La Cucina

4
434 reviews
€30 and under
Italian
Hidden below the buzzing South William Street, in the heart of Dublin’s creative quarter you will find an authentic Italian hidden gem, situated in the original kitchens of Powerscourt Townhouse. Home to a rustic, old school style of dining in an intimate environment, offering those who dine a truly memorable Italian experience. The culinary team at La Cucina ensure that the traditional Italian "Al Forno" cooking technique is utilised throughout the menu. The large open wood burning oven is central to this concept, along with handmade pastas. In essence the food is traditional in taste, modern in presentation, classic in technique and where possible of Irish provenance. Enjoy generous sharing plates of Prosciutto, Bresaolo and Roast Aubergines. Delicious Crab Linguine or Pulled Organic Pork Papardelle for the main can be finished off with an Affogatto or a Cocktail from the excellent list in the comfortable armchairs upstairs in sister bar Farrier & Draper.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 434 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
d
dubliner
London
9 reviews
Dined on 22 December 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience5

Terribly sized food portions for the price but staff and ambience were great.

M
Monika
1 review
Dined on 19 December 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience1

The food was average, not bad, especially the crostino, but definitely overpriced for the quality delivered. As for the noise levels, the music was extremely loud, which would be ideal for a nightclub but not for a restaurant where you want to have a conversation. It is difficult enough to hear the waiters with the masks on, but the music made it even harder. Everybody at the tables had to shout to speak to one another which is not great in the current climate.

The waiters themselves were friendly and helpful but I would not go back there for the reasons mentioned above.

S
Sarah
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 19 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was great and the staff were so friendly and were even willing to take some photos for us even though they were busy

LA
LeticiaA
Dublin
4 reviews
Dined on 19 December 2020
Overall2food1service3ambience2

Beside the reallky nice waiter (easter european accent, middle age, man) the rest was simply a disaster. Music was extremely loud, food was really ppor (both quantity and quality, especailly quantity) and the overcharged us 3x complementary service, 20EUR for groups and we were 3 persons, they ended up removing it...The place is really nice, architecture, lights, but definilty needs to improve a lot

B
Blablabla
1 review
Dined on 18 December 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

This is the worst dining experience I have had in Dublin due to one of the waiters.

We booked a table and deposited the money required, which I understood due to the busy time. There was a very rude waiter who said to us (quote) 'Nobody comes to a restaurant just to order deserts." when he got to know that we were just ordering wine and deserts, other than a full set three-course meal.

We completely understand the rationale behind this, but the way this message was delivered to us was very unprofessional, disrespectful and in fact, very rude. I could think of a million ways to better tell your customers the same information. The waiter is black (This is not related to race at all! but his language could come across rude due to English not being his first language? - benefit of the doubt is given here.).

However, when we were leaving, the nice female receptionist was super nice and professional, making it less awkward to both sides.

Still, no customers should be treated like this.

BM
BronaghM
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 18 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious, great value for money, great location, lovely atmosphere and super service!

LK
LeighK
Dublin
11 reviews
Dined on 18 December 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Lovely atmosphere and great food and service.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 18 December 2020
Overall1food4service1ambience5

We had a terrible experience. Poor service, couldn’t eat our food properly, after being constantly reminded that we should leave the table in 1hr. Food is good, but not worthy of the value or experience. Definitely not coming back.

LL
LauraL
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 17 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A pleasure to return to La Cucina for fantastic food and a great atmosphere. Dela the with the Covid restrictions well. Social distancing in place and time restriction at the table as you’d expect.

LD
LD89
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined on 16 December 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience3

I’ve been here before but was disappointed with the experience last night. I know the industry has had an awful year but I thought the menu was overpriced and left feeling hungry/ very underwhelmed.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 15 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic service. Delicious food and a beautiful wine menu.

EG
EnriqueG
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 14 December 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience3

Service took a little too long, reception made me wait a few mins, food was great as usual, and we needed to wait a little to get our food and then more for the wine.

JP
JenPen
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 13 December 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Really beautiful & romantic ambiance & surroundings. Warm staff, great food & wine, not noisy...highly recommend and look forward to going again.

LC
LloydC
1 review
Dined on 13 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

great food, lovely atmosphere and the staff in particular were excellent

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 13 December 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience4

The menu on opentable is wrong. They only have a very limited festive menu which is 2 courses for €32. Waiter was unapologetic when this was pointed out. The service was fine otherwise, although we were never asked if we wanted any drinks. Very limited choices and extremely small portion sizes for the price. The atmosphere was nice but I wouldn’t rush back.

GR
GlendaR
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on 13 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great spot for ladies lunch in the lead up to Christmas, staff were very friendly and food was fab

NM
vipNasM
London
19 reviews
Dined on 12 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely ambience- the chef who was using the pizza oven had long very unkempt hair! I was terrified I'd end up with hair in my food- he really wasn't clean looking at all!! He was also bullying the other staff- very unpleasant to hear and watch.Food was amazing- thankfully not made by that fella and waiting staff couldn't have been nicer

CA
CelineA
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 12 December 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience4

Overpriced for the food that we have in the plate

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on 12 December 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Just overall a very sub par meal and service. Restaurant was not ready to open when we arrived. Staff just didn’t seem into it and not overly friendly. Harried might the word to use for the experience. Food was average and all dishes were not served hot. Warm at best. Only serving a price fix lunch menu. Small portion even by lunch standards.
Maybe it was an off day for them but unfortunately we will not be back.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
5 reviews
Dined on 11 December 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Food was very tasty. Felt very rushed at the end. Not the restaurants fault but 90min for 3 courses was not enough.

MO
MollyO
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 10 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was a great experience with great food

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined on 10 December 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience3

We arrived and were pointed to our table and asked if we wanted water. We were brought menus but not offered a drink. We ordered our food and drinks together after waiting about 20 minutes. Our starters came and were very underwhelming, we both got the bruschetta. They cleared our plates and brought new cutlery but never offered us more drinks or waited long enough for us to ask. Our main courses came and my boyfriends steak and potatoes was tiny and my pasta was not cooked well. I would’ve liked to complain but the staff genuinely came nowhere near us. They came to clear our plates and I managed to ask for a glass of wine and another pint. We also asked for dessert menus as we were still hungry. The drinks came but no menus. About half an hour later we were told the bill was being dropped as they needed the table back which would have been totally ok but as far as we were concerned we weren’t finished our meal. We decided to leave anyway as it was easier than making a fuss. The man who seemed to be in charge was quite rude and very abrupt. Our whole meal felt rushed, the service was terrible and the food itself and the portion sizes were very disappointing. We were so hungry that we went for a second dinner once we left. Really a shame as it has so much potential. I understand it’s busy at Christmas but really this is not an excuse, you could still be polite and apologise that things are taking longer. I’ll never go back.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 10 December 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

The Christmas menu is quite limited but the food is good

DB
DermotB
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 9 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Thoroughly enjoyable evening! Will definitely be back!

M
Maria
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 9 December 2020
Overall3food2service2ambience3

Service was quite rude- which was the main downfall the waiter we had made us feel quite on edge. Food was okay quite overpriced for what it was. Steak was nice! Nice interior very cosy.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 9 December 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience3

There were only 2 waiters serving and the chef was also serving the food which seems very unhygienic, we had to ask for a bottle of wine 3 times and asked for our main course twice after we hadn’t gotten them after waiting for 40 minutes ! The mains then came and were tiny portions of the gnocchi which was bland . In the end our table of 5 was served with a bill that had a 20% service charge which we asked to be taken off as the service nor the food were good enough to warrant a 5% charge never mind 20%. Would not recommend and we will not be returning!

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 8 December 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience4

The information on opentable app was incorrect - it had advertised the early bird and festive menu 2 courses for €22. We booked based on what was advertised on the app. When we got there we were told this was not the case. It was extremely frustrating as we celebrating a birthday and were expecting what was stated on the app.

As a result we moved upstairs to the bar area. We ordered 4 pizzas and they were tasteless. When we shone a light on them, they actually looked raw. An oven pizza would have been more flavoursome.

Additionally, I had to return a water glass and request a new one as was given a dirty one. We also had to request more cutlery and serviettes as were only given 2 for a party of 4.

The drink service was extremely slow. At one point a glass of wine was ordered and a glass of ice for it. The ice came after the glass of wine was nearly empty.

Will not be returning.

NH
NiallH
1 review
Dined on 6 December 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Room was a bit cold. Service could have been better. Food was great

SJ
SJ122
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 6 December 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Staff and food was excellent. Will definitely be back.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
8 reviews
Dined on 5 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Staff and food were really lovely. Festive menu looked limited at first 38€ for three courses. Choice of 3 starters, 5 main courses all pasta, and 3 desserts. However even though the portions were small it was plenty because you were having 3 courses. I would recommend this place.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 5 December 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Only 4 main courses, ridicolous

Report
LR
LouiseR
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 4 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great experience. Food & drinks were delicious. Ambiance was great as always. Will be back

D
Delphine
Dublin
2 reviews
Dined on 4 December 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience4

We had a lovely evening a La Cucina, the food was really nice and the environment as well.

Q
suzieQ
London
1 review
Dined on 4 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Birthday
Fabulous eve

OT
OpenTable Diner
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 4 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely set menu for Christmas lunch!
Burrata was delicious and the gnocchi!!

SW
SusanW
Dublin
1 review
Dined on 4 December 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

The restaurant was a bit cold on the day we

NG
NicolaG
San Diego
2 reviews
Dined on 26 September 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

The restaurant isnt open yet is still accepting bookings through opentable. We turned up for our reservation on Saturday night and were told this when we got there despite confirming our booking through email. I know it's tough times for restaurants atm, but this needs to be sorted.

La Cucina
Responded on 30 September 2020

Thank you for highlighting the reservation issue we had with open table. A member of our team had set up an automated response once we received governmental guidelines to close. Unfortunately, there was a technical issue on OT side which hindered this message getting to any guests that did not give an email address. We apologise for any inconvenience caused- it is a difficult time for all our staff at present but we hope this explains the matter in full as it was completely out of our hands.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 26 September 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

It was closed when we arrived

La Cucina
Responded on 30 September 2020

The restaurant closed immediately after governmental guidelines were released. A member of our team had set up an automated response once we received governmental guidelines. Unfortunately, there was a technical issue on OT side which hindered this message getting to any guests that did not give an email address. We apologise for any inconvenience caused- it is a difficult time for all our staff at present but we hope this explains the matter in full as it was completely out of our hands.

Report
DT
DanT
1 review
Dined on 25 September 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Absolutely terrible customer service. We called ahead of booking on our way to the restaurant to confirm that we would be 5 minutes late however we were told that there was no booking under our name as they had stopped using OpenTable and that we should have gotten an email explaining this. On the contrary I received two emails from OpenTable asking me to confirm my reservation. As we were in a taxi and 5 minutes away I had asked is there anyway we could be accommodated at a later time but I was told that this was not possible with no real effort made to accommodate us. I appreciate these are tough times for all however this is no way to treat a customer. Essentially it was not their problem and that they were devoid of responsibility. Given that we had made the booking for 8:45 on Friday there was no chance of us finding a table somewhere without having made a prior booking so we just asked our taxi driver to take us home.

The option to book through OpenTable is still active on their website so I hope that nobody else has had to deal with this. A really terrible experience and one that I will not forget.

La Cucina
Responded on 30 September 2020

Dan,A member of our team had set up an automated response once we received governmental guidelines to close.Unfortunately, there was a technical issue on OT side which hindered this message getting to any guests that did not give an email address.We apologise for any inconvenience caused.We hope this explains the matter in full as it was completely out of our hands. It is a difficult time for all our staff at present with a lot of stress and uncertainty which really puts things into perspective.

Report
S
Siofrita
1 review
Dined on 25 September 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Arrived after getting a booking confirmation AND a reminder to let the restaurant know we were coming from OpenTable and the restaurant was not open? Luckily Farrier and Draper next door found us a table so we could eat something. Really poor customer service not to disable the booking system if your restaurant is going to be closed

La Cucina
Responded on 30 September 2020

Siofrita, Rest assured we did! A member of our team had set up an automated response once we received governmental guidelines to close. Unfortunately, there was a technical issue on OT side which hindered this message getting to any guests that did not give an email address. We apologise for any inconvenience caused- it is a difficult time for all our staff at present but we hope this explains the matter in full as it was completely out of our hands.

Report

FAQs

La Cucina is rated 4 stars by 434 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.