Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. Edinburgh/Midlothian
  4. Edinburgh
  5. Edinburgh
Rooftop Terrace at Cold Town House - Cold Town House, Edinburgh,

Cold Town House

4.4
4.4
1672 Reviews
£25 and under
Brewery
Craft beer brewed on-site, delicious Neapolitan pizzas and one of the best views of Edinburgh Castle from our Rooftop Terrace. Cold Town House is where it’s happening.

Best Beer Bar Winner at the Scottish Beer Awards 2021 & National Pizza Awards Finalist 2021!

THREE DIFFERENT AREAS

* The Brewhouse - Our main restaurant and drinks area is a cool wooden interior with references to beer throughout. It's all about atmosphere! Dog-friendly.

* Pizza & Prosecco Floor - A gorgeous interior on our first floor. Our microbrewery and pizza oven are on this floor, so you can watch our team in action as they cook and brew for you.

* Rooftop Terrace - Cocktails, beers and an exclusive food menu served under a glorious view of Edinburgh Castle. Our iconic rooftop is perfect for any outdoor occasion

Last bookings for food are at 8.45pm, later bookings will only be for drinks. Please note that our Terrace closes at 10pm daily.

Walk-ins welcome!

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 45 times today

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    Brewery, Pizzeria, Scottish
  • Hours of Operation
    Mon–Thu 12:00–23:00 Fri 11:00–00:00 Sat 11:00–01:00 Sun 11:00–23:00
  • Phone number
    0131 357 2865
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress Code
    Casual Dress
  • Private party facilities
    With three floors we have something for everyone.Call 0131 357 2865 to speak with a member of our events team. Or for more information on our bespoke packages and to arrange a visit please send an email to: reservations@coldtownhouse.co.uk.Enquire today and let us create something extra special for you and your guests.
  • Area
    Edinburgh
  • Parking Details
    None
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Dancing, Dog Friendly, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Indoor Fireplace, Late Night, Outdoor Firepit, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Vegan, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Gift card

Gift card

Send gift cards instantly by email or print to present in person.

Send a gift card

What 1,672 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.4
4.4 based on recent ratings
  • 4.4Food
  • 4.3Service
  • 4.5Ambience
  • 4.2Value

NoiseEnergetic

Loved For

  • Edinburgh/Midlothian

    Hot spot

  • Edinburgh/Midlothian

    Great for scenic views

  • Edinburgh/Midlothian

    Lively

  • Edinburgh/Midlothian

    Most Booked

  • Edinburgh

    Hot spot

  • Edinburgh

    Great for scenic views

  • Edinburgh

    Lively

  • Edinburgh

    Most Booked

1,672 Reviews
  1. Char

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Good food, good portion sizes, you get plenty for your money, we definitely ordered too much. Staff were all really friendly and welcoming. Casual chill vibe, good for an easy meal or drink out.

    Is this helpful?

  2. AndyC

    Warwickshire

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    Generally a nice place and will return, however the staff need to be more focused and attentive. We were often waiting when you could see the team having a good chat about whatever and really need to be looking after the customer, especially when they are adding service to the bill automatically which I personally do not like! Food lovely and otherwise a great place, for sure!

    Is this helpful?

  3. HaakanZ

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 12 April 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    The wetheter was realy cold outside. The gasheather had run out of gas. If these hade been in order we think the overall visit hade been great
    Cold Town HouseResponded 4 days ago
    Hi Haakan, thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. Unfortunately we can't control the weather but next time you're in, just mention the gas to the bar staff as we always have plenty of spares.

    Is this helpful?

  4. OpenTable Diner

    Exclusive

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 6 April 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    The food was lovely! We ate in the terrace which was beautiful with an amazing view of the castle. It is in a central spot in Old Town so very convenient. Unfortunately it was very windy on the day so definitely check the weather before choosing to sit in the terrace!
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 11 April 2024
    Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

    Is this helpful?

  5. TamberW

    Philadelphia

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 3 April 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 5
    We loved the wide range of menu offerings and drinks. The atmosphere was fantastic - just bummed it was pouring and we couldn’t see the terrace! The food was terrific - our only complaint was that the kitchen seemed to be very backed up and it wasn’t during lunch rush time. But again, bc it was raining so we weren’t in a rush to go back out in the weather. The staff was lovely and so friendly. We 100% would come back and recommend our state-side friends to come!
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 7 April 2024
    Hi Tamberw, thank you so much for your positive comments about Cold Town House! Thanks for the recommendation, and hope to see you again soon! Thanks, Jamie

    Is this helpful?

  6. OpenTable Diner

    Charlotte

    10 reviews

    vip
    1.0

    10 reviews

    Dined on 30 March 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 2
    First reservation for lunch service in pizza and Prosecco section. Beer and Prosecco came quick, but appetizer took 20minutes and another 45mins after we finished app before our mains came and all the mains were cold except for the fish on my daughters fish and chips and even her chips were cold. Had to just deal with it because we had a castle tour booked. Overall beautiful spot but an awful experience. May try again on a different level and or for dinner because it is so close and looks like it should be good
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 4 April 2024
    We are sorry to hear about your experience with us wasn't up to the high standards we push as each and every guest that walks through the door is important to us, we hope you would give us an opportunity to rectify this for you! Please get in touch with us directly at cth.management@signaturepubs.co.uk so we can turn this around for you. Look forward to hearing from you! Jordan

    Is this helpful?

  7. OpenTable Diner

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    They have the Best pizza and drinks hereZ service is great
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 1 April 2024
    Thanks for the 5 star review! Couldn't agree more about our pizza's, we're really proud of them!! Great to hear the other aspects of your visit were also up to par! Jamie

    Is this helpful?

  8. Sarah

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Absolutely delicious food and lovely staff. Thank you for looking after my guests!
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 1 April 2024
    Hi Sarah, Delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much, and thank you for the kind feedback for the team! Hope to see you again soon! Jamie

    Is this helpful?

  9. ConorM

    Yorkshire

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 26 March 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 2
    Like Cold Town House and the staff are always lovely. BUT, we repeatedly now book a table specifically to watch the football on the big screen - and always mention this in the booking notes and when we arrive - and every time for the last three or four occasions, we've been asked to move tables (often out of sight of the screens) because of another booking. This needs to either made clear that bookings do not last as long as football games do - in which case we'll go elsewhere - or the venue needs to pay more attention to where it sits guests. It's a shame as the staff are lovely and only doing their job, but we will probably start going somewhere else because of this constant issue.
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 1 April 2024
    Hi ConorM, sorry to hear that you haven't had the best experience when booking for live sports, and thanks for taking the time to leave detailed feedback, it really helps us to improve on these areas. Part of the limitations of the guest request feature is that we have to manually check every booking , every day and that sometimes means that on busy days there isn't much flexibilty with later bookings. The good news is we have an in house reservations team on hand to make sure we can hit all our guests needs! For the next game, email us at reservations@coldtownhouse.co.uk and we can make sure we get you the perfect seat, at your desired time, and for the necessary duration! Many thanks, Jamie

    Is this helpful?

  10. MagsC

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 22 March 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Lovely spot, attentive staff, limited menu - thumbs up for the haggis pizza!!
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 26 March 2024
    Thank you very much for the great review! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the haggis pizza! See you soon

    Is this helpful?

  11. AdamB

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 16 March 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Enjoyable lunch on the roof terrace. Quite chilled out and not too cold, thankfully. They do provide blankets in case it is. Food is like very good pub grub, won't blow your mind but was tasty. Definitely worth a visit.
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 20 March 2024
    Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit Adam. We hope to see you again soon.

    Is this helpful?

  12. OpenTable Diner

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 2 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    The best pizzas, great beer and friendly service. Quickly becoming a birthday tradition.
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 5 March 2024
    Thanks so much for the great review, and for enjoying celebrations with us!!! Hope it was a great one! If there's something we can do to make any future occasions even more special you can always contact us with any requests at reservations@coldtownhouse.co.uk ! Hope to see you again soon! Jamie

    Is this helpful?

  13. AmandaG

    Glasgow

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 2 March 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 2
    Very disappointed overall .food average , burgers and pizza a bit over priced very noisy but not much of an atmosphere .wouldn't rush back
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 6 March 2024
    Hi Amandag thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. Disappointing to hear that you didn't find our food value for money. Do hope you try us again in the future and have a more enjoyable expericence! Thanks, Jamie

    Is this helpful?

  14. JohnK

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 2 March 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Service is excellent the food and the beer were great and we met some really nice people from Austin Texas.
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 5 March 2024
    Hi Johnk, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Cold Town House. Delighted we could meet your expectations!! Hope to see you again in the future! Many thanks, Jamie

    Is this helpful?

  15. ConorH

    Dublin

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 25 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Unreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaalllllllllllllllll
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 29 February 2024
    Conorh, thank you so much for your high rating! We agree, our beer is unreal! Have a great day!

    Is this helpful?

  16. OpenTable Diner

    Buckinghamshire

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 24 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    Very very busy and loud. Staff all happy and helpful. Had booked thankfully. Advised of delay from murrayfield. Couldn’t have been more helpful. Tasty food chips and haggis amazing. Much enjoyed shall return another time.
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 27 February 2024
    We are very happy we could provide you with a positive experience! Thank you and have a great day!

    Is this helpful?

  17. Jodie

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 24 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Went here for a girls night - food, drinks, service were all fantastic!! Atmosphere was great! Would definitely recommend :)
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 27 February 2024
    Jodie, we are so happy to read such a great review about Cold Town House! Have a great day!

    Is this helpful?

  18. DrewC

    Edinburgh

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 22 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 3
    Food and drink were good in terms of quality and value. Staff unfriendly and reluctant to help with ordering or settling payment.

    Is this helpful?

  19. OpenTable Diner

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 22 February 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    Staff were rude and never got pizza as was meant to be included in ticket price.
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 5 March 2024
    Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Thursday's EYP event was the first held here at Cold Town House and with 70+ guests attending we tried to make sure there was plenty of pizza's circulating so everyone could get their slice! It's disappointing to hear that you weren't happy with the nights customer service, something we pride ourselves on, if you were willing to get in touch with more information about you're experience please contact us on cth.management@signaturepubs.co.uk Many thanks, Jamie

    Is this helpful?

  20. DuddingstonLady

    Yorkshire

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 19 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    We wanted a nice place to have drinks and cocktails ahead of dinner in another restaurant in the Grassmarket. Cold Town House did not disappoint. The range of cocktails is very good and Dancing Queen was a firm favourite. The home brewed beers did not disappoint either. The 3 young men who served us were very attentive without being intrusive. Good value for money too.
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 23 February 2024
    Duddingstonlady, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

    Is this helpful?

  21. Karolina

    West Palm Beach

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 18 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 5
    We got a table on the rooftop, it was a great way to view the castle. The decor is awesome and great spot for some great social media photos if that is what you are into. The food was good and the beers were super cold.
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 12 March 2024
    Hi Karolina, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Cold Town House. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Hope to see you again for some more cold beers!! Jamie

    Is this helpful?

  22. WilliamM

    Edinburgh

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Very friendly staff very good food great music all round great place to spend an evening
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 21 February 2024
    Hi William, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Cold Town House! We hope to see you back in again soon

    Is this helpful?

  23. Netty73

    Edinburgh

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 10 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Very lovely afternoon watching rugby then dinner in Brewhouse bar, music went quite loud inbetween rugby but was soon lowered although I was loving the tunes!!! Really friendly and efficient staff and my husband got a free pint for his birthday, 'lovely touch' 🍺 Cold town house is a cool place, 5 🌟 all round
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 12 February 2024
    Hi Netty, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Cold Town House! We're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

    Is this helpful?

  24. OpenTable Diner

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 4
    The food was exceptional, the service by majority of waiters was really good except this one waitress who was ruining it. Forgot one of our drinks and when asked, kinda brought it in a rush, slammed it on the table, saw that some had spilled on the table but never apologised and walked away. She wasn’t as friendly as the rest of the waiters. But really can’t fault too much as the rest of our experience was genuinely really nice!
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 6 March 2024
    Opentable Diner, it is disappointing for us to hear that your experience was anything less than great. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again. Many thanks, Jamie

    Is this helpful?

  25. ClareS

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great portions. Lovely stone baked pizzas. Nice chicken wings too.
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 12 February 2024
    Clares, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Cold Town House! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

    Is this helpful?

  26. Zo232

    Edinburgh

    2 reviews

    1.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 9 February 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    We arrived and the venue suffered a power-cut shortly after our arrival. Nobody came over to speak to us and when we finally got someone’s attention (after 40 minutes) we were informed that the power would be off until 2300. We asked if we could open a tab as we were a table of 10 and would be there until after 2300, and if the power still wasn’t on, we’d run out and get cash. The staff told us it was “illegal” to open a tab without a means to pay, which we explained we had or would have in the event of the power still being off. Very disappointing.

    Is this helpful?

  27. Liddsville

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great food, came to watch the rugby but the seating or TV screens are not situated best for that. Drink very expensive.
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 10 February 2024
    Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

    Is this helpful?

  28. OpenTable Diner

    Central Coast

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 2 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    Go for the beer, not much else. Burger was served in a stale bun and fell apart. Ordered dessert at the same time as main and both arrived at once. Server didn't mention I should've put in a note to serve separately which I didn't see. Berry float supposed to be served as a pint. Did not come in a pint glass. Seemed random whether you got sorbet on top or not. Beer was decent. Atmosphere was decimated once the rugby started but if that's your thing, fair enough. Service was really good otherwise and they let us stay longer than the reservation.

    Is this helpful?

  29. MicheleO

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 1 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    First time eating there. The food was so good, fresh and bursting with flavour. Very impressed ! The waiting staff were attentive, friendly, easily approachable, seating was comfortable and toilets were immaculate. Will definitely go there again. 10/10
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 5 February 2024
    Thanks for leaving us such a great review! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit here. We can’t wait to see you again!

    Is this helpful?

  30. IversonT

    Orlando

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Good food and great atmosphere. The attendants were very helpful and attentive. I recommend.
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 31 January 2024
    Hi Iverson, thank you so much for the positive review. We hope to see you again soon

    Is this helpful?

  31. RowanK

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 20 January 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 1
    Was nice inside and the food was good. Unfortunately staff did not have enough training and were unable to take payments. This meant people were unable to pay for their individual drinks and it got confusing at the end with such a big group. Another issue was the noise level. Early in the evening a DJ set up next to our table which made having a conversation very difficult. There were very few people in and later just our group so no need for loud music.

    Is this helpful?

  32. NikiV

    Hungary

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 17 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Youthful, cool atmosphere, friendly and helpful service, tasty food, good delicious drinks, good music. Absolutely recommended!
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 24 January 2024
    Hi Niki, thank you so much for the positive review! We're glad you had such a good time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

    Is this helpful?

  33. JulieR

    Edinburgh

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 17 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Love this place, food is always so good, the service-so efficient, our favourite place to go out to.
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 19 January 2024
    Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

    Is this helpful?

  34. ElspethM

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 13 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Food was amazing Staff where very welcoming Will definitely be coming back
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 18 January 2024
    Elspeth, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Cold Town House! Thank you again for the great review! We hope to see you soon!

    Is this helpful?

  35. AlejandroB

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 11 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Perfect service and food quality. We ordered a burger, hot wings which were really good and a salad.
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 18 January 2024
    Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! We hope to see you soon!

    Is this helpful?

  36. OpenTable Diner

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 7 January 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great restaurant we sat on the roof terrace and it was lovely the food was excellent will definitely return
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 10 January 2024
    Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

    Is this helpful?

  37. OpenTable Diner

    Edinburgh

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 5 January 2024

    1. Overall 1
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 2
    We read the reviews about the terrace not being warm enough so I phoned ahead to check if we could just have drinks and then eat inside if it was too cold. I was told that this would not be a problem as the restaurant normally keep tables aside and they would be able to accommodate this. However, when we were too cold and asked we were told there were no tables inside. Had a very frozen birthday meal and spent a LOT of money which the management then refused the 30% off promo too because we didn’t have a promo card with us. Considering they let us down I don’t think that was their best move. Won’t be going back unfortunately.

    Is this helpful?

  38. Chuck

    Greater Boston

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 2 January 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 4
    Hostess seemed like she was having a bad day. exasperated that we needed to be sat (with our reservation) and towards the end of the meal, asked to take our plate - I said I was still eating but she had already grabbed it; told her again, and she slammed it down on the table and walked away. So weird. Took 15 minutes to get any service. Asked for pizza well done and cheese came barely cooked on top. Sauce was very good and crust was very good too. All-in-all, for January 2nd when things have quieted down after new years, was surprised at how hectic and scattered the host and service was. Only place in Edinburgh that we’ve visited that didn’t have their act put together so far. Many better places to get pizza or better vibes.
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 8 January 2024
    Hi Chuck, it's really disappointing to hear your experience wasn't fully positive, we pride our ourselves on great customer service and it sounds like we missed this during your visit which I sincerely apologise for. For our pizza's it is a delicate balance between cooking topping more to preference, and burning the crusts, i'm glad the pizza was to taste even if the cheese wasn't as caramelised as you would have liked. Hope to have the opportunity to provide a better experience again in the future! Kind regards, Jamie

    Is this helpful?

  39. Intimidated

    Yorkshire

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 31 December 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Th best New Years Eve ever! We were lucky enough to book a table on the roof terrace, it was £50 per person but we figured we were paying for the best view of the fireworks in the city. Not only did Cold Town House deliver on this front, the service was also so friendly, we got a MASSIVE hot food platter, the choice of prosecco or whisky on entry and at midnight, DJ (although wish he'd played more ABBA/cheesy tunes - a personal preference lol) etc. Each table also had a heater and blankets which was great as we were slightly concerned about being cold on a roof terrace. Such good vibes, 100% recommend for hogmanay or any day - especially when you want to show the best of Edinburgh/impress people. We've been here a few times before so I can also assure you they do great beer and GREAT pizzas!!
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 5 January 2024
    Intimidated, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! We hope you had a fanstastic new years with us!

    Is this helpful?

  40. TimothyP

    Exclusive

    1 review

    vip
    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 31 December 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Good place for New years Eve dinner before hogmany celebrations!
    Cold Town HouseResponded on 3 January 2024
    Thanks for you great review. Happy Newe Year!

    Is this helpful?

FAQs

Cold Town House is rated 4.4 stars by 1672 OpenTable diners.

Cold Town House does offer gift cards which you can purchase here.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Booked 45 times today
Google Map for Cold Town House

4-6 Grassmarket, Edinburgh, EH1 2JU

Dining areas

Additional information

  • Area
    Edinburgh
  • Hours of Operation
    Mon–Thu 12:00–23:00 Fri 11:00–00:00 Sat 11:00–01:00 Sun 11:00–23:00
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    Brewery, Pizzeria, Scottish
  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Dress Code
    Casual Dress
  • Parking Details
    None
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Dancing, Dog Friendly, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Indoor Fireplace, Late Night, Outdoor Firepit, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Vegan, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Phone number
    0131 357 2865
  • Private party facilities
    With three floors we have something for everyone.Call 0131 357 2865 to speak with a member of our events team. Or for more information on our bespoke packages and to arrange a visit please send an email to: reservations@coldtownhouse.co.uk.Enquire today and let us create something extra special for you and your guests.
Gift card

Gift card

Send gift cards instantly by email or print to present in person.

Send a gift card
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Impressum
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
OpenTable Logo