Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen

4.5
97 reviews
£25 and under
Contemporary British
Serving delicious breakfast, brunch & lunch dishes- along with their famous homemade cakes!

Experiences

  • Jack's Brunch Club

    £25.00 per person

    Multiple dates available

    Up to a two hour slot.* Choose from one of our brunch club meals to accompany bottomless** Prosecco, Bellini, Mimosas or a cocktail kit. Perfect for Birthdays, Anniversaries, Special Occasions or just a Catch up with Friends. PLEASE NOTE THIS EXPERIENCE IS ONLY AVAILABLE FROM 10AM DUE TO LICENSING. If you book Prior to 10am, you will be contacted to change your booking and this may result in us being able to accommodate you. * Two hour Maximum stay. Bookings after 2pm may be reduced due to closing time (currently 4pm) ** Bottomless at managers discretion. Rowdy Parties will be asked to leave if they get out of control.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 97 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
SG
SarahG
Kent
2 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Booked a table for brunch, had scrambled egg with bacon on sourdough, which was delicious! We shared a piece of coffee and walnut which was tasty, but a bit dry. Great experience

I
Imran
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2food2service2ambience2

I was disappointed in the standard of service on what looked like a normal Saturday afternoon. We were a family of 4 with two adults and two children.

Our table was right next to the entrance to the toilet, yes singular, and thus not particularly well placed for a pleasant ambience. We waited 40 minutes for our food which when it appeared had different elements at different temperatures.

No one checked on us in between service and we had to constantly flag down passing staff. More than anything, the general unkept state of the place was the most disappointing.

1 lone toilet for the restaurant is unfeasible. This too when it is pretty filthy throughout.

I won’t be hurrying back. In terms of improvement, I think they need a shift supervisor who oversees the whole restaurant’s operation during a day.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded a day ago

Hi, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are sorry your experience with us fell short. Occasionally on busy Saturday afternoons, when some of our staff are on breaks some things get missed such as check backs but we do our absolute best to ensure things run as smoothly as possible with another member of the team covering their section in the café. We can only apologise for the long wait time you endured and hope you will return to give us another chance!

Report
C
Cherish
Gloucestershire
4 reviews
Dined on 11 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful cafe,quick service,helpful staff,tasty food - would highly recommend ☺️

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 12 September 2021

Thank you so much for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your lunch with us!

Report
G
Gemma
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Dined on 11 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was perfect and very attentive. Food was delicious! Will be back!

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 12 September 2021

Thank you so much for your kind review, We can’t wait to welcome you back again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 7 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, great service and really relaxed but classy atmosphere

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 12 September 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We really appreciate your kind feedback!

Report
n
nellyf
Gloucestershire
7 reviews
Dined on 4 September 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience3

Had the soup which was tasteless but bread was nice. tomato salad again tasteless obviously made way in advance and very cold so tomatoes tasted of nothing. Really disappointed with the food but service was attentive and good. Would I visit again probably not

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 6 September 2021

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review. We are sorry you found the food tasteless. All our food is prepared fresh daily, including the soup and tomato salad. We usually get really good feedback about these dishes so I’m sorry on this occasion it fell short. We have passed this on to the chef so they can investigate further. We do hope you’ll come back again soon!

Report
SG
SarahG
Kent
3 reviews
Dined on 4 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We booked a table for 4 for breakfast, the food was great, delivered promptly and the waitress was very attentive!

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 6 September 2021

Thank you for your kind review, Hope to see you again soon!

Report
CD
CherylD
1 review
Dined on 30 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I will definitely come here again! Good portion sizes, lovely food, great cakes! I recommend this cafe to everyone visiting Cirencester. Looking forward to coming back soon.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 1 September 2021

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon!m

Report
MT
MelanieT
Glasgow
3 reviews
Dined on 30 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great little find.
Super food, lots of options.
Good size portions.
Will definitely return

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 1 September 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review and for your feedback!

Report
EG
EmilyG
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love it here, fab food, great service! Would literally devour everything on the menu! Brilliant choices in food and drink. Thank you Jacks!

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 1 September 2021

Thank you so much for your review, We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us! Hope to see you again soon!

Report
CM
ChrisMD
1 review
Dined on 27 August 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Had a really nice lunch. Nice to have some different dishes on the menu. Portions just right.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 29 August 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback, We hope to see you again soon!

Report
JB
JB21
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 27 August 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience4

Fantastic food, loved the ability to book a table. Just wish the servers would pull their masks over the nose

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 29 August 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback. Although it is no longer mandatory, and a lot of venues have now decided to remove masks all together from wait staff, we have decided to continue for everyone’s safety for the time being, however occasionally the staff do take them off or pull them down for a quick breather! So sorry you experienced this! They have now been reminded to wear their masks properly around customers. Thank you for your feedback about the food, it’s lovely to hear!

Report
MP
MarieP
1 review
Dined on 20 August 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Lucky we booked as it was very busy with no spare tables. Service was quick and the young waitress was very informative when we enquired about some of the unknown ingredients. We order the smashed avocado & feta on toast and mushrooms with poached egg on toast, along with two delicious cups of coffee. All was perfectly cooked and well received. Just wish we had had enough room for some of the scrumptious cakes on offer, hopefully next time.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 29 August 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback and taking the time to leave a review. Feedback like this is so lovely for our staff to hear! We can’t wait to welcome you back soon!

Report
CR
CRobs
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Dined on 16 August 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Good service and varied menu covering breakfast, brunch and lunch.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 29 August 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback and for taking the time to leave a review! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
JR
JennR
1 review
Dined on 15 August 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Delicious waffles and coffees - a perfect brunch spot.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 29 August 2021

Thank you so much for your kind review! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
C
Camilla
London
2 reviews
Dined on 11 August 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

The food is good, though it takes a while to get to you! I feel that the tables need a clean and the cutlery too and the toilet.
Their was a burrata and tomato salad on the menu and the waitress did not tell us they had no burrata and it was feta! It was ok as she likes feta, but lack of communication I guess!
We will come back as we love your menu! And it is worth the wait! 😉

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 15 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! I have passed your feedback on to our staff members and am sorry to hear about the miscommunication with the feta. Tables are sanitised and cleaned between every sitting without fail. However, due to the marble effect on the tables, they do stain sometimes. Cutlery is always cleaned then steam sanitised, so again, I can assure you that it is all super clean but perhaps they needed polishing. So sorry about that! Hope to see you again soon!

Report
R
Rhiannon
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 8 August 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Beautiful tea room and restaurant and it makes a wonderful environment to meet friends and family with good food and the feeling of safety. During my visit the restaurant was full but because of how the tables are sorted, it felt comfortable, not cramped at all! Would 100% recommend to a friend and will be visiting again!

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 11 August 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report
R
Roger
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 7 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was a birthday lunch and the staff could not have been better.
Outstanding, thank you everyone.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 11 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! It’s great to hear you had a lovely birthday lunch and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report
AS
AndyS
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 1 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Staff were great at accommodating us and several small children, service and food were great.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 11 August 2021

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report
CT
CarolineT
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 31 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Relaxed. Staff very pleasant, and helpful. Food delicious. Do book ahead on a Saturday. Very busy.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 11 August 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We have passed your feedback on to the staff who are delighted to hear you had a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report
CD
ClaireD
1 review
Dined on 30 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fabulous local cafe to meet friends and catch up over delicious fresh food & coffee… I find myself there at least twice a week!
Staff are friendly, helpful with quick service. Highly recommend a visit!

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 11 August 2021

Thank you so much for your kind review. It’s great to hear your feedback! Hope to see you again soon!

Report
AB
AlysonB
1 review
Dined on 29 July 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Lovely lunch and super service. Cakes are wonderful.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 11 August 2021

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear you had a positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report
RR
RosieR
1 review
Dined on 28 July 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Good friendly service. Dogs welcomed & we weren't rushed. Will recommend & visit again.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 11 August 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
BH
BomberHarris
London
1 review
Dined on 25 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I had my first ever Arnold Bennett omelette, it was devine.

Will definitely be coming back to Jack's soon.

KH
KateH
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 24 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I decided on Jack’s for a girls get together. Having seen the menu on line I thought it boded well. We weren’t disappointed! The choice of food was extensive and catered for all requirements. The prices were all reasonable and the portions were generous!
All the staff were friendly and helpful with no request being too difficult.
Tables were clean as was the whole area.
If I had one criticism it would be that one loo for a place that size isn’t enough especially when it’s busy.
That said, we had a wonderful lunch in a place that provided excellent food, attentive staff and a great atmosphere.
Thank you Jack’s!

E
Eskof
Warwickshire
3 reviews
Dined on 22 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great menu in a great location with lovely staff. My second visit. Highly recommend :)

S
Susreviews
1 review
Dined on 17 July 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience5

Great except Ceasar salad too salty and had to ask for water and glasses lots of times. We will be back!

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 18 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We have passed your comments on to the chef, we are also investing in some more water jugs as they have been in high demand this weekend with the hot weather hence the slightly slower service in getting the water out to you. So sorry about that. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
LP
LucyP
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Dined on 17 July 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience4

Staff were lovely just slightly in experienced and young.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 18 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We have a lot of summer staff in training at the moment with people stepping up due to our core team self isolating. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
s
steveh
1 review
Dined on 15 July 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Quaint with proportionally sized meals. Great location and charming staff.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 18 July 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a kind review. It is really appreciated and means a lot to our staff. We hope you visit again soon!

Report
SP
SamanthaP
Surrey
1 review
Dined on 12 July 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience3

Very slow service, ignored for 15 minutes. Staff just walking around and no smiles

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 18 July 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so sorry you experienced slow service. On the odd occasions we try to stagger service to allow for our kitchen team to cope with orders. On this occasion it was obviously too long and we are so sorry to hear it was very slow. A lot of our core team are currently isolating so we are sorry you experienced a less friendlier service than we aspire to with our core team. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report
AF
AndreaF
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 11 July 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience5

We had a lovely time at bottomless brunch but as we were kept waiting for 15 minutes outside and didn't get our 1st prosecco until 25 minutes after our booking started we did not have the 2 hours as stated.. we got 1 hour 35 minutes which was a little disappointing. Food was nice and staff were pleasant.

Would not recommend the bottomless brunch to other due to the above..or just warm folk they might not get a full 2 hours.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 18 July 2021

We are so sorry you experienced a delay in service. We actually run a two hour slot rather than an hour and a half to allow you to get the most out of your brunch and ensure that once you’ve ordered, your glasses are refilled immediately! We do mention in our terms and conditions that a delay in service may occur over busy times but we do our absolute best to refill as soon as you finish the previous drink and someone is allocated to your table to allow for this. We hope you come back again!

Report
RS
RichardS
1 review
Dined on 9 July 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience3

The food we had was very tasty and reasonably priced. The only criticism was that our flat white coffee was a little too milky. Overall a very good dining experience.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 18 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is really appreciated! Thanks for your feedback on the coffees, we will certainly look in to this, if you find this again, we would be happy to add an extra shot of espresso to make your coffee stronger. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report
SE
SheilaE
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 8 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Jack’s has great food, friendly staff and a fab atmosphere

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 18 July 2021

Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate you taking the time, and feedback like this gives our staff a fab boost when they’ve been working so hard. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report
G
Gilli
Gloucestershire
3 reviews
Dined on 5 July 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience4

A lovely atmosphere at Jack’s with friendly staff and a high standard of service - albeit a little slow on this occasion. We waited longer than usual for our food and this meant the experience was rushed with the time window we had. The quality of food was good - missing the huevos rancheros on the menu!

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 18 July 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and your kind comments! We are sorry you experienced slower service than usual. Over busy times and with a lot of our staff having to self isolate we are trying our absolute absolute best to give the best service possible but are sorry we fell short on this occasion. We hope you come back again soon with speedier service in the future!

Report
RW
RebeccaW
1 review
Dined on 3 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a great lunch out with the kids. I would recommend.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 18 July 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report
L
Llll
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 3 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really nice revamp of the place, lovely food and coffee and had a guy server who was most friendly and welcoming
, can’t wait for my next visit!

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 18 July 2021

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad you had a lovely time and can’t wait to welcome you back again soon!

Report
KC
KazzaCotswolds
Dorset
4 reviews
Dined on 3 July 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience3

We had a chai latte, a flat white, a bacon in a brioche bun (3 rashers of bacon in a tiny roll) and omelette arnold bennet (smoked haddock in an omelette in a small earthen ware dish, i'd say a two egg omelett which was nice but again on the small side) which came to £21 . Nice but not good value in any way shape or form

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 18 July 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I will pass this on to our head chef. All our items are freshly made on site including the brioche rolls which are made fresh each morning and produce is sourced from the highest quality local suppliers which is reflected in our prices. Unfortunately this does mean items are a little more expensive than places that don’t provide this service. We hope you visit us again soon!

Report
LM
LesleyM
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 1 July 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

The food was simple but exceptional and plentiful. Nice outside area which was quiet and concealed. Would highly recommend

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 18 July 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report
MO
MarilynO
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 29 June 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Food was very nice the price was the same but smaller portions since before lockdown but very enjoyable.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen
Responded on 18 July 2021

Thank you so much for your review. I have passed your comments on to the chefs. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report
JW
JonW
Gloucestershire
1 review
Dined on 26 June 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Appeared to be run by young untrained people with no one in charge
Service was poor. We arrived first for a confirmed booking to be seated and other tables be served before us.
Arrived at 9am to finally be served at 9.45 with what seemed like microwaved bacon .
A comment was made by one member of staff asking another who is first?
Extremley Disappointing and poor value !

FAQs

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at 01285 640888.

Jacks Tea Room & Kitchen is rated 4.5 stars by 97 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.