La Fontana Coast

4.4
1231 reviews
$30 and under
Italian
La Fontana Coast brings fine dining to the shore. Beautifully located a block from the beach in Sea Isle City, New Jersey, La Fontana Coast brings a wonderfully breathtaking Mediterranean style ambiance to the Jersey shore, complete with an elegantly infectious Southern Italian seaside villa decor with an amazing view of the ocean. La Fontana Coast prepares deliciously authentic and classic Italian cuisine served with charm and smile, where guests can let their hair down, relax and take a vacation from their vacation. Bring your favorite bottle of wine and an appetite for classic fine Italian food and homemade desserts and get swept away al La Fontana Coast.

Support La Fontana Coast during COVID-19

What 1231 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
7 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

2 Birthdays

SG
vipSummerGuy
Philadelphia
16 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Generally, I am very pleased with this restaurant. However, they were clearly overbooked this evening, and this created a somewhat uncomfortable atmosphere. They were attempting to handle it as best as possible, but the logistics of the place make that a difficult task. I will avoid dining there on Friday and Saturday in the future.

S
vipSparkman
Philadelphia
38 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had Bianco as our server and he is outstanding. Very personable and attentive. The food is consistently well above average. I had the Capellini Positano which was delicious. My wife had the Rigatoni Bolognese which she said was also great. We dined at the end of the season, so the restaurant was a little short staffed and the wait was a little long. It was definitely worth the wait as the food was hot when it came out and very tasty.

S
Susan
Philadelphia
8 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very busy night. Daria did a good job.

BT
BigTone
Atlantic City
2 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Great dining experience. Was outdoors. Only minor drawback is that I noticed the portions are smaller than normal…perhaps a COVID thing -rather than major increase in prices???

JA
JoAnnP
Philadelphia
6 reviews
Dined on 10 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always great! Server was outstanding. Only complaint was no grated cheese made it our table . Lol!

R
vipRudy
Philadelphia
27 reviews
Dined on 7 September 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience1

The worse experience I have ever had at a restaurant. The waiter Benito was rude, unresponsive, and condescending. It was a Tuesday night and not that crowded. He took forever to take our order. We had a 2 and 4 year old with us. Asked to get their meatballs as soon as possible. If it wasn’t for the wonderful bus girl who kept us supplied with bread it would have been worse. When I asked him to check on our food he said he’d be right back. 15 minutes later no response When I approached him again the hostess stepped in and checked for us. 10 minutes later we got our food which was not hot. This is the 2nd time I’ve had this waiter. Never sit on the left hand side of the outdoor dining. He was bad then and worse this time. We spent 2 hours here and will never return.
The hostess gave us cannoli to take home and a 10% discount. The bill was still over $100 for cold food and an ignorant waiter. We gave the bus girl $20 and zero to the waiter.
Stay away from here. They overbook tables, treat you like they are doing you a favor and steal your money.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Was able to make a reservation very quickly for within 15 minutes. Food was outstanding! Will go there again!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a great time. Great food and great service

r
vipredsox07
Philadelphia
175 reviews
Dined on 7 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food great service

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 3 September 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

It was the worst experience I have had in years and years. We showed up before our scheduled time. There were dozens of people showing up and saying they had a reservation and they told us under their breath that they did not. The hostess, who was clearly overwhelmed just seated them anyway. No one was giving their names ...just saying they had reservations, including us, who had reservations. When we did get seated , they sat us in an isle right up against another party. It felt very awkward. We waited 20 minutes for anyone to show up and acknowledge us.. We ordered our full meal immediately, knowing everything would take some time given how many people were there and how obviously under staffed they were. We are understanding people, but this was not enjoyable. 20 minutes later, our waitress showed up again, still no water , bread or drinks, but she said that what I ordered was no longer available. At that point, 40 minutes in. We got up and left, told our waitress that we were not going to stay. She, obviously did not want us to leave but could not offer anything else to make this dinner enjoyable.

La Fontana Coast
Responded on 10 September 2021

We apologize for the experience you had while dining. We are aware of the incident that took place Monday evening as there was a glitch with our reservation services and some tables were double booked. We have found and corrected the issue. As this is no excuse for your experience, we would like the opportunity to correct your view of us and send you a gift card. Please provide us with your email address so we may send you a gift card.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Good food and service! Great location

b
biged
Atlantic City
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What a pleasure. The food was excellent. Service best so far. Thank you for a great experience great food and service.

NO
vipNORG
Philadelphia
10 reviews
Dined on 21 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was a crowded night, but the staff handles everything great. Dinner was fabulous

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
5 reviews
Dined on 21 August 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Will not go back ever

CB
CarolB
San Francisco
14 reviews
Dined on 21 August 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience1

WE loved the delicious food we had last night at La Fonatana Coast! Excellent Bolognese and risotto. funghi .. !!

However, and yes, it was a Saturday night, the noise level was awful and way too many people are seated in the restaurant at the same time. We were seated very near the door and servers passed us constantly with plates and bags on their way in and out. It was like watching a circus of delicious food and people swirling around us. Good thing we were only 2 since it would have been difficult to have a talk among more.
We would only recommend going in the spring or fall!

D
Dinner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 21 August 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience4

Ordered dinner and was told possible 40 minute wait. 3 of our entrees came after 40 to 45 mins ... the next 2 entrees came 20 to 25 mins later ... only after much prodding of wait staff. After the other 2 entrees came, we were told by wait staff it wasn't their fault. A bus boy came over ande asked if we had an issue and could we explain it to him so he could solve. Almost commical. No customer service. Stay away at all costs.

CH
CraigH
Philadelphia
5 reviews
Dined on 21 August 2021
Overall3food4service4ambience1

BYOB is fine, but needs to be more obvious on website. Food was good, but some of it overpriced. Tables have you packed in like sardines with very little aisle space. No way to move about in restaurant without infringing on other patrons space. (Not the place to be if not vaccinated) Men's and women's bathrooms are single occupancy which formed lines. Wait staff was excellent (attentive and friendly)

La Fontana Coast
Responded on 10 September 2021

Our occupancy limits are provided by the state & city and therefore out of our hands. Knowing that, we have brought on staff to strictly clean, have hand sanitation stations, employees wear masks & we follow the guidelines given. Insinuating our establishment is not safe could be detrimental to our business & is a matter of opinion. You were also within your right to leave our establishment & contact mgmt. if you felt unsafe, please inform me of which manager you spoke to regarding your concern?

Report
DL
DavidL
Atlantic City
10 reviews
Dined on 19 August 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Place was busy, summer time at the shore, but service was very god and accommodating. Order the linguine pescatore but wanted the rosa cognac cream sauce the waitress said no problem! Both dishes were very good, wife had seafood risotto red. Would recommend to anyone who likes Italian food.

C
Craig
Philadelphia
47 reviews
Dined on 14 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A great noght dining outdoors at our favorite restaurant! Party of 7 - 5 "newbies" and everyone enjoyed their meals. Great appetizers, loved the Artichoke app. We had a few "foodies" in our group and they made a return reservation before leaving - what does that tell you!
Amazing service was delivered by Olivia - smiling, jovial, informative and very caring & attentive. Definitely motivated us to tip well above the set gratuity for a table of 7.
We also appreciated the bug spray accomodation on this very humid evening, neutralizing what could have been an issue.
La Fontana Coast - still & always the best!!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
5 reviews
Dined on 13 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best restaurant in sea isle! Yummy pasta special and branzino. Perfect for a birthday or just a great night out.

CW
CherylW
Atlantic City
11 reviews
Dined on 10 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a blast as always

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
5 reviews
Dined on 10 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great waiter Bianco, food always delish, nice table outdoors

JB
JanetB
Philadelphia
15 reviews
Dined on 8 August 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Good food, but waited an hour for the entrees. Nice seating outside, waitstaff very friendly.

m
marvel
1 review
Dined on 7 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Our food was outstanding as was the service!!! It was a little noisy.

c
vipchristab
Philadelphia
22 reviews
Dined on 31 July 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience1

We requested inside and we were seated outside. We ordered the Baratta special but received the one from
the menu. It was super loud and we were outside. People with coolers and solo cups were standing over you while you ate. You will not see be here again anytime soon.

La Fontana Coast
Responded on 5 August 2021

We apologize for the dining experience you had however, we did not have a Baratta special this evening. We have contacted OpenTable and they informed me that they can see you made a reservation but we never checked you in and they system timed out your reservation stating you left at 12:27am. They have guided us for the future but because we did not mark you hadn't arrived it allowed for your review to be written. Again we apologize but believe you dined elsewhere this evening.

Report
A
Ann18
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on 31 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

My favorite restaurant down the shore! Excellent authentic Italian food and wonderful service!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlantic City
1 review
Dined on 31 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server was absolutely excellent.

KC
KCab
1 review
Dined on 28 July 2021
Overall2food2service4ambience3

Food was mediocre at best. Price was very high. Staff was helpful though.

DS
DaveS
Atlantic City
6 reviews
Dined on 28 July 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Value for dollar is worth every dime. Food absolutely delicious. Service was a bit less attentive than usual but everyone is short staffed and so this was not due to a lack of hustle among the waitstaff. However there was more of a mechanical feel than a "famiglia" feel in the service. What has made LaFontana a standout experience in the past, was the attentiveness of the staff, making it a unique dining experience.

LaFontana still remains the restaurant against which other Sea Isle restaurants are measured. They should continue to maintain that perch.

f
vipfoodie
Philadelphia
31 reviews
Dined on 28 July 2021
Overall4food3service2ambience3

The hostess argued with us about where we wanted to sit. She then faked if we intended to stay long. Not ver good customer service. We finally got to sit in the requested table location. Waiter got one of the orders wrong. Although he apologized, there was no service recovery offered. We took the incorrect entree so as not to waste it.
Service recovery training g would be helpful for all at this location

MW
MikeW
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Dined on 27 July 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience3

Kitchen has no clue how to pace service. That leaves the wait staff clueless which isn’t their fault. Bussers do a great job to turn tables (not good for the customer sometimes). Not good. Won’t return. Order came out incorrectly and the manager (possibly chef/owner) wife said everything is “fresh.” Fresh doesn’t take that long…poor management is the reason. Turn the tables, serve whatever shore food, hope that patrons drank enough wine…no thx.

j
vipjackf
Atlantic City
39 reviews
Dined on 24 July 2021
Overall4food5service2ambience5

The food was absolutely outstanding. They do a very nice job of creating a nice atmosphere outdoors

OT
OpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
3 reviews
Dined on 24 July 2021
Overall3food5service3ambience3

There were plenty of seats outdoors in the front, the older male host gave me and my girlfriend an awkward look which seemed like because we weren’t dressed up and whispered to have us sat in the back corner near the kitchen doors surrounded by a table of children. Other than that awkward encounter the food was amazing.

La Fontana Coast
Responded on 5 August 2021

We apologize for the dining experience you had however, we did not have a male host nor tables near our kitchen that allow for dining. We have contacted OpenTable & they informed me that they can see you made a reservation but we never checked you in & the system timed out your reservation after a certain time. They have guided us for the future but because we did not mark you hadn't arrived it allowed for your review to be written. Again we apologize but believe you dined elsewhere this evening

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
16 reviews
Dined on 22 July 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Food is great. Staff works hard despite being short-handed. One of the best in Sea Isle.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on 21 July 2021
Overall3food5service3ambience4

Like every restaurant in the area it is suffering from insufficient help. Service was friendly and helpful but it took about an hour for our meals to be served.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on 19 July 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience1

Way to long to order food, clearly not enough staff at this location. Took over 30 minutes before waiter ever came to table.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
17 reviews
Dined on 18 July 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Very nice restaurant with good food. Seating indoors is a little tight, but seats are comfortable. Menu has a nice variety. Specials were pricey. Tomato bisque for $17.95?Fried tomatoes for $19.95? That seems crazy. BYOB is great!

T
vipTom913
Atlantic City
29 reviews
Dined on 18 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a great meal at La Fontana. Owner always present and greats every one so pleasantly. Had the flounder francaise special. Fabulous. Can’t say enough about La Fontana. Will be back many times.

CC
vipCherylC
Philadelphia
27 reviews
Dined on 18 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience3

We had a wonderful time. The weather was nice and we sat outside. Food and service were both very good. I had the fried tomato appetizer - delicious!

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from La Fontana Coast using the Order Online button.

La Fontana Coast is rated 4.4 stars by 1231 OpenTable diners.

La Fontana Coast does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.toasttab.com/la-fontana-coast/giftcards.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.