House of Ho - Fitzrovia

3.9
43 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Pan-Asian
Top tags:
  • Cosy
  • Lunch
  • Good for a Date
Reflecting the rich cultural diversity that now makes London a world class city, The House of Hô has introduced it’s own special brand of modern Pan Asian fusion cooking. Inspired by East Asia’s rich culinary history, our top chef seeks to bring harmony and balance to his dishes with taste, texture, colour and the freshest ingredients all designed to surprise and delight the palette. Customers' favourites include; duck and watermelon salad, crispy squid, our dumpling baskets and highly popular sushi and sashimi.
What 43 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.0
service
3.8
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
72% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
BS
Charleston
1 review
Dined 14 hours ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

What a fantastic restaurant this is. The food is absolutely delicious which was accompanied by a very helpful an attentive waiter who advised me of as to what would be good and with such fussy dietary requirements I was very impressed with his knowledge. The Yellowtail Sashimi and Prawn and Mango Salad was divine. Wine list was fab too, will definitely be coming back.

Report
Helpful
DM
London
2 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Very enjoyable meal for myself and three others. Each dish ordered was very tasty and the service was very good. I recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 3 May 2019
Overall 1food 1service 4ambience 5

Spring rolls terrible. Vegetarian pho uneatable.

Report
Helpful
DL
Surrey
3 reviews
Dined on 2 May 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

We have been to the House of Ho on a couple of occassions and have always enjoyed it. Good food, service and pleasant atmosphere. Recommended.

Report
Helpful
M
London
23 reviews
Dined on 25 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Love House of Ho- great Asian food and service. Have been a few times and it's always a pleasure to go back.

Report
Helpful
CS
London
1 review
Dined on 15 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Best spot on Charlotte St. to sit outside and soak in the sun by a long shot. The duck salad is just to die for and the cocktail list is great too. Love the House of Ho.

Report
Helpful
RW
Hertfordshire
59 reviews
Dined on 13 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

We very much enjoyed our latest visit to the House of Ho. All of the dishes were very good/excellent but the crispy duck salad with melon was exceptional. Warmly recommended.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on 12 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Amazing food, great quantities and really good quality. Service great too - very attentive

Report
Helpful
MD
London
37 reviews
Dined on 11 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

A nice place with a wide variety of asian cuisines. The prices were definitively a bit higher than your typical Vietnamese restaurant but the food was generally better too but not consistently.

Report
Helpful
R
London
1 review
Dined on 9 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food is really tasty and great for sharing. The staff made the evening really special as it was my bday and they brought out a cake which was nice. I’d really recommend house of ho, great staff, great food, and a good location.

Report
Helpful
f
London
17 reviews
Dined on 5 April 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Really delicious food - all the best flavours of Asian fusion. The waiter was helpful in assisting us to order the right amount (its a confusing menu of big/small/sharing plates) and the drinks prices were reasonable especially ordering wine by the glass.

Report
Helpful
HM
London
1 review
Dined on 1 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 3

Great little restaurant with the best view of Charlotte St. Sat on the cosy terrace for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the Crispy Duck Salad. Very friendly waiter served me throughout, top stuff.

Report
Helpful
I
London
1 review
Dined on 29 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Lovely food and atmosphere. The watermelon and duck salad is a must. Cocktails were delicious. Terrace was lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful with recommendations and attentive throughout. Would definitely recommend and will be going back.

Report
Helpful
AS
London
1 review
Dined on 27 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

We booked the House of Ho for a quick business lunch and it was fantastic. Great food ideal for sharing. Very cosy restaurant

Report
Helpful
SV
London
1 review
Dined on 27 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 3

Food was delicious topped with a very kind waiter. Nice quiet spot at the end of Charlotte street. Thumbs up.

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 23 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and nice atmosphere.spot on service

Report
Helpful
CS
London
1 review
Dined on 23 March 2019
Overall 1food 3service 1ambience 3

The food was decent but was spoiled by the worst service I can remember having had in a restaurant for a very long time. First waiter didn’t speak a English and took down the order with limited success, had to ask a few times for the wine after food was already served, literally everything bar 4 dishes arrived at once, when I pointed out half an hour later that we were missing 4 dishes (and I specified what they were) I was rather patronisingly made to feel like I was being over anxious and should just relax. An hour later half the missing dishes arrived - and when I enquired as to the missing two, I was told that we never ordered them at all and the waiter then became extremely aggressive. When my friend pointed out that he was being aggressive, to his defence he did comp us all a glass of wine and remove the 2 late dishes from the menu (we never got the missing ones) but his attitude and the sloppy service quite spoiled the meal unfortunately.

House of Ho - Fitzrovia
Responded on 27 March 2019

Hi Carly, We're sorry to hear that we were unable to match your expectations on this occasion. Could you please email us at info@houseofho.co.uk with more details of your visit, including date and time, so that we can investigate this further? We look forward to hearing back from you soon. Kind regards, House of Ho

Report
Helpful
m
London
1 review
Dined on 23 March 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 2

Food quite good but poor service. Looks tatty around the edges and atmosphere was lacking.

Report
Helpful
D
London
6 reviews
Dined on 21 March 2019
Overall 2food 1service 2ambience 3

I wouldn’t say food was bad but definitely below average and I wouldn’t recommend it at all. There is hardly any space between tables so felt like there was constantly a radio next to you and you were forced to listen.

House of Ho - Fitzrovia
Responded on 22 March 2019

Hi - sorry you felt this way about your experience at The House of Ho. We strive to provide the best food to all our customers so we are disappointed to receive such a harsh review. Unfortunately we are only a small restaurant and the space is specifically proportioned so all customers have an equal amount of distance between tables however thank you for your feedback.

Report
Helpful
NG
London
1 review
Dined on 20 March 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 3

Excellent food.

Annoying background music.

Service a little slow on times.

Report
Helpful
DL
London
1 review
Dined on 19 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Wow the food was deeeeeelicious - We had the steamed sea bass fillets with jasmine rice and crispy squid and it was unreaal. Great service throughout and all in all a fab little spot at the end of Charlotte Street.

House of Ho - Fitzrovia
Responded on 22 March 2019

Hi - we are so glad you enjoyed your time at the House of Ho. We hope to welcome you soon.

Report
Helpful
OT
London
10 reviews
Dined on 19 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 3ambience 5

Amazing food as always! Such a pleasure eating in this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
AH
London
2 reviews
Dined on 12 March 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 2

The place was dead - It was a Tuesday night - but it is the West End. Starters were good, especially the Duck and Watermelon Salad, but the waiter didn't speak great English and struggled to explain some peculiarly-named things on the menu ('sauce creamy spicy' - as it appears on the menu etc.). Main course really disappointed. A very small dollop of Beef Rendang, served in a white cereal bowl, which had very clearly been microwaved (hot in the middle at the bottom of the dish - cold on top). The rice was cold. And the 'Asian Greens' was a truly tiny portion of wilted kang kong. I paid £82 for a meal for 2 (with 2 beers). Apart from the duck salad was the quality of a bog-standard takeaway, for which I would have paid £25. Not worth it and a very disappointing evening.

House of Ho - Fitzrovia
Responded on 15 March 2019

Hello Andrew, thank you for your feedback and apologies for your unsatisfactory experience with us. Please be assured that absolutely none of our dishes are 'microwaved' as your have described it. They are all cooked fresh in our kitchen over a gas flame. As for the place being dead, Tuesday was a very rainy night and being early in the week, we cannot control the level of footfall that we would generate according to these circumstances. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kindest regards, HOH

Report
Helpful
BL
London
1 review
Dined on 8 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Love, love, love it at the House of Ho. Had the cutest table downstairs for my best friends birthday and the gave us a lovely little birthday desert topped with a candle at the end. Fab place!

Report
Helpful
MC
London
1 review
Dined on 7 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic restaurant. We were seated on the first floor and it looks like something out of a 1950s film set. Amazing food and service throughout.

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 6 March 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Very friendly and professional staff, delicious asian food and cozy groundfloor space. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
LP
London
1 review
Dined on 5 March 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Seen this restaurant continuously on Made in Chelsea and had to check it out. Food was yum and the service was top. Will be back for sure.

Report
Helpful
MM
London
59 reviews
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 2

We haven't been here for a while and our recollection was a positive one so we turned up on Saturday evening hoping for good things. The downstairs dining room was half full and a bit quiet so we had a drink in the upstairs bar which was also quiet but cosy. The dining room had filled up a bit by the time we returned and we ordered a selection of dishes and a bottle of wine. We probably could have done with a bit more guidance on the menu as we ordered too many dishes, some were too similar and we missed out on some of the better dishes we had when we visited before (we saw them on adjacent tables). They also all turned up at once which wasn't great. The dishes were very good but I think it would help if the servers gave more guidance on how to get the best from the menu (a bit like they do at Chotto Matte). The downstairs room lacks a bit of atmosphere and is much better in the summer months.

Report
Helpful
SL
London
1 review
Dined on 1 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We have lunch here every week and it never fails to impress

Report
Helpful
OT
London
4 reviews
Dined on 28 February 2019
Overall 1food 1service 4ambience 3

The food was just awful. The beef rendang was served complete with the burnt bits from the bottom of the pan. The dumplings were over cooked and fell apart in the basket, they were clearly also cooked from frozen. The Vietnamese spring rolls were also cooked from frozen and were under cooked, served without any dipping sauce. £18 for a 175ml glass of NZ Sauvignon blanc. Waiter was cute though and very attentive.

House of Ho - Fitzrovia
Responded on 5 March 2019

Hi Anonymous, we are terribly sorry to hear about this 1 star review. Please note that our NZ Cloudy Bay Sauvignon Blanc is the most expensive White Wine on the menu - There are other much cheaper options than this. Our Dim Sum is fresh and furthermore, all small dishes are served with dipping sauce and more is available on request from one of our floor staff. We would like to hear more about your experience so please can you get in touch via info@houseofho.co.uk - Many Thanks, House of Ho

Report
Helpful
CH
1 review
Dined on 28 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We booked the House of Ho for a large business meeting and it was perfect. We had a large table on our own floor which had a private 1950's luxury bar and all in all was fantastic. Our waiter was incredibly helpful and the food was so tasty.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on 28 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I celebrated my birthday in this place and I can say that I had the best birthday party ever thanks to this guys that where looking after me and my friends! Thanks a lot I will be surely back!!!

House of Ho - Fitzrovia
Responded on 22 March 2019

Hi - we are really happy to hear you had such a great time with us for your birthday. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report
Helpful
DV
London
1 review
Dined on 27 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We hired the bar out for the evening to host the after party of our Art Exhibition and had the best night. Thanks House of Ho

Report
Helpful
MT
London
3 reviews
Dined on 27 February 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 5

Perfect lunch break from work. Really welcoming restaurant and food was amazingly tasty.

Report
Helpful
FR
London
1 review
Dined on 26 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Top place to go for a classy yet casual evening. Ambience and service was great, the food was delicious, highly recommend the Shaking Beef and Mixed Sashimi.

Report
Helpful
c
1 review
Dined on 25 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This is a hidden gem in the centre of Fitzrovia. Sat on the terrace with my friend and had a great lunch of the quick lunch menu. I asked for seafood pho with just prawns and it was delicious. Great service and ambience made me feel like I was on holiday on my work break. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
EK
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 23 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

Really lovely but a bit loud

Report
Helpful
JS
London
1 review
Dined on 21 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had the most amazing time at the House of Ho yesterday evening with my partner. Staff were extremely attentive and caring and the food was absolutely delicious. We started the evening off with some delicious cocktails and had the best evening tucked away next to the window overlooking the beautiful Charlotte Street. Would recommend the Duck and Watermelon Salad, Mr Chang Rolls and Popcorn Shrimp to anyone. Great night, thanks House of Ho.

Report
Helpful
MR
London
1 review
Dined on 19 February 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 1

It could be a great night but it was way too hot in the restaurant on the night of our visit

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 15 February 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 2

Was given fish sauce even though I ordered veggie food. Service was at different times between myself and friend. They were not knowledgeable at all. Food was average

House of Ho - Fitzrovia
Responded on 28 February 2019

Hi - we are very sorry to hear this as we strive to provide excellent food and excellent customer service. Please note that the sauce pot provided with our Pho's are just an optional selection out of three dips, Chilli, Soya Sauce and Fish Sauce to be used at your discretion. We apologize our waiter accidentally provided you an optional sauce pot with fish sauce and for the inconvenience this has caused. Yours faithfully, The House of Ho

Report
Helpful
1
2