Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse

4.0
181 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Fusion / Eclectic
Top tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasions
  • Romance
Mr. White's English Chophouse opened in Manchester in April 2018 on 2, Canal Street, Manchester.

Located on Canal Street, next to the iconic Velvet Hotel, the restaurant serves classic British cuisine and boasts an extensive drinks list with a fine selection of cocktails, wines, beers and spirits.

Marco's Chophouse gives a nod to tradition and centres on serving succulent cuts of meat from steaks and chops to the finest pies.

Whilst the menu centers on British classics the dishes also introduce a little French flair that epitomises Marco's cooking style.

Special Offers

25% Off

Enjoy 25% off. Not available in conjunction with other offers.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 6 people

Starts: 29 April 2019

Ends: 31 July 2019

Availability: Wed-Fri 12:00-21:00

Sunday Lunch Bottomless Prosecco: £30

Main course and bottomless prosecco £30 (90 minute sitting).

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 6 people

Starts: 18 January 2019

Ends: 31 July 2019

Availability: Sun 12:00-22:00

Sunday Lunch:2/3 courses £17.50/£22.50

From a set menu.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 6 people

Starts: 18 January 2019

Ends: 31 July 2019

Availability: Sun 12:00-22:00

Steak, chips and a glass of wine £19.95

Chef’s Steak choices of the day, 175ml house wine only. Subject to availability. Not available in conjunction with any other offers.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 6 people

Starts: 18 January 2019

Ends: 31 July 2019

Availability: Wed 12:00-22:00

Pre theatre: 2 courses & a drink £20

Drinks: 175ml wine (red, white, rose) Pint of Tuborg, Soft drink.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 6 people

Starts: 18 January 2019

Ends: 31 July 2019

Availability: Wed-Sat 16:00-18:00

Bottomless Prosecco Brunch: £30

From a set menu.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 8 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 8 people

Starts: 11 January 2019

Ends: 31 July 2019

Availability: Sun 11:00-16:00
Fri-Sat 11:00-16:00

Lunch: £12.50 main course, £17.50 for two courses with a soft drink

Not available in conjunction with any other offer.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 6 people

Starts: 6 June 2018

Ends: 31 July 2019

Availability: Tue-Thu 12:00-16:45

What 181 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
76% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
YB
Liverpool
4 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

We thoroughly enjoyed our second visit to this restaurant, we went on early doors which we found excellent value for money. Service and quality of food was superb, we will definitely visit again when in Manchester.

Report
Helpful
j
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 7 July 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 4

Excellent value for a 3 course dinner , I was expecting a high standard of food with the restaurant being owned by Mr White so was a bit surprised by a couple of things that let it down. The starters were ok but nothing outstanding, my duck pate didnt have that much flavour and I found the presentation a bit strange with a few cornichons just sat on the plate. My husbands Sardines on toast was also lacking in some flavour and the prawn cocktail looked really average. We ordered roast beef and fish and chips. The fish and chips was the best meal with tripple cooked chips, the fish just melted in the mouth and the batter was lovely. The roast beef although not pink was very tender. The main thing to let this meal down was the roast potatoes. They were soggy in the middle , didnt taste very nice and I am sure they were frozen. All of us left them. I did mention it to the waiter when he asked if everything was ok and he said he would mention it to the chef but that was it. My husband ordered the roast chicken and it was a massive portion and really tender. The pudding was the best part of the meal for me, Bakewell tart with clotted cream, it was gorgeous. We also ordered sticky toffee pudding which was also very good. Overall if you are looking for a Sunday dinner at a very good price in a nice restaurant I would recommend but just stay clear of the roast potatoes they certainly wouldnt get through the Master chef rounds.

Report
Helpful
JS
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 7 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great venue, amazing food at a good price

Report
Helpful
G
1 review
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Booked within an hour and the food was sublime. Thoroughly recommend to visit

Report
Helpful
g
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 26 June 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Booked for 11:00 am. Arrived early at 10:50. Stood for 20 mins. Nothing. No sign of life. Couldn’t wait all morning so we left.. very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
RP
1 review
Dined on 22 June 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 2

Overall a disappointing experience.

Service whilst friendly was, at times slow.

The starters were okay. However the main course, Lamb Shank was bland. When challenged, this was acknowledged but we were told that the chef was under pressure. there was a large party in, but also many empty tables.

Report
Helpful
SR
London
3 reviews
Dined on 21 June 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 2

We had a table for two on a Friday night at 8.30pm, apart from a table of six or seven, we ended up being the only ones there. The staff were friendly and attentive but to be fair they weren't rushed off their feet. The food was disappointing, we both had the Coronation Chicken Curry. The chicken was in a very small dish & the rice was in a small metallic ramakin. Not exactly value for money. The desserts were disappointing, I've never had cold Sticky Toffee Pudding with cold sauce and the Bakewell Tart was a very small portion for £7.00. It was a shame because it's a really attractive restaurant in one of the most vibrant parts of Manchester.

Report
Helpful
OT
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 15 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Excellent service in the restaurant, very good food and extremely nice dining room.
Staff in bar upstairs rude. Would definitely recommend restaurant

Report
Helpful
b
London
1 review
Dined on 15 June 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Ate here quite a few times when it was just velvet. Booked a table for 9 for a hen party lunch time. When we arrived we were told that we couldn't have the lunch time offer of the £10 course that was advertised on the website. The waitress informed me that that menu was for monday to friday only although that is not stated anywhere on the website. The waitress also informed us of yhe problems with vouchers etc that they are no longer acceptable and again that's not stated on the website so we dicided to leave and eat else where

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 16 June 2019

To offer some clarity to potential diners we would advise that opentable clear shows which offers are available to book and at which times they're available, when making your booking it was done so for our a la carte menu. With regards to the 'vouchers' you claim to have tried to use, these were in fact old paper £10 and £5 notes which are no longer in circulation and were polity declined as they have not been accepted since 2018. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report
Helpful
OT
Manchester
4 reviews
Dined on 9 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We always try and find somewhere different to go and we chose here and it was well worth every penny the food was amazing and plenty of it. Would highly recommend here and we will definitely be returning.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 14 June 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
JW
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 7 June 2019
Overall 3food 2service 5ambience 4

The food was nice. However it was only average fare and nothing special. I think Marco is not taking this seriously. However the staff could not have been nicer. The service was a bit rushed and we were finished within an hour and a half!

Report
Helpful
MH
1 review
Dined on 7 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Welcomed by a lovely smiling young lady who sat us down very polite then drinks order taken we where then met with an excellent waiter smiling very handsome yang I believe. Took our order for meals and was very good meal was hot excellent and nicely presented main meal excellent the burger and the fish was excellent full service was great place a great very good job be back again soon thank you.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 14 June 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
SB
1 review
Dined on 7 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food was lovely and the staff very friendly and accommodating.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 14 June 2019

Thank you for your fab 5* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
OT
Las Vegas
3 reviews
Dined on 1 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent food! Great service

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 14 June 2019

Thank you for your fab 5* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
SH
1 review
Dined on 26 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

What a lovely restaurant with excellent food and service! It definitely exceeded my expectations and will most definitely be coming back!

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 14 June 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
NA
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 24 May 2019
Overall 3food 3service 1ambience 1

Dont order wine by the glass, a 250ml glass was nowhere near the amount it should have been, pubs have measured wine glasses but for some reason restaurants can just free pour and RIP customers off. Mentioned it to the staff who didn't care they where breaking trading standards

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 14 June 2019

Dear NathanA, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. Measures are indeed used on the bar in the restaurant as to not use them would breach the weights and measures act. The only time the team will 'free' pour a glass is at the table when a bottle has been ordered. We offer over sized wine glasses which look great and hold more than a pint of liquid so without a measure it would be impossible to guess how much a large glass is.

Report
Helpful
NA
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 18 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

The early bird is amazing value. The food is lovely and the staff friendly yet very professional. However, the place rarely had more than a handful when we’ve been and consequently lacks s bit of ambience. But, defo recommended!

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 14 June 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visits and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
R
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 16 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great and cheerful staff. Nice meny with something for everyone. Good offering of different drinks and wine.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 14 June 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 11 May 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

Food was nice, however, the service let it down. We had to wait ages to get drinks we ordered and also waited ages before asking for the bill.

Report
Helpful
BH
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on 11 May 2019
Overall 1food 3service 2ambience 1

Overall bad experience. The wine we ordered wasn’t available. They came back to the table without the wine list. Steak was edible. Service poor. Will never return.

Report
Helpful
AP
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 5

The service was bad, the waiter did not pay attention to us, I asked for olive oil and never received it and it took a long time for them to clean the table.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 14 June 2019

Dear Guest, I'm disappointed to have received a low score following your recent visit to Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. Could you please contact me via my email rory@chophousemanchester. c om so I can find out a bit more about your visit and hopefully put this right for you. Please accept my apologies Rory Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
JC
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Eat from the Pre-theatre menu - excellent value and decor.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 14 June 2019

Thank you for your fab 4* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
OT
Lancashire
2 reviews
Dined on 26 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Brilliant night at Mr Whites food amazing and service first class if you haven’t been give it a go you won’t be disappointed

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 14 June 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
CG
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 20 April 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 3

Food was not up to the standard you'd expect from a world renowned chef or any restaurant charging these prices. Better fish pies sold in Iceland! Easter weekend and the place was empty, speaks volumes.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 14 June 2019

Dear Guest, I am so sorry to hear you didn't receive the level of service that I expect from my team on your recent visit. Could you please contact me via my email rory@chophousemanchester .c om so I can find out a bit more about your visit and hopefully put this right for you. Please accept my apologies Rory Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
JS
London
4 reviews
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 2food 5service 1ambience 3

The food was perfect!

However, there was a huge delay when bringing out the dessert and they messed up the order. Also, the staff member cleaning the adjacent table made it feel like there was an earthquake at our table!

Food great. Service needs much improvement. They were friendly, but for that money you need better.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Dear JameS, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester, we're so pleased that you found the food perfect. We're ever so sorry if you feel there was a bit of a wait between courses, like most fine dining restaurants the wait between courses is slightly longer than a chain pub/restaurant as all of our food is a la carte and prepared to order which is why you are allocated a 2 hour reservation. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
p
1 review
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 1

The service was good, but overall the feel of the restaurant was poor, the food was average at best. The food quality and taste was far poorer than my local gastro pub and more expensive. I would not return or recommend.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Dear Peterc, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester, we're all very saddened to read your review and would have hoped a meal as bad as you have mentioned would have been mentioned to the team during your visit. You have said they provided good service and would have welcomed the opportunity to put anything right on the day for you. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
CP
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Mothers Day, last minute booking - really surprised by the decor, friendly staff and
food portion and quality.
Been to the Salford quays Restaurent, this was equal to and larger food portion (my son is a junior athlete, he commented he had the best steak and calamari ever!!)
A nice touch also was to give the mothers roses (free) as a finishing touch
11 out of 10 for me

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 14 June 2019

Dear ChrisP, Thank you for your fabulous review of Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your Mother's Day and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Mother’s Day

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Thank you for your fab 5* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
U
London
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Excellent food and wonderful service. Friendly and helpful staff without being intrusive.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 14 June 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
AF
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Really enjoyable , would highly recommend. Food great, service amazing.

Report
Helpful
e
London
1 review
Dined on 29 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Really enjoyable evening

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Thank you for your 4* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
OT
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 22 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic setting,amazing food,exceptional service,absolutely first rate.

Report
Helpful
GL
1 review
Dined on 22 March 2019
Overall 3food 2service 5ambience 4

Visited on a very quiet Friday evening with three friends. A lovely warm greeting by the staff and we had a lovely table. The service was excellent throughout. The starters were all very good: scallops, fish soup, goats cheese and calamari. The main courses were unfortunately a little average: the ribeye steak ordered medium but unfortunately came well done. One of my friends dishes was very salt. The lamb and fish pie were good. The wine was great. A nice restaurant just a little let done by the main courses.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. I've very disappointed to have received such a low review score and would like to investigate your dining experience further to see what went wrong and were we can improve. If you would like to discuss your experience please get in touch on 0161 236 9003 or Rory@chophousemanchester.c om Best Wishes, Rory Edwards, Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
HG
Manchester
1 review
Dined on 15 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

We thought the restaurant would have been busier for a Friday night but that didn’t detract from the evening. The food was very fresh and cooked to order. It meant a slight wait but that was good as we were in no rush. No complaints other than trying to get the right bill but that ended up being a fun part of the night !! @ Waiter - you know who you are !!

Report
Helpful
OT
London
3 reviews
Dined on 2 March 2019
Overall 2food 3service 2ambience 2

Nice little place but not much of an atmosphere and very cold. Had to dine wearing my coat. The food tasted lovely but the portion size of the chateaubriand for two was quite small for £54. Had to ask for water 3 times and the restaurant wasn’t busy. Stopping men using the female toilets and leaving the door unlocked needs addressing, I had to wait just under 10mins for the loo, gave up in the end and left.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. I've very disappointed to have received such a low review score and would like to investigate your dining experience further to see what went wrong and were we can improve. If you would like to discuss your experience please get in touch on 0161 236 9003 or Rory@chophousemanchester.c om Best Wishes, Rory Edwards, Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 1 March 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Overall a very good dining experience

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Thank you for your fab 4* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
L
1 review
Dined on 22 February 2019
Overall 2food 4service 2ambience 4

It’s been done out nice inside but the food was overpriced, not many vegetarian choices either. We also had a bad experience with our waiter who was slightly rude.

I much preferred it when it was velvet and I won’t be rushing back there in a hurry, especially when number 1 canal street is right next door.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester. I've very disappointed to have received such a low review score and would like to investigate your dining experience further to see what went wrong and were we can improve. If you would like to discuss your experience please get in touch on 0161 236 9003 or Rory@chophousemanchester.c om Best Wishes, Rory Edwards, Restaurant Manager

Report
Helpful
PW
1 review
Dined on 20 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Absolutely fabulous sisterly day out waiter friendly , polite and professional food cooked to perfection and the star of the show was the creamy cabbage side ordered we just needed Mr MPW to pop his head round the door we can wish ,had photos took with his picture in there at the grand table then off up the sweeping stairs for coptails which was 2 for 1 , and finally Les Miserables at the Palace Theatre 🎭 wonderful time had !

Report
Helpful
e
1 review
Dined on 17 February 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Amazing night out here,first time we had ever been but would definitely go again
Staff were friendly,funny and honest. Food was excellent value for money and cooked to perfection.couldnt fault it.would recommend 👍

Report
Helpful
OT
Derbyshire
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Brilliant experience would definitely recommend to everyone and will definitely be visiting again.

Marco Pierre White Mr White’s English Chophouse
Responded on 11 April 2019

Thank you for your fab 5* rating! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Mr. White's English Chophouse, Manchester

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5