Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant

4.1
100 reviews
$41 to $100
Australian
Balgownie Estate Bendigo is the ideal place to spend an afternoon or evening wining and dining with magnificent food. Enjoy the wonderful wines produced from the Bendigo and Yarra Valley estates while taking in the incredible views of the picturesque Bendigo vineyards.

Restaurant is open from 12pm - 3pm, and 6pm - 9pm. We offer two course options, three course options and Chefs selection 6 course menu. 6 course Chef Tasting not available after 7.30pm.

We serve breakfast from 8am until 10am for our hotel guest and public. Come and enjoy our version of a Champagne Breakfast.

Picnic Boxes are available through the Cellar Door on Tuesdays, Wednesdays & Thursday from 11am -3.45pm or on Fridass, Saturdays, Sundays & Mondays from 2pm - 4pm


Experiences

  • Group Wine Tasting

    A$10.00 per personPrepaid

    Multiple dates available

    Wine Tasting Group bookings Taste 6 wines: Balgownie Premium Cuvee 2017 Black Label Chardonnay 2019 Silver Label Rose 2018 Black Label Pinot Noir 2017 Balgownie Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Receive 10% off any bottle of wine purchased through Cellar Door during your visit
  • Public Holiday 2 Course

    A$66.00 per personPrepaid

    Multiple dates available

    2-Course Main Menu including Public Holiday Surcharge
  • Public Holiday 3-Course Menu

    A$82.50 per personPrepaid

    Multiple dates available

    3-Course Menu including Public Holiday Surcharge
  • 2 Course Menu

    A$60.00 per personPrepaid

    Multiple dates available

    Pre-Pay to secure your booking
  • 3 Course Menu

    A$75.00 per personPrepaid

    Multiple dates available

    Pre-Pay to secure your booking
  • Champagne Breakfast

    A$35.00 per personPrepaid

    Apr 11 - Dec 31, 2021

    Breakfast with a View. Treat yourselves to a dish from our Breakfast Menu with a Glass of Balgownie Premium Cuvee, a glass of Juice and a Barista Coffee
  • Picnic Box for 2 ($45)

    A$22.50 per personPrepaid

    Multiple dates available

    Picnic Boxes for two have 2 cheeses, 2 cured meats, bread, biscuits, pickles, mustards and a sweet treat. Please note charged by the person @ $22.50, but must be ordered as multiples of 2.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Contactless payment available
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 100 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
AB
AmandaB
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Throughly enjoyed our breakfast. Food was delicious and the service was fantastic.

SB
SamraB
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Outstanding food and exceptional service. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

AD
AbbeyD
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food4service3ambience1

For the price per item, the vibe of the restaurant was daggy and in need of a fresh ambiance. The experience of dining here felt rushed and exposed. The food was lovely but served very quickly for a 3 course menu.

SO
SarahO
1 review
Dined on 14 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We enjoyed a delicious 3 course meals for dinner paired with a Balgownie Pinot noir which was exquisite. We then spent the evening in a hermitage house deluxe room, it was all so lovely. Then breakfast in the morning at the restaurant was delicious and the coffee was great. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to make this review. We are really glad you enjoyed your experience.

Report
J
Josie
1 review
Dined on 6 June 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Amazing food and amazing service, highly recommend

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 10 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to make these comments, we really appreciate them and of course your custom.

Report
K
Karen
6 reviews
Dined on 23 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a wonderful meal at the Balgownie restaurant. The food was amazing and the service exceptional.
The menu had so many yummy options it was hard to choose!

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 10 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again sometime.

Report
HK
HeatherK
1 review
Dined on 22 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I don’t think you could pick anything on the menu that wouldn’t be delicious.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 10 June 2021

Thank you for visiting us and thank you for your kind review, it is much apreciated.

Report
A
Andjd
1 review
Dined on 16 May 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Very disappointing experience. The wine tasting was okay, although little knowledge of the different varieties was imparted. We ordered the 2 course lunch and after our drinks arrived the waiter made a great fuss about a "complimentary" slice of bread! The entrees were fine but the dirty plates remained on the table for a full 25 minutes. The main course of gnocchi was inedible and not crisp. The duck was minute(thumb size) and overcooked with a taste of beef from the char grill, the lentils were cold and hard although the vegetables were good. Once again the staff failed to come anywhere near us, only asking about our meals some 20 minutes later.
There was no lack of staff, they were just not up to scratch, no one seemed to be in control of the dining experience - a lack of professionalism. Less party time behind the bar and more attention to the paying customers please. We will not return or recommend Balgownie.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I apologise that it did not meet your expectation. I have already expressed your (and my) concern to the team.

Report
MG
MichelleG
1 review
Dined on 14 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The experience at Balgownie Bendigo was unmeasurable. From the quality of the immaculately prepared food, the wine and the ambiance, to the friendliness and warmth of the staff, much love and care had been taken to make it one of the most pleasurable and memorable nights we’ve had. Definitely recommend it to anyone, but especially those looking for a romantic night with all the trimmings. Can’t wait to go back there!

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking time to review your experience. I cannot tell you how much it means to the team when they get such a great review. We do try hard to get it right for our guests, and this shows the team that often they do.

Report
PJ
PedroJuana
1 review
Dined on 10 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Went for 3 course meal during mother's day and my wife was so happy and satisfied so I guess that makes me a great husband. Thanks to Balgownie. They have no qualms with our baby being in the restaurant. We were worried because of its fine dining ambiance. Food is superb. Service is fast and great. Their Cuvee is so good. I got what I paid for. Will definitely come back.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you so much for this positive review. We are happy we helped make you a greater husband! On a serious note, thank you for taking the time to review your experience.

Report
B
Bendigo5
1 review
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall3food5service1ambience4

The food was amazing but there wasn’t staff coming over to ask if we wanted another drink, I had to get up and go to the bar to order them.

It is also really dark outside in the car park and driving down the drive way it’s hard to see where to go to the restaurant so some lighting would be good

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing your experience . We take our feedback seriously and to heart. I have addressed you concerns with the team. Regarding the lighting, we agree with you. To be honest I started in December when the light was not a problem, but recently I have noticed the need for some additional lighting. I am working through this with an electrican and hope to remedy the situation shortly.

Report
KM
KimM
2 reviews
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience2

I love supporting local businesses and the growers , suppliers and producers they help.
I was so looking forward to this and had heard great reviews.
I’m not sure if it was an off night for staff but it didn’t live up to expectations.
I booked a table inside, which I guess we were but just. We were sat by an open door which meant it was cold and every person coming in and out passed us.
We ordered and the menu sounded lovely and we celebrated with our first drink.
Our first couple of dishes were lovely.
Main arrived and my favourite dish is duck. It was the smallest duck breast (with no crispy skin) and loads and loads of wilted greens that overtook the plate and sauce.
Plates cleared and dessert spoons put out but no offer of more drinks.
We watched lots of desserts get served for guests who arrived after us but nothing coming our way.
My partner never complains but after 35 minutes of staring and wondering where our dessert was he was ready to leave.
He managed to catch the eye of a waiter and we enquired when we might get our dessert and it was clear we’d been forgotten as they said they were just preparing it. I asked for another drink which came with dessert. I would have probably had a couple if they asked.
Overall we left disappointed with the experience. The food was lovely but it’s not just the meal that makes it a dinner and it’s not a cheap one at that. For similar expense we could have had fine dining.
I hope if we return it improves.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your experience. We are so sorry we did not match the experience to your expectations. I will definitely address the team regarding the timing, as it does seem that you did not get us at our best.

Report
F
Fleur
1 review
Dined on 9 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The staff were great, food was delicious and well priced!

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking time to review your experience, we are really happy that you enjoyed it.

Report
DN
DavidN
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

The wine tasting process was not ideal, it was too slow and we were charged extra for the premium wines. Wine tasting could be handled better and the service done in a more efficient/customer service friendly way.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We rely on feedback to improve our offering. We recently brought in the premium wine tasting fee for the more expensive wine so that we can make them available for tasting for those that want them. It has been fairly well received overall. I think that maybe you caught us on a bad day as we have found that the way we conduct our wine tastings has been very popular compared to the traditional stand at a bar approach.

Report
A
Allannah
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall2food1service3ambience3

We have usually enjoyed our experience at Balgownie but this time it was incredibly disappointing! All four of us were disappointed with both entree and main. My husband got steak and it resembled skirt or bbq steak (cheap cut) .

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are sad to hear your experience did not match your expectation or indeed previous experiences with us. I can assure you that we only get the best steak and ingredients in general.

Report
J
John
2 reviews
Dined on 23 April 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience3

We had the 6 course degustation menu and that was very good value and service size; it would benefit though from a menu to let you know what each course is and the wait staff were not able to assist much. Recognizing this is a winery restaurant it would also be good to have some other wines as options, especially champagne.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are glad your enjoyed the 6 course Chef's tasting menu. We actually just changed the menu up a little recently and now offer a more complete experience as we now serve matched wines for each course as part . We do have our own sparkling and fairly extensive list of wines t, we have tried putting on other wines (and have a few remaining on there) but to be honest they just don't sell well.

Report
FB
FranziskaB
1 review
Dined on 23 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was amazing!
We ate the gnocchi and the lamb, vacant for it better than that!

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for your kind feedback. We appreciate the time you have taken to make this review and indeed your custom.

Report
DW
DebbieW
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 20 April 2021
Overall1food1service2ambience1

We would not recommend this restaurant the food was very average unfortunately nothing like the beautiful Balgownies in Yarra Glenn very disappointing to say the least really lacks ambience also.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are sorry your experience did not match your expectation.

Report
AC
AndreaC
3 reviews
Dined on 19 April 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience3

We tried the chef's sampling menu which says 6 courses. What we didn't realise was that 6 courses didn't mean 6 dishes, in some rounds 1 course was 2 dishes. This meant that there was more food than we thought and we made the mistake of asking for another round of their delicious bread. The food was outstanding, out of the 11 dishes that we had between the two of us, only 1 was average (the zucchini flowers), the other 10 were delicious. Highly recommend, but don't get extra bread as there is more than enough food.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for such a positive review. The team is always so excited to get the positive reviews. We really appreciate the time you have take to write this for us.

Report
AM
AndreaM
1 review
Dined on 17 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and wine. Great options of vegetarian and vegan on the menu.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate you putting pen to paper (so to speak) and for visiting us as well!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 17 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Gorgeous food, excellent service, lovely location

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for making time to review your experience and hope you can return some time.

Report
TF
TaniaF
7 reviews
Dined on 17 April 2021
Overall3food4service4ambience3

Food was very pleasant though serving sizes were small. Ambience in the restaurant was lacking. In better weather it would be very pleasant to sit outside.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 20 May 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are constantly trying to make our restaurant better and can only do this successfully when people give feedback.

Report
DM
DanielleM
1 review
Dined on 16 April 2021
Overall3food1service4ambience2

This is one of the worst meals I have ever had. And value for money was disgraceful.
I would never eat here again.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 18 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to send your review, all feedback is welcome. We are disappointed that you were not as happy with your food as we would have liked. It would be helpful to us if you could advise some specifics so we can try to improve.

Report
EL
ElizaL
1 review
Dined on 13 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food and service was absolutely amazing. We will definitely be back thats for sure!
I’ve told my parents to go there for their anniversary

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 15 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All feedback received is welcome and it is particularly nice to receive when it is positive. We are sincerely glad that you enjoyed your experience and tank you for your patronage.

Report
DS
DianaS
1 review
Dined on 13 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Overall a wonderful experience. Lovely staff and a very comfortable atmosphere.

Food was good quality and tasted great.

Thank you for the lovely dining experience!

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 15 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All feedback received is welcome and it is particularly nice to receive when it is positive. We are sincerely glad that you enjoyed your experience and thank you for your patronage.

Report
MC
MatthewC
1 review
Dined on 5 April 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience4

Chose the 2 course meal. Entree's were great, chargrilled octopus delicious. For main I had the lamb and partner had the fish. Dishes were both very confusing. Lamb was more like pulled pork in a clump and was strangely served with a side of carrot salad that looked like it belonged next to a chicken parma at the local pub. The lamb tasted amazing but the sides were absolutely terrible. So very disappointed. The fish looked amazing but did not match the description, was supposed to be a curry base of some sort but clearly no curry was in sight or any flavor that resembled a curry.

We skipped dessert and asked if they could make a cheese platter for us to take back to our room. Big mistake..! One of the worst $30 cheese platters I have ever seen in my life. The ones on the website did not reflect this very sad attempt at a cheese platter.

All in all great location. Great ambience. Great service. But if your looking for a 5 star restaurant this isn't it.. 3 stars.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 15 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to send your review, all feedback is welcome. We are disappointed that you were not as happy with your food as we would have liked. Thank you for pointing out the good as well as the bad though.

Report
MR
MorenaR
7 reviews
Dined on 4 April 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience3

Fantastic food, nice wine. Great relaxed experience.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 15 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All feedback received is welcome and it is particularly nice to receive when it is positive. We are sincerely glad that you enjoyed your experience and tank you for your patronage.

Report
GD
GaryD
1 review
Dined on 4 April 2021
Overall3food4service4ambience3

we did enjoy the day, just had a few flies inside, there should be some sort of bug zapper in side...

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 15 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All feedback received is welcome and we agree the flies are a menace. We are looking for ways to reduce them but are not keen on the zapping things as they are not great for ambiance either,.. We are glad that you still enjoyed your experience and thank you for your patronage.

Report
IA
IanA
2 reviews
Dined on 4 April 2021
Overall2food2service4ambience4

Very disappointed on this occasion with the $90 cost of very ordinary boxes/platters.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 15 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to send your review, all feedback is welcome. We are disappointed that you were not as happy with your food as we would have liked. The picnic boxes, which I presume you are referring to, are fairly new for us and were designed to provide an offering outside of our restaurant hours. . We are planning to open a new Cellar Door Space in Spring this year and with that we will look to improve our offer with a greater selection of platters and picnic boxes.

Report
VM
VanessaM
1 review
Dined on 3 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was delicious. It was a new menu so the staff were not 100% sure about every dish, but they happily went and asked the kitchen anything we wanted to know. The food came out quickly. It was a very positive dining experience.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 15 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All feedback received is welcome and it is particularly nice to receive when it is positive. We are sincerely glad that you enjoyed your experience and tank you for your patronage.

Report
CM
CarolynM
1 review
Dined on 26 March 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was really delicious. Staff excellent. Have been there a few times and this was the best experience we’ve had so far .

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 18 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All feedback received is welcome and it is particularly nice to receive when it is so positive and from regular customers. We are sincerely glad that you enjoyed your experience and thank you for your continued patronage.

Report
JB
JodieB
1 review
Dined on 22 March 2021
Overall3food1service5ambience3

Not a great selection and found $60 each for the two courses and the size of the meals was not good value.
Very dissapointed.

Staff were very friendly and restaurant was lovely.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 18 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, all feed back good and bad is valuable to us. We are disappointing that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Thank you for complimenting the staff, it is nice that you have not written of the whole experience and it is much appreciated by the team.

Report
ND
NatalieD
2 reviews
Dined on 21 March 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Did was extremely disappointing and not described very well on the menu. Service was also slow and offhand.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 18 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are disappointed it did not meet your expectation.

Report
B
Belinda
1 review
Dined on 21 March 2021
Overall4food2service4ambience4

The food was a little to fancy for my liking, but it was very well presented

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 18 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time for making this review, we appreciate all feed back as it helps us to improve. Thank you for the very balanced feedback, it really helps us to concentrate where we need to.

Report
AV
AlanV
1 review
Dined on 20 March 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great atmosphere and beautiful view over the vineyards. Service was engaging and perfectly timed.
Have eaten there before and food never disappoints. Can’t wait to return

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 18 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All feedback received is welcome and it is particularly nice to receive when it is positive. We are sincerely glad that you enjoyed your experience and appreciated our beautiful winery.

Report
GR
GRAHAM
1 review
Dined on 13 March 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful place to stay. Great foot and wine was really good

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 18 April 2021

Thank you for this review, we truly appreciate it. We are very happy that you enjoyed your tme here with us

Report
M
Marilyn
1 review
Dined on 8 March 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Dinner was great and good value for money also the breakfast was outstanding and very
delicious indeed, I would certainly recommend for any occasion, it would be a lovely place to have a wedding. 10 out of 10 from me.

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 18 April 2021

Thank you for this wonderful review. The team really appreciate the kind words. All feedback is welcome and we are truly happy that you enjoyed your experience here.

Report
CS
CheryleS
1 review
Dined on 8 March 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience4

Fabulous food and great atmosphere
Wait staff friendly

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant
Responded on 18 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to post this review, we appreciate the feedback greatly.

Report
GP
GrantP
1 review
Dined on 7 March 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great experience all round. The cooking was even better than my wifes (and hers is brilliant).

SN
SharonN
1 review
Dined on 5 March 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Staff were friendly and efficient. The setting was beautiful to go with the great food and wine. We had the 3 course menu with wine and coffee to celebrate a birthday. Definitely would visit again and maybe stay over.

FAQs

Balgownie Bendigo Restaurant is rated 4.1 stars by 100 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.