Aubaine Selfridges

4.1
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
156 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French

Top tags:

Afternoon Tea
Looking for a restaurant near Bond street? In the midst of the luxury shoe department Aubaine perfectly complements the shopping experience in Selfridges. For relaxed and sophisticated French dining, Aubaine is perfect for those who wish to shop and those who wish to lunch.
What 156 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.0
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
J
London
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

I would choose this again for a business breakfast.

HA
London
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Manager was very hospitable and very welcoming. He knew that I had booked for a special occasion so made sure that I had a good table. Service was also very good and the food was good value for money. Thank you for a lovely time

ML
London
7 reviews
Dined on 19 January 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Booked at Aubaine Selfridges for afternoon tea. Swiftly got seated by the window after requesting on the day for it. Clearly the staff did not read the comments left in the booking or email sent to be seated by the window or that we were celebrating an 18th birthday. Nothing was done to make it special. The tea was nice. Sandwiches and cakes were ok, could have been better though. Felt nothing special of them. Also, they didn't offer takeaway bags/boxes so couldn't take half of the remaining untouched cakes/sandwiches. Waste of food and money. Nice place for photos. Overall, would not recommend afternoon tea here.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded 7 days ago

Hi MLT, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Aubaine; we really value your feedback. We’re sorry it wasn’t all that you expected, but we’d love to see you again if you’ll give us another chance!

Report
MH
London
3 reviews
Dined on 12 January 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

We sat by the lovely lavender decoration by the window. We had the special of the day good value, service was great.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 20 January 2020

Hi MH, Thanks for sharing your experience dining at Aubaine! We’re so glad you enjoyed your time with us and are grateful for your feedback.

Report
S
London
1 review
Dined on 10 January 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience4

The restaurant was beautiful but the tea was less than memorable. Dry sandwiches, teapot which looked dirty and no care for detail. Instagram and go.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 13 January 2020

Hi Samm, We’re so sorry to hear about your recent experience dining with us; it looks like we were having an off-day. But, we hope you’ll give us another go!

Report
E
1 review
Dined on 7 January 2020
Overall2food1service2ambience3

When we asked questions about the menu we were given inaccurate information. We asked for the steak ordered to be cooked as Medium rare however it was Well done- very chewy, hard, difficult to cut and difficult to eat! Presentation was very poor also. The fries on the side were overcooked. The drinks were ok, very average. The most positive element of the restaurant is the lavender hanging from the ceiling (pretty). Overpriced and overrated. Very disappointed

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 10 January 2020

Hi Emily, We’re very sorry to hear about your experience at Aubaine; your satisfaction is very important to us. We appreciate you sharing the details relating to your visit and will surely investigate this further. We hope you'll give us another chance!

Report
E
London
1 review
Dined on 4 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love the look of the place and the food was delicious! Thank you Abaine I had a splendid birthday :)

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 20 January 2020

Happy Birthday, Eden! We’re delighted that you enjoyed your celebration with us and would love to welcome you back soon.

Report
TG
1 review
Dined on 31 December 2019
Overall4food3service4ambience4

We loved how the manager arranged our table promptly when she came to know that we have a baby with us. It was not mentioned by me during booking. The manager gave our 9 months old son a high chair and kept asking about him every now n then. Wonderful family friendly gesture!

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 6 January 2020

Hi Tanusree, Thanks for sharing your experience dining at Aubaine! We’re so glad you enjoyed your time with us and are grateful for your feedback. Hope to see you again!

Report
MK
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on 27 December 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Nice atmosphere Excellent services
I highly recommend this restaurant to all

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 6 January 2020

Hi MK22, We’re so pleased you took the time to review your experience with us at Aubaine; thank you for your positive feedback!

Report
MH
London
1 review
Dined on 17 December 2019
Overall3food1service4ambience4

I ordered the Wagyu steak which was inedible. I could not even cut it, let alone chew through it.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 20 December 2019

Hi Michael, We’re so sorry that you didn’t enjoy your meal. The quality of our ingredients is very important to us. Your feedback means a lot to us and will be really useful in helping us to improve what we do in the future.

Report
HS
1 review
Dined on 13 December 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Had a lovely afternoon tea. Lovely cakes and warm scones. Great friendly service. Very glad to have booked as others were queuing outside the restaurant.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 16 December 2019

Hi Helen, We’re delighted that you enjoyed your Afternoon tea with us and would love to welcome you back soon. Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report
l
Surrey
10 reviews
Dined on 12 December 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Nice setting. Service was a bit slow but the food was nice.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 16 December 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Aubaine; we really value your feedback. We’re sorry it wasn’t all that you expected, but we’d love to see you again if you’ll give us another chance!

Report
c
London
3 reviews
Dined on 3 December 2019
Overall3food2service3ambience4

Just very disappointed in price of wine given . Asked for 2 large glasses of Sauvignon and cost half the food total. !!So expensive. Was my treat so couldn’t dispute.

M
London
4 reviews
Dined on 3 December 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience3

French toast was yummy and as pretty as decor but hot drinks are always cold which is a disappointment.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 5 December 2019

Hi Mubina, We’re so sorry that your visit to Aubaine was disappointing. Your feedback means a lot to us and will be really useful in helping us to improve what we do in the future. Thank you for your review.

Report
NW
London
70 reviews
Dined on 2 December 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience3

I should’ve paid more attention to what other reviewers have said. This place was awful — when we arrived no one bothered to come around or acknowledge our presence. We waited 5mins then asked for help; the waitress told us off saying “we’re busy! Am not in charge of the reservation!” Another few minutes have passed then we asked again, then another waitress shouted us down saying “we’re busy, can’t we see!?” We should’ve walked away at this point but we were too hungry. It took ages for our wine to arrive (we had to ask 5 times) then the food was not even warm. I will never go again

CD
1 review
Dined on 16 November 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience1

So I booked a table for my birthday with my girlfriends for brunch. Obviously checked the menu before booking it and clearly saw written: all day breakfast and brunch.
Great, I am booking it with a month before the day, we get to the place, (at 12pm) I get to see the menu, all I can see is lunch.
I ask a waitress for a breakfast/brunch menu, she says that they finished breakfast at 11:30 and that they do not do brunch.
I explained to her that this is what I read on the website that it is an all day breakfast and she looks and me and says ‘sorry’
I was so disappointed with the whole experience. It messed up my birthday and the brunch that we were meant to have.
Honestly, if you guys say something on the website, make sure it happens into the restaurant as well.

AW
1 review
Dined on 8 November 2019
Overall4food3service4ambience4

We enjoyed our high tea , the service very attentive. The tea itself was late in the day -4 pm, and we felt the sandwiches were not perfectly fresh.

MD
London
1 review
Dined on 23 October 2019
Overall2food4service1ambience2

The staff though friendly are let down by how long the meals take to come out of the kitchen. Having booked for lunch time you would expect that the meal would arrive promptly, so that you could get back to the office. However, we waited 40 minutes for a burger and a steak. And whilst well cooked and seasoned, it was not worth the wait. No apology was offered by the manager or a reduction of the service charge. We also went to the next day for a coffee and cake but were met by very unfriendly front of house, dismissing us saying there was no chance given we did not book this time. Very rude.

S
London
1 review
Dined on 21 October 2019
Overall1food1service3ambience1

I booked to be near to the windows and I wasn’t on this area!!!!!
You said quality , fresh food as french service but it wasn’t! Fries not good, poor choice of food and pâtisserie

EM
Surrey
1 review
Dined on 17 October 2019
Overall2food2service4ambience2

Not sure I’d recommend. I had booked a table at 1pm. Our table wasn’t ready for us when we arrived. We were offered a complimentary glass of Prosecco while we waited. I’d requested a table by the window as it was a special occasion but we were seated in the middle of the restaurant. We all ordered Caesar salad with chicken. The salad was very sparse with only a small amount of dressing.

S
London
1 review
Dined on 5 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The staff were so friendly and accommodating. The food was nice and the restaurant itself was so pretty.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 8 October 2019

Hi there, Thanks for sharing your experience dining at Aubaine! We’re so glad you enjoyed your time with us and are grateful for your feedback.

Report
A
1 review
Dined on 5 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really enjoyed my time here with my boyfriend. Came to celebrate our 4th year anniversary and they really made it feel special for us!

The service was excellent and the food was delicious. It was on the pricy end but the presentation and it being in Selfridges after all, was worth it. We had a complimentary dessert and champagne too~

Atmosphere was busy. Honestly had not heard of Aubaine before since I don’t go Selfridges often, so was surprised to see a queue of customers at the entrance. So book a table to avoid waiting!

The interior design with wisteria flowers was the main reason I wanted to go here. I love a good interior as it makes the atmosphere and experience more lovely~

Definitely coming here again for some Afternoon Tea! Thank you Aubaine

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 8 October 2019

Hi there, We’re so pleased you took the time to review your experience with us at Aubaine; thank you for your positive feedback! We cannot wait to see you again

Report
a
London
5 reviews
Dined on 28 September 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

beautiful setting, very attentive staff, not fussy, delicious food, waitress kew the menu and made great recommendations.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 1 October 2019

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking your time to leave us such a great review. It was a pleasure having you in our restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report
OT
Thailand
1 review
Dined on 27 September 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

The food is good and the service is great ^^

DS
1 review
Dined on 22 September 2019
Overall3food5service2ambience3

The food and drink were good.
But the service was disgusting we got forgotten about and nobody checked on us.. it got to the point where we had to get up and ask someone to ask our order.

VK
London
1 review
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall4food3service3ambience5

It’s nice environment but the food was not outstanding. Also we were disappointed that the all day breakfast menu was not available even though it was Saturday.

v
London
6 reviews
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Food was great, service was slow and when we arrived we were greeted with “when did you book because all reservations are planned in the morning and it can be difficult to find you a table as we are busy”. Plainly - Not acceptable. Was only saved by the amazing starters and main course, the carrot cake was bad, but the macaroons and creme brûlée’s was heavenly.

AA
London
1 review
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall1food2service1ambience3

We booked a table because we wanted to have their afternoon tea. They offered it to us when they gave us the menu, but when we asked for it to the waiter, he said that they didn’t have any. We were very disappointed because it was the optimal time to have afternoon tea and we went there just to have it. The solution that the waiter gave us was to have a piece of cake. We won’t return to Aubaine, even though the restaurant itself is beautifully decorated -such a waste.

VC
London
1 review
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience5

The lady working at reception was wonderful, she sorted out a minor booking problem for us without any fuss. Would definitely visit again.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 11 September 2019

Hi Victoria, Thank you for your kind feedback. It was a pleasure having you at our restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report
OT
Riyadh
2 reviews
Dined on 14 August 2019
Overall1food2service1ambience3

We had a reservation and were seated on time and order was taken quickly, however, entrees arrived late, and we waited over an hour and a half for mains that never came. We ordered our bill and left dissatisfied and disappointed.

SA
London
1 review
Dined on 14 August 2019
Overall2food2service1ambience2

Forgot about our order, didn’t get my “salad” until an hour later, missing dish, had to stand up and ask the waitress for the bill. Awful service, they apologised and gave us a discount but I was truly disappointed. Won’t be dying to return any time soon, overrated food.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 23 August 2019

Hi there, We’re so sorry you weren’t happy with your experience dining with us; looks like we were having an off-day. We hope you’ll give us another go.

Report
S
London
1 review
Dined on 13 August 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience5

The ambience is just wonderful. We had full French breakfasts and it tasted just as great as the atmosphere. I highly recommend people who are interested in taking lovely pictures with the floral design, should reserve a morning session. All in all, it was a fabulous experience.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 16 August 2019

Hi Scarlett, Thank you for your fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon at any of our restaurant.

Report
T
London
1 review
Dined on 12 August 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience2

The employees dropped and smashed a lot of items throughout my meal. It was quite disturbing and at times, it did catch me by surprise. The food itself was pleasant but not amazing.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 14 August 2019

Dear Thanu, We’re so sorry you weren’t happy with your experience dining with us; looks like we were having an off-day. We hope you’ll give us another go.

Report
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 8 August 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very good services and food is excellent

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 9 August 2019

Hello, We’re so pleased you took the time to review your experience with us at Aubaine; thank you for your positive feedback!

Report
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 7 August 2019
Overall3food3service2ambience3

The service was so slow.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 9 August 2019

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Aubaine; we really value your feedback. We’re sorry it wasn’t all that you expected, but we’d love to see you again if you’ll give us another chance!

Report
M
London
1 review
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall3food2service2ambience3

Service was very slow despite the restaurant not being busy. Food was okay at best, served almost cold. My cappuccino was also cold.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 5 August 2019

Hi there, We’re so sorry you weren’t happy with your experience dining with us; looks like we were having an off-day. We hope you’ll give us another go.

Report
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall4food5service4ambience3

Good spot if shopping on Oxford street or in Selfridges

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hi there, Thank you so much for your great feedback. We would love to welcome you again very soon.

Report
BM
London
2 reviews
Dined on 26 July 2019
Overall3food2service2ambience2

After hearing this was a great place for afternoon tea, we decided to go. The service was slow and not that great. When the food came out, a lot of sandwiches didn't have much filling and 2 didn't have any at all. We had 3 tiers coming, 2 came, but waited another 10 minuets for the third one. We had to ask where our tea was as it didn't come with the afternoon tea tiers. The pastries were good, but nothing to rave about. I will never go back. We went for a special occasion and it was just an overall bad experience. Shame as I was looking forward to a really great experience from what I was told, and it was just OK at best.

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hi there, We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit to Aubaine. We really value your feedback and will ensure we take the necessary steps to improve our customer experience going forward. Thank you for dining with us and we hope to see you again.

Report
HF
London
1 review
Dined on 19 July 2019
Overall3food4service3ambience4

Our booking for afternoon tea was LOST! Apparently system issue. Thankfully Frederica their waitress sorted us out, when all the other wait staff (apart from the manager & supervisor) just didn’t really want to help. So we did get the tray but we didn’t get a proper afternoon tea pastries, just ONE standard sized pastry each! Tea was from a teabag!

Aubaine Selfridges
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hi Hanim, We’re very sorry to hear about your experience at Aubaine; your satisfaction is very important to us. We would really appreciate it if you could email feedback@aubaine.co.uk with the details relating to your visit so that we can investigate this further. Thank you.

Report
OT
London
3 reviews
Dined on 4 July 2019
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Most of the servers who work there have a bad attitude. Despite the fact that I had a reservation the girl at the entrance didn’t want to let me in saying you’re supposed to book at least the day before! I am not sure where she got this rule from and if so why do they allow same day booking. They really rely on being in a popular place and have good food