Gee's

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
694 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mediterranean
Top tags:
  • Special Occasions
  • Good for a Date
  • Romance
Oxford’s iconic glass house, remains loyal to its traditions of providing quality food & service in the most beautiful restaurant in Oxford. Free parking is available just a short walk away on Canterbury Road. The interior is filled with trees and plants, the kitchen features a wood fire oven & charcoal grill. Ingredients are simply prepared and expertly cooked. Open all day, every day: morning coffee, weekend brunch, express lunch, dishes for sharing & Sunday roasts… Also feel welcome to just drop by for a glass or two. Expect a warm welcome and great food served by knowledgeable & friendly waiters

Special Offers

Express Menu: 2 courses £14.95

From a set menu, 3 courses £17.95. Not available bank holidays.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes VAT, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 6 people

Starts: 7 January 2019

Ends: 30 September 2019

Availability: Mon-Fri 12:00-17:45

What 694 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
SP
Oxford
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

The Tapas were fantastic as a starter. Hamburger was excellent, the linguine with salmon & prawns as well ! The atmosphere is great : the conservatory and all the tree/plants/flowers around is really relaxing. We had a very good time, thanks !

a
New York Area
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

It was outstanding

SN
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

The cocktails, wine & main courses were faultless! And the restaurant has such a lovely vibe with great staff.
I have one small issue & that was with the starters. I ordered the Burrata & Broccoli pizzete which was not very good- the burrata had been melted on & so completely missing the point of putting burrata on there- could have just been cheap mozzarella. The broccoli was also in tiny pieces & very soft and the pizza dough was very very thin with little flavour or bite. Overall not a good starter. My partner also ordered the Rabbit terrine which was very tasteless & bland (however the pickled carrots were lovely).
I would still definitely go back but might just skip the starters & have an extra Basil Caprianha (which was excellent!)

Gee's
Responded 6 days ago

Thanks so much for this fab review! We're really pleased we generally impressed and your feedback on the starters are appreciated. We hope to see you again

Report
SM
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 5

The setting is idyllic, sitting inside the airy conservatory, with an abundance of plants and fairy lights is very lovely. Unfortunately, the food and adjacent pricing really knocked our overall experience. We had the sharing tapas starter, which was fine, the best part were the fishy croquettes with tarragon (I think) dipping sauce, but everything else could have been easily decanted from a jar. When it came to mains, I went for the pea and butternut squash risotto which unfortunately was very bland and lacked any seasoning, bar the very heavy handed addition of oregano which is all you could taste. It literally tasted of nothing. My partner had the burger with chorizo, which was average, and considering the amazing burgers you can get these days, was massively overpriced and not good. Also to not, the chips were not seasoned and soggy with no crunch to them whatsoever. We came away underwhelmed and with a £90+ hole in our pocket. Because of this, I absolutely cannot recommend without considerable improvement to the food on offer. A really shame as it genuinely is one of the cutest restaurants I’ve been to - perfect for date night, if you’re only having cocktails.

Gee's
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review. We're really sorry to hear that you weren't overly impressed by our food. Everything we serve is freshly made in house, and so if there are any issues, do let us know and we will always do what we can to rectify! We hope you give us another chance to impress

Report
LR
London
6 reviews
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was delicious, the ambiance perfect (full of natural light, and plants), really good service.

Gee's
Responded on 9 September 2019

Thanks so much for this lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again soon

Report
AS
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

We went here to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was worth the visit. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Oxford.

Gee's
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so pleased we made your anniversary special - we hope to see you again

Report
OT
Yorkshire
4 reviews
Dined on 6 September 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

Thought the ambience and menu at Gee’s was lovely. The selection was wide ranging and the food we had was delicious. I do think however, pricing is potentially a little on the high side for what you get and my one real criticism is dinner for over £150 and you get a paper napkin..! That needs to improve. Other than that, I’d be there again.

Gee's
Responded on 9 September 2019

Thank you so much for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and drinks - we hope to see you again soon

Report
OT
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This restaurant is my go to in Oxford. It has an amazing atmosphere with nice, friendly and really helpful staff. The food is delicious. I was there for my birthday and me and my friends really had a good time

Gee's
Responded on 9 September 2019

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and had a good birthday! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
RO
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

The building has a huge amount of character, service was very good and quick, food was well cooked with ta nicely balanced menu.

Gee's
Responded on 9 September 2019

Thank you so much for your review. Delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon

Report
LS
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 3 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We got married at the Old Parsonage 10 years ago and had our reception at Gee's. We went back to Gee's for an anniversary meal and it was still magical. The food is interesting and cooked perfectly. The staff and attentive - and even gave us complimentary fizz to celebrate. We love the room and the lighting and decor so much - and the Gee's quality is unwavering.

Gee's
Responded on 8 September 2019

Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us! Delighted to know you had such a great time - here's to many more! see you again

Report
ES
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 3 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The whole artichoke was incredible! Thank you very much for the great service and lovely staff.

Gee's
Responded on 8 September 2019

Thank you so much for your review. So pleased to know you enjoyed the artichoke so much! We look forward to your next visit!

Report
B
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 5

The service, ambience and wine were very good but the food extremely disappointing. A glutinous, tasteless cauliflower soup, a barely warm, crumbling burger and a non-descript pizzeretta with broccoli. We left feeling unsatisfied and its an enormous shame as we would like to return but the food was so poor we are unlikely to.

Gee's
Responded on 8 September 2019

Thank you so much for your comments on the service and ambience. We're really surprised and sorry to hear your feedback on the food - let us know at the time and we will always do what we can to make sure you leave satisfied! We hope you give us another chance to impress!

Report
OT
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 5

We went to dinner at Gee’s for our wedding anniversary and were incredibly disappointed. The ambiance is magical, but the food and service were mediocre at best.

I ordered the 8oz ribeye, which was a smaller cut and was well done instead of the medium that I ordered. It was not worth 30 pounds.

The service was also poor. The restaurant knew it was our wedding anniversary but made no mention of the event. We were placed in a cramped area very close to other couples and rushed through our meal. I expected to spend two hours at dinner and we were out a little after an hour. Our entrees arrived before we had finished our bread and our first glass of wine from the bottle we purchased. We felt rushed and were not able to enjoy the ambiance.

A hundred pound meal that left us feeling upset at the end. We are unlikely to return.

Gee's
Responded on 8 September 2019

Thank you for your review. We're so sorry you were disappointed by your visit, and that your anniversary wasn't made to be as special as we normally make it. We will always correct food issues - we just need to be made aware. When customers choose not to order starters, we try to make sure the main courses come out without too much of a delay. The complimentary bread is meant to be a pre-cursor and accompaniment to the mains, not necessarily a starter substitute. Apologies again.

Report
NB
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 5

I think the prices are a bit too high for the food. But it’s definitely tasty! I loved the atmosphere but unfortunately the service was not to its highest standards. Our waiter seemed nice when he approached us but when we asked to change the sides for one of the fish dishes we ordered he acted rudely. My mother-in-law doesn’t eat any other sides except chips and we asked to serve just fish with no other sides that come with it(couscous, asparagus, etc) and asked separately for the chips. The waiter in a rude tone commented that it wouldn’t make sense. We still said that’s fine, it’s just the way she eats and he looked at us with a grimace on his face, saying in a rude tone -“fine”. Everyone has a different taste and it’s hard to find a place that would suit a group of people. I think even if you come to a place with a certain cuisine you should still be able to ask for something simple without feeling ashamed, especially when they have chips as a side to order separately from the menu.

Gee's
Responded on 8 September 2019

Thank you so much for your review and your feedback. We're really sorry if the waiter came across as rude - we assure you it wasn't meant as such. We like our waiters to have pride and knowledge about all of our dishes, so it was honestly only meant as a suggestion - all of our customers are, of course, welcome to make substitutions or replacements without issue.

Report
s
London
8 reviews
Dined on 30 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent food, attentive staff and beautiful location.

Gee's
Responded on 8 September 2019

Thank you so much for this fab review - we're so pleased you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again!

Report
M
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Dined on 29 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely staff, gorgeous atmosphere and setting, food was perfect.

Gee's
Responded on 8 September 2019

Thank you so much for this great review - we hope to see you again soon!

Report
M
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

Nice setting and pleasant part of Oxford. Service was good but found the food only so so. I do so next to adding ‘discretionary tipping’, this place is better than that and I feel it’s a poor reflection of the class of the place
Food was mixed. Some above average, some just average
Would I go there again - not sure

Gee's
Responded on 8 September 2019

Thank you so much for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed the service. Sorry to hear the food underwhelmed on this occasion. The discretionary service charge is quite standard in the industry now, and you will find it in many places, certainly around Oxford - let us know and we will remove it without issue. We hope to see you again

Report
P
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on 27 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Been there many times. Never disappoints. Paella especially good. Thanks

Gee's
Responded on 8 September 2019

Thank you so much for this great review. Delighted to know the paella impressed- we hope to see you again soon!

Report
OR
Montreal
3 reviews
Dined on 26 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great atrium and tasty food complimented with good service

Gee's
Responded on 8 September 2019

Thank you so much for this great review - we hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
London
5 reviews
Dined on 25 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The service was attentive, the food was delicious and perfectly cooked and the ambiance was lovely, we sat outside amongst the array of flowers.
Could have been more generous with the extra gravy but I’m a gravy hog and I’m sure more would have been available if we’d requested extra.

Gee's
Responded on 29 August 2019

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and that you were able to make the most of our outside seating area - we hope to see you again!

Report
AH
1 review
Dined on 24 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Friendly prompt service lovely surroundings delicious food overall fantastic

Gee's
Responded on 29 August 2019

Thanks so much for this - we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon

Report
AB
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
Dined on 24 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Really lovely setting for a Birthday lunch. Great food. Excellent staff. Would thoroughly recommend

Gee's
Responded on 29 August 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review - delighted we were able to help make the birthday something special! We hope to see you again

Report
JM
1 review
Dined on 22 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

What a magical evening. The food, atmosphere, service was first class. We will be back for sure.

Gee's
Responded on 29 August 2019

Thank you so so much! We're so pleased to hear you had such a fab time - we look forward to seeing you again!

Report
BA
Oxford
3 reviews
Dined on 21 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always my favourite restaurant in Oxford and still is. Courteous staff, great food and lovely atmosphere. Hadn’t visited in around 19 years - won’t leave it so long until my next visit!

Gee's
Responded on 29 August 2019

Thank you so much! We're so pleased to have consistently impressed after all this time! We hope to see you sooner rather than later! Thanks again

Report
SP
London
2 reviews
Dined on 18 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Outstanding service from very nice girls - makes all the difference

Gee's
Responded on 21 August 2019

Thanks so much for your review - we'll pass on your lovely comments to the team! We hope to see you again!

Report
P
London
1 review
Dined on 18 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

After three weeks Scotland and England, this was our best restaurant experience. The atmosphere, the glasshouse, the food and particularly the service were outstanding. And the friendliness of the Italian and French ladies (Allessandra? Tanuviel?) contributed much to our overall satisfaction. Good winelist, as well!

Gee's
Responded on 21 August 2019

Thank you so much for this lovely review - we're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself! We will pass on your feedback to Alessandra and Tinuviel - they'll be delighted!!! We hope to see you again and enjoy your travels!

Report
D
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely food, pleasant service and a nice atmosphere

Gee's
Responded on 21 August 2019

Thank you so much for your review - we hope to see you again soon

Report
MW
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall 3food 2service 2ambience 4

It looks pretty but that is all to say in its favour. We had to wait for menus, we had to ask to have our order taken, when the food arrived it was dull. Samphire in the pasta was spiky and stuck in the throat. Non-alcoholic Mohito was just a Mohito without the rum, no effort had gone into replacing the flavour with anything else. The prices are high because you are paying for the ambience - and it does look lovely. Just don't expect good food.

Gee's
Responded on 20 August 2019

Hi MikeW, You're absolutely right. Please accept m apologies. It is normal procedure for us to adjust a dessert order accordingly and either add a candle or, if no dessert is ordered, to give a scoop of ice cream with a candle as a gesture. I'm sorry this didn't happen on this occasion - I will try to find out why. I know that doesn't help to dampen the disappointment, but I wanted to offer my apologies. James

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 5

Lovely setting and ambience. However, two key points:
1) whilst the food was nice, it was in my view relatively overpriced.
2) I am always happy to pay a service charge or tip - however I noted on the bill that the 12.5% service charge had been automatically included, and the waitress did not bring my attention to this - which should be standard practice.

Gee's
Responded on 20 August 2019

Thank you for your review. We're sorry you didn't particularly like your experience with us. While it is true that we don't verbally tell all of our customers about the service charge (which we will always remove without issue), we do print it on our menus, on our website, on the bill and list it as a separate item on the bill.

Report
c
London
3 reviews
Dined on 16 August 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 5

Always a treat , service was great, food very tasty and ambience superb

Gee's
Responded on 20 August 2019

Thank you so much for this review. It's lovely to know you enjoyed your experience so much - we hope to see you again

Report
R
Dorset
1 review
Dined on 15 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Friendly welcoming service; excellent food that arrived quickly. General ambience of the restaurant was amazing; would highly reccommend going during darkness as the lighting is stunning.

Gee's
Responded on 20 August 2019

Thanks so much for this lovely review. We're delighted to know you enjoyed your visit so much - we hope to see you again soon!

Report
V
Orange County
3 reviews
Dined on 14 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had been given a gift card and enjoyed every moment of being there. The service, food, and ambiance were wonderful. It is a magical place at night with the lights. We hope to go again!

Gee's
Responded on 20 August 2019

Thank you so much! We're over the moon to know you enjoyed your visit so much! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report
CR
London
1 review
Dined on 12 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Delicious food in beautiful surroundings! Particularly love the plant filled entrance. Excellent friendly service and the birthday candle on my husband’s dessert was a nice touch.

Gee's
Responded on 20 August 2019

Thank you so much for your review. It's lovely to know that you enjoyed your visit so much - we hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 11 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Food was indeed scrumptious and the food appearances was amazingly done, my wife and me enjoyed it very much. Staffs were helpful, nice and attentive. Fabulous ambient environment with all flowers spread around the corners.

Would be even better if they could offer more beautiful smiling faces throughout the dinning experience.

Overall, a great dining experience ! Fantastic !

Rdgs,
Customer from Singapore.

Gee's
Responded on 20 August 2019

Thank you so much for your review. It's lovely to know you enjoyed your visit so much - we hope to see you again soon!

Report
IG
London
2 reviews
Dined on 10 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Gee's is a brilliant spot for brunch. The service was very friendly and everyone we spoke to was great! The food was delicious and was very well presented. I would 100% come back and recommend to friends and family!

Gee's
Responded on 20 August 2019

Thank you so much for your review. It's lovely to know you enjoyed your visit so much - we hope to see you again soon!

Report
M
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 7 August 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

What a stunning location! We had a lovely meal here with friends. Service was great too.

Gee's
Responded on 20 August 2019

Thank you so much for your review. It's lovely to know you enjoyed your visit so much - we hope to see you again soon

Report
ES
New York Area
15 reviews
Dined on 4 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing service... only 2 waitresses, a hostess and 1 bartender, able to work together, in a full restaurant efficiently, capable and still with a personal friendly attitude. Food was delicious with a Mediterranean / British touch. We had a paella that was full of wonderful flavors.

Gee's
Responded on 20 August 2019

Thank you so much for your review. It's lovely to know you enjoyed your visit so much - we hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Best night of my life

Gee's
Responded on 20 August 2019

Thank you so much for your review. It's lovely to know you enjoyed your visit so much - we hope to see you again soon!

Report
EJ
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 2 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Delicious food, beautiful setting, we will be going back! :)

AP
Berkshire
1 review
Dined on 28 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely Sunday brunch, served by very efficient and friendly staff, in a beautiful setting. A perfec start to the day - thanks. We will be back!

Gee's
Responded on 30 July 2019

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We're so pleased to have heard that you enjoyed your visit and that we impressed as much as we aim to. We hope to see you again soon

Report
1
2
3
18