Elnecot

4.5
169 reviews
£25 and under
British

About

When we set out to open our bar, it was important that we created something grounded in our location and heritage whilst offering a welcoming ambience for our customers.

The first recording of Ancoats was in 1212, as a small settlement of just a few dwellings. The area was then called "Elnecot"; a name derived from the Old English 'Ana Cots' or 'lonely cottages'.

In naming our bar Elnecot, we wanted to reclaim and reflect our location's rich heritage. From the building and furniture materials chosen to show off our industrial roots to the menu created with a solid nod to our area's inherited culture.
We're proud to be part of what is once again a lively and industrious area. We look forward to our bar & kitchen being a central and much loved meeting point for our neighbours, colleagues and visitors alike.

We look forward to welcoming you.
What 169 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.5based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
AR
AndreaR
Manchester
3 reviews
Dined on 12 January 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent brunch, huge portions and so tasty and fresh.

EG
EileenG
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 4 January 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience4

We always enjoy our dining experience at Elnecot. Staff are friendly and the food is delicious. Mid Afternoons are a good time for a drink and a quiet read.

M
Maisie
London
4 reviews
Dined on 31 December 2018
Overall4food5service4ambience5

We had wanted to try Elnecot for ages. We booked for New Year's Eve as a late lunch and were slightly disappointed to find that it was only the brunch menu. This was oversight on our part and, despite the smaller menu and portions, the food was excellent.
The chickpea and kale hash was a nice change from the usual vegan offerings of avocado toast and it was exceptional value. Will definitely be back to try the main menu.

C
vipCavy
Manchester
141 reviews
Dined on 30 December 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Ace as usual. Nearly always come here for Sunday lunch but daytime menu is great too. Rock on Michael and team

LL
LesleyL
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 28 December 2018
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Nice modern restaurant with fabulous tasty food!!
Tried things I wouldn’t normally go for and was pleasantly surprised!!!
Meatballs were amazing, as were the mushroom balls!! Pig head croquettes were fab and the shin beef curry!!!
Definitely recommend this place!!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Manchester
7 reviews
Dined on 27 December 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fab as always 😊

LC
LocalCustomer
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 27 December 2018
Overall5food4service5ambience4

I had a catch with one of my close friends that lives in London. I thought I would try some where local and we were very impressed. I will definitely come again and recommend to others.

V
Veganolive
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 24 December 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love Elnecot the food is scrumptious, the staff are friendly and professional...chef Michael and his team knock out the best food in Manchester especially for vegans like me...I haven't a bad word to say about the place...wish I lived nearer.

KM
KathM
1 review
Dined on 23 December 2018
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Elnecot could be great but there were problems. Drinks took 20 mins to arrive then were wrong. Poor cocktails. Staff probs??? Staff pleasant though. Food not ready for 1.30 booking- told 20 min wait as still cooking - chef did come out and apologise. Soup lukewarm but delicious.(not charged for these).. Portions far too large - put some of us off - overfaced - maybe veg platters to help yourself??? In spite of this liked the place. With work could be very good but not on our visit.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Manchester
7 reviews
Dined on 22 December 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely meal with a friend I’ve not seen for ages. She loved it and service was fab and friendly as always :)

A
Ag2016
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 15 December 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had the most delicious brunch, goats cheese wild mushrooms and squash purée on sourdough toast - sublime! I was quite fussy and the staff were attentive and very friendly, love this place - you have to try the hake!

TS
TeamSBE
1 review
Dined on 13 December 2018
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Great food - although 3 plates were recommended and I would have been satisfied with two (leaving more room for dessert).

Exceptional service - Being greeted by my first name from the head chef really made a difference to my dining experience, my only suggestion would be to include a board (name and photos) of the people that work there so that I get their names right.

Bathroom - A slight let-down here, very messy and no hand wash. This is usually a deciding factor for me, but you excelled in so many other areas so i'll just have to hope it's clean the next time I visit.

F
Frank
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 9 December 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Quality roast, the mid week menu ain’t bad either!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 6 December 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing restaurant, Loved the Manchester egg the most!

JV
JonVincent
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 2 December 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The staff were amazing the food outstanding will be going again !

SR
SundayRoastLover
Manchester
11 reviews
Dined on 2 December 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great Sunday roast. Exceptionally good taste and the extras well worth the add on price. Think I’ve found my new Sunday local!

JR
JoanneR
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 2 December 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fabulous food & a great atmosphere! Scrumptious Sunday much! A good mix of different ages & great for people watching!

JF
JanetF
London
2 reviews
Dined on 2 December 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Took the family including a two year old for Sunday lunch. Staff were very welcoming. High chair crayons and toys provided. Place is really stylish. A plus was we were able to park nearby. Food was delicious. Very good value, roast rib of beef delicious. Soup of the day went down well, as did the chocolate fondue pudding. Recommend highly.

HB
HannahBaines86
1 review
Dined on 1 December 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing Birthday brunch with my friends and family this Saturday. We had the bottomless brunch which is a fantastic idea, first round of drinks did take a while to
Get to the table as only one bar member at this time and quite a few tables to be served, this was rectified with a free round of shots and amazing service. Food was lovely and can’t wait to visit again

OT
OpenTable Diner
Manchester
7 reviews
Dined on 30 November 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great repeat visit, we loved everything about it

PD
PhilD
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 30 November 2018
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Good quality locally sourced food, great range of drinks and excellent service with a friendly atmosphere.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 30 November 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Elnecot came highly recommended by a local and it didn’t disappoint! The atmosphere was great, food was out of this world and cocktails suitably strong!

LH
LizH
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 30 November 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a great meal. Loved the disco cabbage. Lots of great local ingredients. Our server was very friendly and helpful.

BB
BronachB
1 review
Dined on 25 November 2018
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Best vegan Sunday roast I have ever had! Brilliant value for money and cocktails are delicious. Service was a little slow but it was quite busy. Would definitely recommend!

L
Liam
1 review
Dined on 18 November 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always fantastic food and drink with great service. Roast was delicious and great value.

Also dog friendly!

g
glenne
1 review
Dined on 18 November 2018
Overall4food5service3ambience5

First time in the restaurant, I was somewhat surprised there was only Sunday lunch on offer, however I now get it having eaten a great meal. I was disappointed no cheese board on the desert menu , however when I asked if we could order one we were told no problem..

Best Sunday lunch on offer in Manchester.. highly recommended with great staff..

NB
NickB
1 review
Dined on 18 November 2018
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Best new addition to the neighbourhood. Perfect ambience for good food, conversation and top drinks selection.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Manchester
7 reviews
Dined on 18 November 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My mum had taken part in a charity event for children in need and I treated her and her partner to Sunday dinner. I had been telling her about Elnecot. The food was fab (3 x Beef Sunday lunches), fab service and fab complimentary offer to rectify a very small mistake! (This was very generous) we will definetly be back .... Ps my mum said “it was the best Sunday roast I’ve had”, I can’t wait to bring her back to try the main menu.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 17 November 2018
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Fantastic service and staff

JK
JKJK
London
2 reviews
Dined on 17 November 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food and service, we had a really nice evening!

JQ
JQ409
Manchester
10 reviews
Dined on 17 November 2018
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Brunch on Saturday lunchtime. All the food was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed, would particularly recommend the wild mushrooms on toast.
Our order initially got lost which delayed things quite a bit, but was dealt with very professionally by the staff.
Will be back for more.

PB
PsBl
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 16 November 2018
Overall2food2service5ambience3

Lovely service but food was hit and mostly miss. Of 7 dishes 1 was really nice, 3 nice enough and 3 really not good at all. Sorry eeek.

A
Aimsplatt
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on 15 November 2018
Overall4food5service4ambience3

Good food, great atmosphere. Bit expensive but really interesting and unique menu

TH
TomH
1 review
Dined on 11 November 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Booked in for Sunday dinner with my partner. The food was delicious - the beef was cooked to perfection. Had a cheese board to finish with a selection of 4 cheeses and lots of biscuits to share with the partner - and it only cost 7 pound. The service was exceptional, I felt extremely guilty when I had to leave because I didn't have any cash to leave as a tip. Thumbs up all round from me!

AR
AnnaR
London
1 review
Dined on 11 November 2018
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Would have given too marks if I had the apple sauce with my pork belly roast.
But overall outstanding!

V
Veganolive
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 11 November 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love Elnecot top notch food and excellent value...The vegan options are creative dishes with lots of thought , not some dish with the meat taken off but complete dishes in their own right...Went for brunch and was not disappointed the cauliflower chickpea kale hash was scrumptious

ZM
ZoeM
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on 4 November 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is a must for a Sunday roast. We love it! Absolutely delicious!

AT
AndiT
1 review
Dined on 4 November 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really pleasant atmosphere. Great ambience. We had the pork belly roast, which I can recommend. It was so good. Lovely wines too. Perfect for a group, or a chilled meet with a friend. Great cocktails too.

C
vipCavy
Manchester
141 reviews
Dined on 4 November 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Absolutely wonderful Sunday lunch, even better than usual! The plates and food were hotter, the beef tenderer and the service is really excellent from the waiters\waitresses to the maitre d’. Bravo.

AS
AbbeyS
Manchester
11 reviews
Dined on 28 October 2018
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Lovely Sunday roast here. The beef was delicious, big Yorkshire and cauliflower cheese was great. Could definitely do with more gravy though. Also loved the £10 carafe of house red.

Setting is great, cosy and warm with fairy lights, perfect for a cold Sunday.

Would definitely like to try brunch and the main menu here

FAQs

Elnecot is rated 4.5 stars by 169 OpenTable diners.