Gaucho Leeds

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
2143 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£41 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Gaucho Set Menu: 12-7PM | Two Courses - £24.00 | Three Courses - £28.00

We bring a slice Argentina to the Victorian Quarter, the city’s financial and cultural centre, with incredible steaks, Latin flavours and premium wines.

In the city centre, with Leeds’ best shopping and art museums on our doorstep, we offer a sophisticated dining experience to all our guests. During the week relaxing with friends over a cocktail after work at our bar, grab a swift lunch with colleagues or celebrate in one of our private dining rooms. When it comes to the weekend you’re invited to our DJ hosted electro brunch and legendary Sunday Roasts.

Special Offers

3 courses with a glass of Pommery Brut Royal £35

From a set menu.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 8 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 8 people

Starts: 30 December 2019

Ends: 2 January 2020

Availability: Mon-Thu 12:00-19:00

3 courses with a glass of Pommery Brut Royal £35

From a set menu.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 8 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 8 people

Starts: 23 December 2019

Ends: 29 December 2019

Availability: Sun-Tue 12:00-19:00
Thu-Sat 12:00-19:00

3 courses with a glass of Pommery Brut Royal £35

From a set menu.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 8 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 8 people

Starts: 18 November 2019

Ends: 22 December 2019

Availability: Daily 12:00-23:00

Bottomless Beef and Wine £60

Enjoy (weekly changing) free flowing wine, a weekly revolving steak menu featuring different, delicious cuts of meat all for £60 per person. Includes bottomless, red white or rose from selected wines on the day.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 8 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.
This menu is available for advanced reservation and walk ins. One drink per person, at any one time. Wine is served by the 175ml glass. This offer is valid for the duration of a 90-minute dining period. The first portion of steak is served as 300g. Guests are then permitted to only order in increments of 100g per person. The whole table must take part in bottomless beef & bottle. We operate a responsible drinking policy.

Valid For: 2 - 8 people

Starts: 11 August 2019

Ends: 29 December 2019

Availability: Sun 12:00-23:00

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1,000 point tables

Mon - Wed 12:00PM - 11:00PM

What 2143 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience3

The restaurant smelt of beef jerky! The waiter was really attentive . The food was quite overpriced for what it was and have had nicer steaks elsewhere for less cost.

RK
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3food4service4ambience3

Friendly and knowledgeable service. Excellent food. Would visit again for special occasions.

MD
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely fabulous. First time we have been there. Was recommended to us by my business partner and we would have no qualms about recommending Gauchos Leeds to anyone else.
Top notch food . We will be back thats for sure.

HN
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Steak is very good, had the chateaubriand to share with my partner and it melted like butter :-) Mark was an amaizing waiter, really knowledgable and great host from start to end, made our anniversary very special! I think the sides are very small but other than that i have no bad feedback.

P
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Nice personal service, with no long waits, no mess ups and great food

OT
London
1 review
Dined on 11 November 2019
Overall3food2service5ambience4

Max our waiter was knowledgable, friendly and professional. He made the experience enjoyable. The reason for the low stars on the food was because of the lack of sides that came with the food. The sauces looked old and weren’t freshly made. Other than that the steak was delicious and perfectly cooked.

D
Bath
3 reviews
Dined on 10 November 2019
Overall3food5service1ambience2

Unfortunately the service was terrible which was really bad considering we were only 1 of 3 tables being served. Our food arrived before our drinks, which took 35 mins to arrive. The food was great, but the sauce on the steak was served cold - not sure why ? The service staff were like trainees and really seemed to have no idea how to serve a table. The more senior staff semed to be staffing the bar at the front, and it was like because it was quite no one really made any effort. A real shame as we had chosen Gaucho for a 21st birthday celebration and paid over £200 for an experience that was second rate. We will not return there.

VA
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Dined on 9 November 2019
Overall2food1service1ambience3

Poor service and REALLY poor food. Overall a huge disappointment for our special celebration for somewhere we’d thought would be so much better.

Gaucho Leeds
Responded on 12 November 2019

Hi Victoria, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We strive to deliver top quality service and food at Gaucho and on this occasion we've let you down. I do apologise for this. May I please ask for you reservation details so I can look into this for you? Kind Regards, Gaucho Leeds

Report
LB
London
2 reviews
Dined on 9 November 2019
Overall1food2service1ambience2

Very slow service just to our table - people who ordered after us were getting their food before us. Management did recognise this without us commenting and offered us desert on the house. Main course was not the quality we were expecting but the sticky toffee pudding was divine !

AH
Chicago
1 review
Dined on 9 November 2019
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Overall a good experience. Waitress showed us the different meats and explained the best way to have them cooked. The only negative on the night for us was the service was a bit slow when it came to the drinks , but this would not stop us coming again

Gaucho Leeds
Responded on 12 November 2019

Hi Andrew, First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Be sure to know, I'll pass your feedback onto our bar team regarding timings. I'm glad to hear you had a good experience, looking forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Gaucho Leeds

Report
SR
1 review
Dined on 9 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Visited for the first time for the Electro Brunch. The atmosphere was great, the brunch was really good value for money, we were never left waiting too long to order drinks or food.

Gaucho Leeds
Responded on 12 November 2019

Hi Sarah, I'm glad to hear you had a great experience at Gaucho. Already looking forward to your next visit! Kind Regards, Gaucho Leeds

Report
d
1 review
Dined on 3 November 2019
Overall3food2service4ambience3

We have eaten at Gaucho before, on the occassion it took too long for our meal to come, food was warm not hot, the food lacked in taste and presentation.

Gaucho Leeds
Responded on 8 November 2019

Hi Danielled, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I apologise about your experience on this occasion, be sure I will be passing your feedback onto our kitchen and operations team. May I please ask for your reservation details so I can look into this further? Kind Regards, Gaucho Leeds

Report
A
1 review
Dined on 3 November 2019
Overall3food1service3ambience1

Sunday lunch was horrendous, Yorkshire puddings were flat and doughy, beef was not beef it was more like frying steak.

AG
Northampton
1 review
Dined on 3 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Amazing food and service as always! The best roast dinner in Leeds.

Gaucho Leeds
Responded on 8 November 2019

Thanks for the kind words, AmyG!

Report
RC
London
1 review
Dined on 2 November 2019
Overall2food4service1ambience1

Great food but very poor service, disappointing as the cost was Michelin Star money and service was pub like. Wouldn’t rush back

f
Yorkshire
5 reviews
Dined on 2 November 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

A few changes since the last time we ate at Gaucho. The menu is more 'main stream' and our favourite tomato salad wasnt on the menu. Vila Patricia wine was delicious, as always, but expensive, more than one meal!

OT
London
14 reviews
Dined on 1 November 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Food is always amazing! Our waiter was lovely however the man that showed us to our table seemingly was very offended when we politely asked if we could have a more central table to the one he gave us!!! Not very professional and a bizarre reason to be miffed with us! Our waiter made up for it though and was very friendly.

MG
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on 30 October 2019
Overall2food2service1ambience3

Been dining here for years. Ordered a large fillet medium rare, as soon as it came, I knew it was far too rare, and cutting into it, it was cold in the centre, not even warmed through. Sent back straight away, sides left at the table. My daughter had almost finished her meal (the did offer to keep it warm.... keep at £40 steak warm...?) which we declined, by the time mine came back, perfectly rare, not medium rare by a country mile. Requested the sauce we’d ordered with the steak 3 times before after an additional 5 minutes that was eventually brought with the excuse they had been waiting to bring it with the chips.... as an act of goodwill, they knocked off the £3 sauce... not appropriate on a £120 bill. We declined to pay the service charge of £11, and am sad to say won’t be returning any time soon. Really very disappointing.

Gaucho Leeds
Responded on 8 November 2019

Hi MrsG, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. As you know from your previous dining experiences with us, we strive to deliver a faultless experience for our guests. On this occasion we have let you down and for that we do apologise. May I please ask for your reservation details so I can look into this ASAP? Looking forward to your response. Kind Regards, Gaucho Leeds

Report
JO
1 review
Dined on 27 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a wonderful time celebrating my boyfriends 21st Birthday here. From the food which was amazing - fillet steak (chateaux briand) to share was devine. We had a full steak experience - the young man Max who served us explained all the menu and showed us there prepared steaks on a board for us to choose from. As it was a birthday they gave us a free pudding which was a kind suprise for both of us! Will defo be returning

Gaucho Leeds
Responded on 8 November 2019

Thanks for the kind words, JadeO. I'll pass the message onto Max and the team. Kind Regards, Gaucho Leeds

Report
G
1 review
Dined on 26 October 2019
Overall3food2service3ambience5

Second time customer, much worse than first visit. Our table "not ready" on arrival so shown to bar for cocktail - nice drink but several tables were clearly free, felt like forced delay. Bread delicious, starter good but not exceptional, steak main not evenly cooked however. Some parts rare, some medium - big let down for specialist steak place. Credit to manager who gave discount after we showed. However realised upon leaving that we were charged a 10% gratuity on the receipt, in addition to being asked for a tip separately on the card machine. Poor practice. Also tried to charge for bottled water when we had tap.

AK
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on 25 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Never fails to disappoint at Gaucho Leeds, the food was exceptional and the staff attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

OT
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on 25 October 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience5

Nice restaurant good service not the best steak I have ever had and very expensive with sides and sauce extra on top
However a great night with friends and customers

C
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on 25 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

I walked in and thought it was going to be dreadful. The decor is horrendous. White and black leather with cow hide, does not date well. As that's the first impression, I was worried.

In this case, first impressions were wrong. From the cocktails at the bar, to the attentive staff, to the fabulous food, to the wine recommendation, everything else is bloody great. It's at the pricier end of the spectrum, but it's worth it. Just ignore the decor.

OT
1 review
Dined on 22 October 2019
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Food was well prepared and service was very attentive 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

BN
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on 19 October 2019
Overall3food4service1ambience3

50 minute wait to be seated. I booked 2 weeks in advance! Little in the way of an apology offered. Waitress at the table did refund us for a round of drinks but we had to ask which was a little embarrassing. Food was really nice but a comparable steak is available elsewhere in Leeds.

i
1 review
Dined on 17 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food as always. Friendly staff and great wine. Would definitely come back

VC
1 review
Dined on 12 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful food, fantastic service and a lovely calm, relaxed atmosphere. We loved everything about Gaucho. Highly recommend.

B
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on 5 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best steak restaurant ever hands down. Amazing service and high quality food, we have been several times how and still just as brilliant each time. Would recommend for any occasion!

L
1 review
Dined on 29 September 2019
Overall2food5service3ambience5

£120 bill I paid for a meal for my husbands birthday.
I ordered a shot of Dissarano with my dessert, not realising it would be a large. I was driving so refused the shot when I saw the size of it and was still charged for it.
The steak was a sirloin, my husbands steak was very very fatty to the point he didn’t eat half of it.
£120 bill arrived with a £10 service charge on it. I thought it would have been better customer service to at least remove the shot off the bill.
I have dined at gaucho for years and this visit left me feeling very undervalued.

V
London
9 reviews
Dined on 28 September 2019
Overall5food4service3ambience4

Excellent food in fabulous surroundings. A great experience

JH
1 review
Dined on 28 September 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience2

The Good points

The Beef Burger - good value and tasty
The honeycomb in the Chocolate Ganache - mouth watering

The Bad points

Ordered cream mashed potatoes - received chips
Ordered Med - Well done sirloin steak - received Med to Rare
Ordered two types of beer - had to leave behind so bad

I was so looking forward to something different as I had never been to an Argentinean restaurant -overall a bad experience - our waiter seemed to be a little 'over the top' and was more concerned about promoting the most expensive 400g steak on the menu than being genuine

JN
1 review
Dined on 28 September 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and great service. My only complaint would be that the tables were too tightly packed making it feel like you were part of the next tables conversations. Not very private

NF
1 review
Dined on 27 September 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was amazing food was great. Veg is overpriced. Noise level was great until it got busy then it ruined our evening so we tried to leave as soon as we could. I think it’s extra noisy with it being a basement restaurant and no windows. It got very hot too.

KR
1 review
Dined on 26 September 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience1

We got a phone call 20mins before our booking to tell us there was a gas leak so we couldnt go.

SB
1 review
Dined on 22 September 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The overall experience was excellent. We were made very welcome on arrival and all the staff especially Emma were fantastic throughout the evening. The steak was probably the best steak we have ever had. Highly recommend to everyone.

D
2 reviews
Dined on 22 September 2019
Overall3food5service5ambience5

Steak perfectly cooked and all food was presented well. The only downside was that it was too hot and no air conditioning! Can’t believe gaucho Leeds with those prices only had a temporary Dyson fan plugged in. I was uncomfortable throughout and it did ruin what otherwise would have been an amazing experience.

OT
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Dined on 22 September 2019
Overall2food3service1ambience1

We ordered from the lunch menu which was pleasant. Very patronising waitress who is clearly incentivised into.

OT
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall3food5service1ambience3

We have booked a table on Saturday for 21:00 but they didn’t sit us down until 21:30 when I went to the manager and complained about it. There were loads of tables available, so I don’t know what went wrong there.
The food was great, however we ended up having our meal at 22:15.
We used to love Gaucho but after last night, I don’t think we’re going to rush going back there.

OT
1 review
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Welcomed by a happy receptionist, waiter came over straight away too take drinks order. Food was lovely and the service was brilliant, great way too spend birthday celebrations.

C
Yorkshire
1 review
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall4food5service3ambience5

Service was very slow for making our order and drinks coming to the table. However the food was as good as ever and therefore we shall still be returning.