This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitising, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.

Chotto Matte Soho

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
2195 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£41 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Peruvian
Chotto Matte brings together the best of Japanese and Peruvian cultures serving high-quality Nikkei cuisine and colourful cocktails.

What is Nikkei?
Years ago Japanese immigrants travelled to Peru for work and could not find their authentic ingredients; to overcome this they used local ingredients to substitute. Nikkei was born.

What is Chotto Matte
It is the experience.
Our professional staff know every ingredient on all dishes and how to best serve you the customer. Added to which it is the Chotto Matte way that no GM no MSG, no artificial flavors are used. Product quality is key, it is our mission to provide the best experience possible.

“Let the waiter do it for you. They will work around your likes and allergies to craft the best experience possible just for you.”

Kurt Zdesar
Owner and Restauranteur

Email: soho@chotto-matte.com
Tel: 0207 042 7171

Support Chotto Matte Soho during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Clean menu provided to every guest
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 2195 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.1
service
4.3
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had the most wonderful evening. We celebrated my son’s 23rd bday and his graduation from university and the staff were fabulous. Very generous! Extremely pleased with the food and the service. Thank you for making the evening so special! 👍👍

JW
JacobW
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall2food2service1ambience1

Terrible service, incredibly overpriced. Food ridiculously average

P
Priya
London
4 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, atmosphere was lively and service from the Brazilian manager was excellent

AK
AbiK
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What a fabulous way to spend our first night out after lockdown.
Every single thing about our evening was perfect from our table outside, the food, the drink and the fantastic staff. Literally can’t wait to come back. Thank you 😊

LE
LindaE
Toronto
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Great time as usual and amazing food! So glad to be back after 3 months of lockdown and love the extended patio on the road in soho.

Only thing which is partially my fault was later in the night when reviewing my bill I realised we hadn’t received one of the dishes we ordered but ended up paying for it! Was in such a food coma from ordering so much I didn’t even notice at the time ! But again this was my fault since I didn’t noticed when paying. Oh well will just have to be more observant next time and not order too much!

AA
AyeshaA
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food and service, the best Japanese place in London

A
vipAreej1984
London
3 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience5

The food was delicious

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
4 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Fab atmosphere and some of the best sushi in London!

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

They’re managing the social distancing and registration process well. Service and good still very good.

c
ctdines
London
4 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had an excellent time for dinner on Friday. Absolutely delicious food, great atmosphere despite low numbers and service was excellent- I was even bought a birthday treat!
They’ve done a fanstastic job given the circumstances!

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Exceptional

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience4

They forgot the sauce to the main, didnt apologiser. The pork was way over cooked. £75 for a set menu....the first dinner out since quarantine. Bitterly disappointed as I’ve had good meals there before.

w
wanwansara
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was amazing and so was the ambience. They have quite low seats/tables which was a bit uncomfortable.

Chotto Matte Soho
Responded 4 days ago

Dear Wanwansara, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Chotto Matte. We will make sure to pass on your comments to our team and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Team Chotto Matte

Report
A
Amit
London
5 reviews
Dined on 5 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food and service as always!

Chotto Matte Soho
Responded on 6 July 2020

Thanks for the kind words AmitV! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
f
foodie1234
London
2 reviews
Dined on 5 July 2020
Overall2food2service4ambience4

The food quality has been dripping - menu has changed for the worse, food not as good and prices have gone up. I have to say the service was very good and polite, staff was wonderful. Stop changing the menu’s and removing all the good items!!

LA
LauraA
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Delicious food and cocktails, pleasant atmosphere and superb service! Loved all the dishes we ordered: various sushi (maki + crispy sushi platter), cassava wedges, octopus, black cod and ceviche - so well cooked and fine flavours! Our waiter Miguel was very attentive, polite and kind, checking in at times to see if we were pleased and needed anything. As recommended by him, we had the salted caramel chocolate fondant for dessert - incredible, including the quality ice cream with it! Indeed recommended - and also chose the Peruvian cream - very good but a bit too rich as we were already quite full! Overall an amazing experience, on ambience and food level, and human level through the service received. Thanks Miguel and Chotto Matte! :)

Chotto Matte Soho
Responded on 6 July 2020

Thank you very much for your lovely review LauraA, your kind words have been passed along to Miguel! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Chotto Matte Team

Report
NS
NehaS
Miami
2 reviews
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall2food4service2ambience2

Booked for a special occasion, seated in a noisy area where I was knocked by a waiter. Waited 40 minutes to order drinks, course on the sharing menu was forgotten so we took this as a takeaway instead. Food was delicious but would not come here on a special occasion again as the ambience and experience was not relaxing or special.

Chotto Matte Soho
Responded on 6 July 2020

Thank you for your review NehaS. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food however, sorry to hear that the overall experience fell short. Your feedback is important to us and so I would kindly ask for you to get in touch with us so that we can follow up Chotto Matte Team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Brighton
3 reviews
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall4food5service2ambience4

Food as always was exceptional. Service however is always not so great. If I hadn’t been before I would think they had issues because of just opening after lockdown, but it’s always slow, getting things wrong etc... if you can deal with that the food is sort it and the main reason I keep going back? The yellowtail is phenomenal and the tasting menus are always really good. (Would recommend the Nikkei III)

Chotto Matte Soho
Responded on 6 July 2020

Thank you very much for your feedback, delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food however, sorry to hear that the service you received fell short of expectations. We did experience some technical glitches which unfortunately had a knock on effect to our service. Please do let us know when you rebook, we very much look forward to seeing you again soon! Chotto Matte Team

Report
AA
AaronA
London
4 reviews
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall3food5service3ambience4

Great food available, and was different. The service needs to improve but to be fair it was their first opening since cornovirus and they did reduce the bill and apologised.

Chotto Matte Soho
Responded 7 days ago

Dear Aaron, Thank you for your feedback. We will make sure to pass your comments on to our team and ensure additional training is implemented to improve our service. We hope to see you again soon, Team Chotto Matte

Report
LS
LuciaS
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall2food3service1ambience2

Food was amazing, usually my favourite restaurant in London but on this particular visit the service was very poor.

Chotto Matte Soho
Responded on 6 July 2020

Thank you for your review LuciaS. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food however, sorry to hear that the service your received on Saturday fell short. Please do let us know when you rebook, we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the usual standard of service you have experienced with us previously. Chotto Matte Team

Report
EB
EmmaB
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall1food3service1ambience3

So incredibly disappointed. My favourite restaurant and was so excited for the reopening. However I am now not sure if I will return. We had a two hour time slot and eventually got our mains after 1hr 55 mins when there were people there waiting for our table. Ordered a sharing menu and a number of the dishes never arrived. Had to wait 50 minutes for drinks to arrive which we could see sitting on the side for ages. This wasn’t due to the restaurant being busy, more the staff who clearly were all new did not know what was going on due to not being trained. We ended up having to leave with our mains in a paper bag and when we got home some were missing. The menu online has changed a lot and there are no sides on their new menu which seems quite strange. The staff were lovely and tried, and in terms of safety it was brilliant - tables spread out, staff with masks on, hand sanitiser available etc. Really disappointed, just hope in time it returns to being the outstanding restaurant it once was

Chotto Matte Soho
Responded on 6 July 2020

Thank you very much for your feedback EmmaB. We are very sorry to hear that you were let down on Saturday, we did experience some technical glitches which sadly caused some big delays, we are also taking menu feedback seriously and will reflect this as best we can in the coming weeks. We very much hope to welcome you back to enjoy the usual standard of service you have experienced with us previously. Chotto Matte Team

Report
JM
JasmineM
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall1food2service1ambience2

Half of the order came out, then the 2nd half came out around 45mins-1hr of us sitting down (bare in mind tables that came in after us had finished eating and left and we was still waiting on food). When the rest of the food finally came out the same dishes we had already ordered had come out (slow cooked beef actually came out 4 times!). The fire alarm was continuously going off with the room filling with smoke. Completely understand it was the first day opening but nothing was offered to us. When ordering drinks we had to keep reminding staff we was waiting on drinks to. Chotto Matte was always my favourite place to eat however this certainly isn’t the case anymore.

Chotto Matte Soho
Responded on 6 July 2020

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience fell short on Saturday. We did experience some technical glitches which unfortunately had a knock on effect to our service. Your feedback is important to us and so I would kindly ask you to get in touch with us so that we can follow up and seek to rectify things. Chotto Matte Team

Report
AB
AmanB
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and drink as always. Despite the restrictions of Covid we felt comfortable and had a great evening

Chotto Matte Soho
Responded on 6 July 2020

Thank you AmanB! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall2food4service3ambience5

Chotto Matte is a cool and interesting place. However, we’ve had a slightly negative experience due to my husband’s allergies. The manager assured us he is aware of the allergies and dishes will be adapted but twice we were brought dishes that he absolutely couldn’t have and if not my nature to double check everything, the evening would have ended up us going to a hospital. A few servers had absolutely no idea what they were bringing us. A cross contamination did occur and he had to find a pharmacy as he was experiencing a minor reaction. On the whole, everyone was nice and polite and my husband’s food was taken off the bill but it was hard to enjoy the evening after the pharmacy. We didn’t eat half of the remaining food from the tasting menu, which we did take away. And we later realised that we were never offered or packed the dessert that was part of the tasting menu. The ambience and music was very nice! And when leaving, the manager apologised again. On the whole, it’s a fun and lovely place but maybe not very well suited for people with allergies.

Chotto Matte Soho
Responded on 6 July 2020

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am very sorry to read of your's and your husband's experience with us on Saturday. I would greatly appreciate if you might be able to drop me a line to discuss your experience further. Chotto Matte Team

Report
p
panda
London
6 reviews
Dined on 4 July 2020
Overall3food5service1ambience4

Server went back and forth to the kitchen, many order mistakes and took very long. However, the food was delicious.