Kazu

4.5
133 reviews
£41 and over
Japanese
Kazu is located on Charlotte Street within the buzz of London’s Fitzrovia area. Kazu translates literally as ‘Peace and Harmony’ in Japanese, so our guests can expect the very best of Japanese cuisine made with the highest quality ingredients, served within a modern, calm and peaceful environment.
What 133 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Food is good. Service is good. Though sitting outdoor but fantastic weather today makes everything perfect. The only thing not that great is the table is too small.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience3

When we arrived, we was standing around for 10 mins or so waiting for a table to become available.
we got a nice little spot with a bit of sunshine which was nice.
Waitresses were very polite and helpful.
The food was nice but I did expect better for the price we paid.
The hot sake was really nice.

c
cmoo
Devon
40 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We were outside, but luckily the weather was great. Food was great.

DN
vipDanhN
London
31 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Excellent food and friendly service

F
Flaherty
London
8 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great local Japanese restaurant serving great food by friendly staff

PS
PhilS
1 review
Dined on 13 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A lovely independent restaurant serving fresh food with friendly staff. We went the day after lockdown, so had a table outside, but will definitely be back for the full experience.

LJ
vipLJWW
London
1 review
Dined on 11 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

One of the best sushi restaurants in London. The staff and owner are always charming and attentive. The food is amazing.

B
vipBangwizz
London
11 reviews
Dined on 11 December 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience3

It is amazing food and very good and attentive service. It is very pricey though.

A
Anthea
London
1 review
Dined on 10 December 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Good sashimi, love the toro and the butterfish! Worth the price compared to other high end JP restaurants in town

BD
BenjaminD
London
2 reviews
Dined on 4 December 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Pretty decent. Limited selection if trying to avoid vegetable/seed oils.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 4 November 2020
Overall2food1service2ambience1

The restaurant was cold, the service was extremely slow. The food was burnt and not tasty

B
vipBangwizz
London
11 reviews
Dined on 4 November 2020
Overall3food4service4ambience3

Excellent clean fresh classic sushi. No over engineering.

K
Karen
New England
7 reviews
Dined on 4 November 2020
Overall4food3service2ambience4

Was ok. Large menu with American style sushi rolls, unfortunately the one we ordered was swimming in Yuzu sauce that drowned all the fish flavour. Good sake. Dining was limited to 75 minutes which we were only told on arrival.

JC
JohnC
1 review
Dined on 4 November 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Kazu is what you'd expect from an real Japanese restaurant (wagamamas is not a Japanese restaurant)

While the servings are small, and the bill can rack up. We did get a 25% discount, which made it a very pleasant meal and just the right value for money.

I
vipIpopp
London
7 reviews
Dined on 4 November 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really fantastic food at good value

P
Parisiangirl
London
6 reviews
Dined on 4 November 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

delicious fresh sushi and nice side dishes. Service was great too!

JH
JonnyH
London
1 review
Dined on 3 November 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

I love this place - the food is a cut above. That's because the owner of the business is the chef! You pay for good food but it is definitely worth it. I'll be ordering take away during lockdown part II. So yummy!

E
Evel
London
1 review
Dined on 2 November 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Outstanding food and service. Excellent drinks menu.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 23 October 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Not bad. The blue fin tuna is good. But the soba is a little soft

NS
NickS
London
7 reviews
Dined on 12 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Returning customers and very happy every time. Very fresh fish and the waitresses are very helpful and friendly!

CG
ChenG
1 review
Dined on 10 October 2020
Overall3food5service1ambience2

It took almost an hour to get our food, and 20 min till someone noticed we wanted the check.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 3 October 2020
Overall3food4service1ambience2

Luckily the food made up for the service and REALLY long wait. After 1 hour our bottle of wine arrived.. we were starving by the time the food arrived and we noticed tables who arrived after us were eating before us.

The staff were apologetic and gave complimentary sushi, however finishing our meal we were not even offered dessert and they promptly came over and asked us to pay the bill, which we found quite rude.

Won’t be in any rush to return, it’s a shame as the food was good but experience was let down by the wait and lack of customer service.

Kazu
Responded on 5 October 2020

We would like to sincerely apologise for the issues that you have raised. On the day of your visit, as a result of the heavy rain throughout the day, many of our guests arrived at the same time and much later than the time of their booking. We have to close the kitchen at 9.30pm as per the government guidelines and so many orders were delayed. We are working very hard to ensure that issues will be addressed ASAP. We hope to see you soon at KAZU to enjoy the best experience that we can provide.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
13 reviews
Dined on 2 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious sushi - plenty of unique rolls. Good sake. Friendly staff in a great neighbourhood!

RP
RiccardoP
London
1 review
Dined on 26 September 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Had a lovely meal. The wine was good. The staff were ok but a bit awkward. I would definitely go again. The meal was a little pricy though but most Japanese restaurants are.

n
nkcy
London
2 reviews
Dined on 21 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Went here for a nice dinner - amazing service, and amazing food. Definitely on my best go-to restaurants list for London.

M
Markus
London
1 review
Dined on 19 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Excellent quality and choice of food. Very friendly and attentive staff. The restaurant is nicely furnished and has a good ambience (despite of PPE measures currently required). We will book again!

Kazu
Responded on 27 September 2020

Thank you for your kind comments Markus. At KAZU we always strive to provide our guests with the best service and amazing Japanese cuisine. We hope to see you dining with us soon!

Report
s
vipseans
London
14 reviews
Dined on 18 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and staff

TL
TrekLol
London
4 reviews
Dined on 16 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Superb authentic Japanese food in a super environment with friendly and helpful staff.
Tasty sashimi and sushi all beautifully presented. Fun to sit at the counter and see your food being prepared and the quality of the fish being used. Will definitlyl return

PM
vipPennyM
London
2 reviews
Dined on 16 September 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience3

The service was friendly, the restaurant was nice and peaceful but not lacking in atmos and the food was great.

AW
AndrewW
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were in a basement room with one other table. Nice atmosphere and the service was attentive. Food was excellent- black cod was sublime. Really enjoyable meal.

WA
WATA
London
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Excellent food. Good service. I will come back again.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Warwickshire
4 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Really nice place. Really nice food but service charge is quite steep. Still very happy with the food and service.

N
Numberz
London
7 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Food was good, service was fine.
We were a group of 3 and ordered tea, expected one pot to share but received small tea pot each so had to top up with hot water. They wasn’t very attentive to our table.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Really good atmosphere and friendly staff. We ordered the steak and cod fish. Cod fish was fresh and nicely braised - the portion could be slightly bigger though. Overall, very satisfied with the quality

BB
BoBoQ
London
4 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Very tasty sushi and yuzu sorbet, planning to go back again soon as they are doing the £10 off in Sept too

m
melchi
London
3 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Authentic Japanese food! Delicious! but space too small,can’t really achieve the social distancing

AV
AndresV
London
5 reviews
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Second visit and once again a wonderful experience all round. Some of the best Japanese food I've had. Great variety and delicious flavours, all perfectly prepared. Really good portion sizes so very good value. Perfect anniversary meal.

s
vipskip
London
11 reviews
Dined on 26 August 2020
Overall2food4service1ambience4

Kazu used to be a neighborhood gem but something seems to have gone wrong. The service was really poor. We tried to get the waitresses attention to order food a number of times with little success. It got so bad that people at other tables started telling the waitress we were trying to get her attention. We had to ask for water about 7 times before actually getting some and our food arrived an hour after we ordered it.

They’re clearly very short staffed and were not equipped to deal with such a large number of diners.

Kazu
Responded on 15 September 2020

Thank you for your feedback and for your description of the Kazu as a neighbourhood gem. We are still run by the same team and our commitment to quality food and a welcoming atmosphere remains unchanged. We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us. You are correct that we were very short-staffed on that night, and we were indeed struggling to cope with the large number of diners. We hope to see you again so we can show you the Kazu you remember in a more positive light.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Mexico City
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Extra slow service.
No staff.

Kazu
Responded on 15 September 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We were indeed struggling with staffing issues on the night you visited. We are currently training new members of staff to help us adapt to the unpredictable patterns of trade of recent weeks, so we can keep providing our customers with the levels of service they deserve.

Report
M
vipMansah
London
2 reviews
Dined on 26 August 2020
Overall1food3service1ambience1

I amended the booking to expand guests and was told we would be moved to the private dining room though would need to leave by 8pm.
I and other guests arrived 15 minutes late at 6:45 owing to traffic and on arrival we were informed again that we would need to leave by 8pm.
For the next 35 minutes no one came to take our order for drinks or food. I had to go upstairs to request a member of staff take our order given we had to vacate soon.

Our order was eventually taken almost 45 minutes after we arrived though most attention was given to other party in the private room. There was a misunderstanding with the order and when I highlighted it to the waitress she blamed me for confusing her. She called her manger who was accusatory. She eventually agreed to remove the extra meal then I asked her to pack up the meal one of my sisters ordered and she refused thinking I was trying to swindle them into taking food I did not order. Before the food was packed she demanded payment and reminded us that it was approaching 8pm. I flagged that we’d had about 30 minutes between order, food arriving and being asked to leave then they charged £20 service. I paid but my sister said she would jot pay full service as we had next to no service.
Unfortunately an overall poor experience.

Kazu
Responded on 15 September 2020

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you had a negative experience. We were extremely busy on that night, being the penultimate day of the Eat Out to Help Out Scheme. Recently it has been extremely difficult to predict levels of trade day to day, and in hindsight we could have done with more staff on shift. We regret the misunderstanding over the order and appreciate your feedback. We are currently training new members of staff to help us navigate the challenges during these times.

Report

FAQs

Kazu does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo and Uber Eats. Kazu also offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at 020 3848 5777.

Kazu is rated 4.5 stars by 133 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.