This includes info about cleaning, sanitising, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.
Afternoon Tea at The Lounge - Vermont Hotel
Relax and enjoy traditional afternoon tea in the luxurious and spacious lounge of the Vermont Hotel with its superb views of the Castle.
Parties of 6 or more guests will dine in the hotel restaurant. Tables of 10 or more need to contact the hotel event team direct on 0191 233 10 10
Please note on some occasions your table may be moved to an alternative area of the Vermont Hotel
**Please contact the hotel direct for December Bookings**
- Surfaces sanitised between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
- Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
- Waiting staff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Overall a very pleasant experience. The flowers at the entrance were beautiful.
Wasn’t bad, I had wrote in special requests that we were celebrating a retirement and had hoped for something to say that but nothing. Sandwiches very mediocre, all just ok nothing special
Very dry, all produce Bought in, huge bit of Brie with nothing to Put it on, I thought about smushing it together with the unseasoned chips to make a kind of Brie :chip snow ball to make it edible, ive been a chef for 15 years and a pastry chef for 3 of them, the fact food like this was allowed to even leave the kitchen is deeply worrying. The only reason I didn’t say anything at the time was because it was our anniversary and my partner didn’t want me to cause more distress. What I really wanted to do was march in the kitchen and make the chefs eat my shoes so they could understand what we were going through out there. May I recommend Middleton lodge or the running fox if you want an afternoon tea, either do an afternoon tea or don’t because you should be embarrassed with what you served us.
Our sincere apologies that you have been unhappy. As you can see from other reviews this is not the norm for us. As a chef yourself I am a bit taken a back by the dialect used, and you would know the best way to resolve an issue is in person and at the time directly which you have not given us the opportunity to do. I understand it was a special day, but if you were deeply unsatisfied we would have loved to have been given the option to rectify there and then.
We have had afternoon tea a number of times at the Vermont and as we were staying at the hotel booked for our second day. I had the classic afternoon tea and my husband the gentleman’s tea. Delicious as usual and excellent value for money. We couldn’t eat everything and took away a doggy bag.
Thank you for your lovely review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea. Hope to see you again very soon.
Found this hotel that served afternoon tea for a bank holiday treat. Coming from London, we love afternoon tea and was determined to find the perfect one here in Newcastle. Would definitely recommend.
Thank you very much lovely to hear and next time you are in Newcastle we hope to see you again.
Nice tea and food, however over priced for what you receive and very limited service
Thank you for comments which we will take on board and we hope to see you again.
Far the best service provided by the bar staff. Will be recommend to my friends and family.
Thank you for the wonderful experience.
Thank you so much for your wonderful reviews delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and we hope to see you again.
The afternoon tea was not great, the scones had been warmed up so by the time we had eaten the sandwiches the scones were hard. The cheesecake was dry.
Thank you for your comments and sincere apologies if we have let you down. I do hope that when you raised your comments on the day, they were handled in the correct manner. We do hope we can welcome you back to experience as you can see from all the other reviews, our normal high standards.
Disappointingly not part of the Eat out to Help our initiative. We Had flagged it was a Special occasion on the booking but this was ignored.
Food was ok but overall it was nothing to write home about. However the cheese scone was very good.. 🤷♂️
Thank you for comments which we do take on board and apologise if we have let you down. The Government offer was advertised for the A la Carte menu only on all our adverts so I am sorry if there was any confusion.
I booked a table as they were participating in the Eat out to Help out scheme and the website did not mention any exclusions. However we were charges full price and a service charge and told afternoon tea wasn't included and therefore at £44 it was very expensive for a standard decent afternoon tea, and I have paid much less for the equivalent. I was told it was an oversight it wasn't on the website and that they were sorry but didn't help me and my expensive afternoon out.
Thank you for your comments which we do appreciate and take on board. Afternoon tea is priced competitively to our competitors of the same standard as us in the area. The Government offer was advertised for the A la Carte menu only on all our adverts so I am sorry if there was any confusion.
Fans of the Vermont afternoon tea with Gentelmens option. However, it was the least impressive one we have had to date. The scones were tiny and quite dry and the pork pie was over baked plus the picalilli was absent. Still good but just not the Great we have come to expect.
Thank you for your honest review which we very much appreciate it and I will pass on your comments to the Head Chef who I know will want me to pass on his apologies. This will be investigated as nothing has changed so we have clearly let you down on this occasion. We hope this will not deter you from visiting us again and giving us another chance.
Lovely food in a pleasant, quiet lounge. Service was friendly and considerate. We felt safe at all times. We thoroughly enjoyed our first outing since lockdown.
Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you again very soon.
Very nice, but shame about the people at the bar who had no consideration for their language, and staff were not bothered
We had a table for 4 set out very nicely, our sever was very attentive & very helpful. Service was excellent & the food that we had 2 x gentleman's tea was brilliant with lots to eat for us.
The ladies had 2 x afternoon tea's which was excellent also & they both said the portions were very good also. Overall an excellent choice of venue, great value for money with the 2 tea options available. My girlfriend has been to several other venues for afternoon tea & said this was the best she's had for my reasons above.
I would definitely recommend the Vermont hotel afternoon tea & with quality of the food I'll be visiting the on site restaurant also.
I came here for afternoon tea with 4 friends. We really enjoyed the service and the quality of food. I would definately recommend this.
We had a lovely afternoon, excellent food in a lovely location
Excellent atmosphere afternoon tea was very pleasant particularly the gentleman’s option which I particularly enjoyed as did my 11 year old step-daughter, I would definitely reccomend.
Brilliant time with the girls (kids that is). Staff could not be more accommodating and attentive when required. Food was great. Would definitely recommend for girls’ small party or just adults alone. The mix of gentleman’s option was great too.
We made this booking well in advance for a 21st celebration. We arrived to find we had been seated not in the lounge area but at a table at the end of the bar. A wedding party and singer were also in the bar area and the noise level was unbearable. We couldn’t hear each other speaking. We asked to be moved to the lounge area where I’ve had afternoon tea previously and which was half empty! This seemed to be a huge effort and we were told it was all reserved. We insisted and were moved. The lounge was not fully booked and during the next hour no further guests arrived. The service was shocking! Three different people came to take our orders and they did not communicate with each other. We waited 50 minted for two glasses of Prosecco. The food was average and the cake selection had been clearly added to with a dry mince pie. We waited an eternity for any further service. It was so disappointing and further guests to arrive were also heard complaining. This occasion was supposed to be a special treat for special birthday and it was a disaster. Bookings should not be taken if a wedding is running at the same time as it is clear that the staff were uninterested in anything else.
It was ok but had better. Very busy and not enough staff to cope. Asked for butter for the scone which came too late. Sandwiches not exciting and cakes dry.
Enjoyed both gluten free afternoon tea and the gentlemen afternoon tea service was excellent.
Three of us booked high tea and ordered the gentleman's tea we booked for 3.15 when we arrived they took our booking for the tea and said it would be about 20 minute wait they brought a pot of coffee at 3.45 two meals arrived then shortly after the cakes still no third meal when asked they said it would arrive shortly my friends had both finished their main tea when 25 minutes later the 3rd tea arrived which I sent back to little to late I did not want to eat on my own they offered a complimentary drink then the manager said we did not have to pay for what my friends had ate really but overall a wasted afternnon
Waited 45 mins for afternoon tea. Service really slow. Manager not bothered when I complained. Was offered a complimentary afternoon tea. Why would I want to go back!
Thank you for your review and comments which we will disagree with. The managers care very much about our customers that is why they were happy to hold hands up, say they got it wrong and ask you to come back in so we an put it right. I am sorry if you feel that you do not want to return.
Lovely setting and fantastic food. But the experience was let down by the initial welcome and service. No one was around to seat us...and when I did find someone they did show us to our table - but we were then just left there for more than 15 minutes even though it wasn't that busy! I had to go and find someone (again) to take our order. And then they just said (in front of me) - oh yes - that's the last one! NOT what I would expect from The Vermont! I also asked for the Champagne tea - but Prosecco was brought to the table instead. I would hesitantly recommend - but only because I've been before when the service was better.
Thank you for your candid review which we do very much appreciate. Our sincere apologies that you have encountered issues, as you have been before you will be aware that this is not the usual standard of service. We are not making any excuses as none can be made, but we do have some new members in the team in training and clearly need some more. The relevant managers will deal with this and please let us know next time you are visiting, so we can ensure that you are looked after.
Lovely afternoon tea, reasonably priced, food very good and the staff were helpful. Highly recommend it
Thank you very much for lovely comments glad you enjoyed it, see you again soon.
Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Exceeded expectations.
Thank you for 5 stars.
Beautiful and great experience. It tasted good and atmosphere was gorgeous. I recommend it!
Thank you for lovely comments and rating see you again very soon.
Beautiful food, good atmosphere and friendly staff. Will be visiting again!
Thank you for lovely review and comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Afternoon tea was lovely but as it was a quiet Saturday afternoon the staff were extra slow, they seated us but after about 20 minutes we had to actually get up and ask someone to bring us tea or coffee, which was rather annoying, the service overall was just really slow bearing in mind there were plenty of staff there even though it was pretty quiet.
Thank you for review and comments which we do apologise for if the staff have not been as attentive as they should have. This will be rectified immediately with the team. We are glad that you enjoyed the afternoon tea though and we do hope that we can welcome you back soon. Thank you again.
Snooty staff. Basic afternoon tea. Had much better in other comparable hotels (4 star). Not much effort went into the presentation of the food. Service very slow and ordering first drink took far too long.
Thank you for comments and our sincere apologies if we have let you down on this occasion. Your comments will be looked into and actions are taken to ensure that can be no repeat of them. Apologies once again and we do hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Thank you for 5 stars. See you again soon.
Lovely customer service and food was amazing. The scones where still warm and the sandwiches were lovely and fresh. Will definitely be returning.
Great place lovely afternoon tea staff were very friendly and accommodating
The staff were attentive but not invasive, the room was tastefully decorated and the food was lovely, I would recommend a light breakfast beforehand as there was more than enough to eat. I would definitely consider staying the night at this hotel.
Was brought to other room which has nothing close to the pictures after I asked a hotel staff about my table reservation. The food were cold, flavorless, and disappointing compared to the price. Terrible service, no one came to see when I needed to order the food and ask for the bill. I have been to many places in and outside the UK and this is one of the most disappointing afternoon tea experiences for me. Definitely will not go back again.
Thank you for your comments and our sincere apologies if we have let you down, as you will see from other reviews this is not the norm for us. We will, of course, look into your comments and the appropriate actions will be taken. I do hope that in time you may return to enjoy what our regular customers return week on week for.
I booked Champagne afternoon tea for my friends birthday I could not fault the food however, the service was terrible we arrived 15minutes early & was shown to our table we were not asked if we would like a hot drink food arrived an hour after we were seated. We had to ask if we could have a pot of tea 15minutes later we had to ask again as still no hot drinks. We had finished eating by the time we got a hot drink. One of the members of staff did apologise I have to say the staff that were on shift were very pleasant but they were way under staffed . I have paid a lot less for afternoon tea at other venues & revived a much better service
Setting was lovely, food was nice. Service not so great.
For a hotel that prides itself as a 4 star AA hotel, I could not believe it that when the milk arrived for our tea it was sour, this should never have happened, also we order Breakfast Tea, what we were given was not breakfast tea, it was very weak with no body to it and was ever so flowery in taste, when we were finished I asked the waitress if she could find out from the kitchen who's tea and coffee the hotel used, I was informed on her return that it was Ringtons of Newcastle, the tea we were served was certainly not Ringtinz's Breakfast Tea, I should know as we buy that grade of tea from the Ringtons delivery man who calls at our home.
If it was not for the quality of the sandwiches, scones and cakes I would have only given you 2 stars for your afternoon tea, and not the 3 that I have given to you.
I await your response to my comments.
So tasty! Lovely setting and good service. Will definitely return
The surroundings were very comfortable. A lively quiet area. The service was very good and the food delicious.
Afternoon Tea at The Lounge - Vermont Hotel is rated 4.1 stars by 42 OpenTable diners.
You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.