Erpingham House

4.0
173 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Vegetarian / Vegan
Top tags:
  • Vegan
  • Good Vegetarian Options
  • Good for a Date
Erpingham house is a 100% plant-based and mostly gluten-free restaurant in the heart of Norwich's historic tombland. In the shadows of the cities cathedral, Erpingham house serves delicious, healthy food in a tapas style, using a range of cuisines from around the world to create a diverse food & drink. People of all food tastes will enjoy colourful, beautiful and wholesome food in a beautiful listed building dating back to the late 1890s.

We are also zero plastic, using VegWare plant-plastics in an effort to preserve the environment. We will always be 100% free-from animal products, although absolutely open to everyone to enjoy lunch, brunch, dinner & drinks!

Special Offers

2-4-1 on cocktails and wine

When dining from the a la carte menu.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 6 people

Starts: 10 May 2019

Ends: 31 July 2019

Availability: Tue-Fri 17:00-18:45

Monday 2 courses £9.95

Enjoy any 2 courses from the main menu for £9.95 per person.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 6 people

Starts: 10 May 2019

Ends: 31 July 2019

Availability: Mon 17:00-22:00

Lunch Any main & drink £9.95

From a set menu.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 6 people

Starts: 10 May 2019

Ends: 31 July 2019

Availability: Mon-Fri 12:00-15:00

What 173 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
4.1
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
VO
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

We went on Monday evening and took advantage of two courses for £9.95. The food was really good, the brownie easily the best I've ever had. I really appreciated that when I asked for some water the waiter took the glasses we were using already and refilled them. I always think it wasteful to bring clean glasses every time!

It is beautiful inside the main part of the restaurant but we were sat in the room off to the side which felt a bit cut off and quiet. It felt like we got a bit forgotten in between courses.

But overall we enjoyed our visit and would go back again.

Report
Helpful
ST
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Will most definitely be returning;;;)))) Really very lovely

Report
Helpful
RS
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 14 May 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Lovely meal, super waitress, all very good value - possible improvements are a wider range of wines on your list, and what we really fancied at the end of the meal was some cheese - with Tofurei on your doorstep is a vegan cheese selection something you would consider?
We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and would recommend Erpingham House.
Rachel Stubbs

Report
Helpful
LC
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely virgin cocktails to start, and food was great too. Loved the taco starter. Staff were friendly and didn't rush us at all. Great experience.

Report
Helpful
RS
Norfolk
2 reviews
Dined on 24 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had a lovely meal at Erpingham house. The food was amazing and brought out really quick and the staff were very friendly.

Overall a very pleasant Experience

Report
Helpful
LG
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 21 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Setting and service were incredible!

I would love to see juices/ healthy smoothies as and option for brunch & drop in breakfast and low carb options for health focussed vegan's like myself.

Report
Helpful
TD
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 18 April 2019
Overall 3food 4service 1ambience 2

Lovely food but service a bit inattentive. No decaf coffee, and vague reasons for this. Food was all delicious though. Starters were very small, mistake thinking they were shareable .

Erpingham House
Responded on 27 April 2019

Hi TheresaD, Thanks for your feedback, I've spoken to the front of house staff to address the issues raised. Starters are designed to be enjoyed 1 per person as part of a 3 course meal. Hope we see you again soon. Jon

Report
Helpful
ET
Cambridge
1 review
Dined on 12 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely evening, interesting menu and good food in spacious quiet venue. Really unusual decor but nice to be in. We both enjoyed our food and it was tasty and different

Report
Helpful
RB
Norfolk
3 reviews
Dined on 10 April 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

First visit of 2019 and it was all fine and some of it was good. Not as stunningly good as the times we ate there in 2018, but might try it again sometime.

Report
Helpful
MH
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 2food 1service 1ambience 2

We went on mother’s day. Nice decoration and ambience. Good
Music.
There was a set menu. My main course was caramelised fennel and smoked almond salad. It was inedible and literally tasted like ash from the bbq. I advised the waitress of this. She apologised but did not make an effort to put it right by offering something else or taking it off the bill. The rest of the meal was mediocre.
The toilets weren’t very clean.
The most disappointing thing was the lack of effort made by the staff to ensure this was an enjoyable experience.
I was so looking forward to going to Erpimgham House and being the only vegan in my family convinced my family members to try it. We won’t be going back as there are so many better places for vegans in Norwich.

Erpingham House
Responded on 11 April 2019

Hi Mark - Thank you for taking time to send your feedback, I personally will look into your comments and review what went wrong on your visit. I do hope you give us another try in the future. Jon

Report
Helpful
SH
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

The starter and dessert ,lovely ,the roast we felt was under cooked. A little disappointed with the plastic plants,not in keeping with the ethical movement.... we will try once more to be sure . Over all
Ok

Erpingham House
Responded on 11 April 2019

Hi SamanthaH Thanks for taking the time to send your feedback. Jon

Report
Helpful
ED
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 2

My daughter and I, both long term, strict vegetarians, booked this as a treat for Mother's day on Saturday evening. Really looking forward to a smart restaurant with a menu full of choice for a change.
Sadly, the first thing we noticed was the bad smell emanating from the toilets. The service was friendly and efficient but devoid of any actual customer interest, we were never asked if everything was ok, not once. It was not ok, I was surprised by how few choices there were. I ordered the Mushroom and Tarragon pie with parsnip chips and that is what I got, a pie with six baked bits of parsnips on top. No other veg, or some creamy mash... no. Just a small pie with 6 bits of parsnip on top. I was so disappointed. The pie tasted nice and my daughter said her aubergine was ok but nothing special. Then the hen party staggered up the stairs, we paid and left.
Sorry but I cannot recommend to others

Erpingham House
Responded on 2 April 2019

Hi EmmaD, Thank you for your feedback, I will look into the issue with the Toilets and make sure this is addressed. In response to your comments regarding the Pie, all the elements to the dish are listed on the menu. For example Pie with Roasted Parsnips, is served just as described. We offer a range of sides, for those who wish to add more carbs, or extra vegetables - but this is of course personal taste. I do hope you give us another try in the future.

Report
Helpful
k
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

Whilst the food was very nice, there wasn't enough of it. Portions were small but flavours very good. So it was fairly expensive for what we got. in order to get customers to return again and again i feel that the prices should either be lower or there should be more of offer. People can go to Wetherspoons and have 3x the amount for half the price... No brainer...!

Erpingham House
Responded on 2 April 2019

Hi kareng. I'm glad you enjoyed the food, we pride ourselves on the reasonable nature of our prices, with all main courses priced at or below £12.5, which for an independant restaurant we feel to be fair and reasonable. As you mention, you are able to get far more at far cheaper prices from Weatherspoons, and long may that continue. We source from local independent suppliers, pay staff fairly and we feel this is important. We are an option for those wanting a freshly cooked meal.

Report
Helpful
DC
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 30 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Beautiful decor, tasty food, good service & not expensive either.

Report
Helpful
CH
London
1 review
Dined on 29 March 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Enjoyed our meal very much. Initial service was slow, waited ages for drinks and to order food

Erpingham House
Responded on 2 April 2019

Hi CarolynH, Thanks for your feedback - I will look into your comments and make sure they are adressed. See you again soon.

Report
Helpful
HP
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 27 March 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 2

A 'wow' interior but building is very cold, drafty and lacks warmth. It's a wide open space that needs people to fill it, and it feels like it is lacking something. The menu is interesting but quite expensive for what it is. The food is better at one of its competitor Vegan/Veggie restaurants in central Norwich. The staff are sweet and accommodating when asked, but take their time.

A great idea but they haven't quite 'nailed' it.

Erpingham House
Responded on 30 March 2019

Hi HannahP Thanks for the feedback, we're working hard to make the space as warm and cosy as we can, so can only apologise it wasn't right on your visit. It's a really old building which really does make it hard. Would love to know what you ate and thought was expensive so we can learn more from your comments - are you able to email me directly jon.gay @erpinghamhouse.co m Many thanks Jon

Report
Helpful
OT
Edinburgh
3 reviews
Dined on 24 March 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 5

Very friendly and accommodating. Went for Sunday Brunch - very helpful in catering to different dietary needs. Food was tasty but portions were a bit small. Plant based diets need larger plates to leave someone satisfied. I had the full breakfast, companions had the shaksuka and avocado smash. Nicely decorated, clean, attentive.

Erpingham House
Responded on 30 March 2019

Thank you for the great feedback! Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
Helpful
W
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 23 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Super food first time we tried vegan and we both loved it! So much flavour! We will be returning

Report
Helpful
TB
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 20 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely place to eat, nice staff, enjoyed the mushroom pie!

Report
Helpful
ST
London
1 review
Dined on 16 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was absolutely amazing. So tasty. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially assisting me with a food intolerance I have.

Erpingham House
Responded on 20 March 2019

Thanks for the feedback SamuelT

Report
Helpful
TC
1 review
Dined on 16 March 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 5

The restaurant looked lovely outside and the reviews seemed to be overwhelmingly positive so me and my girlfriend were very excited to go there to celebrate a special occasion. We were, however, extremely disappointed. Upon arrival, we were not taken into our reserved table and instead just pointed to it. We checked the menus and were not happy with the selection so it took some time to order. When we ordered everything seemed to be fine until we were kept waiting for 55minutes. Two other tables ordered their food and finished it before we even received ours. The waitresses did not even realise that our food had not arrived and we decided to call one of them and complain. She got back to us saying that our order had not gone through and that it would be another 10minutes until we got our food. We were also offered just some olives as an apology. The rest of the dinner was spent with the waitresses ignoring us and when we decided to pay they were not at all apologetic. It felt as though they were hoping the problem would just go away by itself. We were really disappointed about the whole experience and will most likely never be coming back.

Report
Helpful
LH
Norfolk
5 reviews
Dined on 13 March 2019
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 4

Well I had high hopes for this place. Thinking it would be ideal for a vegetarian friend & another whose allergic to fish, ideal solution. Unfortunately the name of the place is posher than the food.
With approximately 6 items in the menu for an evening meal with no optional greens extras it was all very carb heavy.
One had the roasted cauliflower. Well toasted/ burnt it was. That was it, a quarter cauliflower & a bowl of lentils. Dull. Unappetising. Disappointing. One had the wild mushroom & tarragon pie. Well once the lid was off the pie literally a spoonful of tasteless mushrooms. With a couple of tiny half cooked parsnips on top. The vegetarian friend had the gnocchi which was ok. Desserts. Sticky toffee pudding. A COLD sticky toffee pudding. Minus the toffee flavour. Minus a nice texture. It was flavoured with a spice & the sauce was like spiced water. And they were stone cold. I’ve never known a sticky toffee pudding to be cold.
So all in all we had high hopes for this place. However we were more than disappointed to say the least. And certainly not one revisiting unfortunately. I think they may need to look at the kitchen. No one likes flavourless bland stodgy food. & unfortunately most certainly not the ‘best vegetarian restaurant in Norwich’ the only way it could get that title is if it was THE ONLY vegetarian restaurant in Norwich. Highly highly disappointed Erpingham House

Erpingham House
Responded on 15 March 2019

Hi LauraH, Thanks for posting your feedback. I have replied in full to your duplicate review on Tripadvisor. Many thanks

Report
Helpful
H
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 7 March 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

Social media looks very nice but in reality leaves a lot to be desired; food itself tastes quite nice but was over priced for not a lot. Pie was ok but should come with something and at least some gravy. Poor selection of beers with no cider. However the decor and staff are very nice and would return again if a new and improved menu came out.

Report
Helpful
f
London
1 review
Dined on 7 March 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

The roasted cauliflower and gnocchi mains were rather bland, served on cold plates and oily. The pie didn’t come with any other vegetables other than the parsnips which for approx the £12 mark was a little disappointing, the pastry was also a little over cooked. All little mistakes but the restaurant was far from busy. However, the sweet potato taco was love and the front of house staff were friendly.

Report
Helpful
C
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

The food and drink was amazing, especially the chocolate brownie! A lovely atmosphere, very helpful and friendly staff. Will definitely be returning very soon, and recommending it to all my vegan friends! My only criticism is the use of plastic straws, would be amazing if it could be replaced with a more eco friendly alternative. X

Erpingham House
Responded on 5 March 2019

Hi Chelsey, Thanks for leaving us 5*, so pleased you enjoyed your meal, especially the brownie! The straws we use are Bio-Degradable Vegware straws, so rest assured we've done all we can to choose the most eco-friendly alternatives! See you again! Jon

Report
Helpful
AM
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 3ambience 5

Lovely food. Family friendly. Would visit again. Not sure how to use up 50 characters.

Erpingham House
Responded on 5 March 2019

That's enough characters for us! Thank you! See you again soon Jon

Report
Helpful
a
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 27 February 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

The food was lovely, lots of choice for vegans........ which is bonus, spoilt for choice.

Erpingham House
Responded on 5 March 2019

Thanks for the feedback amandac! Look forward to seeing you again soon Jon

Report
Helpful
L
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 22 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Delicious food, attentive, friendly and polite service. The decor is beautiful, every detail has been considered to give an uplifting and comfortable setting.
We had a three course meal, and the four of us all had something different for each course. It was so hard to pick which dish to have, we tried each others food, and everything on the menu had something different and delicious to enjoy. Two of the party weren't vegans, but said it was some of the nicest food they'd ever had.
Not only that, but the staff made a special (surprise) effort for a birthday! The restaurant was comfortably full, enough for an inviting ambience, but not so rammed it was uncomfortable.
The team at Erpingham House are doing a great job, and I can only hope it goes from strength to strength. The world needs more vegan i.e. environmentally friendly businesses (why make animals suffer for our night out?), but take that out of the equation and you have an excellent restaurant, serving good food that everyone can enjoy.

Erpingham House
Responded on 4 March 2019

Thank you so much Lewis. Really appreciate the time you've taken to send us your feedback, We do hope we see you again soon! Jon

Report
Helpful
KS
London
1 review
Dined on 22 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Really lovely space, attentive staff and great food. Will def return there.

Erpingham House
Responded on 4 March 2019

Hi Karen! Thank you for taking the time to give us 5*'s. Hope we see you again soon. Jon

Report
Helpful
RM
Berlin
1 review
Dined on 20 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Superb vegan restaurant. Varied menu and of very high quality. Just wished I had room for dessert. Lovely setting.

Erpingham House
Responded on 4 March 2019

Thanks for the feedback RuthM! You'll have to come back just for dessert next time :) See you again soon.

Report
Helpful
AR
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 2

Average- would not rush back.
My starter was very nice (kofta)!! My main was the shallot tarte and was disappointing in my opinion, very bland and literally just shallots on puff pastry with kale. We ordered sweet potato wedges and they were boiled and mushy, could have done with being cooked in the oven too. I feel I could have cooked a better meal than what I had (starter excluded) which isn’t what you expect when paying for a meal out.

I was looking forward to a cocktail, but at £10 I was shocked at that price so I only had one. I would expect to pay £8 for a cocktail in Norwich, but I don’t know how you can justify spending that much on one drink.

Overall disappointed and would not come back. I felt it was very expensive for what we got, we rushed back home for snacks because we were still hungry after paying nearly £100 for a two course meal!! Not great.

On a side note, my partners main was much better, Although he still wasn’t blown away enough to want to return.

A beautiful venue though!

Erpingham House
Responded on 19 February 2019

Hi AmberR, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I'm pleased you enjoyed the Kofta and will look into your feedback regarding the Tarte Tatin. We never boil the potato wedges, only ever roasted in the pizza oven, but possibly on this occaision not for long enough. Our cocktails are made with only premium spirits as standard which does mean we have to charge that little bit more, but hope if you had tried one you would have agreed it was worth the extra pound or two. Jon

Report
Helpful
AB
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great to be able to visit a stylish venue with delicious vegan food. I am also gluten free and had a delicious dinner. Lots of young attentive staff

Erpingham House
Responded on 19 February 2019

Hi AmandaB Thanks for your fantastic feedback! See you again soon Jon

Report
Helpful
MC
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 15 February 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 3

The staff forgot half of our starters. When raised, there was no apology, just a grunt.

Both toilets had ran out of hand towels and didn’t have dryers installed. So we were left with wet hands whilst we ate.

Overall the marketing for Erpingham House is great, but the actual venue fails to meet how it is portrayed. We won’t be visiting again...

Erpingham House
Responded on 19 February 2019

Hi MattC, Please could you send me an email to Jon.Gay@erpinghamhouse. c om and I can look into this for you? Really disappointed to hear your feedback. Jon

Report
Helpful
JK
1 review
Dined on 14 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Delicious food at very reasonable prices and excellent service. I will definitely recommend Erpingham House to others.

Report
Helpful
K
1 review
Dined on 13 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I went here with a friend for lunch on February 13th. The smiling lady behind the bar greeted us in a friendly fashion and showed us the table we had been allocated but, as it was not yet busy, said if we would prefer to sit elsewhere we could choose a table. we sat beside the window overlooking the road outside and enjoyed some welcome February sunshine. I ordered hummus with flatbread as a starter and mixed squash risotto with hazelnuts as a main. Both were tasty and delicious. I finished with a frothy soya milk latte which was also very good. Throughout our meal our waitress was helpful, knowledgeable and attentive without being obtrusive. Everything was just as we expected and more.
If I had to find a very small fault - there is no hook on the door or wall in the toilet to hang a bag on - I hate putting mine on the floor. Otherwise, all was very, very good. Thank you.

Erpingham House
Responded on 19 February 2019

Hi Kit17, Really pleased you enjoyed your visit and I do hope we see you again soon! We have grand plans for the toilets, so please bare with us on these! Jon

Report
Helpful
B
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 10 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This is an amazing venue with great decor and ambience with an exceptionally friendly team working there.
Highly recommended for the food and ambience!

Erpingham House
Responded on 19 February 2019

Thanks for the Review Beck. Really appreciate the feedback Jon

Report
Helpful
RC
Norfolk
2 reviews
Dined on 9 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Very nice experience
Staff knowledgeable on all food allergies
Service was great
Ambience was warm and inviting
Maybe for me just slightly over priced

Erpingham House
Responded on 19 February 2019

Hi RichC, Thanks for the feedback! Will pass on to the team Jon

Report
Helpful
JH
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 9 February 2019
Overall 1food 4service 1ambience 3

Disappointing from arrival
Lack of service we had to ask for our order to be taken
Food order then didn’t get put through so we were there over an hour before we got food.

When it came it was nice

Wouldn’t go again

Erpingham House
Responded on 19 February 2019

Hi JaneH, Please could you email with more details from your visit. It sounds like our high standards for service weren't achieved. Jon.Gay@erpingham house.co m Jon

Report
Helpful
DS
London
1 review
Dined on 2 February 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Lovely food, but room was a bit cold! Starters and desserts wonderful, maybe the mains need a bit more carbs!

Report
Helpful
RB
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 1 February 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

A bit disappointing overall
The mushroom pie was very sloppy and the cabbage dish was cold in the middle.
Puddings and service were good but overall rather overrated and overpriced

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5