Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. Lancashire
  4. Preston
  5. Preston
Heritage Cafe at Samlesbury Hall, Preston, Lancashire

Heritage Cafe at Samlesbury Hall

4.5
4.5
324 Reviews
£25 and under
British
Here at Samlesbury Hall, we believe the better things in life are those closest to home and with this in mind, we insist on only the finest ingredients sourced from our own gardens and neighbouring Lancashire producers. Dishes are seasoned with fresh herbs from the Heritage Gardens using our own chives, mint, parsley, thyme, rosemary and bay leaves. Chef Siobhan selects quality meat daily from butchers in Leyland and Longridge bringing Forest of Bowland lamb, beef, pork, poultry and sausages a mere hop, skip and a jump from there to here.

Meanwhile, our seafood takes a similarly short journey from the Lancashire fishing town of Fleetwood.

The decision is yours – from tasty, filling soup prepared daily in our kitchen, to a delicious lunch rounded off with a scrumptious pudding made by our chef Naomi.

The Café boasts a comprehensively stocked Bar so you can enjoy a cocktail (or a mocktail or two!) while you dine.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Order delivery or takeout

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    British
  • Hours of Operation
    Breakfast Tue–Sun 08:30–11:00 Brunch Tue–Sun 11:00–12:00 Lunch Tue–Sun 12:00–15:00
  • Phone number
    01254 812010
  • Payment Options
    Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress Code
    Casual Dress
  • Area
    Preston
  • Parking Details
    Free parking
  • Public Transit
    The 57 bus between Blackburn-Preston stops directly outside.
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Counter Seating, Dog Friendly, Gender Neutral Restroom, Gluten-free Options, High Tea, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeaway, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access
Gift card

Gift card

Send gift cards instantly by email or print to present in person.

Send a gift card

What 324 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.5
4.5 based on recent ratings
  • 4.5Food
  • 4.5Service
  • 4.4Ambience
  • 4.1Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • Lancashire

    Great for brunch

  • Lancashire

    Child-friendly

  • Lancashire

    Gluten-free-friendly

  • Lancashire

    Healthy

  • Lancashire

    Vegetarian-friendly

324 Reviews
  1. TinaR

    Lancashire

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Dog friendly cafe, good service & staff friendly. Good menu choice & food was nice. Only 4 stars as the cake I had was a little dry. It is quite pricey & a very busy cafe which did affect the noise level but I guess as it was a weekend you’d expect that and it’s possibly quieter on weekdays. Overall enjoyed our visit & would go again.

    Is this helpful?

  2. JulieR

    Cheshire

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 7 April 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 1
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 3
    The main reason for the low score is because of my meal. I ordered Moroccan couscous salad with feta cheese and falafel, the falafel were rock hard (burnt on the outside) when they came and I mentioned it to the waitress who at first said that was how they should be then came back and offered to bring some more out, which was good, I also asked at the same time for some salad dressing as it was so dry and which she obliged with. It was a mustard dressing which I didn’t think really went with the meal but didn’t say anything as it had been too problematic already. What I did say when paying was I thought the meal was poor because the salad part was just a pile of rocket lettuce on top of some couscous from a packet with cheese and falafel around the edge. It was very dry until I asked for the dressing which didn’t really go, balsamic would have worked better, I was really disappointed as I thought there would have been chopped tomatoes, cucumber, onion, pepper, chick peas etc to make a salad, other peoples meals looked good, the person on the till said she would let the chef know, my husband’s meal was jacket potato was cheaper than my meal and far more nicer and great value for money. It was a shame as I had booked the meal for our anniversary and I was really looking forward to eating there after a lovely walk around the hall earlier, I would suggest that the meal was taken off the menu or the salad part improved, there was a huge amount of feta cheese on the plate far too much for one person to eat so could reduce this and improve the salad, as to me a salad isn’t a pile of rocket, it’s so dry on its own like that too.

    Is this helpful?

  3. SVJO

    Manchester

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 March 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 2
    4. Ambience 1
    Wouldn't recommend for a special occasion, although cafe is fine for an everyday visit. Booked for Mother's Day as family members wanted a meal rather than afternoon tea, but really wish we'd gone for the tea in the hall instead. The cafe is not really suited to an occasion experience - too many plastic plants! Was our first time visiting and did not realise it was situated so far from the hall. It is basically a completely separate venue with a separate car park and so doesn't even feel as though you are visiting Salmesbury Hall. Staff were really rushed and we waited ages to be served drinks - ordered on arrival and didn't actually get them so had to order again at the table. Our server was really good however and we did receive our food promptly. Food was ok - would have hoped for more than one veggie option. Our mums had the beef of which there was plenty, but it looked really thick and tough. It seemed more of a venue for families and dogs are also allowed. Price of meal was ok and good how you could choose between 2 or 3 courses with the Mother's Day menu. Musician was a nice touch and helped to cover the background noise. Overall, it seemed a bit chaotic, although there were lots of staff around. I guess it's about expectations and what you are looking for. I think for people with children or in a group, this would maybe have been a good option, but for us it wasn't really the treat experience were were hoping for.
    Heritage Cafe at Samlesbury HallResponded on 12 March 2024
    Thank you for your review, we appreciate that the Heritage Cafe may not have been what you were expecting but there's no cafe in our 700 year old Hall. The plants aren't plastic - we have a strict watering schedule. As you are no doubt aware, Mother's Day is the busiest day of the hospitality year and it sounds like there may have been a small wait for your drinks for which we apologise. We're glad you received your delicious food promptly. On the menu we had 4 choices for each course, with 3 veggie starters, 2 veggie mains + 3 veggie puddings - we try really hard to accommodate everybody's tastes but understandably we can't please all the people all of the time. Overall we're pleased you enjoyed lunch and we hope you can visit again. Perhaps try our delicious afternoon teas next year?

    1 person found this helpful

  4. OxMan

    Manchester

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 March 2024

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 2
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 3
    Where do I start with this horrendous experience. Pre booked mother days about 4 weeks ago for a really special day with my mum. The website said mother day so I picked the date and time. The reservation all confirmed. Arrived 12.45pm, were we where taken to the table and on the table were standard menus sandwiches etc. Told my mum we’ve booked mother day, so the staff gave us the mother day menus. 15 minutes later the waiter took our order. 5 minutes later we where told the mother day menu isnt available on Saturday. This special day surely can’t get worst. The staff didn’t have a clue about anything. Training or communication doesn’t seem to be one of there values. We ordered from the standard menu. It got to 13.20pm and our drinks still haven’t arrived. I got up to ask the staff about our drinks order which did and follow shortly after. Later tables started to get there food delivered to their table so we waited and waited. This was disappointing so I went up again and asked if they could check. Nobody returned to inform us. At 13.45pm the food arrived it was ok, but not special. I asked for the manager who didn’t seem to be available so I spoke the assistant manager who agreed to deduct off our drinks, which I thought was a good jester but should have been slightly more. She waffled a load of rubbish, so I just paid £33 for a homemade pie that’s didn’t look homemade. The good things the company I had didn’t spoil my day to much. The hospitality industry is being challenged with prices rises etc if this place wasn’t a charity I’m pretty sure they wouldn’t survive. You can have a great brand but if the staff haven’t a clue this brand will slowly get tarnished.
    Heritage Cafe at Samlesbury HallResponded on 11 March 2024
    Hello Oxman, thank you for your review. As explained to you on your visit, we don't serve the Mother's Day menu on days that aren't Mother's Day (when you visited). You requested to see the Mother's Day menu and our staff obliged, but we have been advertising the menu for a few months and this isn't an unusual request. It was not offered to you to choose from on the day. We understand you may have been disappointed, but our usual menu is much larger and with more choice on less busier days, so don't feel this would have ruined your day. The handcrafted pie does not cost £33, nor do we state it is a homemade pie (a fantastic local pie man makes these for us).

    1 person found this helpful

  5. Sulune

    Manchester

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 March 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great service and a nice atmosphere. The lunch menu had plenty of choice.

    Is this helpful?

  6. ChristineT

    San Francisco

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 25 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Very light,airy, well decorated environment. A recommended place & especially in the nicer weather as there is lots of outside seating. The bathroom facilities were excellent. Always a sign of a well run/attention to detail establishment. Do not think the name ‘cafe’ reflects the ‘personality’ of the place.

    Is this helpful?

  7. JanetT

    London

    6 reviews

    3.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 23 February 2024

    1. Overall 3
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 3
    4. Ambience 4
    I have eaten here several times and the food has always been excellent, however today the food and the service was not up to standard. The plates didn’t look as appetising. My jacket potato and beans were cold, there was little cheese and salad and this dish was not up to the usual standard. The cake we had was very dry. I don’t know if there was a different chef on today.

    Is this helpful?

  8. Cathelizm

    Manchester

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 23 February 2024

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Nice bright venue. Warm welcome from staff. Food arrived promptly- hot & tasty pie of the day.

    Is this helpful?

  9. Lynne

    San Francisco

    3 reviews

    5.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 22 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Great food lovely staff couldn’t fault our visit.

    Is this helpful?

  10. OpenTable Diner

    Lancashire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 17 February 2024

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    First time visiting the Heritage Cafe and definitely not disappointed. Extremely pleasant staff with very efficient and polite table service. Great ambience with a relaxed vibe and very tasty food which wasn't overpriced. Couldn't fault it and will definitely visit again.

    Is this helpful?

FAQs

Heritage Cafe at Samlesbury Hall offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at 01254 812010.

Heritage Cafe at Samlesbury Hall is rated 4.5 stars by 324 OpenTable diners.

Heritage Cafe at Samlesbury Hall does offer gift cards which you can purchase here.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a booking

2 people

19:00


Order delivery or takeout

Google Map for Heritage Cafe at Samlesbury Hall

Samlesbury Hall, Preston New Road, Preston, Lancashire PR5 0UP

Additional information

  • Area
    Preston
  • Hours of Operation
    Breakfast Tue–Sun 08:30–11:00 Brunch Tue–Sun 11:00–12:00 Lunch Tue–Sun 12:00–15:00
  • Price
    £25 and under
  • Cuisines
    British
  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Dress Code
    Casual Dress
  • Parking Details
    Free parking
  • Public Transit
    The 57 bus between Blackburn-Preston stops directly outside.
  • Payment Options
    Mastercard, Visa
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Cafe, Counter Seating, Dog Friendly, Gender Neutral Restroom, Gluten-free Options, High Tea, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeaway, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access
Gift card

Gift card

Send gift cards instantly by email or print to present in person.

Send a gift card
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Impressum
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
OpenTable Logo