What a wonderful haven amongst the tourist-filled streets of Covent Garden! Both the bar for pre-dinner drinks and the restaurant serving sharing dishes are exceptional, the staff welcoming, attentive and helpful without being overbearing. And the food? As you'd expect from a Petersham Nursery restaurant, the food is quite simply delicious. I would recommend you try it for yourself. You won't be disappointed.
Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review, I hope you will be back again soon, Anna
Extremely over priced for the food served. £2 for one thin slice of sour dough that was grilled on one side just not what I would class as acceptable. Salad was poorly presented and ordinary. Only the beauty of the decor kept me satisfied with the experience. I would not recommend. I’ve been to Petersham Nurseries 13 years ago when Skye Gyngell was the chef and feel this is them taking their name and branding too far. Good food in London does not have to be priced this high.
We have been several times and this time for a big birthday. Mixed feelings about returning. One pork dish arrived and hadn’t been described as a cold dish either in the menu or in person. Not enough choice for vegetarian with one pasta dish if you took off one of the main ingredients or a coleslaw or roasted baby courgettes x 2 not very filling. Waiters collected near our table to chat but still didn’t see if we wanted to catch their attention and neither did they say goodbye or thank you at the end, we left without anyone acknowledging us, despite it not being busy. Manners are easy. Disappointing after so many lovely evenings here.
Great. We were moved after being seated in a draught by the open door. There was work being done in the main restaurant which was a bit unsightly and disturbing when going to the bathroom.
Excellent food, knowledgable and attentive staff.
Thank you for leaving a lovely review, delighted you had a good time and please accept my apologies about the maintenance disturbing you. Anna
Tasty small plates with wine by the carafe makes for a very enjoyable lunch
Thanks for leaving a lovely review, Anna
Excellent set menu but this was not given to us until we asked for it which is naughty. Good ambience but very noisy which is a shame. Charming waiters. All in all an excellent restaurant.
Thank you for leaving a lovely review, we only offer the set menu on request but by no means are we trying to hide it - it's available to book online and then we would give you the menu on arrival. I hope you will be back again soon,
Manageress and staff very helpful
I've been to La Goccia before but this wasn't the best of visits. We were seated in the first section as you go in which was disappointing as it had no atmosphere in comparison to the main part of the restaurant and the service was terrible! Our food went to the wrong table, the waiter brought our bottle of wine and started filling the glasses without us tasting it, another waiter kept thanking us for any comment we made including please can have some more water - that sort of thing. The greeters at the door turned several people away just in the space of time we were waiting there for our table and said it was full when a lot of the tables around us were empty for the whole period of time we were there. They also wouldn't seat someone at a table because it only had one chair but didn't seem to have the thought that maybe they could go and get another.
The service needs sorting.
The food was generally good.
Our experience at La Goccia was great. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was excellent.
Thank you so much for leaving this wonderful review, I hope you will be back soon
We have been visiting La Goccia for about 18 months, for lunches and dinners, often before evening performance in the Opera, as pre-theatre treat. We always loved the atmosphere, the style of cuisine - authentic Italian, and energetic Italian- European staff.
Unfortunately the menu had been changed recently, so was the staff. All the lovely Italian feel has gone, and we found ourselves between a lifeless boring choice `one plate of prosciutto with no melon / fig / rocket - anything that makes it a seasonal Italian dish` and over onion-ed, (burrata with tomato - covered in white onion rings! ) and spicy Caribbean flavours and feel with over use of salt and chilly.
Service was scatty and random, my tea cup has arrived without the tea pot and had to ask 3 times for the tea to be served - it came with another set of cup by another member of staff.
Very very disappointed and unfortunately we lots our enthusiasm and interest to return.
Two chipped plates had to be sent back and service was slow but food delicious
This is about the sixth time I’ve visited La Goccia and it was a firm favourite but now the prices have been so hiked up, particularly the wine, that we won’t be visiting again. Shame.
Pathetically small portion size for price. Staff and courtyard setting pleasant enough but no true sense of hospitality. Would not recommend.
What a very nice evening we had again at La Goccia.Great to be outside on a summers evening and with no rush about needing the table.We had 2 1/2 hours of great food-coming as we ordered it and attentive service which was never overbearing.The Sage and Anchovy bites are simply superb (and we had 6 portions between four of us) and the fish dishes were all fresh and delightful.A little haven in busy london complexity shielded from traffic flows and outside!
Lovely staff - who were very passionate about the restaurant and were keen to tell us about the history of it.
The food tasted fresh & delicious, and was presented beautiful.
Would go again and again!
Such a lovely place, food was excellent and for £28 pp I was very surprised. Service and ambiance was really nice, perfect for a sunny Saturday afternoon
I specifically asked for two tables of 6 outside for my 30th and was put inside on a large table which I understand but would have preferred to have been outside
Food and service was incredible though and I couldn’t fault it
Lovely atmosphere. Good food but on one item the menu description didn't really match what was actually served. There were no beans with the pork and bean dish which turned out to be a cold pork salad with sprouts. Tasty but a bit misleading. Also served two dishes on very chipped plates. Not a good look. Servers were pleasant but a bit lacking in focus. I have been before and would go back but time to lift their game a bit.
Food was lovely. We were shocked by how slow / non-attentive the service was.
I’m a regular at La Goccia and my experience until Thursday had been nothing but spectacular. I have food allergies and intolerances, and the menus had always given me plenty option. This menu, not so much. What made it worse, was when I ordered my main dish, I was very explicit about my allergies and guess what, the food comes with items that I can’t have. The waiters even argues with me that this is how the chef makes it. I ended up paying about £10 for three halves of grilled courgettes and left the restaurant starving. Not going back anytime soon.
Service was appalling- we waited 20 minutes for our drinks to arrive and then they forgot half our food order. I would not go back.
Food was poor!! We did mention it to the waiter but nothing was done. I also told the the head of service how disappointed we were and unfortunately he just gave me a card with contact details of how to give my feedback!!!
A lovely place for lunch. We weren't happy with our initial table as it was by a busy staircase so we were given a much nicer table in the window corner straight away. Staff were attentive and the food was delicious!
We started off in the bar and had some gorgeous cocktails. The bar staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. The food was absolutely amazing-so fresh and very different. However the service in the restaurant was not as good as I would have expected. We had to ask twice to order our wine and the main courses for two of our party came all together with the starters and had t be taken away.
Would really not recommend. Service is just terrible. You have 3 servers in the terrace outside and they just stare at you and barely come when needed. They say the restaurant is busy but I have seen busier restaurants that are more efficient. The food is above average given the price. Honestly there are so many better restaurants in Covent Garden. And mice everywhere in the courtyard. Enjoy!
Tasty food and a beautiful courtyard! Had hoped there would be a few more options suitable for someone who’s allergic to dairy though.
The portions were ridiculously small and very very expensive. We went and had a Pret lunch after. Service was sporadic and so slow. Won’t be returning.
Whilst I say I would recommend the restaurant it would be more for the ambiance of sitting outdoor in a cute garden like setup. I would not however recommend them for their food, unfortunately. It’s extremely overpriced for then quality of food and size of portions. Two pieces of zucchini flowers @£9.50 were bordering on extortion. That being said, the staff is wonderful and I went there to celebrate my partner’s bday so they arranged for a small happy birthday treat which I greatly appreciated. Go there for the ambiance and setting but if you are an Italian food snob, this is not the place for you. Neither the food, nor the prices.
Second time here would highly recommend the fried sage leaves with anchovies- main course hake
Only able to judge this from the lunch set menu.
Although only £28, it is a mix of vegetables as a started (and pate, ok), a breaded chicken without sides and some scoop of ice cream for dessert.
Simply not a good option.
I'd rather pay more to have more
absolutely hopeless food at high prices.
chicken with gremolata was essentially kentucky fried chicken, but in a less seasoned coating and more greasy.
courgette dish was unpleasantly undercooked, essentially a chopped courgette on a plat.
1st cocktail - worst cocktail I have ever tasted (and I am 46 years old), sent back.
2nd attempt - our server graciously agreed to replace it with something different. Again hopelessly bad. I asked for sugar syrup to try and balance it myself.
3rd attempt: sugar syrup came with an obvious lump of dirt floating in it (looks like sediment from bottom of bottle); sent back
4th attempt: replacement sugar syrup came back with a different shaped lump of dirt floating in it. Gave up at this stage.
nasty fried chicken, a courgette, and rank cocktail for £55, you must be kidding.
Our server graciously took off the cost of the drinks.
Shame that the menu has changed as had hoped to have a couple of pizzettas that I've had previously alongside our drinks
Food was absolutely delicious and extremely fresh! Table service was slightly slow but the food made up for it!
We were seated inside, in a rather uninspiring corner and underneath air conditioning vents - we were just warm enough, but only just. Excellent service from our very attentive waiter. The wine was lovely too. The starters for me were slightly let down by the fact that the tomatoes and radishes lacked flavour. Delicious chicken liver pate though. Our main course, pasta and cuttlefish, was lovely but quite oily and for me needed bread. The chocolate ice cream to finish was delicious. It was served alongside fresh apricots, the subtle flavour of which was rather lost because of the ice cream. Adding a 12.5% service charge is really cheeky for two people, although it is ‘discretionary’.
We went for the Set Menu Lunch, but were left more than a little disappointed. The Set Menu was very limited with only a choice of mains; a fact that wasn't really explained to us. The Anti pasta simply arrived in 2 tranches with no explanation; so the second tranche was a surprise. Similar was true for the desert - it simply arrived in 2 dishes. We then had to ask for plates to serve the desert.
All things considered the service was below standard, the Set Menu was poor, as was Value.
One to miss.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I'm sorry you were disappointed by the set menu and it lacked explanation, this is something I will pick up with my team. If you wish to book with us again please call us on 020 7305 7676 and we will organise something nice for you,
Excellent food, excellent service. Lovely place. Over priced for lunch menu though.
Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review, I am delighted you had a lovely time with us and hope you will be able to visit us again soon, Anna
Service was atrocious. Waited 40 mins for a drink. Limited menu which is fine but lots of things from the menu were unavailable. Stuck us in what felt like a dark corner with a terrible waitress. So disappointing as i’ve dined in the Petersham and loved it. Manager on duty was very good once word reached him but sadly too late.
Food was excellent
Service very poor. This is a constructive criticism!
Staff needs to be better trained. Had to ask for glasses. Waited 15 min for my wine
Had to wait ages for table service for ages.
Given the wrong menu list
Table service was very poor and staff didn’t inform me how the set lunch menu is served
Otherwise the ambience is lovely
Would come back again
Hi Marion, Thank you so much for leaving this feedback, it is extremely helpful to manage the performance of our team. I'm delighted that you would come back, when the time comes please email me personally and I will organise a table for you, my email is firstname.lastname@example.orgI look forward to hearing from you,
Loved it. Food's amazing and really good value. Lovely wine too!
Thank you for leaving a lovely review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will visit us again soon. Anna