Prince of Wales

4.4
282 reviews
£25 and under
Gastro Pub
Situated only a short walk from Hampton Court palace,river and main line train station the Prince of Wales welcomes tourists,families, and local residents and invites them to enjoy our range of premium lagers, wines and award winning 6 cask ales. An extensive menu is available all day every day and we are famous for our chilled out atmosphere at the weekend! Our rear patio terrace is probably the secret of Molesey and is a sun trap in the summer months with outside bar and BBQ. Parking is available at the back of the pub.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 282 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Energetic
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
CT
ColinT
1 review
Dined on 15 December 2020
Overall1food2service1ambience5

Food was average to say the least getting served was trial the staff seemed preoccupied and attracting there attention was impossible we had to get up to ask for drinks and dessert menus slow service we had to go to the bar to pay because we had train to catch the gentleman behind the bar seemed unimpressed the we refused to pay the service charge and was rude the four people in our party all felt ill the next day with stomach cramps upset stomach and headaches all in all a very poor experience Colin trotter

Prince of Wales
Responded on 18 December 2020

Dear Colin, Many thanks for your feedback and I am very sorry to hear that your visit fell short of your expectations. I would appreciate it if you could describe the member of staff in question as it does sound rather like they need re-training. We pride ourselves on our usual great service and fresh food and clearly on this occasion we did not deliver. With regards to the meals you ate we have sold more than 140 of those dishes this week with no other illness reported.

Report
JN
JenniferN
London
1 review
Dined on 13 December 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Fantastic experience from start to finish. Roast dinner was delightful!

Prince of Wales
Responded on 15 December 2020

Hi Jennifer, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday dinner with us and we are very grateful you took the time to write your review. We hope you will visit us again soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
RP
RobertP
Surrey
1 review
Dined on 12 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had really
Nice evening here, the service was great, the food was amazing!! Defiantly will be back again soon!

Prince of Wales
Responded on 15 December 2020

Hi Robert, Many thanks for your kind review and we are delighted to hear that you had such a lovely evening with us. Chef Dave will be pleased to hear that his food hit the spot and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
AD
AnnaD
London
1 review
Dined on 11 December 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Great food and service. We had a nice table away from the noise. One dinner came out later than the others but bar staff offered free complimentary drinks for the table and were very apologetic. Nice time all round.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 14 December 2020

Hi Anna, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you appreciated our gesture. We are extremely grateful for your kind review and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards, Oliver

Report
BB
BryonyB
1 review
Dined on 8 December 2020
Overall1food3service3ambience2

It was an awful experience as , despite having booked and left details for track and trace, the pub didn't want to let us in without scanning the QR code (which we can't do as we don't have the right sorts of phones) or sending a text message. I have dined at several other pubs after booking and have never been hassled in this way. The staff were not even polite about it. The person I went with just walked out but there was a third option, which the staff had not told us about but which was on the information sheet they referred us to, which was to register on a website. I said I would do that and they let me in. They lost a customer as the person I went with said he will never go there again. The food was okay but the fish and chips tasted and looked like plaice but when I asked I was told it was cod and it was very greasy. The music was too loud and upbeat, yet the customers when I went all looked over 50 (including me). It was also very pricey for what it was and they cheekily added 12.5% service, which pushed the price up even more. I really didn't want to pay a service charge after the way we had been spoken to. The drink I had was really poor value as well - a cordial, which was virtually all ice, so hardly enything to drink at all. Ice is okay in hot weather but not when it is cold outside.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 11 December 2020

Dear Bryony, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit at our establishment. Test and trace is a legal requirement so we enforce this matter in such a way. We have 3 methods available, either scan the NHS code, scan our code or text the number provided. My team should have clearly informed you of this simple action, once completed you may come in.

Report
J
Jools28
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on 6 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fab Sunday Roast...highly recommended the Pork.
Perfect place to go during Tier 2 restrictions!

Prince of Wales
Responded on 8 December 2020

Hi, Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your roast pork on Sunday. Tier 2 has had it's challenges for us so it is great to read that you have find our establishment to your liking. We hope you will visit us again very soon. Kindest regards, Oliver

Report
ML
MarieLouiseS7
London
2 reviews
Dined on 6 December 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Amazing Sunday Roasts!!! Food quality at this pub is always great, always had brilliant meals there.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 8 December 2020

Hi Marie, Many thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your Sunday roasts with us. We hope you will visit us again very soon. Kindest regards, Oliver

Report
RK
RenataK
1 review
Dined on 6 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went for Sunday roast - the best vegan Sunday roast I ever had. Really nice pub and staff is super friendly.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 8 December 2020

Hi Renata, Many thanks for taking the time to write your kind review and we are delighted to hear that our vegan Wellington was so good. We hope you will visit us again. Regards, Oliver Kindest regards, Oliver

Report
GY
GayleY
1 review
Dined on 5 December 2020
Overall2food1service1ambience1

The waiter was very rude and argumentative. Starters were cold. One waiter would stomping about like a elephant. We were also forgotten about. When speaking to the manager he did apologize and gave us free ice cream, being the first time out in a very long time we just wanted to enjoy ourselves not have free ice cream. Won't be coming back

Prince of Wales
Responded on 8 December 2020

Dear Gayle, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. The starter you ordered wasn't supposed to be piping hot as it's cream based and would therefore split, our team member tried to explain this however your aggressive attitude prevented you from comprehended him. We offered desserts as an apology and you chose ice cream. We think it is best you don't return as we clearly cannot achieve your high standards. Kindest regards, Oliver

Report
D
Denzil
Surrey
1 review
Dined on 2 December 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Love our local pub and do all we can to support it in these difficult times.
Sat down and menus given to us but was not told what was not available. So when we ordered guess what, items we wanted were not available (starters).
Glasses were not cleared from the table all night. 2 rounds of empty glasses for 5 people left till we left to be cleared.
Food was very good indeed and a great menu, well done on this front 👍🏻

Prince of Wales
Responded on 5 December 2020

Hi Denzil, Many thanks for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that your visit fell short of expectations. Our Scotch egg and sausage rolls ran out at 6.30pm due to George Eustice's comment about a substantial meal, hence demands for these dishes rose unprecedentedly. The Wednesday was the first day we opened after lockdown under new rules so please bear with us through these tough times as we are learning how best to cope with the new demands.

Report
NH
NinaH
London
5 reviews
Dined on 1 November 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience4

Popped in for Sunday drinks, attentive and friendly.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 5 November 2020

Hi, Many thanks for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your drinks on Sunday. We hope you will visit us again once lockdown has passed. Regards, Oliver

Report
LI
LouiseI
Surrey
1 review
Dined on 25 October 2020
Overall1food1service5ambience4

I have eaten here many times and I have never had a problem and the food has been great. Sadly on Sunday this was not the case, the gravy was extremely rich and congealed on my plate, the chicken was very dry and the mushroom on my partners plate was so overly salted that I went home feeling sick.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 2 November 2020

Hi Louise, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your roast dinner with us last week. We pride ourselves on our Sunday lunch so it is particularly disappointing to hear that we didn't hit the mark on this occasion. We do make our gravy richer during the winter to provide a better balance between the seasonal vegetables and weather but clearly this is not to your taste. It is deeply regretting to hear that you felt unwell having eaten with us and I hope you are feeling much better now.

Report
ML
MLS77
London
29 reviews
Dined on 25 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always amazing food at the Prince of Wales. Really want to support them through covid as the pub and the staff are excellent.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 2 November 2020

Hi, Many thanks for your review and we are happy that you felt safe and enjoyed your food. We hope you will visit us again very soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
d
daniel
London
1 review
Dined on 18 October 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience3

A great place for a pint or two, friendly staff who are trying their best in difficult time. and the food is great and good value. A couple more outdoor heaters would be a good idea with winter coming.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 16 November 2020

Hi Daniel, Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. We are looking to increase the number of heaters outside however current financial constraints are having a negative effect on our success. We hope you will visit us again soon once lockdown has passed. Kindest regards, Oliver

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 18 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic food, okatbfesst

Prince of Wales
Responded on 20 October 2020

Hi, Many thanks for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your oktoberfest food. We hope you will visit us again very soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
A
Aorr
London
2 reviews
Dined on 16 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent slick service very well organised for social distancing. Staff were excellent. Good beer choice and food menu.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 20 October 2020

Hi Aorr, Many thanks taking the time to write your review and we are delighted that you felt safe and enjoyed your visit. We hope you will visit us again very soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
PW
PeterW
Surrey
1 review
Dined on 11 October 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Food was good but service rather patchy. Obviously with COVID everything is table service. Gastro pub atmosphere fine but not amazing, considering the cost. Just bare wood tables, no frills.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 17 October 2020

Hi Peter, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry the service was 'patchy'. I would appreciate it if you could elaborate on your experience to enable us to improve. We normally get very positive feedback from the atmosphere we have created so I am sorry to hear you didn't feel our pub environment was cosy, this maybe due to COVID as we cannot dress the tables during the pandemic to minimise the potential for contamination surfaces. We hope to see you again. Kindest regards, Oliver

Report
FG
FayG
Surrey
1 review
Dined on 11 October 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Never had a bad experience here, the staff are always attentive and friendly and food is always great!

Prince of Wales
Responded on 17 October 2020

Hi Fay, Many thanks for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your visit once again. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
IC
IsabelC
1 review
Dined on 11 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Very good experience. Good Covid measures. Staff polite and pleasant

Prince of Wales
Responded on 17 October 2020

Hi Isabel, Many thanks for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you felt safe and enjoyed your visit. We hope you will visit us again very soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
G
Gavlaar
London
2 reviews
Dined on 11 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Very enjoyable Sunday lunch, great food and excellent service as always (Rory and Dan).

Prince of Wales
Responded on 17 October 2020

Hi Gavin, We thoroughly appreciate your review and it is pleasing to read that our team delivered excellent service once again. We hope you will visit us again very soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
AM
AnnaM
London
1 review
Dined on 9 October 2020
Overall5food3service5ambience5

We didn’t dine but service during the current times was excellent

Prince of Wales
Responded on 12 October 2020

Hi Anna, Many thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed our service. We hope you will visit us again very soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
L
Loveisfood
London
6 reviews
Dined on 4 October 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience3

Great local pub, food always consistent in a Youngs. Beer fine but not too much too chose from if you’re not into ale.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 10 October 2020

Hi, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and grateful you took the time to write your kind review. We are not a Youngs pub, rather we are owned by Metropolitan Pub Co who give us the freedom to work with fresh food and great products. With regards to our beer range it is difficult to have a large selection as trade levels are down since the curfew thus we don't sell enough cask to warrant any additional beers on tap. I hope you will visit us again very soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
NS
NeilS
1 review
Dined on 4 October 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience3

Noisy at times but overall a good dining experience

Prince of Wales
Responded on 10 October 2020

Hi Neil, Many thanks for your review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your food with us. I would recommend visiting us mid week to avoid noise if it is an issue as we are very poopular over the weekend. We hope we will see you again very soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
LF
LisaF
Surrey
56 reviews
Dined on 3 October 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Came here for a drink with a group of friends - lovely pub and great atmosphere

Prince of Wales
Responded on 5 October 2020

Hi Lisa, Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will pop by again soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
DF
DavidF
London
2 reviews
Dined on 2 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was superb, service was attentive and on point, COVID measures were adhered to and the pub still felt like a pub should

Prince of Wales
Responded on 5 October 2020

Hi David, We are delighted to hear that you had such a lovely time with us on Friday and we are extremely grateful for your review. I'm glad to hear that our food, service and safety standards were on point and we hope you will visit us again soon. Kindest regards, Oliver

Report
KJ
KarenJ
London
5 reviews
Dined on 2 October 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great food & lovely atmosphere. Managing well despite the restrictions

Prince of Wales
Responded on 5 October 2020

Hi Karen, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our atmosphere and fresh food despite the COVID restrictions and we are grateful you took the time to write your kind review. We hope you will return very soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
G
Gavlaar
London
2 reviews
Dined on 2 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very good as always. Thanks to Daniel who was fantastic.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 5 October 2020

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time to write your kind review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Dan will be happy to hear that he was so helpful and we hope you will visit us again very soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
l
lawrencew
London
5 reviews
Dined on 1 October 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Very impressed at the service and also the pub , my steak and chips was OK , the wine my wife and myself had was excellent, but the service really stood out as excellent , great pub nice evening out thanks

Prince of Wales
Responded on 5 October 2020

Dear Lawrence, I am very happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your wine and that our service stood out. It is disappointing to read that the steak was only OK and didn't meet our usual standards. I would really appreciate it if you could elaborate on this matter to enable us to improve. We hope you will visit us again soon. Kindest regards, Oliver

Report
JY
JaneY
London
1 review
Dined on 27 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Managed the situation brilliantly re covid measurea

Prince of Wales
Responded on 3 October 2020

Hi, Many thanks for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We prioritise keeping our guests and team safe during these tough times and we are glad to hear that we have done so on this occasion. We hope you will visit us again very soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
AB
AnthonyB
London
4 reviews
Dined on 25 September 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience3

All in all, very covid efficient, nice place for a casual bite to eat and drink

Prince of Wales
Responded on 28 September 2020

Hi Anthony, Many thanks for your feedback and we are delighted to hear that you felt safe during your visit. We pride ourselves on our ability to adapt and it is great to read that we have delivered a clean, safe environment for our guests to dine and drink. We hope you will visit us again soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
JK
JohnK
1 review
Dined on 22 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and great service - will be back.....

Prince of Wales
Responded on 25 September 2020

Hi John, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your food and our service and we are very grateful for your review. We hope to see you again very soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
M
Michelle
1 review
Dined on 20 September 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience3

Food was nice but piled on and gravy looked like slop, kids meal was same size as adult again piled on with sloppy gravy which tasted horrible.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 25 September 2020

Hi Michelle, Many thanks for your review and I am sorry to hear that you didn't like the gravy on our Sunday roast, we would recommend asking for the gravy on the side in future so you can dispense as you see fit. We hope you will visit us again soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Surrey
1 review
Dined on 15 September 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We enjoyed two courses and the food was good quality and very good value. We were impressed at the adherence to the current guidance. We had an inside table where we felt totally socially distanced. On a separate occasion we enjoyed drinks outside on the rear terrace and again were impressed with the social distance arrangements.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 18 September 2020

Hi, Many thanks for your kind words and we are delighted to hear that you felt safe and enjoyed your visit. We have been working hard to ensure our guests do feel safe during these tough times so it is nice to read that we have delivered on our promise. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
RD
RachelD
London
2 reviews
Dined on 14 September 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Despite it being a Monday during Covid era, there was a relaxed atmosphere, the staff were superb and, barring one dish not being available, the food was really very good indeed. I will definitely go back.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 18 September 2020

Hi Rachel, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our establishment and grateful you took the time to write your review. The COVID era has posed a new challenge for the team but we always aim to deliver a safe pleasant environment for our guests and it is great to hear we have once again. We look forward to your visiting us again soon. Kindest regards, Oliver

Report
AD
AnneD
Surrey
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

lovely pub great service. would definately go again

Prince of Wales
Responded on 14 September 2020

Hi Anne, Thank you for your kind review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will pop by again soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
D
Denzil
Surrey
2 reviews
Dined on 9 September 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Easy ordering considering they difficult challenging times.
Run out of several items on the menu + some draft beers which I do not think is acceptable.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 12 September 2020

Hi Denzil, Many thanks for your review and I hope you are well. We have indeed run out of items during this COVID period as many of our suppliers are struggling to order some food and drink due to a lack of availability, as I'm sure you will understand. We are living in difficult times and all aspects of commerce have been affected by the pandemic. I hope this clears up the matter for you and we hope you will visit us again very soon. Kindest regards, Oliver

Report
P
Poppy
London
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience2

I went on a half price day as the prices are higher than I'd usually pay and I wanted to try it out! I was disappointed that despite booking we were at a table right by the door where everyone was entering the pub. We then had to queue for an age as their app wasn't working and they'd clearly had a lot of bookings. I had crab which came cold with cheese(?!) and dry stale bread which margarine - this is usually £16.50 - I couldn't believe it! I had the sweet potato coconut salad which was very tasty, and the fries were also great. My friend had the tofu which was tiny and in her words, tasted 'unusual'. All in all definitely won't go back, despite some positives.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 4 September 2020

Hi Poppy, Thanks for your comments and I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit on bank holiday Monday. Dressed crab is traditionally a cold dish hence why we serve it cold. The bread is freshly made every day however it is rye which tends to be more firm than regular bread, this stated on our menu. We were fully booked on bank holiday Monday as this is a very busy day for us especially with the Eat Out scheme so the chance of upgrading your table will be limited. Regards, Oliver

Report
S
Sarah
London
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall3food4service5ambience3

Food was fantastic and so was the service. Will definitely return

Prince of Wales
Responded on 4 September 2020

Hi Sarah, Many thanks for your comments and I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our service on bank holiday Monday. Unfortunately you came on the busiest lunch we have ever experienced as well as having to deal with COVID precautions and the Eat Out scheme thus this made for a difficult day. Rest assured any negative service you may have experienced will not be replicated going forward. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
c
cityeater
London
4 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

this was a really pleasant meal- friendly welcome whilst staff were taking covid 19 health safety seriously

the chef was able to change meal contents with no fuss- the food was very tasty and the ambience for a bank holiday visit was excellent. An added bonus that the pub was using the £10 per person government voucher so the overall cost was remarkably cheap

Prince of Wales
Responded on 4 September 2020

Hi, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Prince of Wales and grateful for your review. Chef Dave is happy to hear that he could be of service and we hope you will visit us again soon. Regards, Oliver

Report
r
redpikelet
London
13 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I have travelled and eaten in many fine places and countries but I have never had onions rings as crispy or chips as crunchy and soft in the middle as here. Everything else on plate was made even more delicious by them, if that is even possible. This kitchen looks at the detail of everything on the plate and creates super plates of food.

Prince of Wales
Responded on 4 September 2020

Hi, Thanks for your kind words and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your food with us at the Prince of Wales. We hope you will be visiting us again very soon. Regards, Oliver

Report

FAQs

Prince of Wales does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo. Prince of Wales also offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at 020 8979 5561.

Prince of Wales is rated 4.4 stars by 282 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.