Percy & Founders

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
680 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British

Top tags:

Casual
Percy & Founders is a restaurant and bar located in the heart of Fitzrovia. Our name is inspired by the Duke of Northumberland, Hugh Percy, and the group of philanthropists who together founded the Middlesex Hospital in 1755.

We are open all day, every day, offering everything from a morning coffee or breakfast through to lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. Our Head Chef has created a modern British menu with European influences for breakfast, lunch, dinner & weekend brunch.

A series of spaces are designed to suit different needs and different times of the day, welcoming both reservations and casual walk-ins.

We are open for breakfast daily from 7.30am to 11.30am, weekend brunch from 9am to 4pm on Saturday, 9am to 1pm on Sunday, and all-day Sunday roasts.

We are located on the junction of Mortimer Street and Berners Street

Private Dining

Whether for a family celebration or corporate event, all our spaces are available for exclusive hire. Our stunning private dining room, Percy’s Den, accommodates 24 seated or 35 standing and comes with top of the range technology and a fully stocked bar.

View Private Dining Details
What 680 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
ET
London
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food3service3ambience4

the juicing machine made it really hard to hear our business meeting. Even though i had requested a "quiet" table when i booked, the waitress tried to put me on the stools in the middle and i had to request an alternative table. she wasnt very friendly or accommodating.
coffee was nice. place is done out well.

Percy & Founders
Responded 2 hours ago

Hi EmmaT, I am sorry that you found our bar area too noisy. Especially, I am disapointed for the service received at the beginning of your experience as it doesn't reflect who we are. As you mentioned, you requested a quiet table and we do have a separate area which has a softer atmosphere allowing conversation. Let me know if you choose to book again by emailing to aurelien@openhouselondoncom And I will make sure we find you the perfect spot! Thanks, Aurelien

Report
A
London
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Can highly recommend. Attentive friendly service, and highly recommend both the meat and veggie full breakfasts. Great way to start a Sunday.

Percy & Founders
Responded 3 hours ago

Hi Alli, Thanks for your lovely feedback! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us. You should come back and try our sunday roast which is delicious too! We look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks, Aurelien

Report
OT
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food2service4ambience4

Ambience was good but foods are really poor. Too expensive for these poor foods.
Service was good.

JO
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on 9 February 2020
Overall3food2service2ambience4

Usually am very fond of Percy & Founders but on my last visit was disappointed 😔! The service was very slow and my veggie roast very burnt potatoes and over done Yorkshire pudding! The vegetables were nice however! My friend thought it was a lovely setting but just disappointed by the service and food on this occasion!

Percy & Founders
Responded on 12 February 2020

Hey Joannas, As you've been here before I'm sure you know that this is not our usual standard, and I am sorry that we did not deliver this time. I will be looking into this for this coming Sunday to make sure everything is perfect. Do let me know next time you're in so that I can make sure that you're looked after. Thanks,

Report
OH
London
1 review
Dined on 9 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

From start to finish, my experience was great. I took my best friend to ask her to be my maid of honour. The staff were helpful and so excited for us - it was a great all round experience which only added to the excitement of the occasion! Thanks to Percy and Founders!

Percy & Founders
Responded on 12 February 2020

Hey Olivia, Glad to hear you enjoyed your bottomless brunch with us! And all the best for planning your wedding! thanks,

Report
NC
Calgary
1 review
Dined on 8 February 2020
Overall1food2service1ambience1

There is no waitstaff present. No one asked us after our food after it was dropped off, never had drinks refilled and they showed zero attentiveness. After dinner when I asked them to remove the optional tip they were extremely awkward and rude which made us even happier to not tip. Don’t waste your time here

Percy & Founders
Responded on 12 February 2020

Hi NatalieC, I am sorry to hear that your visit with us was not as you had hoped, especially as this is not our service standard. Can you please provide more information (what time and where you were sitting, or booking name) so that I can look into this and investigate. Many thanks,

Report
GS
London
2 reviews
Dined on 8 February 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

I go to Percy & Founders regularly, and it is always excellent. Thoroughly recommend it. The food is excellent and so is the service. A good and enjoyable experience.

Percy & Founders
Responded on 12 February 2020

Hi Gary, Thanks for the review, hope to see you again soon!

Report
NM
London
2 reviews
Dined on 4 February 2020
Overall2food1service3ambience3

Very overcooked burgers.
Terrible wifi
Nice waiters

OT
London
2 reviews
Dined on 3 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very nice looking restaurant, great service and delicious food! Will definitely be going back!

SJ
London
9 reviews
Dined on 2 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Still such a good roast. Service is charming and helpful. Wine list is quite pricey.

Percy & Founders
Responded on 7 February 2020

Hola SpanishJonny, Gracias por sus amables palabras. Esperamos tenerle por nuestro restaurante de nuevo.

Report
KM
London
1 review
Dined on 2 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely fantastic restaurant. We went for a Bottomless Brunch; the food was incredible and the prosecco was flowing. Staff were amazing. It made our last day in London a very relaxed, enjoyed one.

Percy & Founders
Responded on 7 February 2020

Bottomless means bottomless ;) happy to hear you enjoyed a relaxing day with us!

Report
AS
London
1 review
Dined on 2 February 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Amazing food, we had a Sunday roast and it was super delicious!
the waiters/waitresses have been super kind and cheerful but not really fast, but nothing to complain about, there were a lot of customers.
Absolutely recommended

Percy & Founders
Responded on 7 February 2020

Hey Antonio, I am glad to hear you enjoyed our wonderful hospitality and could relax and enjoy a roast!

Report
OT
London
15 reviews
Dined on 2 February 2020
Overall5food5service3ambience5

Food was delicious!!! Staff friendly. Great sunday brunch spot! The sunday roasts are really great!

Percy & Founders
Responded on 7 February 2020

Hi there! Happy to hear you enjoyed your Sunday brunch with us! We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report
W
London
3 reviews
Dined on 1 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food & atmosphere. Will go again for sure. Attentive waitstaff.

Percy & Founders
Responded on 7 February 2020

Hey Warren, happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report
AN
London
1 review
Dined on 1 February 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Fun, lively atmosphere with good food, although some dishes better value than others. Burgers were excellent and very friendly service.

Percy & Founders
Responded on 7 February 2020

Hey AnnaN, Thank you for your kind words and happy to hear you enjoyed our burgers! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
A
London
1 review
Dined on 30 January 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

A great lunch, fantastic value for money. Wonderful portion sizes

Percy & Founders
Responded on 7 February 2020

Hey Angela, thank you for the wonderful feedback!

Report
BL
1 review
Dined on 23 January 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

The food is the most important category, and it was very good for me. There were only four main dishes on offer (plus a good selection of vege options), and they were all dishes I would like to have sampled. I was expecting more options, especially at lunchtime.

Service was good. I don't like my water or wine glass being filled up the moment it hits the table after a sip - but I simply said as much,, and it didn't happen again.

Would def recommend this restaurant.

Percy & Founders
Responded on 30 January 2020

Hey BusinessLunch, Glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us. There are plenty of lovely items on the men, you'll have to come back and try them all! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
XL
London
1 review
Dined on 22 January 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Great food (fresh and tasty) and services (12.5% charges). good portions, a bit pricy but reasonable value. Large pudding but the pear would be better if soaked longer in port.

LT
London
21 reviews
Dined on 19 January 2020
Overall5food5service3ambience5

The food was great! The service was slow we wanted to go for bottomless brunch but the first bloody Mary’s arrived when our meal arrived and then when we finally managed to get attention for 2nd drink we were almost finished so canceled bottomless and ordered glass of wine apart from they the food is always excellent there and live the interior

Percy & Founders
Responded on 22 January 2020

Hey LigaT, Glad to hear that you enjoyed the food. No so glad to hear that your drinks took a while to get to you. Do let me know when you'll be back for another round of bottomless, and I will make sure that it's truly bottomless :) Thanks

Report
BB
London
28 reviews
Dined on 17 January 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Visited for a lunchtime birthday get-together. Convenient location in Fitzrovia area. Unhurried lunch at fairly reasonable prices, very attentive service (restaurant not busy at all). Rather limited lunchtime menu but food was very good.

Percy & Founders
Responded on 22 January 2020

Hi Bubblebus, glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report
JA
1 review
Dined on 14 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had to have a business meeting in the area and this location was ideal. Large open plan restaurant so was a little worried about noise when I went in, but this did not prove to be a problem at all, in fact during the meeting I was not even aware of other people around me. Only had a main course and a side but it was fantastic. The Sea Bass was excellent. Will definitely be returning. Thanks

Percy & Founders
Responded on 22 January 2020

Hey Jonathan, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We always try to accommodate everyone's needs, and happy to see that we succeeded! We look forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Report
EW
London
1 review
Dined on 13 January 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience3

They have a great menu that includes tasty vegan options. I will be back for the cauliflower steak!

Percy & Founders
Responded on 22 January 2020

Hey Emma, We have launched our new 'winter warmers' menu which has all vegetarian and vegan dishes at the start of this year, and happy to have good feedback on this. We also have our winter warmers set menu - £17 for two courses Mon-Fri, 12-4pm. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Report
B
New Orleans
3 reviews
Dined on 11 January 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Lovely bottomless brunch. Food was great and the drinks flowed. Not loud and full of hen parties thank goodness. We will definitely be returning.

Percy & Founders
Responded on 14 January 2020

Hey Blossomchops, Glad to hear that you had a great time with us and hope that you went for the bottomless pancake option as well! We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report
A
London
6 reviews
Dined on 9 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a lovely evening meal with fantastic service. The food was delicious, I recommend the corn fed chicken. The server was attentive but not too much and everyone was so friendly. We also had a drink in the bar before eating which was really great. Would highly recommend as a date location or evening meal with friends!

Percy & Founders
Responded on 13 January 2020

Hey Ally, Thank you for your kind words! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Report
GH
1 review
Dined on 9 January 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience3

It’s fine and i think it does what it sets out to do..but nothing special

LM
London
1 review
Dined on 8 January 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Was a little disappointed after reading lots of great reviews, didn't quite meet my expectations. The menu was fairly limited and unimaginative. The service was fairly slow, despite not being that busy.

Percy & Founders
Responded on 13 January 2020

Hello LizM, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your last visit with us. I believe that the good reviews we have do accurately reflect the restaurant. If you would like to come again do let me know personally so that I can make sure you are well looked after. Many thanks,

Report
MJ
1 review
Dined on 7 January 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience2

Very quiet. Slow service and small portions. We had to ask the waitress to come over several tines

Percy & Founders
Responded on 8 January 2020

Hi Michael, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. I will privately message you my email, if you could please get in touch with a bit more detail (what dishes you had, what time for the reservation etc) so that I can investigate and make sure this doesn't happen again. Many thanks, Linga

Report
MR
1 review
Dined on 31 December 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience3

This is the second time I have been to Percy and Founders. The first time was absolutely incredible so it seemed an obvious option for NYE. Sadly the second time was not nearly as good. The food was average (apart from the starter - beef cheek was lovely) the service was average and the atmosphere was just ok. Normally I probably wouldn’t have commented, it’s just that the first time I went it was so good. This time was rather disappointing. I will go once more to try again, hopefully it was just a blip, just unfortunate that the blip happened to be on New Year’s Eve.

Percy & Founders
Responded on 14 January 2020

Hey MichelleR, I am happy to hear that your first visit was incredible, but upset that we didn't deliver the consistency you were expecting. Do let me know next time you plan to visit by emailing me directly so that I can make sure you are well looked after. Many thanks, Linga

Report
CS
London
1 review
Dined on 31 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

For the second year in a row we visited Percy & Founders, and the food is still amazing, especially the Sir loin, and the staff are so friendly. We enjoyed it very much, and are looking forward to eating there again some day.
Kind regards from Denmark

Percy & Founders
Responded on 14 January 2020

Hey CecilieSikker, I am happy to hear that our restaurant is worth a flight from Denmark! We hope that it won't be so long before your next visit! We will see you soon! Thanks,

Report
H
London
2 reviews
Dined on 18 December 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

The staff especially the waiter made it a special evening.
Great ambient and stunning views

W
1 review
Dined on 18 December 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Too noisy mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

EL
London
1 review
Dined on 16 December 2019
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Not the best experience for a Christmas lunch and food was below average for a relatively expensive place. The fish goujons were extremely small portioned and the chicken Caesar salad was awful. The chicken was dry, hard & the egg was still raw/runny egg white plus there was no taste to the sauce.
The food is nothing to write home about and we won't be returning.

S
1 review
Dined on 16 December 2019
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Sadly we were over charged by 5 meals! As ever service is slow at this place. you have to jimmy them along to take orders etc.

Percy & Founders
Responded on 18 December 2019

Hi Sukie, I would like to apologise, but our till system has been playing up lately, and resulted in extra Wagyu burgers being added to your bill and sent to the kitchen. It was our mistake for not rectifying this issue before you got your bill, however no payment was taken for those extra burgers. Again, I would like to apologise for this. Many thanks, Linga

Report
OT
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 15 December 2019
Overall4food4service3ambience5

Highly recommended their Sunday roast, one of the best in London - pork belly one was amazing, and juicy beef and lamb were good. However two of our guests are disappointed by the Fish Goujons, fish too dry.

OT
1 review
Dined on 14 December 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience3

I had my Open Table reservation cancelled twice in hour before the reserved time, supposedly by the restaurant according to the emails. The restaurant vehemently denied it and indeed the second email came as I was standing in front of the maître D! Food was good though, especially the pan fried Cornish sea bass.

Percy & Founders
Responded on 16 December 2019

Sorry to hear that your reservation was cancelled, we would never want to deny anyone a chance to dine in our restaurant. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and that you enjoyed our Sea Bass dish.

Report
EL
London
148 reviews
Dined on 9 December 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Great place for our christmas party - we were left to make a noise and do what we wanted, which was nice, and there were no menu restrictions. Staff were helpful, and cocktails were good.

Percy & Founders
Responded on 18 December 2019

Hi there, Thanks a lot for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your Christmas party with us. I hope to see you again soon at Percy and Founders. Aurelien

Report
NB
London
4 reviews
Dined on 8 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent Sunday roast!

Percy & Founders
Responded on 18 December 2019

Hi NadiaB, I am glad that you loved our Sunday roast! You should come over during the week and try our menu a la carte, It's delicious too! See you soon at Percy and Founders. Aurelien

Report
g
London
4 reviews
Dined on 7 December 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience3

It was OK, fish was overcooked. Very loud, the service was friendly. Wouldn't rush back but it was fine

Percy & Founders
Responded on 14 January 2020

Hey grmnz, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. Can you please let me know some more details about your visit (date and time) so that I can look into why you food was not up to our usual standard. Many thanks, Linga

Report
SH
Surrey
1 review
Dined on 7 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We could not have enjoyed our experience more! The staff, food and atmosphere were all perfect for 6 mums on a christmas day out x

M
London
44 reviews
Dined on 30 November 2019
Overall3food4service3ambience4

Came here on a Saturday and the service was lack luster- had to wait ages for our order to be taken and then we had issues with our order. The food- when it did arrive was good but sadly the service let us down

Percy & Founders
Responded on 22 January 2020

Hi Michael, Sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't quite live up to our standard. Can you please provide a bit more information for me - such as date, time, and reservation name - so that I can look into this and make sure it doesn't happen again! Many thanks,

Report