Dukes 92

4.4
1197 reviews
£25 and under
British
Dukes 92 was originally a stable block for the horses delivering foods off barges to the Merchants warehouse opposite. From these humble begininngs the building now houses Manchester's original bar and grill which has been refurbished and extended three times since its opening in 1991 the space today is informal and airy with the buildings heritage being reflected in a subtle blend of antique furniture and modern fixed seating.
With its most recent refurbishment Dukes can now properly call itself a venue with two bars, three private events spaces, a grill restaurant, excellent smoking facilities, canalside terrace and balcony overlooking the canal basin. Dukes continued appeal relies on its ability to transform from a relaxed, family friendly environment by day to a vibrant and stylish bar and grill by night.
The space has been extended and refurbished since its opening in 1991 and inside its interior combines contemporary features and its trademark antique furniture.

Experiences

  • Waiter Service Dining

    Nov 9 - Nov 10, 2021

    This is a test

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1197 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
Manchester
1 review
Dined 18 hours ago
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Went for dinner with a friend, ordering in done on your phone which was fine but service was average. No one came to check on our food or clear our plates so dirty plates sat on our table for over 20 minutes. Also wait staff weren’t very friendly they’d just nod and leave if you asked them anything.

J
Jamie
1 review
Dined 19 hours ago
Overall4food5service2ambience4

Great birthday meal, but disappointed that I was given two tables of 4 behind each other when I booked a table of 8 - it also wasn’t hugely busy and staff early on in the evening seemed very reluctant to help in any way. A call to let me know about the table situation would have been appreciated, but the food and drinks were excellent.

AM
AlenaM
Glasgow
1 review
Dined 20 hours ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was fast and efficient. We didn’t have to wait long for food and food and drinks were fantastic

OT
OpenTable Diner
Manchester
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service3ambience5

Adam the manager was helpful and moved us to the comfy couches. Olivia excelled in her customer service skills and the food was delightful as always. I had the tempura prawns and avocado salad. My friend had the Jamaican jerk burger with sweet potato chips and salad. Both meals were beautifully executed and with the sunshine out and two refreshing shandies. We had a delightful day.

Dukes 92
Responded 21 hours ago

Thanks for the rave review, Adam and Olivia were super proud.

Report
AB
ABbeyL
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service. Will definitely be returning. Thankyou!

Dukes 92
Responded 21 hours ago

Thanks, see you soon!

Report
ID
InteriorDesigner
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great variety of food on offer and great prices for the location.

E
Euro
London
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food3service5ambience2

Saw on google that it was good to watch Euro. And it was not.

KS
KateS
Manchester
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really good food, drinks are reasonably priced for Manchester City Centre and the vibe is always so nice!!

C
Char
Manchester
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service, Excellent food and would definitely recommend to anyone. The food and drinks came super quick.

S
Sarah
Manchester
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Great food. Lovely spot. Only issue was the bad mannered doorman who tried to refuse entry to my 17yr old daughter . We were booked for a sit down meal so ID wasn’t required. He did let her through after I explained, but his attitude stank.

N
Nkmmmmm
Manchester
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great staff and service. Bit worrying that some staff wore their masks under their noses or not at all but other than that lovely meal.

E
Elaineh
Manchester
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3food5service1ambience2

Service slow for drinks waiters/ waitresses all seemed to concentrating on one area , half hour before we even got a drink , explained to waitress didn't seem bothered no apology. Food arrived ok and was nice .

A
Anonymous
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food4service1ambience1

Have visited Dukes a few times prior to Covid and always loved it however, very different experience this time round unfortunately.

Service was poor - was just kind of walked to the table and left. Waited as we would have preferred table service however, nobody came over to us so ended up having to use the app.

This meant that starters and mains came together as we weren't made aware this would happen. Some people on the table received their mains before their starters so just sort of spoilt the experience. Meals came before cutlery which was just thrown on the table.

Management came over at the end to clear our plates after they had been sat infront of us for a while and he was really friendly to us. Only bit of communication we had with any of the staff and he was able to move us outside for the last half an hour of our booking.

Food was really lovely as always but service really spoilt the overall experience. Will definitely choose to go elsewhere next time which is a shame.

k
kerry
London
3 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience5

It was a Sunday and we ordered the roast dinner which was nice . Unfortunately it arrived before our drinks had been served . Didn’t fetch cutlery or condiments . Difficult to get someone’s attention . So had to send it back as it was cold once we managed to request cutlery and find out where are drinks were . Downside of ordering with an app I guess . Lovely place nice ambience . Service could be better .

GS
GregoryS
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall1food5service1ambience2

Grumpy front of house, nice table staff - good food, but football not available outside.

B
Bcon
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Yana our waitress at Manchester dukes was so helpful and kind and we had a wonderful day. Thank you!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Manchester
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service & atmosphere.

MW
MattW
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food5service2ambience5

Food was amazing. Location was amazing. Decent value for money. Unfortunately our server was quite rude and it somewhat tainted the experience.

Would definitely return, perhaps our server was just having a bad day :)

S
Sara
Manchester
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food5service4ambience2

We booked a table months in advance, to be sure we got in, we were put on a table outside right at the bottom on the left side, behind a booth, pretty much hidden, I’m sure it was table 411 maybe, we asked if we could move and the guy said he would send someone over, and don’t worry the atmosphere will pick up in that area soon, nobody came over, we even contemplated going back outside and queuing to get in, as people without bookings were being seating in the middle where the atmosphere was, to top it off as I was waiting for my Uber, I drank my gin and tonic quickly to find that my raspberry was fully mouldy, I showed the waitress and she just took the glass and said sorry about that, and walked off, not the best experience this time to be honest. We do love dukes 92 so will be coming back, just maybe avoiding pre booking as it didn’t serve us well

AA
ArtaA
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall2food3service3ambience1

Very average. A lot of youngsters getting drunk and screening. Food average also. Felt that things were microwaved

ZU
ZeenaU
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Such a lovely vibe on a Saturday. We ordered steak and it was amazing. The only issue was the board it was served on wasn’t ideal at all. Cocktails were also amazing.

H
Hannah
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First time coming here and it was a really nice atmosphere, staff were friendly & food came really quick. Will definitely go back

B
Babs
Manchester
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall2food3service1ambience3

Rude waitress, miserable. Clearly didnt want to be there. Promised a complimentary prosecco for the birthday girl. It never arrived despite asking twice.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love the venue, service and drinks however some of the staff are a little too strict on speaking to other tables of people

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Manchester
12 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food1service5ambience5

I eat at dukes often and the food is generally lovely but the jerk chicken burger was disgusting it tasted like stuffin you get on a Sunday dinner. There was no spice what so ever just a horrible taste of sage. The service was very good and staff friendly I will return but stick to what I normally have.

MJ
MaddyJ
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was a lovely atmosphere and the service was really quick!

A
Annie
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service from all staff was outstanding. They really went above and beyond to help.

B
Beth
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall2food2service1ambience5

We had a lovely experience apart from the floor manager being extremely rude to us from the start which ruined our whole experience. We originally had a table booked for indoors but as the weather turned out to be lovely we requested an outdoor table as we knew they were for walk-ins and not booked up. At first the floor manager said no we would have to wait... so we waited and nothing happened so we asked another member of staff and a nice young waiter kindly took us to a table outdoors. Shortly after the manager stormed over to our table accusing us of moving outdoors without confirming it with staff, to which I told him a member of his staff sat us there and he actually made me describe the staff member as if I was lying! Later on and many cocktails later we were told we had to vacate our table after finishing our drinks to which we replied why when other people who had been at their tables longer than us hadn't been asked to give up their table for walk-ins... especially as we were buying rounds and spending money there! Which I thought was very unfair as it was a walk in table we were sat on so not as if it had a booking after us. For this reason I wouldn't return to this place, which is a shame as its in a great location and has a great atmosphere outdoors but I would warn anyone going now to be aware.

Dukes 92
Responded 21 hours ago

Hey Beth, thanks for taking the time to send your feedback in. Sorry to hear about what happened we will investigate and speak with the team to ensure we do as much as we can to satisfy all our customers. Apologies once again. Thanks

Report
DT
DianeT
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food4service2ambience5

Ordered food and drink on the app that was easy but orders not correct. Gin was served with lemonade rather than tonic. Food missing from orders ( hummus and coleslaw). Cutlery thrown on the table and wasn’t offered salt , pepper etc. As you order on the app you can’t discuss your specific order with your waiter. For example I ordered a baileys and wanted to pour it in my coffee but it was served with ice and it wasn’t described on the app as such.

A
Amelied
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall1food3service1ambience2

Twice I’ve been here and aside from the managers the staff don’t care at all - not welcoming, weird sense of self importance - won’t come again. The managers can’t do enough for you but they need to install this into their waiting staff and greeters. Great venue - awful service

OT
OpenTable Diner
Manchester
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall2food2service1ambience3

I’ve been to dukes many times before and really enjoyed it however on my recent visit there were a number of issues with the service we received.
Firstly we ordered drinks on the app one of which arrived wrong.
Secondly we ordered food from the app which then arrived for half of the group with starters and mains all at the same time.
A good 30 minutes the remainder of the food had not arrived. The money had come out of the Monzo account for both orders of food however we were told there was a mix up with the app and it hadn’t been processed so we were then asked to pay AGAIN and been told the money would be returned the next day.
The manager then kindly came out and offered a free drink and the food arrived shortly after.
Empty Plates were still left on our table for up to 2 hours after we had eaten food and we had to ask staff to kindly collect them. I did not feel that the waiters were attentive as we had to seek out staff ourselves for all of this issues as no one came to check on any of the tables.
Sadly I will be unlikely to book here again due to this experience.

G
Gavin
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food5service3ambience5

Food was excellent and delivered fast. Covid rules taken seriously regarding mask wearing, however our table was not clean, so clearly hadn’t been sanitised between use.
Ordering at the table using the link was excellent and very simple, I hope this stays in the long term as it’s much more relaxing to order not having to chase people down.
I would only score the service a 3 star as I felt when dropping food and a round of drinks, the staff were quite rude. Costs nothing to say hello and make eye contact.

That said, we will definitely return. Cheers.

NB
NidhiB
New York Area
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Good night out with the girls

AR
AlexanderR
London
1 review
Dined on 11 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good food and good service. Lovely atmosphere. Would come again

OT
OpenTable Diner
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 10 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sisters 30th, great friendly service! Considering we went with children, it was amazing! We will be back

CO
CraigO
1 review
Dined on 10 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Brilliant as always!! Great food, service and atmosphere

JS
JohnS
1 review
Dined on 10 June 2021
Overall4food3service3ambience3

Staff not that pleasant when delivering food. All a bit rude

JM
JadeM
1 review
Dined on 10 June 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Not too busy, service wasn’t the best we’ve had but also not the worst. We came a couple of years ago before covid and loved it, the staff were great.

TF
TomF
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 10 June 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

The location, layout, facilities, service, food and drink all come together to provide a great day (or night) out! I would recommend Dukes 92 to anyone!

JW
JessicaW
London
1 review
Dined on 10 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The staff were extremely helpful with moving around our seating to meet our needs and drinks arrived really quickly

FAQs

Dukes 92 is rated 4.4 stars by 1197 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.