Great location and a beautiful restaurant. Specially loved the outside terrace. The food was good although the potions were small and the service was slow at times.
Ideal quick healthy meal before evening of opera. Classy setting. Great wine.
Lunch with a chum was really wonderful - my second visit, her first and she was very impressed. Charming service and delectable sharing dishes so lots of opportunities for different tastes and textures. We particularly loved the zucchini fritti and the little fritters of sage leaves sandwiching an anchovy fillet. The tagliarini with garlic, chilli and bottarga was also memorably good. No room for pudding!
Glorious dining space outside apart from the little mouse running around the area. Advise the waitress and she did not like the things and pulled a face.
Food very tasty but the pulled beef tagliatelle was cool and the pasta dry
There seemed to be a lot of staff hanging about chatting with nothing to do and one eating a strawberry on the reception desk
Did not complain at the time as I was being treated by my friend and did not want to make a scene
The courtyard is the most wonderful setting - you forget you are in central London for a moment. Fantastic food, very attentive staff, can't fault it.
I had been to La Goccia about a year ago and it was better. I don’t know whether in the meantime there has been a change of management but I didn’t really like the idea of having these tapas like portions, I preferred the traditional courses that they had before. Besides it has become very expensive: 12£ for a tapas of pasta is definitely too much; for a similar price last time I had a normal portion of pasta equally good. Now you spend a lot and you leave still hungry.
I hope they will go back to what it was like before (less trendy and more traditional) and I would also advise to improve the light: we had to use our mobile phone lights to read the menu so dark it was.
It’s a pretty restaurant but the food is not as good as it used to be and now feels like it’s more style over substance.
Delicious food in pleasant surroundings. The staff are attentive without being over the top! The menu is small and I do think they could add something with a little more carbohydrate ... i.e. polenta or pasta etc.
I’ll definitely be visiting again.
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, hope to see you again soon
I have been to this restaurant a couple of times over the summer to enjoy the pretty outdoor courtyard but this was my first indoor visit. The decor and ambience seemed lovely but mild irritation set in when we were ignored by the staff until we got up and went over to where a huddle of waiters seemed oblivious that we might want to order drinks or even food.
The food was almost very good but lemon sole with more bones than fish and stale focaccia let it down a bit.
The service was all over the place and we had to physically get up three times to attract the attention of the staff.
I will probably go back as it’s a good place for an early evening supper and browsing round the Petersham Nurseries shop is an added bonus - but hope they can get a grip on the glitches as it could be a great place.
The size of the dishes was great for sharing with a friend with similar tastes. We had courgette fritters, tomato salad, hake and lamb. All delicious, though the tomatoes were underdressed and needed salt. The cocktails were fine but could have been more Italian in flavour.
The service let the experience as our waiter twice during the evening dropped plates and glasses near us causing noisy breakages and sweeping up. Not experienced that before at Petersham Nurseries where the floor is less even with more obstacles.
Good fresh food; very friendly service. Quite expensive - more than I'd expected
Thank you for leaving a lovely review,
The wonderful staff at La Goccia are totally committed to giving a good experience to diners. I booked a table for a birthday lunch for a very special friend and it could not have gone better. Attention to detail is high, food delicious and the staff were very welcoming and helpful.
The ‘posy’ i had ordered for the table surprised and delighted my friend, mauves and purples as i had requested and was all wrapped in tissue, vase and a square Petersham bag. It matched her dress! They even surprised me with the birthday candle dessert, chocolate ice cream on honeycomb pieces and strewn with lavender.
Well done to Ana Borges and her Team!
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, I'm so delighted you and your guest had a good time with us and she enjoyed her birthday treats. We hope you see you again soon,
Lovely setting and menu choices were interesting. Some standout dishes. Sage and anchovy bites and desserts but the portion sizes of the main plates £12 to £16 were mostly small and one (the hake) was just tiny! We had to order another plate and bread (adding another £15 to the bill) The cocktails were delicious and nice choice of wine however I don’t think overall it’s good value for money.
The waiter was extremely helpful, and recommended which dishes to choose.
Also we stayed there longer than the 2hr allotted time and this was no problem.
Would highly recommend
Hello Claire, Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review - we hope to see you again soon.
The man was very nice and tall
I had been here before and was so impressed with the food and service.
The food was below par, I struggled to decide what to order because I didn’t really want any of it. The service was very poor. We were not allowed to sit in the Court yard after dinner due to maintenance work, which was obviously fine, but there wasn’t an apology offered. Waiting staff were unfriendly.
The restaurant was basically empty, a contrast to when this place first opened and should be unheard of for a beautiful Saturday summer’s evening, in the middle of Covent Garden.
I enjoy the relaxed family style dining of LA Goccia & have dined here several times. A lively buzzy atmosphere without being horribly noisy
Fabulous food and we got to sit outside!
Not cheap but worth it.
Called soon after making online booking to request a table outside and was informed it was on a first come first serve basis. Arrived 20mins later to be told rather rudely that there was a maintenance issue and no outdoor seating was permitted (although there were at least 5 tables occupied). Front of house staff very rude and full of attitude.
Aperol spritz over priced and poorly prepared, every dish was overly salted and unpalatable. Restaurant kept getting darker and darker.
Chefs were very loud and cracking jokes and pranks in full view and earshot.
Bathrooms a mess, needed attention and had clearly not been inspected all day.
I will not be recommending and wish I had stuck with Petersham next door as I've rarely had an issue there.
What a wonderful haven amongst the tourist-filled streets of Covent Garden! Both the bar for pre-dinner drinks and the restaurant serving sharing dishes are exceptional, the staff welcoming, attentive and helpful without being overbearing. And the food? As you'd expect from a Petersham Nursery restaurant, the food is quite simply delicious. I would recommend you try it for yourself. You won't be disappointed.
Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review, I hope you will be back again soon, Anna
Extremely over priced for the food served. £2 for one thin slice of sour dough that was grilled on one side just not what I would class as acceptable. Salad was poorly presented and ordinary. Only the beauty of the decor kept me satisfied with the experience. I would not recommend. I’ve been to Petersham Nurseries 13 years ago when Skye Gyngell was the chef and feel this is them taking their name and branding too far. Good food in London does not have to be priced this high.
We have been several times and this time for a big birthday. Mixed feelings about returning. One pork dish arrived and hadn’t been described as a cold dish either in the menu or in person. Not enough choice for vegetarian with one pasta dish if you took off one of the main ingredients or a coleslaw or roasted baby courgettes x 2 not very filling. Waiters collected near our table to chat but still didn’t see if we wanted to catch their attention and neither did they say goodbye or thank you at the end, we left without anyone acknowledging us, despite it not being busy. Manners are easy. Disappointing after so many lovely evenings here.
Great. We were moved after being seated in a draught by the open door. There was work being done in the main restaurant which was a bit unsightly and disturbing when going to the bathroom.
Excellent food, knowledgable and attentive staff.
Thank you for leaving a lovely review, delighted you had a good time and please accept my apologies about the maintenance disturbing you. Anna
Tasty small plates with wine by the carafe makes for a very enjoyable lunch
Thanks for leaving a lovely review, Anna
Excellent set menu but this was not given to us until we asked for it which is naughty. Good ambience but very noisy which is a shame. Charming waiters. All in all an excellent restaurant.
Thank you for leaving a lovely review, we only offer the set menu on request but by no means are we trying to hide it - it's available to book online and then we would give you the menu on arrival. I hope you will be back again soon,
Manageress and staff very helpful
I've been to La Goccia before but this wasn't the best of visits. We were seated in the first section as you go in which was disappointing as it had no atmosphere in comparison to the main part of the restaurant and the service was terrible! Our food went to the wrong table, the waiter brought our bottle of wine and started filling the glasses without us tasting it, another waiter kept thanking us for any comment we made including please can have some more water - that sort of thing. The greeters at the door turned several people away just in the space of time we were waiting there for our table and said it was full when a lot of the tables around us were empty for the whole period of time we were there. They also wouldn't seat someone at a table because it only had one chair but didn't seem to have the thought that maybe they could go and get another.
The service needs sorting.
The food was generally good.
Our experience at La Goccia was great. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was excellent.
Thank you so much for leaving this wonderful review, I hope you will be back soon
We have been visiting La Goccia for about 18 months, for lunches and dinners, often before evening performance in the Opera, as pre-theatre treat. We always loved the atmosphere, the style of cuisine - authentic Italian, and energetic Italian- European staff.
Unfortunately the menu had been changed recently, so was the staff. All the lovely Italian feel has gone, and we found ourselves between a lifeless boring choice `one plate of prosciutto with no melon / fig / rocket - anything that makes it a seasonal Italian dish` and over onion-ed, (burrata with tomato - covered in white onion rings! ) and spicy Caribbean flavours and feel with over use of salt and chilly.
Service was scatty and random, my tea cup has arrived without the tea pot and had to ask 3 times for the tea to be served - it came with another set of cup by another member of staff.
Very very disappointed and unfortunately we lots our enthusiasm and interest to return.
Two chipped plates had to be sent back and service was slow but food delicious
This is about the sixth time I’ve visited La Goccia and it was a firm favourite but now the prices have been so hiked up, particularly the wine, that we won’t be visiting again. Shame.
Pathetically small portion size for price. Staff and courtyard setting pleasant enough but no true sense of hospitality. Would not recommend.
What a very nice evening we had again at La Goccia.Great to be outside on a summers evening and with no rush about needing the table.We had 2 1/2 hours of great food-coming as we ordered it and attentive service which was never overbearing.The Sage and Anchovy bites are simply superb (and we had 6 portions between four of us) and the fish dishes were all fresh and delightful.A little haven in busy london complexity shielded from traffic flows and outside!
Lovely staff - who were very passionate about the restaurant and were keen to tell us about the history of it.
The food tasted fresh & delicious, and was presented beautiful.
Would go again and again!
Such a lovely place, food was excellent and for £28 pp I was very surprised. Service and ambiance was really nice, perfect for a sunny Saturday afternoon
I specifically asked for two tables of 6 outside for my 30th and was put inside on a large table which I understand but would have preferred to have been outside
Food and service was incredible though and I couldn’t fault it
Lovely atmosphere. Good food but on one item the menu description didn't really match what was actually served. There were no beans with the pork and bean dish which turned out to be a cold pork salad with sprouts. Tasty but a bit misleading. Also served two dishes on very chipped plates. Not a good look. Servers were pleasant but a bit lacking in focus. I have been before and would go back but time to lift their game a bit.
Food was lovely. We were shocked by how slow / non-attentive the service was.
I’m a regular at La Goccia and my experience until Thursday had been nothing but spectacular. I have food allergies and intolerances, and the menus had always given me plenty option. This menu, not so much. What made it worse, was when I ordered my main dish, I was very explicit about my allergies and guess what, the food comes with items that I can’t have. The waiters even argues with me that this is how the chef makes it. I ended up paying about £10 for three halves of grilled courgettes and left the restaurant starving. Not going back anytime soon.