La Tagliata City
Book your next event with us
- Surfaces sanitised between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
- Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waiting staff wear masks
Great restaurant, very tasty and authentic food! Lovely staff as they helped save my wallet when i forgot it.
Great food. Fresh crab pasta in particular was very tasty.
To salty I can’t believe my husband ate more than 2 mouthfuls
Scallops were tiny tiny
Staff were amazing and very nice
We didn’t complain we just pains and left
very fancy, yet cosy, restaurant on a quiet narrow street, with a short walking distance to liverpool street station, great food, highly recommended
Great place for tasty Italian food, excellent service and very reasonable prices for the quality of food provided.
Excellent menu, great wine list. Thoroughly enjoyable
Great food, enjoyed it. It would be nice they serve lunch menu.
Not what I expected. Very poor food, served with a overpriced glass of poor quality red wine.
Not sure I will return.
Dear Guest, we are sorry to hear that. You've ordered the tuna cooked as per your request, medium rare, but you didn't like it, sent it back and ordered gnocchi al pesto instead, which have promptly been served to you. Regarding the wine: you've had a large glass of a fine Montepulciano d'Abruzzo at £10.50 and we can confirm it was not corked. You clearly didn't enjoy it: perhaps you've just made the wrong wine choice.
This restaurant is a bit of a time-warp that is just not in competition with London's better Italian restaurants or the many other offerings in Spitalfields. You can get a fridge-cold stack of avocado and tuna tartare topped with half-domes of cherry tomatoes and reeking with excessive amounts of truffle oil, for example, as if you were at a mid-1990s wedding. Or a tiny bowl of mushy prawns in a tomato chilli sauce. Pasta offerings are not too bad I suppose (although my carbonara came bound in a single, almost indivisible lump of pasta) but it's the sort of place where they sprinkle dust around the edge of the plate and adorn everything with drizzles and rocket and other nonsense that nowhere serious has done for decades. The service is hospitable and attentive, but the place was practically empty on a Saturday evening when the rest of town was heaving, which tells you everything you need to know. It's a shame really as they seem to be trying hard, but it's almost as if they have no idea what their competition is.
Dear Guest, you're clearly a 21st century foodie person who seems to know everything about food and most importantly how it should be presented. We're not trying hard, as I guarantee you our Grandmothers never tried hard to follow the same Ragú recipe all their lives. Perhaps simplicity and quality of ingredients are simply not your thing. I'm sure our repeat clients, and we have several, disagree with you.
We had a nice table by the window. The restaurant is small and cozy. Perfect for a date. Staff is friendly and food is delicious! Will come back :)
Yes - I booked the table on Opentable originally for 2pm and then changed to 1.45 for a business lunch. When we all arrived i was told that restaurant closes at 2pm so we had a challenge.
I have to say that the Manager kept open for us and looked after us extremely well - congratulations for a great service and attitude !
The food & restaurant were outstanding and reasonably priced - will be going back again soon
Great meal and service. La Tagliata City is a multi-room restaurant and we were lucky enough to be in a separate dining space, old library style room with bookshelves etc. so you could actually have a conversation right down the table. As a business dinner it was the perfect setting for us as a group of 9.
Excellent food, in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.
Food was great, but a friend asked for a cup of tea for dessert and the tea was cold.
Apparently the coffee machine was broken so there was no hot water and knowingly gave her a cold cup of tea. This was taken off of the bill, but it was a bit disappointing.
If you like simple Italian food, this is the place for you. Tasty food, reasonable wine, good service.
I will be going back! (Soon)
Food was lovely and service efficient, however couldn't get over the damp/mould smell in there. Food authentic and well prepared, just the smell that ruined it a bit. Wine list also good.
A very warm and friendly with excellent personal service. The food was superb and can only highly recommend. The value for money was very reasonable and at no time felt pressured in any way.
Amazing food and amazing people and ambience. We really enjoyed our dinner with friends. We definitely come again. Thanks
Genuine Italian dishes - I had the Carbonara made with egg yolk...not cream. Delicious!
Very pleasant experience overall. I will definitely return and can highly recommend.
Great food and very welcoming and accommodating staff.
I went with my brothers and there was a 25% discount with an offer the restaurant had. The food was good and value for money with the offer.
I had dinner with two work colleagues on a Weds night. Service was efficient, the food was excellent and the atmosphere just right for us. We had a table in a little area by the window to ourselves which was perfect for talking. Definitely visit again
Lovely food. Great January offer of discount on food. Perfect for conversation as not loud at all - but still nice ambience.
Was very excited to try out this restaurant after coming across them on Instagram, the pumpkin and ricotta tortellini was lovely however my mum ordered the Sardinian pasta which arrived cold and hard. Moreover, when desserts came, we had ordered vanilla ice cream. The waiter brought over pistachio ice cream and insisted it was vanilla even though the other waitress confirmed it was pistachio... not to mention we could clearly see it was green! Overall, the food was lovely (besides the cold pasta) but a very very rude waiter which dampened the service, there are many nice Italian restaurants around spitalfields with great service so I will not be returning to La Tagliata.
Dear Mrs Michael, We are sorry that your visit didn't meet your expectations. The Sardinian pasta you ordered is a particular type of pasta, similar to a giant cous cous, the manager explained to you the dish before you ordered it and it was definitely hot at the moment we served that to you. Regarding the ice cream, we put homemade almond crumb on top of all our ice creams and even if it was exactly the flavour you asked for, we kindly offered you another portion.
Excellent as ever. 4th visit and will certainly go back time and time gain.
Great place tucked away on the edge of the City. What a find! Just fantastic from start to finish. Loved everything about it. Would absolutely recommend it to anyone for any occasion
We ordered truffle carbonara, but the truffles were probably old so we couldn’t taste the truffle in the pasta at all. Even when you’d take truffle only it tasted like regular mushrooms from pizza, not truffles which we paid much extra for. There were people on the table next to us who were too loud and were irritating for the other guests. I loved the first time here, but I am really disappointed now.
Great service, food and wine
The restaurant is located in the center of the City of London. The place is really quiet, the food is amazing and the service is really wonderful. This was a great moment and I would recommend this place to everyone.
Beautiful restaurant, lovely food and attentive service.
We’ll definitely be returning.
Excellent meal and quality wine to accompany it.
Only downside was an unpleasant smell of drains at times.
Table not ready. Pasta cold. Waited a long time for the food. This was disappointing.
Excellent food. Excellent atmosphere. Slightly expensive but well worth it.
We had a horrible experience at this restaurant. My pasta was undercooked and sent back twice. The manager was insistent that it was cooked while our waiter agreed it had not been cooked enough. I’m a trained chef and this pasta was raw not al
Dente. After the second under cooked meal the manager / owner insisted that it was fine and we were charged for it and a 12% service fee. Our waiter who was fabulous generously offered for us not to pay the service fee as he was embarrassed by the food served . Don’t waste your money. Go somewhere they appreciate your patronage.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our Restaurant. Clearly you don't know real Italian food and you may be a trained chef, but this doesn't justify your arrogance. We find extremely offensive to stand and shout in front of other customers because you wanted to go to the kitchen to teach our Italian chef how to cook Italian. You forgot that we did cancel your dish from the bill to avoid further embarrassment in front of customers. Service charge has been left on the bill because you asked so.
A really lovely restaurant with a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere. The food/wine choices were excellent. I would definitely return.
Kind of overpriced but amazing food and service! Can’t wait to go back
A little hidden away but worth finding! Swordfish was exquisite, beautifully seasoned and seared. The starter portions are huge as are the side plates, don't make the mistake we did and order a side of garlic potatoes each, one is enough for 2 or 3 to share. Tiramisu was also delicious and the service was very friendly and attentive. Can't comment on the bill as didn't see it.
Whole table enjoyed their meal, nice relaxing lunch.
Really enjoyable, the manager was super attentive and we were given a lovely table in a quiet room to the left. Good food and good wine, definitely would recommend.
Really lovely restaurant. Quiet enough to be able to relax and have a conversation but still a good atmosphere. The food was incredible. I would definitely go here again.
We were so excited as the reviews and pictures look great and the menu confirmed what we hoped, that it was a proper Italian restaurant. The premise of Italian good food, prepared simply and cooked well. Unfortunately that didn't happen. I'm sorry not to have taken pictures, but to keep everything short, i will use the lamb main course as the example. Do not expect any meat or fish to come up any way other than thinly sliced. 2 weird thin pieces of 'lamb' came so overdone they were charcoaled and extremely tough. Two of us had the same dish and 3 out of 4 of us were convinced it was beef, not lamb. The waiter says it was, but they were not convinced at all. For more than £20 a main course, it was extremely poor value. The swordfish meal was good and by far the best....the Sardinian seafood pasta and aubergine parmigiana both did not go down well, most of them being left. The puddings were average. Very sad to say it was not the graduation celebration I had hoped for, we won't be going back and we definitely won't be recommending it.
Update from your reply.
I’m afraid you have not been given the correct information. Yes I said I was pregnant which is why I ordered medium well. Unfortunately both mine and my fathers lamb came up beyond well done. Most importantly we were never advised not to order the lamb or that it would be tough, neither did our tables plates come back empty and as for no complaints... we asked the waiter if it was the right meat... we challenged him on it being beef given the texture and toughness. You will see that most of my reviews are highly positive, it is incredibly rare for me to post a negative review but sadly our experience was worth it. I’m very sorry we did not take pictures to prove my points. Hopefully it was just one bad night. All the best.
Hello DaleLFM, we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience at La Tagliata. The floor staff, which looked after your table during the night, told you to avoid ordering a very well done lamb as it would come out tough. You explained that you're pregnant and that you wanted it overcooked anyway. The plates all came back completely empty and no complaint have been raised from your side after our waitress kindly asked you if everything was okay. Thank you for your feedback
La Tagliata City is rated 4.5 stars by 374 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.