Coastguard

4.1
111 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British
Top tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Scenic View
  • Lunch
Welcome to The Coastguard, we are located on the bay of St Margarets, with a beautiful view of France surrounded by the White Cliffs. The Coastguard offers a cosy and warm atmosphere with a roaring fire, complete with stunning views and delicious food.

Dogs are very welcome in our bar area & outside.

Please note the seating in the bar is limited so please do call ahead if you wish to eat inside and bring your dog.

By reading this message, you are agreeing to our terms and reservation policy: for parties of 12 or more, private room bookings, or special menu bookings (such as Christmas, Mother’s day, etc, we will take your credit card details to confirm the booking. Nothing will be charged to your card initially, however in the event of a cancellation within 72 hours we reserve the right to charge 50% of the menu price, and within 24 hours or for a ‘no show’ the full price to your card.
What 111 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.0
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
AP
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 3food 2service 1ambience 2

We waited ages for a drinks to arrive and the order was wrong. The food order was wrong also when it arrived. Live music was good but too loud - I couldn’t hear the person sitting next to me. No tartar sauce to go with the fish & chips apparently cause they make it fresh but they should have a back up plan if they run out of time to do this. The fish was tasteless and the roast potatoes were hard and not cooked thoroughly enough. Felt like they have a captive market so they aren’t worried about the food quality - the staff seemed pleasant but didn’t seem to know what was on the menu! Overall wouldn’t return and would eat before or after the visit to the beach!

RF
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 3

It was ok, not great, foot let them down. My onion soup was cold, sticky toffee pudding was not, more like plum pudding, fish & chips was very mediocre.

HW
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The meal we had at Coastguard was amazing. It is a lovely spot and fabulous restaurant. It was a pity the weather was bad but that didn’t stop us taking in the breath taking views.

RF
Kent
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 1ambience 5

80 minutes waiting since we arrived till our menus came. Although we were with 2 little kids, they did not mind at all.

OT
1 review
Dined on 11 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Nice location, good food and friendly service.

TH
1 review
Dined on 6 August 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 3

Went on the grill night 2 4 1 throught the streak over price

JP
London
1 review
Dined on 4 August 2019
Overall 3food 2service 5ambience 5

Lovely place and pretty setting. We were seated at a table which unfortunately was the main small walkway to the men's toilet, my partner had to stand up to let people past 3 times within 3 minutes of us being seated. We moved to another more suitable area. Our food was very mediocre to be honest, not what we were expecting... Expected home made fries but they were frozen and pale and tasteless. Humus was not nice at all, butter bean hummus I think. Fish was a good size portion and okay but large mushroom tasteless. Steak at £22 was tasteless too and chewy. The chorizo side was delicious though along with the bread. Sticky toffee pudding was strange, more like a cross between Xmas pudd and bread and butter pudd..not nice at all.
We had to wait nearly half an hour for a drinks order, I think they had forgotten. Service was good though and considerate of our needs so can't fault them, just the food really which is a shame.

CL
1 review
Dined on 30 July 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Service second to none lovely hostesses, food was great we all had coastguard burgers which were lush but if you don't like your burger pink be mindful of the fact this does come with a blush. The atmosphere was delightful decor very sea-side but tastefully done, noise level was medium but it was very busy so just general chat/white noise. If you sit outside you get the delightful sounds of the rolling waves and views of ferries going into nearby port of Dover. Overall a great relaxing evening.

SR
Kent
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Have been to coastguard a few times and the food is lovely.

MW
1 review
Dined on 22 July 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 5

Superb setting! What a view.
Service is very good, very friendly.
Food was fine.

OT
London
24 reviews
Dined on 22 July 2019
Overall 5food 2service 3ambience 4

The position of this restaurant is perfectly located on a very rucked away St Margaret's in Dover/Deal in Kent lovely bay and the Coastguard nettles nicely on the coast looking straight over to France on a clear day there is plenty of parking - and today was a scorcher - my friend and I booked a table for the inside but the beach, sun & scenery were too beautiful so we asked to sit outside which was no problem (except for those uncomfortable bench seats which I am not a great fan!) Staff are friendly and accommodating - But as the heat was so intense that after a while had to move back inside - for the shade and to cool down. The food was average pub fayre.

M
Sydney / NSW
1 review
Dined on 19 July 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 5

The staff were most helpful but the food wasn't to the same quality ... my wife ordered the crab but what came out tasted like reconstituted crab and tuna - it was very unpalatable! My sausages and mash was ok though there was too much mash.

OT
London
1 review
Dined on 19 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food with friendly service in a beautiful setting.

Z
London
14 reviews
Dined on 16 July 2019
Overall 4food 4service 2ambience 5

This was the perfect venue for a sunny lunchtime get-together. The food is straightforward and well prepared as well as being plentiful. It is also good value. The setting is absolutely splendid with France in the distance and surrounded by beautiful white cliffs. The only problem was there was just one person serving behind the bar dealing with both the food and the drinks. This meant that a long queue built-up. We were surprised at this as they must’ve been aware that this was going to be a busy time.

LF
1 review
Dined on 16 July 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 4

Amazing location, fabulous welcome from staff but menu so very limited.

OT
London
1 review
Dined on 14 July 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 3

The place is a lively pub/restaurant with good value food. We had a Sunday lunch which was very good. We were disappointed at the lack of choice on the sweet menu and very disappointed that they did not have any custard. The staff it seems are in training as they provided us with 2 gin and tonics with no ice and just slices of Lemmon. They had a good selection of gins but did not seem to have much imagination on serving them. As gin is so popular now so many places have really got into serving gin offering different tonic water, light, normal, elderflower Mediterranean etc. Also we have gone beyond the slice of lemon, for instance Hendricks being a cucumber based gin should be served with a twist of cucumber. There are many things that are added to gin these days.

SJ
1 review
Dined on 13 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I booked a table for a friends birthday and it was a lovely experience.
The staff were very friendly and any thing we needed was retrieved with a smile. I highly value a good customer service and I would go back to the coastguard for this alone.
The food was brilliant and very good quality.
The place was nice and clean and the decor was fitting to the name and location of the restaurant and was fun.
We all genuinely said we must go back there.

MR
1 review
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely place, amazing location, excellent food, and great service; what more could you want!

G
London
2 reviews
Dined on 5 July 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 4

Think there wasn’t enough staff

JB
1 review
Dined on 4 July 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 2

Staff were inexperienced
Were asked if we wanted starter and main course at the same time.
My partner plate was removed before I had finished.
They then brought the bill and I was STILL eating.
Very unprofessional

GM
Kent
2 reviews
Dined on 4 July 2019
Overall 2food 3service 4ambience 3

Stunning location but very disappointing experience. The team of young staff was extremely polite, friendly and helpful; the manageress tried her best but what lets this place down is the kitchen. Not sure if the space is very small therefore staff there cannot cope with the demand or if complete prep is not done but a long long wait for service to start and another long wait for the second course demonstrated a problem. However the food was well prepared, tasted good and showed a certain professional experience therefore the processes from order to service need to be explored and improved. A reduction of dishes offered on the menu might be a start.
I said I would recommend this place to a friend but I would also warn them about the very long wait.

DS
1 review
Dined on 30 June 2019
Overall 1food 1service 2ambience 2

Been before was absolutely brilliant so returned for a roast, Arrived and asked how they could help, said I had a booking but the lady was taking food to a table so saidnot to worry for the min as I could see she was busy was left standing there for ages and then a group of people who came in for their table after us was seen to first, was taken to our table which was pulled from another empty table in front of us and it wasn’t even paid for service, then eventually was asked what we wanted, 45 mins after arriving we still hadn’t even got the bread we ordered as a starter so asked about it and was eventually brought it (appropriate it was busy but it’s bread) then when our dinner arrived my potatoes were under cooked and my partners where very over done, anyway asked for the under cooked ones to be replaced and they came back looking like the over cooked ones my partner had, couldn’t eat them......eat more then I wanted to just because I had waited so long and was hungry just the same as my partner, was really disappointed as it was so lovely before, kind gentleman took our dinner off the bill but left just as hungry as when we came in

BB
Kent
1 review
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 3food 4service 4ambience 2

Went on very busy day, felt very cramped regarding seating. Had to wait for some time for our food but was excellent when it eventually arrived. Asked for music to be turned down as conversation was difficult. We had an excellent waitress who told us there was a problem in the kitchen. Would we visit again? Not at a Weekend in the middle of summer.

OT
Kent
3 reviews
Dined on 25 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Staff very good and the food is as well as the choice.

S
Kent
5 reviews
Dined on 23 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Service was friendly, attentive and efficient

PI
1 review
Dined on 21 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

We waited a few minutes on arrival before being given any sort of greeting. A smile and a brief ‘we’ll be with you in a moment’ would have been good. Service was rather slow - approx 35 minutes but that was not serious because we were not in a hurry. To be fair it was busy.

JB
1 review
Dined on 18 June 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Good service, great food, good atmosphere, lovely views

Y
London
4 reviews
Dined on 16 June 2019
Overall 3food 5service 1ambience 3

Lovely location and we were lucky enough to sit outside in the sunshine lapping up the view. However the service outside involves ordering at the bar which is fine but the queue was out the door with only one person serving drinks and food. We visited on Father’s Day at 2 so assumed the restaurant would have been prepared for high volume of trade. It wasn’t heaving but food took 40 minutes to arrive and if we wanted to get another drink we had to brave the queue at the bar so we ended up eating without drinks.

Coastguard
Responded on 15 July 2019

Thank you for reviewing us. Sorry, you had such long queues. We are currently trying to organise our ipad ordering system for outside, but this is taking longer than we hoped. Hopefully, it will be sorted soon and especially before the busy summer months.

Report
HG
1 review
Dined on 15 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Helpful and friendly staff, very accommodating for our family meal, on what was obviously a very busy day for them. Thanks very much, we enjoyed our food and will be back for sure.

Coastguard
Responded on 15 July 2019

Thank you for your review, delighted that you will come back!

Report
JV
1 review
Dined on 14 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. My brother in law is suffering from cancer and although he thought he could manage a meal when it arrived he took a turn for the worse and was unable to eat even a mouthful. His meal was removed without fuss and with genuine concern by the staff who refused to bill us for his meal. We were very impressed. Thank you so much.

Coastguard
Responded on 15 July 2019

Thank you for your review. I will pass this back to the front of house team. I hope your brother in law is feeling a bit better.

Report
S
London
20 reviews
Dined on 14 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The staff are very welcoming. Situated on the coast with excellent views. The food was delicious. Fish and chips the best experience for a long time. So fresh. Would definitely recommend.

Coastguard
Responded on 15 July 2019

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you would recommend us.

Report
CW
1 review
Dined on 11 June 2019
Overall 2food 5service 1ambience 1

Lovely food but staff had to be seen to be believed. Tables far too close together and there's a wooden pole running behind the seats. A rope is entwined to the pole so very uncomfortable to sit back. Why so many cushions. Ridiculous. Can hear everyone else's conversation as too near to other diners. Staff were clearly auditioning for upcoming only fools and horses evening.

Shame, as a great location. Will try no 81 hopefully staff don't work at both locations.

Coastguard
Responded on 15 July 2019

Very sorry to read you had such a disappointing visit with us. Your comments will be fedback to the team. This is not the standard we are aiming for. Once again we are very sorry.

Report
FB
Kent
1 review
Dined on 7 June 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 5

Overall dissapointed especially with the food, mackerel starter was bland and small and soup was like a tin of veg soup. All food overpriced Mackeral main was so small and overcooked and served on a badly matched potato salad? Fish n chips x2 came out 1 fish drastically smaller than the other one. Service was fine. Will not return or recommend because of the food.

Coastguard
Responded on 15 July 2019

Very sorry to hear how disappointed you were with our food. All your comments will be fed back to the kitchen team. This is not at all the standard we are aiming for. Once again very sorry you were so disappointed.

Report
JG
Kent
2 reviews
Dined on 26 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Super food, great staff and beautiful place overlooking the sea. Also dog friendlly

Coastguard
Responded on 29 May 2019

Thank you for your review. Delighted you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully, see you again soon.

Report
OT
Kent
2 reviews
Dined on 25 May 2019
Overall 4food 4service 2ambience 4

Lovely views and good pub grub, the staff were very pleasant but totally distracted and it was a struggle to get their attention to pay the bill.

Coastguard
Responded on 15 July 2019

Thank you for your review and your feedback especially about our staff. This will be fed back in our team meeting. Hope you might give us another try at some point.

Report
ME
London
1 review
Dined on 19 May 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

Great service, food and views you couldn't ask for any more.
We were a table of 4 for Sunday lunch and everything from the moment we walked through the door was spot on

Coastguard
Responded on 29 May 2019

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again!

Report
LB
Kent
1 review
Dined on 19 May 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Lovely meal. Good service. Nice ambience. Will definitely visit again.

Coastguard
Responded on 29 May 2019

What a great review - thank you! We look forward to you coming back!

Report
A
Kent
2 reviews
Dined on 18 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The waiting staff were excellent, and waited patiently for us to make up our minds!. The food arrived promptly and was delicious. In particular the Onion Bhargee burger was a perfect texture and very good favouring, I would recommend it to meat eaters and vegetarians alike. My husband, a chocolate lover, remarked it was the best brownie he'd had. A very pleasant evening.

Coastguard
Responded on 29 May 2019

What a fabulous review! Thank you so much!

Report
IP
Norfolk
4 reviews
Dined on 18 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

As usual excellent food, friendly staff, good service and cracking location

Coastguard
Responded on 29 May 2019

Thank you for your review - so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report
TK
1 review
Dined on 14 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Food was amazing, service was great considering they were fully booked and only two on the bar! A little cold in there (which just meant lending my wife my scarf!) and everyone was super friendly. Great vegan options 🥂

Coastguard
Responded on 29 May 2019

Great review! Thank you. Sorry about it being a bit cold though.

Report
1
2
3