This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitising, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.

Brookmans

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
108 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary British
We took over Brookmans in 2011, and have recently re-launched with opulent interiors and a contemporary bar and eatery. We are proud to have become a hub for the local area with activity centring around the island bar, where we’ll be happy to serve you a great cup of coffee, a decent pint of beer or a glass of chilled champagne. Take a seat at the bar facing the door if you want to see and be seen, or find a table in the garden room which pens out onto the terrace. The eatery is warm and welcoming with deep teal walls and splashes of rich mustard yellow offset by soft greys lit by twinkling chandeliers. On the walls hang historic posters from the Metroland era when Brookmans Park was built, part of the hugely-optimistic garden suburb movement.

Support Brookmans during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Personal Protective Equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
What 108 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
M
vip1Maggiesmith
London
11 reviews
Dined on 19 October 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

A friendly place to have lunch with plenty of space and nice helpful staff.

Brookmans
Responded 6 days ago

It's great to hear you enjoyed dining with us and hope we can welcome you back again soon

Report
CW
CarolW
Berkshire
2 reviews
Dined on 16 September 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Meal was lovely and staff very attentive. A little surprised that the staff didn’t leave the drinks at the end of the table and leant across the person at the end to serve . We were in a booth
It would reduce the risk to both your staff and the customer to leave plates and drinks for us to move . Other than that the distance between customers was good

Brookmans
Responded on 5 October 2020

Thanks for your feedback Carol. We are following all guidance but continue to learn and adjust everyday to ensure our guests and team are all safe. So glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and found our team attentive.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 13 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely food attentive service without being intrusive

Brookmans
Responded on 18 September 2020

Thanks for the 5 stars-glad you enjoyed and hope to see you soon.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
6 reviews
Dined on 7 September 2020
Overall2food4service3ambience4

The food was great.
Sadly no one wore masks or visors
We didn’t feel safe there
So for the moment we won’t return

Brookmans
Responded on 10 September 2020

We are glad you found our food great but disappointed to hear you won't be returning for the moment. We are following the guidelines closely and reviewing consistently and at this moment in time the Government does not stipulate that anyone must wear a face mask. We do have them available should the team want to wear them. We choose not to enforce this. I do believe soon the government will change the guidelines- and if they do, we will ensure all team have shields.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Very smart and well presented restaurant with newly opened outside terrace as an option for eating. Friendly service and good brunch menu. Portion sizes extremely small though - could have eaten three times.

Brookmans
Responded on 18 September 2020

We are so pleased to hear you liked our new terrace option and the team looked after you well. Sorry you found our portions small, we will pick this up with the team as usually get such great feedback. We do hope we can welcome you back again

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Had a lovely meal at Brookmans on the last day of Eat Out To Help Out. A very nice building and great staff. The food was all excellent aside from the chicken main I had - the chicken was very dry. I wouldn’t hesitate to return to try it again though.

Brookmans
Responded on 8 September 2020

Thanks for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit although sorry you were a little disappointed with the Chicken dish. It's great to hear you'd visit again though and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report
MP
MichaelP
London
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Nice setting with modern decor. A few errors with the drinks order, which needed resolving. One of the steaks had to be sent back as it clearly wasn't done as requested. Food is 3/5 and priced a little over that. Service (aside from the errors) is OK with positive and good intentions from staff. With the "eat out" govt 50% incentive, this was all good and acceptable. Not sure i would have been so happy paying full price. A reasonable and acceptable lunch, under the circumstances.

Brookmans
Responded on 8 September 2020

Thanks for your review, the scheme was so fantastic we were bombarded that day and just not prepared for the volume of guests who wanted to dine with us and therefore fell short on our usual high standards of food and service. We do hope you will give us another chance and the opportunity to show you we can get it right. It would be great to see you again Michael.

Report
A
Annie
London
2 reviews
Dined on 30 August 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

We always use the restaurant for a Sunday roast when giving my daughter a lift back to RVC. The food is delicious, a lovely mix of fresh vegetables plus the huge yorkshire puddinga which is always welcome. The vegetarian option is always good too as my daughter is a vegetarian. The staff were very efficient and everything was in place for social distancing and hand sanitising. The toilets are quite big so no issue there either and plenty of signs so you are guided about waiting until a sink becomes free at busy times.

Brookmans
Responded on 8 September 2020

Thanks for your continued support-it means a lot! So glad to hear you found our covid measures well managed and enjoyed a Sunday afternoon with us. You've got to have huge Yorkies with your roast, right! Look forward to welcoming you all back again Annie.

Report
AL
ALLISONW
London
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2020
Overall1food3service1ambience3

They did not have our reservation on arrival - the service was very slow no cutlery for my starters had to ask twice - drinks were slow in arriving and we had to ask for refills - ordered dessert to be told 10 minutes later the kitchen was closed and we could have ice cream or cheesecake only. We then asked for coffee to be told the machine was switched off this was at 10.50 pm whilst finishing our drinks a neighbouring table received a tray of coffee and Irish coffee which we had asked for to be told they had run out of cream !! I then complained which did result in a reduction in the bill and the offer of a return visit on the house - which we are not sure whether to take up as we were not given anything in writing to return with and feel a little awkward about calling to redeem the offer. This is a shame as a regular of the Brookmans highly recommended it to us and as we are fairly local we were hoping for a better start.

Brookmans
Responded on 8 September 2020

Please do get in touch with us direct at reservations@peachpubscom with a copy of your review and details of your visit date. We'd love to welcome you back and an opportunity to show you we can get it right and offer great food and service.

Report
JT
JacquiT
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Dined on 25 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food, not too busy and friendly helpful staff

Brookmans
Responded on 1 September 2020

Thanks for the 5 stars we are pleased you enjoyed and hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report
MT
MaryTB
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Dined on 23 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Lovely visit. Felt welcomed. Friendly service. Excellent food

Brookmans
Responded on 1 September 2020

We are so pleased to hear you felt welcomed and enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report
DW
DamonW
London
3 reviews
Dined on 16 August 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Terry (Land lady) was her usual bubbly self,despite currant situation.
Food,service and ambience up to the usual high standard.

Brookmans
Responded on 17 August 2020

Terri is such a gem! Bubbly is correct- and its her favourite drink- although only the good stuff (champagne!) Glad you had a good time, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report
s
stephen
Hertfordshire
8 reviews
Dined on 15 August 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Very helpful staff

Brookmans
Responded on 17 August 2020

Great to hear- we love our team and they are so glad to be working again

Report
c
vipcsfoodie
Hertfordshire
60 reviews
Dined on 14 August 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Good service despite busy period
All meals were enjoyed

Brookmans
Responded on 17 August 2020

Thanks for the review, can you let us know what we need to do to get 4 or 5 stars?

Report
JW
vipJasminW
London
4 reviews
Dined on 11 August 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Great food, nice relaxed atmosphere and good service

Brookmans
Responded on 13 August 2020

Thanks Jasmin! See you in the pub again soon?

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 5 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Nice evening out

Brookmans
Responded on 13 August 2020

Cheers for the 5 stars! We hope to see you again soon, we’ve got whole Native lobsters on every Thursday-Saturday to the end of August.

Report
c
captain
London
1 review
Dined on 5 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good service and great food

Brookmans
Responded on 8 August 2020

Thanks so much for your review, we can't wait to see you in the pub again soon!

Report
A
Alzo
Hertfordshire
29 reviews
Dined on 3 August 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Always enjoy the venue food is pleasant and staff are great

Brookmans
Responded on 17 August 2020

That's great Alzo- what do we have to do to get 5 stars?

Report
RR
RRusso
Hertfordshire
3 reviews
Dined on 8 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good service and food.
No pressure
Lovely ambiance
Will be back

PA
PeterA
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 5 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic to be back at the Brookmans, great beer, great food, great place to hang out.

NW
NataliaW
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on 5 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very nice pub, proffessional staff, Sunday roast yummy and pizza was excellent.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
3 reviews
Dined on 5 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service, really friendly
Also good value for money

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 23 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful tasty food, ambience very nice and cosy and will definitely return. This is our third time and the food and service has been superb every time.

Brookmans
Responded on 24 February 2020

Hi there Thanks so much for those shining 5 stars- we love to see it so much! The fact that you keep coming back is so great so we'll look forward to hosting you soon! Hope to see you soon! Terri, GM

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 12 January 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience4

Good overall experience. We were only disappointed to hear that the milanaise dish and two other main dish had run out. A kids menu would be a welcome addition.

Brookmans
Responded on 16 January 2020

Hi there! Thanks so much for your feedback- taking the time to let us know your thoughts is very much appreciated! We have a Children's Menu, so give us a shout and we can always supply that one. We don't give it out on a Sunday as we don't do all the dishes on there but we are more than happy to talk you through what we can do or alter some dishes if we can. We'd love for you to give us another try next time you're near by to see if we can garner that illusive fifth star. Thanks, Terri GM

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 15 December 2019
Overall1food1service2ambience2

We were given a Sunday only menu. Everything on this menu had basically run out .
Even after we placed our order we were later told another two starters were unavailable.
Our table was not cleared of the starters as the mains arrived .
We waited a long time between starters and main course.
When it arrived everyone’s meal was at best warm but having children and being hungry and not wanting to cause unease at a birthday celebration we ate. The roasts which were supposed to come with seasonal veg had lots of hard not andante carrots and a smidge of what looked like kale.
The meals looked as they’d been left under a hot plate.
On ordering desserts these also were unavailable .
Nobody wanted to cause a fuss at the time but we were all very disappointed, and in retrospect unsure why they took our booking or could not give us an alternative menu .
There were also 3 other large tables in our area also being given the limited options.
I feel if people book and they know you are coming despite being busy which would be obvious for the time of year they should have been better prepared. They could have asked us to pre order , given us an alternative menu or if not up to the task not taken our booking or those of others .
My annoyance at being told they had been busy was they were not expecting the other customers whereas we who had pre booked 2 weeks before had been offered the leftovers.
We had eaten there in the past and were not impressed.
Having come more recently we were more than pleasantly surprised. We had a wonderful meal.We recommended the Brookmans to other family members who also had enjoyable meals so with this in mind we booked the birthday meal for my mother so we could enjoy a meal together.
As I said before very disappointed and not impressed.
Not impressed and not happy.
The staff were all courteous and polite

DP
DanP
1 review
Dined on 2 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Nice food,Friendly staff,good atmosphere and well designed.

EF
ElizabethF
1 review
Dined on 1 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best pub roast dinner I've probably ever had and fantastic staff too

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
5 reviews
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall1food1service5ambience5

We can only guess that the chef has changed. The food was delicious is now tasteless. Extraordinary!

Brookmans
Responded on 25 November 2019

Hi there, I'm super sorry you haven't enjoyed your visit to the Brookmans & felt the score of a 1 star necessary. I'd love to chat about your experience so we can learn & improve from it, and hopefully turn your opinion around. If you could drop us an email to Brookmans@peachpubs.co with your number, I'll give you a call so we can chat. Thanks Terri. GM

Report
CW
CarolW
Berkshire
2 reviews
Dined on 10 November 2019
Overall2food3service1ambience1

We were disappointed with the service especially . This was a surprise as usually we enjoy eating at the Brookmans

AK
AKIK
London
8 reviews
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We really enjoyed our first visit to Brookmans. Tye service was really good, very attentice and friendly staff. The food did take a bit of a while to arrive but was definitely worth the wsit. Goodvalue, not overpriced. We'll definitely be going back.

s
stephen
Hertfordshire
8 reviews
Dined on 14 June 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

First class staff and attention to our need to be served quickly as we

RH
vipRichardH
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall3food4service4ambience3

Lots of items not available on the menu which was very poor for a Saturday night.

E
Elmo
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 8 March 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Great to have a village pub that is so versatile. We love being able to take friends and family there anytime.

JS
JoannaS
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 26 February 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Really wonderful relaxed family gastropub - lovely menu, alterations if you have intolerances are no problem. Becca the waitress is outstanding in her job. Will definitely be going back.

DW
DamonW
London
3 reviews
Dined on 23 February 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Vibrant place to enjoy a meal or just a drink.
There is a very buzzy bar scene, super friendly staff.
Food is exceptional and the wine to boot.
Right next to the train station.
Terry has the place running like a well oiled machine.
Well worth a try,seasonal change to the menu.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Dined on 2 February 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The deli sharer was 4 magnificent dishes. Loved the crab on crumpets but the winner was the chicken wings, I normally avoid chicken wings!

D
Doris
London
6 reviews
Dined on 1 February 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Tried on a recommendation; perfect bar, comfortable for newcomers, had the special menu, excellent service, very good food.

IB
IanB
Singapore
4 reviews
Dined on 26 December 2018
Overall2food1service1ambience3

Never expect to go to a restaurant and be served oven chips but that is what happened here - dreadful food!

CS
CatherineS
London
8 reviews
Dined on 25 November 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely Sunday Lunch - shame the prices advertised on their promotional emails weren’t available on the menu but nice food

P
Pandora
London
4 reviews
Dined on 6 October 2018
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Been a few times now, approx 25mins drive from us, staff always lovely, food always good, little noisy particularly if party in side room. Little cold each time we went as quite open. Definitely go back soon

FAQs

Brookmans offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at 01707 664144.

Brookmans is rated 4.4 stars by 108 OpenTable diners.

Brookmans does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://peach-pubs.vouchercart.com/category/brookmans-2724.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.