Please call 01304 207740 to make a reservation.
In Dover for a Day-trip from France - a first time and a novelty already.
After a quick search for suitable lunch spots on a wet, miserable Wednesday in March, i booked for 2 covers here. Easy parking added to the positive first impressions as did the entrance and welcome in the restaurant, a little before 1 o'clock.
The sun was out and we were shown to a window table overlooking the beach and harbour. We were pleased with the menu choice and the daily choices and chose whitebait, scallops under a Parmesan potato whip, then the recommended Fish & Chips, followed by a pudding each.
Overall the food was hot, well presented and served promptly by charming staff. I must also mention the pleasure of finding a properly folded linen napkin; a rarity these days!
The meal arrangement we chose included a bottle of House white, a light, very drinkable Spanish Sauvignon blanc. I found the choice of wines quite extensive but also rather expensive.
Our only comment was that the battered cod, although copious and as far as i could tell fresh, was actually rather tasteless. Possibly some seasoning on the fish or in the batter might have improved the taste on the plate.
A pleasant meal experience greatly adding to an enjoyable day-trip from Normandy. Thanks
Thank you for your review, we will definitely look into the recipe for our fish and chips. Our Beer Batter is made with flour, soda water and an english ale and once cooked it is finished with sea salt. The cod which you had comes in every morning fresh. We hope to see you again in the future.
Had our Anniversary lunch here ,and it didnt disappoint, food and Service spot on, thanks to all the staff
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary lunch with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Lovely place to eat. Great atmosphere. Food was delicious. This place is good for celebrations or wanting a lovely meal.
Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again
As storm Celia battered the harbour we had the place to ourselves and staff were very attentive and patient with our kids. Delicious scallops and smoked haddock! Love this spot and will be back in the summer.
Thank you for your review and for visiting us on the stormy day. We look forward to seeing you during the summer season.
Service was very good food was a bit of a let done small portions
Drinks menu was very poor
I expected more
Thank you for your review, we are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience with us yesterday. If you would like to call or email Alison to discuss further we would be delighted to make up for our mistakes on this occasion.
WE ENJOYED OUR MEAL TASTY a little over priced
staff were very good
felt the place had very little ambiance needs lively music
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. We will definitely look into playing some more lively music and always welcome requests from our customers. We hope to see you again in the future
It was my birthday treat. Sadly, despite being a very pleasant restaurant, we were the only people in the place. There were 4 of us. We were very well treated by the staff. They even brought out a dessert with candles. Well done. We thoroughly enjoyed it.
Thank you for your kind review. Unfortunately this is a very quiet time of year for us as we are a seasonal restaurant. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your birthday nonetheless and we hope to see you again.
The waitresses were very attentive and smartly dressed, the food was sublime, I physically couldn't find a fault no matter how hard I tried. My compliments to the chef. At first I was sceptical because of the price but it was 110% worth the price. Will be visiting again
Thank you for your very kind review, we will pass on your comments to the staff and I am sure it will make their day. We hope to see you again soon.
Booked a table online for 20.30. My partner. and I got dressed up for our date, excited to go somewhere new. We had received a confirmation email and so arrived at the restaurant around 20.20. As soon as we arrived a member of staff left the building and informed us they were now shut. No explanation. No apology. Won’t be going there again.
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience on your visit. I am not sure what happened here as our last orders to the kitchen are 9:30pm. It seemed to have been a very quiet evening so the staff closed early and were unaware of your online reservation. Please accept our sincerest apologies, I would be delighted to arrange something special for you on your next visit if you would try us again. Many thanks Alison
Great service, nice menu. Food was great! Drinks range could have been broader, but was satisfactory. Dessert was also delicious!
Parking was easy and free after 6pm, and will absolutely be going again.
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Let us know what drinks you would like to see and I am sure this can be arranged for your next visit.
This is our go-to restaurant, we have no hesitation in recommending it to all of our friends.
Thank you for your review, we are always delighted to have you and we look forward to your next visit!
lovely views and great food with very attentive service, lots of choice forgotten free
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you agian.
Very disappointed that a fish restaurant hsd very little fish. No hake, halibut, dover sole or crab. It was our firstvisit with friends for my birthday and we were very embarrassed as it was our choice of restaurant.
Thank you for your review, we do apologise that 4 of our dishes were unavailable on the day you visited. Unfortunately the fisherman dont fish as much over the Christmas period so we only have available what they bring for us that day. We are back to our normal fishing hours now, if you would like to book with me on your next visit ask for Alison and I will arrange something special for you as an apology.
Amy our waitress was fantastic,the food was perfection we had the steak and the fish and chips could not fault this lovely restaurant. Thank you Hythe bay
Thank you for your review, I will pass on your lovely comments to Amy and the Chefs and we look forward to seeing you again.
Very disappointed with vegetables, otherwise everything up to very good standard
Thank you for your review, I will let the Chefs know to have a look into the dish you ordered. We hope to see you again soon.
Enjoyed as always by small family luncheon party.
Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
We had a wonderful meal with great food and service in a lovely location. Would highly recommend for a special treat during a break in Dover
Thank you for your very kind review, we do hope we will see you again on your next break to Dover.
Great food and service in very quiet restaurant.
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again
Beautiful view even after dark. Lovely food with lots of choices. Service is exemplary. I love it here, it’s good quality without being stuffy and dull.
Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon. We have our new menu coming out next week so please come down to try our new dishes.
Haven’t been to Dover for a few months and didn’t think the menu had changed . But we had the daily special Boullabaise which was delicious.
Enjoy eating here with a fab view
Thank you for your review, our Chefs Bouillabaisse was very popular. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Food was frozen and reheated for the most part. I do not recommend going there.
Thank you for your review, all of our food is delivered fresh daily. We apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occassion.
On arrival we were given a jc
Thank you for your review, we are not sure what you mean by a jc. If you would like to discuss further please contact Alison on 01304 207740.
VLAK BIJ DE ZEE.
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again in the future.
Pleasant evening out
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Have been here several times and always enjoyed it. For us it is quite a long journey - around 45 minuted but we feel worthwhile. Will be visiting again.
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to see you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Thank you for your review, it appears that we fell short of our usual standards on your visit. If you'd like to contact me on email@example.com to discuss further I'd love to know what we could have done better. Many Thanks Alison
Great food, great atmosphere. Shame that the food I wanted ran out but can't be helped. The food was amazing. Can't wait to go again. Add some fruit into the gin, would be a nice touch
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to see you enjoyed your meal with us. We will definitely be adding fruit to your gin next time.
We had a lovely meal on a recent visit to Dover; everything we had was good & we thoroughly enjoyed it all. In particular we agreed the Moules Mariniere was the best we’ve ever had - fabulous sauce & lovely chips with it. The complementary mackerel pate was also very tasty. Good friendly service & a nice location & the view will only improve when the western docks revival works are complete.
Thank you for your review, the Moules Mariniere is one of our favourite dishes too. We hope to see you again soon.
Lovely location, meal average and too expensive for Fish and chips. Would like to have sat outside as lovely day but no umbrellas
Thank you for your review, it appears that we didn't meet your expectations and will pass on your comments. We haven't purchased any umbrellas for our balcony but we will definitely look into it for next year. We hope you will try us again in the future.
Buon cibo e personale gentile, vista bella sul mare
Thank you for your review, we would love to see you again in the future.
Food was excellent if a little pricey, but I guess you are also paying for the sea view as well! Would definitely recommend a visit.
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to see you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Most enjoyable lunch. So much so we went back for brunch on Sunday. This was also five star across the board.
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed lunch and brunch with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Beautiful setting and great service. The food was very good
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again
Had the special. Grey mullet.
Thank you, we are pleased you enjoyed our special of the day and we hope to see you again.
We had a fantastic meal, the view was unbelievable and our server, Gigi, was awesome. Would come back here if we lived here for sure.
Thank you for your review, I will pass on your comments to GiGi. We hope to see you again soon.
Really good experience, would recommend it! Staff was really friendly and food really good!
Thank, we are please you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Excellent food & plenty of gluten free options
Thank you for your review, we always try to cater for any kind of dietry requirements. We hope to see you again soon.
Our second visit and much enjoyed; initially came as could not get in touch with the Hythe branch. Situation in Dover good with views of the harbour activity and to France when clear.
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Amazing end of our trip to the UK. Good food, friendly servers, relaxed place, nice view, ...
Thank you for your review, we are pleased we ended your trip to the UK on a high. Hopefully we will see you on your next visit.
All good, Hythe Bay were expecting us, table was ready and was one with a good view. Service efficient and prompt rather than friendly, but no complaint about that.
Food as described, punctual, tasty.
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Hythe Bay is rated 4.2 stars by 135 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.