Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Whitby

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
172 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
For an unparalleled dining experience featuring succulent steaks, mouth watering ribs, and an extensive wine list, visit Bâton Rouge Steakhouse in Whitby.
What 172 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
SS
ScottS
New England
3 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very nice looking restaurant. Appetizer was spinach dip. Both of us had ribs and I had a shrimp skewer. Food was great. Baked potatoes were very good. Overall a very good time. Only negative is the draft was pricey

S
Steph
1 review
Dined on 13 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sunday evening was very quiet. Went there for an anniversary, was very happy how quiet it was. Server was amazing, so nice and friendly. Will definitely be dining there again.

JS
JamieS
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall3food2service2ambience2

Portion size was small on the seafood linguine. Was not linguine noodles. Chicken tenders meal batter on chicken was soft,undercooked and too much of it. Chicken looked twice the size. Also there was alot of flies at the table.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on 11 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent experience at Bâton Rogue in Whitby. The staff was outstanding and the food was delicious. Portions were great and the prices were reasonable. Highly recommended!

MM
vipMichelleM
Toronto
7 reviews
Dined on 11 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and great people

RM
RhondaM
1 review
Dined on 1 September 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Lots of fries, ribs were tasty but a little on the dry side.

c
chrish
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Fabulous evening. Great food. Great service. Will be back for sure.

Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Whitby
Responded on 1 September 2020

Hi Chris, Thank you for the positive feedback, we are glad to hear you had a great overall experience with us. We hope to see you soon! Thank you, Joseph Mendoza Restaurant Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was fantastic
Even the free dessert for our 33rd wedding anniversary

Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Whitby
Responded on 1 September 2020

Hello, Thank you for the positive feedback, it makes us happy knowing what a wonderful experience you guys had, Congrats again for 33 years of marriage, what an amazing milestone to reach! We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you, Joseph Mendoza Restaurant Manager

Report
RI
RIck
1 review
Dined on 27 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was great and the servers were very friendly and efficient.

Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Whitby
Responded on 1 September 2020

Hello Rick, Thank you for the feedback about our food and service, its very appreciated getting the feedback from our guests. Guess satisfaction is our #1 priority and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you, Joseph Mendoza Restaurant Manager

Report
JM
JenniferM
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our ‘go-to’ that never disappoints. Food is always fresh, cooked as requested and friendly service. Best steakhouse in Whitby area.

Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Whitby
Responded on 1 September 2020

Hi Jennifer, We are grateful for your business and appreciate the positive feedback, we are glad to know that you enjoy everything Baton Rouge Whitby has to offer! We hope to see you soon. Thank you, Joseph Mendoza Restaurant Manager

Report
JA
JoAnneW
1 review
Dined on 22 August 2020
Overall2food4service5ambience2

I made reservations for the patio because of covid and called many times to be sure it was outside. We got there and were told no reservation and proceeded to tell us we had to sit at a certain table in the sun. I made reservations for this reason to be in the shade I was told all other tables were reserved and full sun one was all there was. I proceeded to sit where I wanted. Bad organizational skills.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 21 August 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience3

Very few people and food was lukewarm. I'd expect better with so few patrons.

D
Dylan
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience2

Overall our experience was good. Although there were a few issues as to why I probably wont return. To start my Caeser Salad had 3 cores in it, brought up to server to be told she will tell the kitchen. Nothing was done. It took about a solid 20 minutes to get a drink refill after I had to request one. Server was nice but lacked energy or enthusiasm. Overall my entree and deserts were tasty but quite overpriced for what you recieved. I wish my experience could have been more of a Keg style experience. Lastly all we could hear through our meal was the cooks and servers talking in the back. I feel like our server spent more time in the back of the kitchen than she did attending to us. This is my fair overall review. It would be nice to get a response from owners or management as Im sure not everyone has had this experience.

S
Steixeira
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on 16 August 2020
Overall1food1service4ambience4

Something was astray with the food quality; likely due to Covid. The potato soup normally was thick and hearty however this visit it was runny and tasteless

RS
ReneS
Toronto
7 reviews
Dined on 16 August 2020
Overall3food4service4ambience4

The menu was varied and as expected from previous visits. My steak was good and the fried mushrooms added a nice flavour. My spouse enjoyed her meal as well.

PA
PamelaA
Toronto
7 reviews
Dined on 15 August 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience1

Mashed Potatoes were cold and tasted like instant. Lobster was just “ok”. The butter that came with it tasted like fake butter. Waste of a lobster order. Bbq chicken was dry and burnt. Ribs were good

CP
CarolineP
1 review
Dined on 15 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent first visit to a restaurant in months. One server was wearing her mask over her mouth only. Not cool.

Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Whitby
Responded on 19 August 2020

Hi Caroline, Thank you for your feedback, We want to ensure you that we take all mask protocols very serious here and will look into that matter, thank you for bringing it up to us. The safety for our dine in guests is our #1 priority and we will ensure all safety protocols are being met during this time. If you have any further questions feel free to give us a call at (905) 444-9525 Thank you Joseph Mendoza Restaurant Manager

Report
NM
NikM
1 review
Dined on 12 August 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Food was great and our server, Sarah, was awesome!

Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Whitby
Responded on 19 August 2020

Hi Nik, Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate knowing you enjoyed you experience with us! We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Joseph Mendoza Restaurant Manager

Report
DH
DaveH
1 review
Dined on 11 August 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Bar service was a bit lacking but overall it was a great night...was there for a birthday but no question if we were there for a special occasion....place was empty but the food was excellent

MM
MartinM
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on 8 March 2020
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Ribs somewhat dry and not quite as good as in previous visits.

CM
CliffM
1 review
Dined on 7 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The waitress that serve this was fantastic she was details you polite to sincere she was funny and she brought her food out it was great the food Portion for fantastic as well as a service and the quality

l
louieb
1 review
Dined on 7 March 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

The only problem was the table was Uneven and wine bottle spilled all over my daughter and myself

JS
JackieS
1 review
Dined on 7 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our waitress was so thoughtful and surprised us with the most delicious cookie and ice cream dessert to help celebrate our anniversary

KM
KarenM
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

We like going to Baton Rouge as the food and experience is usually a fairly consistent and quality experience.

DP
DebbieP
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food is very good. Ribs and shrimp and scallops we delicious.

BM
BrendaM
1 review
Dined on 28 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A perfect dining experience! Beautiful decor, our server (Craig) went above and beyond as far as being very friendly and accommodating and the food was amazing!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 22 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Waitress was wonderful (Marie)

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 22 February 2020
Overall1food4service2ambience2

Wife’s birthday

S
Steve
1 review
Dined on 22 February 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Everything was on point.
The service
The dinner
The setting...
The ONLY thing that fell short was the Crème Brule.
It tasted and smelled like sweet scrambled eggs.
Other than that... The steak dinners were perfect.

A
Andri
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on 22 February 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Trying out menu before booking a party

MM
MareMare
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on 21 February 2020
Overall3food2service5ambience2

Our waiter was amazing, the table was filthy....
Appetizers were excellent but the food was just meh and it's overpriced sorry and my friends and my husband dinner came to table cold

Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Whitby
Responded on 23 February 2020

Hi Mary, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on our OpenTable platform. We'd like to apologize for the less than stellar experience. First impressions are important, and we failed with the tables being dirty and the food coming out cold. We would love the opportunity to speak with you more about your dining experience. Could you please give us a call at 905.444.9525 and ask for either Jeff or Matt. Thank you, and we look forward to you call. Baton Rouge Whitby

Report
T
Trish
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 20 February 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Ordered a pitcher of rose Sangria and had to send it back. Was not stirred so all the flavour was at the bottom and too much ice.
Ribs were a bit burnt at the edges but still good ribs.

CR
ChristinaR
1 review
Dined on 19 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our waiter was amazing! Food was delicious! Definitely going back!

JF
JeffF
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience3

It was the worst visit we have ever had there. We had reservations for 6:30, were sat at about 6:40 (which was fine) but we didn't leave the restaurant until 9:00. It was so slow. We got our drink orders (wine) very quickly, but then it took 30 minutes to get our salad and then another 45 minutes or more between the salad and the meal. No visit from the waiter in between to see if we wanted another drink while we wait or any explanation. We both had the prime rib special, which was very fatty and had no flavour at all. The baked potato was the best part of the meal. I had to wait until the meal was almost over to get a drink with my meal, after asking twice. No explanation as to why their was a delay or even acknowledgement that there was a delay. No checking on the food. No visit from a manager. Very poor. The restaurant wasn't even that busy. The large round table beside us finished up about 10 minutes after we arrived and left. The table sat there full of dishes and half eaten food until the time we left. A waiter stopped at that table twice, looked at it and walked away. Obviously the restaurant wasn't busy and didn't need that table. As we were putting on our coats, a waitress came by and picked up the wine glasses from that table and the table in front, which had been sitting uncleaned for about an hour. We had a prime rib at an Irish pub the weekend before that was much better. It had more flavour, better quality and was actually cheaper then it was here. We usually have a very good prime rib here but this time it and the whole experience was very disappointing and a waste of money.

Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Whitby
Responded on 21 February 2020

Hi Jeff, I would like to apologize for your experience on Sunday. I would love the opportunity to speak with you regarding the service and food quality that you received. If you could give us a call at 905 444 9525, I would greatly appreciate it. Please ask for either Matt of Jeff. Thank you, The BR Team

Report
h
hammer2425
Toronto
6 reviews
Dined on 16 February 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience3

Went to Baton Rouge to try the steak that I had heard good reviews on. It was good but unfortunately for me did not live up to the greatness that others had raved about. The service and other parts of the meal were very good however.

Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Whitby
Responded on 18 February 2020

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on our OpenTable platform. Your feedback truly means a lot to us. I apologize that our steak did not satisfy your expectation. We're appreciative of the positive parts you were able to experience. We would love for you to gives us another chance in enhancing your experience. Feel free to give us a call at (905) 444-9525 if you have any further questions. Thank you, Joseph Mendoza

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2020
Overall3food5service2ambience3

The food was amazing as always. We booked a few months in advance for my birthday and were seated just before a walk-in table of five right next to us. When booking, I mentioned that it was a special occasion and mentioned it when calling a few minutes before getting there. The restaurant was very loud. The server opted to serve the larger table before us and they got their food about 15 minutes before we did. The server was short when checking on us and was only friendly when asking if we were ordering dessert. We got a better impression from the gentleman who delivered our food. Our service at this location is always subpar while the food is outstanding. Leaves a sour taste as you pay for a premium experience, but feel ignored.

HC
HappyClients
Toronto
8 reviews
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Food was good. Service was lacking a bit. My Diet Pepsi was very watery (I think the syrup was at the end) and I had asked for a replacement. That didn’t come, so I had to ask again. I went through most of my meal without a drink. Also, we asked for bread and it never came. Otherwise, everything else was ok

SB
SuzanneB
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on 15 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love the Whitby location.
The atmosphere, the staff, the food is amazing!!!!!
Our favourite place to go. I recommend Baton Rouge, Whitby to everyone and this is where we bring our out of town guests for a great dinner out.

Suzanne and Bruce Burns
Ajax, Ontario

K
Kubbingas
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Even though it was Valentine's Day and the restaurant was very busy, we had a very nice time. The service and servers were prompt and pleasant. The food was delicious. I love the booths. Always a nice time. Thank you.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Not the best server considering it was Valentine’s Day. Took a long time to take our order and to get our food.

Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Whitby
Responded on 23 February 2020

Good afternoon, We'd like to apologize for the dining experience you had during Valentine's Day. We'd love the opportunity to speak with you more about your experience. Could you please give us a call at 905.444.9525 and please ask for either Jeff or Matt. Thank you, Baton Rouge Whitby

Report

FAQs

Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Whitby does offer delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Whitby also offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at (905) 444-9525.

Bâton Rouge Steakhouse & Bar - Whitby is rated 4.3 stars by 172 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.