back to a time when meat was king, portions were hearty and provenance was everything. Chop House serves larger sharing cuts cooked on open charcoal grills, in Josper ovens or on spit roasts, alongside daily specials inspired by the best ingredients the British Isles have to offer. Join us from our 2 courses £30 or 3 courses £35 set menu. Our Head Chef Alexandru-Ionel Sotir created those delicious dishes: London particular, yellow split pea soup, smoked ham hock, Ham hock terrine, parsley, slaw, Colemans mayonnaise , Chicken, leek & mushroom pie, leeks, mushrooms, mustard, tenderstem broccoli, tarragon velouté

What 3,696 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.2
4.2 based on recent ratings
  • 4.2Food
  • 4.3Service
  • 4.3Ambience
  • 3.8Value

NoiseEnergetic

Loved For

  • South East London

    Great for outdoor dining

  • South East London

    Great for scenic views

  • South East London

    British

3,869 Reviews
  1. OpenTable Diner

    Washington DC

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 4
    Mediocre food and subpar service. Ordered starters (bread) that took an hour to be delivered. Mains were bland and took another 45 mins. Do not recommend and will never return.
    Butlers Wharf Chop House RestaurantResponded 1 day ago
    Dear customer! Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience with us during your visit in our restaurant! Please accept my sincere apologise that your experience was not up to our standards and your expectations. If you decide to give us another try, please send us email directly and personally I will make sure you are looked after very well! Kind regards, Galya

    Is this helpful?

  2. Andrew

    London

    18 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    18 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Wonderful sunny evening with a picture postcard backdrop of Tower Bridge perfectly set off a superb dinner meeting … 11/10 !
    Butlers Wharf Chop House RestaurantResponded 1 day ago
    Dear Andrew, Thank you for your lovely review! Hope to see soon again! Kind regards, Galya

    Is this helpful?

  3. MarkM

    London

    9 reviews

    4.0

    9 reviews

    Dined 5 days ago

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 4
    Nice food. Touch slow on the service. I’d go back.
    Butlers Wharf Chop House RestaurantResponded 4 days ago
    Dear Mark, Thank you for your feedback! It means a lot to us! Hope to see you soon, again! Kind regards, Galya

    Is this helpful?

  4. OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 6 days ago

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    Booking the last slot on Sunday, felt very rushed when placing our order. The server forgot most of our drinks.
    Butlers Wharf Chop House RestaurantResponded 4 days ago
    Dear Customer, Thank you for your feedback! I'm really sorry to hear you felt rushed and our service did not reach your expectations! Hope you will give us another try! Kind regards, Galya

    Is this helpful?

  5. 0000JT

    London

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 6 days ago

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 3
    V slow service
    Butlers Wharf Chop House RestaurantResponded 4 days ago
    Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback! We will use it to improve our service! Kind regards, Galya

    Is this helpful?

  6. LindaM

    London

    7 reviews

    3.0

    7 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 3
    We really expected better. It was my husbands birthday, so booked it for a treat. The service was shockingly bad. We ordered bread and olives, but only the bread showed up (the olives made it to the bill though), I ordered my steak rare & my husband very well done - they were both medium! He sent his back to be cooked more. Ordered more drinks, after 20 mins we had to ask where they were, sauces we asked for, only one came, even getting the bill took an age, and it was wrong & we had to wait again for another bill! Food was ok, but I suspect tainted by the poor service! When you pay over £150 for a meal, you deserve better.

    Is this helpful?

  7. OpenTable Diner

    New York City

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined 7 days ago

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 3
    Visited on a Saturday evening with friends. I will start with the good point...Its a great location, that is the only good point. The service was awful. It took an hour to deliver our food between starter and main course. When the food arrived it was awful. Chicken and leek pie turned out to be a "mushroom" pie, no sign of a leek or any chicken. Fish and chips was just about average, had better from the local chip shop. Fillet steak was most definitely NOT a fillet. Was burnt and stringy and hardly able to get a knife through. Asked for extra sauce as there was barely a spoonful in the jug and got charged double. When we complained to the Manager she looked down her nose at us and said they said we should of told them as soon as the food arrived and there was nothing they could do now. There was no offer to change the steak, no offer of removing the cost from the bill, no offer of anything at all despite seeing it had hardly been touched. The table next to us were complaining and left after one course. Restaurant was virtually empty by 8.30pm. I think that tells you everything you need to know about this restaurant, especially for a Saturday night. Very poor all round. Would definitely NOT recommend.
    Butlers Wharf Chop House RestaurantResponded 4 days ago
    Dear customer! Thank you for your honest feedback! I'm really sorry the service haven't meet your expectations, as we always strive to deliver the best food and service to all our customers and apologize if it wasn't the case for your last visit! If you decide to give us another try and prove we can deliver best food and service, please contact us by sending an email and I will make sure you will have a great experience! Kind regards, Galya

    Is this helpful?

  8. martins

    London

    6 reviews

    2.0

    6 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    Ok but nothing to write home about service a bit slow and laid back wont be coming back in ahurry

    Is this helpful?

  9. OpenTable Diner

    New York City

    3 reviews

    1.0

    3 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 2
    If I may only start by saying: do no trust in their advertisement on social media. We were extremely disappointed with this restaurant. The meat quality was good enough but their presentation was mediocre. It’s overpriced in my opinion for what we received. The service was acceptable but inefficient to the point that the waiter didn’t suggest any sauce for their bland served steak. He also suggested the most expensive dish on the menu for two (1,200kg of meat). Luck us we didn’t go for his recommendations. In the end, I’ll never go back there and if you’re reading this you should not go either. There so many other better places in London.

    Is this helpful?

  10. OpenTable Diner

    France

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 6 June 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 5
    Food was really good. There was a huge party in celebrating a birthday and you could tell the restaurant turned their full attention to the party
    Butlers Wharf Chop House RestaurantResponded 6 days ago
    Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback! I'm terribly sorry to hear you did not really enjoy your time with us . We treat all our customers with the same respect and attention to details. If you decide to give us an another try, please contact us via email and I will personally make sure you have a great experience Kind regards, Galya

    Is this helpful?

FAQs

Butlers Wharf Chop House Restaurant is rated 4.2 stars by 3696 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 26 times today
Experiences are available.
Google Map for Butlers Wharf Chop House Restaurant

The Butlers Wharf Building, 36e Shad Thames, Tower Bridge, London, SE1 2YE

Additional information

  • Area
    London Bridge
  • Hours of Operation
    Sun 12:00–20:00 Lunch Tue–Sat 12:00–15:00 Dinner Mon–Sat 17:30–21:00
  • Price
    £26 to £40
  • Cuisines
    British, Steak
  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Dress Code
    Smart Casual
  • Parking Details
    <br>Closest parking is Butlers Wharf 46-50 Gainsford Street London Southwark SE1 2 NE
  • Public Transit
    Nearest Underground Stations London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern lines) & Tower Hill (District & Circle lines)
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Diners Club, Mastercard, Visa
  • Additional
    Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Phone number
    020 7403 3403
  • Private party facilities
    Our spacious, airy restaurant is a glowing tribute to a traditional English boating house or cricket pavilion with oak-lined walls and comfortable solid seating. In finer weather the doors can be opened on to the riverside terrace providing al fresco dining with the best view of Tower Bridge.
  • Private party contact
    Kinga Czerwinska: 020 3196 4959
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Impressum
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
OpenTable Logo