Gee's

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
732 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mediterranean
Oxford’s iconic glass house, remains loyal to its traditions of providing quality food & service in the most beautiful restaurant in Oxford. Free parking is available just a short walk away on Canterbury Road. The interior is filled with trees and plants, the kitchen features a wood fire oven & charcoal grill. Ingredients are simply prepared and expertly cooked. Open all day, every day: morning coffee, weekend brunch, express lunch, dishes for sharing & Sunday roasts… Also feel welcome to just drop by for a glass or two. Expect a warm welcome and great food served by knowledgeable & friendly waiters

Special Offers

Express Menu: 2 courses £14.95

From a set menu, 3 courses £17.95. Not available bank holidays.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes VAT, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 6 people

Starts: 7 January 2019

Ends: 30 November 2019

Availability: Mon-Fri 12:00-17:45

Sort by
Filters
m
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Lovely food. Portions a bit small but very tasty...………………………………………………………………………………………………….

PK
Warwickshire
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Super cozy place, with a small menu, but really good food

FH
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 5

On the whole the food and atmosphere were very good except the roast lamb was cold.

DK
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and great fun for our daughters 18th birthday, we loved it.

AG
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Had a very good time. The Guinea fowl in particular was very good.

EM
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Excellent food, great ambience - went for a business dinner and everyone enjoyed themselves

Gee's
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We're so pleased you chose Gee's for your business dinner - we're delighted to know it was enjoyed by all. We hope to see you again

Report
FB
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 16 October 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent setting, first class food, a delightful evening

SH
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 15 October 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Really nice atmosphere, great food & the staff were wonderful. Definitely would re-visit!

Gee's
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit - we hope to see you again soon

Report
PR
Oxford
2 reviews
Dined on 15 October 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

A lovely contemporary setting amongst lots of plants and foliage.

Gee's
Responded 5 days ago

Thanks so much for your review - we're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon

Report
LA
London
1 review
Dined on 13 October 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Beautiful venue, wonderful food and service. A gem for Oxford

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we hope to see you again soon

Report
KC
1 review
Dined on 13 October 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Outstanding meal and amazing service, we did find that the lighting level was so low that we had to turn our torches on our mobiles in order to read the menu, so did the party at the table sat by us.

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We're sorry it felt a little too dark for you - thank you for the feedback! We'll have a look at the levels for next time! We hope to see you again

Report
DJ
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 13 October 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 5

Gee's is a really lovely setting that is let down by it's service and prices.
Went for brunch recently, not terribly late, and was told 15 minutes after I'd ordered smoked salmon and poached egg that in fact they had run out of salmon halfway through their brunch service.
This is poor in 2 ways. First that it took so long to be told and offered a replacement, and second that they're running out of something that appears several times on their menu before noon! And there was no hint of knocking some of the cost off or anything like that. The meal I had was enjoyable, but not what I wanted in truth.
I really want to like Gee's, but every time I go I'm just a little bit disappointed.

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so sorry to have let you down on your brunch experience - you're absolutely right that your experience is less than ideal; not at all what we aim to provide. We're sorry to have let you down - we do hope you give us another chance to impress and make sure you experience the best of Gee's

Report
o
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 12 October 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Lovely restaurant and very attentive staff. Good choice of interesting food. Tables a little small and can prove difficult if you order pre starters and drinks

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We're so pleased you generally enjoyed your visit - we hope to see you again

Report
j
London
9 reviews
Dined on 12 October 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 4

The service was very attentive and friendly. Food was good but nothing special and quite expensive.

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We're pleased you generally enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again

Report
s
London
9 reviews
Dined on 11 October 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

My husband and I went for an anniversary dinner, and Gee's was definitely a place for the occasion. Lovely setting in a conservatory with beautiful mood lighting. Food was delicious, with decent sized portions - we were both stuffed having had a starter and main each, and shared a dessert. Service was friendly and attentive (I think Sisa was our server). Have already recommended to friends and will come back for brunch one day!

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We're delighted to know you had such a great time. We have passed your kind words on to Sisa who is delighted with your feedback! We hope to see you for brunch soon!

Report
AB
London
1 review
Dined on 5 October 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and lovely ambiance. Highly recommended

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit - we hope to see you again soon!

Report
JR
1 review
Dined on 4 October 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 5

I booked a table here for my girlfriend's surprise birthday dinner, and when we arrived the decor and ambience was lovely, the welcome and waitress was friendly and the girlfriend was very happy.

However the food was very disappointing. We ordered two ribeye steaks, the duck and a burger, and only one meal arrived that was worth the price. The burger arrived cold, and both steaks (despite being a lovely cut of meat and were perfectly cooked to medium rare) tasted bitter and burnt, like the pan they had been using had previously cooked off a number of steaks earlier into the evening and hadn't been cleaned. The duck however was very good, and the starters we had were nice.

To the restaurant's credit, after we complained they didn't charge us for either steak, but at £30 a go for an 8oz, you'd expect real quality for the price. Ultimately the poor food spoiled our opinion of the restaurant which was a shame, as it has real potential to be a great dining spot. I think we were just unlucky, and I would go again, but I would be wary!

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you very much for your review. We're very pleased to hear that the atmosphere and service impressed, and that we tried to rectify your unhappiness by removing the steaks from the bill. We hope you give us another chance to impress in the future.

Report
AS
London
1 review
Dined on 4 October 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Absolutely beautiful setting for dinner, and the food was even better than expected. First time visiting and would definitely be visiting again.

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We're delighted to know we impressed - we hope to see you again soon!

Report
JJ
Miami
6 reviews
Dined on 3 October 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Awesome food. Great drinks and service. Could not ask for anything better. Great experience.

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We're over the moon to hear your feedback - we hope to see you again!

Report
M
Oxford
4 reviews
Dined on 3 October 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Very nice choices from the daily express menu, very attentive staff, nothing too much trouble. Another gem in the Mogford crown.

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you so much for your review - we hope to see you again soon!

Report
CM
New York Area
11 reviews
Dined on 2 October 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 5

Unfortunately, the service was poor and food was not exceptional. Nice location, and I expected more. My drink never came and waitress never checked on us. There is better food options in Oxford.

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you for your review - please accept our apologies for your disappointing visit. We hope you give us a chance to impress in the future

Report
S
London
3 reviews
Dined on 29 September 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

One of the best breakfasts we've had in a while, very tasty. Great ambience and in a very pretty setting. Had the morcilla with scrambled eggs and fiancé had the crashed eggs, chorizo and potatoes.

Service was very slow and we felt like we were being ignored in the corner, even when trying to pay! Also left a private note to the restaurant mentioning it was my fiancé's birthday, and it was a shame this was not recognised. Extremely good food through, definitely recommend!

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We're sorry the service seemed to lack on this occasion, but we're delighted to hear about your feelings about the breakfast. We hope to see you again soon

Report
MA
1 review
Dined on 28 September 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

We were there for my son’s 18 birthday and we had a very good time! Thanks!

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thanks so much for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit - we hope to see you again

Report
GW
1 review
Dined on 28 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent food and staff. We were well looked after and when they realised we were got engaged during the meal they gave us two glasses of champagne.

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. Congratulations on your engagement!! We're so pleased you chose Gee's for your memorable night - we hope to see you again soon!

Report
DH
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 28 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic food great service and overall a lovely restaurant and will always come back as love it there!

Gee's
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you for this great review. We're so pleased to hear that we impressed - we can't wait to see you again!

Report
OT
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 27 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wanted to celebrate my husband's birthday somewhere nice , found this place and we just fall in love with it. Food was lovely , atmosphere was amazing and service ... well service was absolutely brilliant. Prices are a little bit high but well.. it worth every pence

Gee's
Responded 5 days ago

Thanks so much for your visit. We're so pleased to know you enjoyed your special occasion and that we impressed. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
JM
Hampshire
3 reviews
Dined on 24 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Excellent food & very good service made for a happy evening

Gee's
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for your visit. We're so pleased to know you enjoyed your visit

Report
DS
Oxford
5 reviews
Dined on 23 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This was a business meeting our table was private enough and comfortable.

Gee's
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We're so pleased to know you enjoyed your visit

Report
MP
Toronto
1 review
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall 4food 2service 5ambience 5

The waiter was extremely attentive and did an excellent job! We also were celebrating an anniversary and were offered complimentary champagne at the start of our meal which was absolutely delightful. The atmosphere was also better than expected and was perfect for the occasion. The only issue we had was with the food quality itself. We just didn't think it was worth the price we paid for it, and the menu was overall a bit bland. However everything else was fantastic!

Gee's
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We're so pleased to know you enjoyed your visit. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your special occasion with us! We hope to see you again

Report
JH
Buckinghamshire
1 review
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Welcoming with efficient service.
Conservatory setting suited us but also external tables. Delicious menu selection for Brunch. A step away from the City Centre makes it a relaxed & calm venue with museums very accessible.
Highly recommended.

Gee's
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We're so pleased to know you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon

Report
LE
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 20 September 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Terrible acoustics made it impossible talk. Lighting too dark to read the menu. Food far too salty (salad like chips). We won’t be back I’m afraid, despite the interior being very pretty (if you have a torch)

Gee's
Responded on 22 September 2019

Thank you so much for your review. We're so sorry you had such a disappointing time. We do deliberately keep the lighting low to provide a romantic mood - sorry it seemed to have gone a bit too far this time. Let us know next time if there are any issues with food - if we don't know at the time we can't rectify anything. Apologies again

Report
EH
1 review
Dined on 20 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

The food was good and the service excellent. However, noise levels were very high, so be prepared to shout to make yourself heard by your companions!

Gee's
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for your review. We're so pleased to know you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon

Report
Z
London
3 reviews
Dined on 20 September 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

In the end was a table for 2 both of whom ate fish/seafood. One had a whole seabass served with roasted and the other seafood linguine. Both diners pronounced themselves very happy with the food though noted it was a little pricey. Place was busy- not surprising as it was a Friday night.

Gee's
Responded on 22 September 2019

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your feedback on the seabass and the linguine - we hope to see you again soon.

Report
A
Oxford
2 reviews
Dined on 19 September 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

Lovely location. Beautiful building ok food. Not a great wine list (expensive too)

Gee's
Responded on 20 September 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave the review. Any feedback on either the food or the wine other than the price would be appreciated to help us improve. We're sorry we didn't overly impress on this occasion

Report
OT
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on 17 September 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 4

Nice venue. Great and gentle service. Food ok

Gee's
Responded on 20 September 2019

Thank you so much for your review. We're pleased the service impressed. If you have any specific feedback about the food we would be grateful to hear it to help us improve

Report
SG
1 review
Dined on 16 September 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 5

Lovely lunch thank you. Perhaps we should have had the menu of the day

Gee's
Responded on 20 September 2019

Thank you so much for your review - any specific feedback on the dishes would be appreciated. Thanks again - we hope to see you again

Report
SP
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

The Tapas were fantastic as a starter. Hamburger was excellent, the linguine with salmon & prawns as well ! The atmosphere is great : the conservatory and all the tree/plants/flowers around is really relaxing. We had a very good time, thanks !

Gee's
Responded on 17 September 2019

Thank you so much for your review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed you visit. We look forward to seeing you again

Report
a
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

It was outstanding

Gee's
Responded on 17 September 2019

Thank you so much for this review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much! We hope to see you again

Report
EA
London
2 reviews
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely brunch while back in Oxford for a weekend visit to my old college. Gees as good as ever, now with a neat slightly Spanish twist to the food.

Gee's
Responded on 20 September 2019

Thank you so much for your review. It's lovely to know you enjoyed your visit (again!) we hope to see you again

Report
JG
1 review
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 4

My wife and I had eaten at this restaurant for lunch once before. On that occasion I would have happily given 5 stars on every aspect of the visit - this is a great restaurant, so much so, my wife and I travelled the 115 mile journey from our home to eat there again for our 12th wedding anniversary. Expecting the restaurant to be very busy on a Friday night, I booked in advance, explained the occassion and that it required a long journey to get there, and asked for a 'nice' table. On arrival we were shown to a small table stuck on the end of row situated on the main 'gangway' for diners and staff. Worse, to serve a table next door but one to our left, the waitress had to 'bang into' the back of my chair every single time she delivered or cleared that table. It was not her fault - there simply was not the room for her to do otherwise. There is so much to say that is positive about this restaurant. The building is amazing, the food is between very good and, at times, outstanding, the service is attentive, they do nice touches (knowing it was our anniversary we were welcomed with a complimentary glass of fizz each) - even after the experience I have outlined above, I would still recommend you to go, but given our experience, I would recommend you go for lunch, or perhaps dinner midweek - avoid the busy times on Friday/Saturday nights. It's a great restaurant but I feel they let us down on this occassion.

Gee's
Responded on 22 September 2019

Thank you so much for this review. We're pleased we impressed enough for you to make a long journey to join us for your special evening, and I'm pleased we were able to offer a little something to recognise it. Apologies for the seating - it's true that we do get a little cosy at busier times; we really appreciate your fairness in this. We're pleased the food impressed again. If you want a table a little more tucked away, next time I recommend asking for a corner table. We hope to see you again.

Report