Founding Farmers - DC

4.5
30241 reviews
$30 and under
American
NOTE: 4/11 - 4/15 we are under going a kitchen spring refresh and will not be offering our regular service. Stay tuned! We have been working together to do everything we can to ensure we do our part to support and feed our community and our team. We are currently serving our scratch-made food and drink in our dining room and on our patio. We also have breakfast, lunch, dinner, weekend brunch, and weekday happy hour. If you would prefer to stay at home, we have To Go and delivery everyday. Our hot ready-to-eat Founding Farmers favorites are available To Go for breakfast, lunch & dinner, as well as our At Home special seasonal menus, which are started in our kitchens and ready to be finished in yours. We have developed multi-layered systems to provide you with great food, drink, and hospitality and are continuing to adapt our operations to keep all of us as safe as possible. Visit our website to learn more.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 30241 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
BE
vipBigE
Washington DC
14 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Anniversary waiter was very slow for any and everything 15 min for ketchup and extra salad dressing just an example but other than that everything was cool as usual

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall2food1service4ambience4

Wow- probably the most overhyped place that I’ve ever eaten. I’m just so grateful that we didn’t wait 2 hours on Sunday to eat there. Soggy hashbrowns, no gluten free bread(!), small portions and high price.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 4 hours ago

Oh no! I am very sorry for the disappointing outcome to your brunch visit this time. I would love the chance to touch base and hopefully turn this around! Please email me: AGrant@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location. Thank you and we appreciate you alerting us to this. -Amber

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great experience. Super friendly service amazing food. We were blown away and wish we had this restaurant near us.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Food was very good albeit a little salty. The service was timely and the waitress checked on us but not too frequently. Overall a nice experience

BB
vipBillyBlessed
Washington DC
15 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Warm Day in DC sat outside under fan
Perfect!

OB
OliviaB
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Service was great but somewhat slow. Food was amazing

MH
MarkH
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Founding Farmers is as rated elsewhere, excellent!

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 10 hours ago

Whoo-hoo! Thank you SO much for sharing this with our team! Greatly appreciated and we hope to have you back again soon! -Amy

Report
TM
ThomasM
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Food was very flavorful. Hot dog and 7 cheese macaroni were terrific.

A
Abby
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience3

The food was great! Awesome place to go with friends. It is loud though so a quiet brunch isnt Founding Farmers.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great location, food, professional staff and prices. Overall great experience and excellent food.

N
Nita
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall2food4service1ambience1

Service was terribly slow. Made for an unpleasant visit. Took 30 minutes to get our drinks (all draft drinks) — didn’t appreciate that.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 10 hours ago

Hi Nita: I am very sorry the service missed the mark and your drinks took some time to be served. :( I'd appreciate the chance to follow up and turn around the poor impression we left you with- please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined + location. -Amy

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The waitress was awesome. She was super attentive and so friendly!

RR
RobertR
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall3food3service2ambience4

Went there for brunch and sat out on the sidewalk. Seating was excellent for distancing and air-flow. Service was indifferent and slow.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 10 hours ago

Bummer. :( We are so sorry the service failed to deliver this time and this understandably decreased your overall rating and outcome to your experience. This said, I would love to have a hand in turning this around and ask you to please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location to connect further. -Amy

Report
n
nikki
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Only thing is I had to wait 30 minutes pass my reservation time for my table to be ready. Otherwise all was great!

EM
EMHA
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

service was good the wait time was little long although we had reservations but all in all food was very good and we sat outside in a quiet area which was a plus !!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Atlanta
27 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Never had a califower steak before. I’m a changed woman. So delicious and just loved the taste. I’m going to order this again for sure!!!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Favorite restaurant in DC

Report
EB
ElizabethB
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food, great staff, great experience would recommend for sure!

AE
vipAlisonE
Washington DC
69 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Our experience was a disappointment. Our table wasn't ready until close to 1/2 hour past our reservation time; the music was louder than necessary (even outside) and that made it hard to converse; servers, drinks, and food took a long time to arrive; two in our party were served green beans that were nearly raw; a "recovery fee" was added to our bill even though we all ordered drinks and desserts in addition to our entrees.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 10 hours ago

Thank you for your review and sharing these details with our team. I am so sorry your overall experience was sadly not one for the books and you left disappointed this time. This said, I'd love to connect and find a way to make this right! Please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location to continue this conversation. -Amy

Report
JM
JohnM
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food4service4ambience4

Food was very good -not really a family/kid-friendly atmosphere. Seemed more like a hangout for college/post-college transplants. Prices were extremely high ($3 for a can of soda) and there was an odd “5% surcharge” to shore-up business losses from the past year. -not exactly sure how that offsets expenses since their prices are already very high, but I am guessing they dupe a lot of unsuspecting tourists that way. Food was good -but not enough to surpass the bar-like atmosphere and high prices.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 10 hours ago

Hi John: I am very sorry for the disappointments you left with concluding this visit. We feel let down for the poor impression you left with and I would love the chance to hopefully turn this around! Please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location. Thank you and we appreciate you letting us know your takeaway from your time with us. -Amy

Report
AK
AngelaK
New York Area
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Maybe I expected a lot because of the reviews but I thought it was just ok. The restaurant music was unbearably loud and perhaps they are short staffed right now because it took a while to get drink orders.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 10 hours ago

Thank you for your review and I am very sorry the service and ambience missed the mark this time. :( I'd appreciate the chance to follow up and turn around your disappointment- please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location. -Amy

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Great ambiance. The blue cheese steak salad was so tasty although it was served in a glass bowl that myself and my friend had a hard time eating out of. The steak kept sliding away from being cut by the curvature of the bowl. Lots of effort but totally worth it. Desserts are ENORMOUS and I am glad we only ordered 1 per couple. Definitely will be going back.

VN
ValerieN
Washington DC
6 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2food1service4ambience3

First let me say the servers were good but the food not so much. Two in our party ordered catfish to find out they ran out and our reservation was at 5pm. None of the entrees were good at all. Some were down right tasteless. So different from our 1st visit.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Valerie: We are very sorry the dishes ordered missed the mark and we were out of the catfish your guests had their eyes on. :( I would love to follow up with you and ask you to please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location to connect further. Thank you and I hope to make this right! -Amy

Report
CM
CookieMonster
Hawaii
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sat at the bar, full menu. Staff was amazing

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food3service4ambience4

I ordered the grilled veggies sandwich which was good. However, I ordered the side salad. Instead of a salad with mixed greens, I ordered the salad with romain lettuce which I was told they could do. Instead I received the salad with iceberg lettuce. It's all good! That was not my first visit and it will not be my last. 7/24/2021

OT
OpenTable Diner
Seattle
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2food1service4ambience2

Food was mediocre. Flavor was lacking. Waste of time.

S
vipSukki10
Washington DC
52 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience3

My food has always been pretty good at Founding Farmers. I enjoyed my brunch yesterday.

Z
Zanda
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Have always liked this place but felt underwhelmed with our last experience. Very busy and waited a long time to order, particularly frustrating as we had small kids with us. Made note of the kids on our reservation and were seated at a high top (not practical) and then told there were no high chairs available anymore. Overall seemed they were struggling to keep up with high volume.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 10 hours ago

Oh no! I am very sorry for the disappointing outcome to your family's visit this time and feel terrible for the overly busy and underwhelming areas of your visit. :( I would love the chance to touch base and hopefully turn this around! Please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location. Thank you and I hope to be in touch soon. -Amy

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Food was great. Menu options offer a wide variety. I had pancakes at brunch - light, fluffy and perfect. The link sausage is great protein add-on. Others in my party had chicken and waffles and French toast. Both of those dishes were great. Upon return, I’ll get the French Toast! Service was a little slow as our server had tables on both floors.

GJ
GarJos
Jacksonville
3 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall1food3service1ambience2

The only reason I am giving 1 star is because of the manager Jose and his attempt to right out server Donnas poor service (the only reason we got her name was because she addressed herself to our neighboring table). The service received a 1 star because tables that were seated after us were able to get water, drinks, order and get their food all before we got water or coffee. In all, a meal that should’ve taken 35-45 minutes took over an hour and a half with 3 interactions with our server while she was doting and attentive to the tables around us. It was also unsettling to see birds flying around and picking at food on empty tables inside - clearly the birds are used to human interaction and live in this 2 story building. Also unsettling was the fact that the restaurant was packed, taking 4 tops and splitting them into smaller tightly packed 2 tops so close together you could intimately hear the conversations of your neighbors and if you reach at a 45 degree angle you could touch them. We inched our table over slightly and our server told us to move it back..Food and menu are great but unfortunately each location has service that is lacking and is ultimately the main reason we will not be back

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 10 hours ago

Oh no! I am very sorry for the multiple disappointments that took place and feel terrible our service and accommodations left you not wanting to return. :( I would love the chance to touch base and continue where Josue left off- hopefully turning the outcome to this experience around! Please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location. Thank you and we appreciate you giving us the chance to address this. -Amy

Report
MI
MIKE
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Everything was wonderful except my food wasn’t hot/warm and had to o be sent back to the kitchen; which meant everyone had finished their meal by the time I received mines. Plus I sampled their food so I was kind of full!

EG
ElisabetG
New York Area
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Incredible!
The BEST French toast I’ve ever had!
Definitely a must try.

LC
LouCDMX
New York Area
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had the best time!!!!! Everything was just delicious and top quality ingredients are used. Our waiter was kind and super efficient. We highly recommend this fun restaurant for breakfast and brunch!!!!!

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 10 hours ago

WOWZA!! Thanks for the wonderful review and we really appreciate it! :) We hope to have you and your guests back again soon and call our team anytime for a reservation: 202-822-8783. -Amy

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Las Vegas
9 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

First meal in DC on vacation. Menu had nice variety, food was outstanding, service was great.

DL
DoraL
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good food in a fun and lively environment. Chicken and waffles was an excellent choice….never had it before. The pasta that came with it was gone made and delicious! Big portions! Go for anything on the “specialty” list.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This dinner was more than a date night. It was a celebration of my dad’s life. The last time I dined here was Dec. 23, 2018, my birthday. One of the last few birthday dinners I had with my dad. I wanted to honor his memory and revisit the restaurant.

The outside check-in was simple, especially since I made reservations. Because of COVID, I knew I preferred to eat outside. My experience was wonderful. I felt comfortable with the seating arrangements because we were separated from other diners. Our waiter, Connor, was perfect. Please acknowledge him because he went above and beyond my expectations. I explained to him that this dinner was to celebrate my dad. Connor was attentive, warm, jovial and engaging. He anticipated our needs and made this night memorable.

The ambiance was attractive, especially for outdoors. Although it was lively, it wasn’t intimidating. The seats were comfortable and the dining space was inviting. Connor really impressed us. The drinks, food and service were outstanding.

We started with Classic Whiskey Sours. They were delicious and not too strong. I ordered the Fried Green Tomatoes and my date ordered the Garlic Chicken Wings. The sauce for that chicken… I have to recreate it. It was complimentary and rather tasty, not overwhelmingly garlicky. For entrées, I ordered my favorite, the Steak and Enchiladas. My date ordered the Chicken and Waffles. The steak was juicy, tender and cooked to perfection and my enchilada was the perfect pairing to the meal. It was my “cheat” day so I indulged. My date’s chicken was juicy as well, which was surprising since chicken can be dry when overcooked. We decided to pair the meals with a gin based drink. Connor suggested the Constitution and because my dad liked gin, we agreed to try it. Incredible! Lastly, the beignets. Oh my goodness! That caramel sauce, spectacular. The experience was magical, all thanks to dad and Connor!

NI
NicoleI
Atlantic City
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall3food4service3ambience5

We have always love Founding Farmers each time we visit DC. This time, we were a bit disappointed with some unavailability of items that were listed on the menu. Then we ordered an appetizer that never came out before the entrees, so we asked for it to be cancelled and removed from the bill. I also accidentally dropped my sunglasses under the table and realized it when I returned to my hotel. There was no way to actually speak to the restaurant. The number kept redirecting me to a call center and the first person I spoke to was completely unhelpful and basically told me I’d have to wait until the next day to seek lost and found. When I informed her that we would be leaving DC the next morning, she didn’t seem to care. I called back and spoke to another agent who was super helpful and asked the restaurant to hold them for me as I returned that evening to retrieve them. I was grateful I was able to get them but the experience and process was very stressful. We will return in the future with the hopes that the blips last night were a one time experience.

Founding Farmers - DC
Responded 2 days ago

Bummer. :( We are so sorry for the disappointing areas of your visit and the poor impression we left you with. I would love a chance to connect and make this right, and ask you to please email me: Amy@FRG.Farm with a copy of your review, date dined & location to connect further. -Amy

Report
S
Susan
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Perfect locale for a casual outside dinner. Excellent service; lots of options—nice cocktails, salads, sandwiches. We weren’t pressured to depart quickly though there was a line of people.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We took our kids here for lunch and it was easily our best meal in DC! Highly recommend!

M
vipMaggie
New York Area
63 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Food and service were excellent out on patio and they treated our little dog well. We had avocado toast steak frites, and a couple other things, all great. We sat outside in the patio booths on a hot sunny day. Even though they have ceiling fans on, the sun comes in the see through plastic and it was very very hot.

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Founding Farmers - DC using the Order Online button. Founding Farmers - DC also offers delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Founding Farmers - DC also offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at (202) 822-8783.

Founding Farmers - DC is rated 4.5 stars by 30241 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.

Tweets by Founding Farmers - DC