OAKS Restaurant & Bar
The logs for our custom-built grill are the natural by-product of sustainable coppicing by the Nottinghamshire Wildlife Trust.
We offer locally brewed craft ales by Castle Rock Brewery on tap, as well as bottles of craft beers and a cocktail list.
Thursdays: Rump steak deal £9.99
8oz Rump steak, hand-cut chips & peppercorn sauce £9.99.
Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 8 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.
Valid For: 1 - 8 people
Starts: 3 October 2019
Ends: 3 April 2020
Availability: Thu 17:00-22:00
Express Lunch: £7
From a set menu.
Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 8 diners. Includes VAT, excludes service.
Valid For: 1 - 8 people
Starts: 3 October 2019
Ends: 3 April 2020
Availability: Fri 12:00-17:00
as we had a 2 year old with us we thought the service was very slow. We had to ask twice where his juice was and twice where 1 of us wine was. We ordered a med/rare steak and that came and that was medium but didn't complain as we had waited a while for it to come. I had the beef dinner and that was nice.
overall it will be a while before we would come again.
Excellent food & good choice of cocktails. Service was a little slow
Meal was good overall.
I had the Oaks challenge, the meats were a little too dry for me but I did complete the challenge
My daughter asked for a steak med/rare but it was more med.
We would return and know what to ask for next time
Lovely interior and food. I would recommend Oaks to a friend.
Honestly it was okay - nothing special. The truffle chips were just chips. Quite expensive for just chips. The burger was okay, but again nothing special. My partner had a vegan burger and it seemed very 'out of a packet'. 50 quid for two burger and chips, a tad expensive for average food.
Salads were dressed in tonnes of oil and wasn't really edible either.
It was ok but that’s the problem so many of these types of restaurants it’s hard to stand out but for the price I expected something abit more unless it was just an off day....late Sunday afternoon....the actual place is comfortable and quite cosy but I’m not tempted to return....sorry x
Came here for a birthday celebration. The service was very slow and the restaurant wasn’t particularly busy, so not sure where the hold up was. The food was nice but it’s just a shame they didn’t seem bothered about how slow the service was. Waiting 50 minutes for a main is ridiculous.
Hi Catherine, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you were disappointed by our service. While we were not at our busiest during your visit we did have large tables in at the same time which unfortunately caused a hold up with your order. When you mentioned that you had been waiting 30mins the team apologised and the food was with you under 10mins later. This is still not quick enough and we sincerely apologise for making you and your friends wait. Kind regards, OAKS
Two Sunday dinners came out only lukewarm. Sent them back. Still not hot when they came back. Food though was great. Drinks came out after dinner was served. It could have been so much better. The waitress was good with us though
Hi David, Thank you for your review, I have passed on your comments regarding your roasts to our Exec Chef to ensure changes are made and that we learn from your disappointing experience. Many thanks, Chris
Really friendly and polite staff, who were very helpful. The food was really nice and really enjoyed our experience and visit to Oak's and would happily come back too.
Wow Rjh2410, Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's fantastic to hear you had such a great experience. I have passed on your comments to the team who are delighted. We hope to see you again very soon. Thanks again, Chris Chris
I would only recomend a friend based on my first visit not this one, because we all have average evenings. Fantastic when you first opened standards are getting complacent,
We have been many times and the good is always great. Let down this time by pork belly - no crackled skin!
Hi Tina, Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate any guest feedback. I am also pleased to tell you that now thanks to your comment and others from guests that our Pork Belly is now served with crackling! We hope you will be back again soon. Many thanks, Chris
The food was pretty good but having to wait 45 minutes when there are 3 chefs working and about 10 customers is just not good enough. The food quality is pretty great for the price in my opinion but the service was inexcusable.
Hi James, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I apologise sincerely for the long wait you experienced. I was not previously aware of your clearly unsatisfactory time at OAKS and have fed your comments back to our executive chef to find out exactly what happened during your visit. Thank you again, Chris
Welcomed by a lovely young lady as soon as we entered the restaurant, fabulous service the right level of attentiveness, amazing food, great value for money and can’t wait to go back again.
Hi Emma, Wow, thank you so much for your lovely comments! We hope to see you back again very soon! Kind regards, Chris
When we asked for the Pre-Theatre menu we were quizzed by two members of staff if we were going to the theatre! Rude Staff
Hi Ian, Apologies for the confusion regarding our Pre-Theatre Menu. When launched, our pre-theatre menu was in conjunction with a local theatre and so we recorded which theatre people were going to and what to see. This is no longer part of our process. In this instance the staff on duty mistakenly followed old policy. I am certain that staff were not rude to you and I believe this to be an unfortunate miscommunication. I have ensured all staff are now aware of our new procedure. Many thanks
Food was ok bbq sauce on ribs was uninteresting and the rid were very thin little meat limited beer choice and not cold.
Hi RolfB, Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed by our BBQ ribs and have passed on your comments on the ribs to our kitchen team. I am also sorry that you were not happy with our beer selection. We currently offer 4 draught beers and one cider and over 15 bottled beers and ciders which we feel is a large enough choice for most people. Kind regards Chris
Unfortunately, despite a near empty restaurant there was not enough staff
Constant wait to get drinks etc
Then told no Ribs available ( in an American style diner??)
Burgers incredible flavour but over cooked to the extent that the meat was hard
Limited deserts available with two out of stock in the night
Ordered the steaks, one with salad, both arrived with chips. Swapped for salad, steaks overseasoned & one undercooked.
Hi Wendy, Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts on your visit. I'm disappointed to hear that our service wasn't up to our usual high standard. Regarding the food I am sorry that the team weren't able to resolve the problems you had on the day and have passed your comments on to our head chef. I hope you will be back and we can give you a second impression of how good our food and service can be. Kind regards, Chris
Good food, nice atmosphere and interiors. Some dishes were unavailable as it had been a busy day. Toilets are interesting!!
Thank you so much for you feedback, I'm sorry that on your visit we had sold out of some items. Hopefully on your next visit our whole menu will be available to you. Thanks again
Exceptional food and service! Will definitely be recommending a friend.
Hi Mark, Thank you so much for your comments! We're glad you had such a good time and we hope to see you again very soon! Kind regards, Chris
I would recommend purely on the food.
My burger was amazing, the kids enjoyed their food and the Sunday lunch was great.
I’m not saying the service was bad, our waitress was lovely and constantly apologising for the long waits.
Over half an hour or more for puddings just wasn’t acceptable, the place wasn’t busy so we couldn’t understand why things were taking so long. There was more than enough staff on (more then enough for how many people were actually seated). We decided to pay and not wait any longer. More attention needs to be given to the amount of time waiting for food to arrive.
Hi Gemma, Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. Please accept my apologies. Due to a technical issue your dessert order was not received by the kitchen and the issue was sadly not noticed until 20m later. The team did their best did get the food out ASAP and keep you updated however the damage was done. I'm glad that you enjoyed the rest of your food and I hope that and this explanation will bring you back for a second visit that is up to our usual high standard. Many thanks Chris
The food was to die for, the staff were really friendly. A really nice place to visit
Hi Lewis, Thank you so much for your comments, we are so glad you had such a good time. We hope to see you again very soon! Kind regards, Chris Restaurant Manager
Me and my husband went on a Saturday night and we were served by Phoebe, the food was lovely and we had amazing service, i would really recommend going.
Hi Sammy, Thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm so glad you had such a good time and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to Phoebe, who I know will be delighted. We hope to see you again very soon! Kind regards Chris Restaurant Manager
The food was absolutely flavourful! I went quite late so it was bound to be quite however the service was great! Very friendly and welcoming!
Hi Sam, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're glad you enjoyed the food so much and we hope you will visit us again very soon. Kind regards, Chris Restaurant Manager
Basic menu, we waited ages for our food as there was a big group table in at the same time. The waitress was great, came and apologized for the wait but when the food arrived it was just burnt and tasted of nothing.
Steak was cooked well but quality of steak was terrible, very tough. Mash was cold, sauce was like water. Very disappointing as we've been here in the past and it was amazing. Quality of food and presentation has gone way down. However the service was fab and they dealt with our issues very well.
We went for Sunday lunch and as soon as we opened the door it was great service, very welcoming. Food was reasonably priced and very tasty although some of the veg wasn't the warmest. On the whole, very good, we'll be back for something other than Sunday roast soon.
Great value for money, we hadn’t huge portions and we were glad we didn’t have a starter due to the size. The service was great and very deserving of a tip, the food came quickly and tasted good.
The restaurant itself was empty, not sure why, although it may be to do with the booking of 7:45 and it being a Thursday. Nonetheless my and my girlfriend had a lovely time.
Would recommend to anyone!
No where near as good as I’d remembered it being when it was relatively new, I used to love how the Sunday dinner came as a platter and that’s what we asked for yet it came as individual dinners . really didn’t enjoy it at all the chicken wasn’t fresh it was watery the whole plate felt watery we are normally both the type who cannot stand leaving food on our plates but neither of us ate much and we both felt a bit iffy after it’s a really big shame I doubt I will return now such a shame as I used to come here a lot before I had my little girl and I really looked forward to it.
Lovely atmosphere. Staff lovely and food amazing. Had a lovely time. Will definitely be back.
The food was lovely and reasonably priced. The atmosphere was great for date night with my partner and the young gentleman that served us was impeccable! We’ll definitely be back for another date night soon!
Staff were AMAZING! Food was delicious but the cocktails were the true champion.
Superb restaurant...everything was spot on..would definitely visit again
Hi Derek, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We hope to see you again very soon! Thanks again, Chris
Disappointing meal. We have been going to Oaks since it opened but it has chequered record with periods of closure due to a fire and other problems. Concept good but delivery now quite poor.
Quality was not good with my steak being somewhat tough and the chips not of the previous standard.
Prices seem to have increased but service and value for money deteriorated. Unlikely to return.
Was great foid
I went with a group of 8 and had to pay 10% surcharge and the deals are not correct on there website so I cost me alot more than expected
Hi Alice, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. While I understand you were disappointed that we no longer do our Beer and Burger offer after you pointed out that it was still mistakenly advertised online we did in fact honour the deal so I am not sure how it cost you more than you expected? We do also put a discretionary 10% service charge on tables of 8 or more which is optional if you had requested it was removed we would have happily done that. Thank you again, Chris
not good veggie options, also boyfriends pork belly wasn't very nice for him to eat was very chewy not crispy as the crackling should have been
We travelled from Derby for an 18th birthday meal and I must say it was worth the journey! Staff were very friendly and the food was amazing. We all chose burgers from the menu and they were cooked excellently. The price of the alcoholic drinks was very reasonable and we were happy with all portions of both food and drinks !! We will definitely be back soon, thankyou.
Hi Beverley, Thank you so much for your amazing review, we're so glad you enjoyed your visit and the food! We hope to see you back in OAKS very soon! Thanks again, Chris
Our food was cold, food was missed off the order, the potatoes where really hard. The beef was very very rare, my food was swimming around in blood. I don’t mind pink meet but I couldn’t eat any off it. I did tell a member of staff they said they would do what they could but I should of told them sooner. Nothing was done £50 meal for 2 adults and a child the child’s dinners are not for little ones at all.
Hi Tamlap, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am extremely saddened to hear how disappointed you were on your visit. It definitely sounds like we were not good enough on this occasion and I will be investigating why we were no able to resolve your issues at the time which should not have been a problem. I will also be passing your comments on to our kitchen team so they can make sure there is not a repeat of your experience. Thank you again, Chris
Staff were so friendly and checked everything was okay more than once .. on the ball with everything ! Definitely will be going back
Hi Ellie, Thank you so much for your lovely review! It's so good to hear that you had such a great experience at our restaurant. We hope to see you again very soon. Chris
I had heard mixed reviews however, wanted to give it a go to treat my dad for Fathers Day. Unfortunately, we all left feeling a little disappointed. The food was mediocre, didn't have much special, wasn't a taste sensation! Ambience was lacking, very little in a sense of atmosphere... Waiting service was OK, was served the wrong burger, but was handled efficiently. That aside, I left feeling very deflated and not like had treated my Father to anything special.
Hi TaPa, Thank you for taking the time leave a review of your visit. I'm sorry to hear you were so disappointed by your experience at OAKS. I will be passing your comments on to our kitchen team as I want to ensure we learn from your feedback. Thank you again, Chris