This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitising, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.

Matchbox - One Loudoun

4.5
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
364 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Bubbling, thin crust pizzas, mini burgers, crisp salads, and craft cocktails...four great reasons to visit matchbox today. We’re Ashburn's neighborhood gathering place for fun, upscale casual dining, with local, award-winning beers, broad spectrum wines, and handcrafted signature cocktails you won’t find anywhere else.

New at matchbox: brunchbox, our new unlimited brunch with small plates and drinks. Think: an endless selection of dishes like our avocado toast, breakfast nachos, chicken + grits and, of course, any of our small pizzas

In the heart of Loudoun County is our dining oasis with two light-filled levels--each with shaded outdoor patios for great people-watching.

This spacious location has indoor and outdoor spaces to accommodate all event needs. The private Barrel Room accommodates 55 guests and comes with comfortable seating, a wood-burning fireplace and private wine coolers to store your favorite vintages.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
Social Distancing
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Personal Protective Equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
What 364 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Baltimore
12 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2food4service1ambience2

I love Matchbox Rockville- but One Loudoun fell short. Bathroom was dirty, had to send dirty plates back and then the server didn’t bring new plates and had to remind her to bring the clean plates and silverware. Then only saw her again after the meal- she brought a refill after we were finished our meal. I told the manager and she just said- who was it- after I pointed out she just said thanks. It was not too busy that this should have happened. We will not return to this location.

Matchbox - One Loudoun
Responded 2 days ago

Patricia, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us yesterday and for speaking with me earlier today. We do regret that it was not the best impression of the service and cleanliness that we uphold ourselves to, but due to your feedback we are able to coach and revisit these standards with our team. Rockville is a fantastic location, but we hope that our team here at Matchbox One Loudoun have a chance to make it up to you in the future. Best Regards, Marisa Roberts

Report
MW
MarkW
Washington DC
8 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We all enjoyed our meals, a little pricey for what it was but seems thats par for many of restaurants in area

f
foodgeekcouple
Washington DC
13 reviews
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My wife and I shared the Fire and Smoke pizza. It was uniquely delicious, different from any pizza I’ve ever had, worth the price. Our server was very attentive and friendly. I really like the look and layout of the place, spacious, modern, and open. It’s centrally located in One Loudoun, right in the heart of it all. We’ll definitely be back.

Matchbox - One Loudoun
Responded on 15 September 2020

Good Evening, Thank you so much for the review of your visit with us this weekend! We are so glad that you enjoyed the Fire + Smoke pizza, it is one of our top sellers and we agree ..it is delicious. It is also great to hear that you had such great service, we are lucky to have such a great team. We all look forward to seeing you again soon! Best Regards, Marisa Roberts

Report
LW
vipLWP1
Washington DC
12 reviews
Dined on 8 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went for the outside seating. Great place to enjoy tasty pizza safely.

Matchbox - One Loudoun
Responded on 11 September 2020

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience with us! We prioritize safety measures with the current restrictions in place and it is great to hear you felt this way dining with us earlier this week. We look forward to seeing you soon! Best Regards, Marisa Roberts

Report
BD
vipBeachDiva1
Richmond
31 reviews
Dined on 6 September 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Nothing special. Food was ok and service was ok. For the price I feel that it's not worth it.

Matchbox - One Loudoun
Responded on 8 September 2020

Good Afternoon, I am sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations, but we do appreciate your honest feedback. It is because of this that we will be able to continue to set new goals to improve moving forward as a company. Please reach out to me with any further comments or inquiries, I am always happy to assist! Best Regards, Marisa Roberts

Report
E
vipEatoutashburn00
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on 6 September 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience2

It’s just different:(

Matchbox - One Loudoun
Responded on 11 September 2020

Good Afternoon, It seems you had a less than stellar experience with us the other day. I would love to speak with you directly so I am able to get some details regarding your visit. We understand things are different and we too wish things were back to normal, but we are always welcome to feedback so we are able to improve our current practices. I look forward to hearing from you and have a wonderful weekend. Best Regards, Marisa Roberts 571-918-8024

Report
R
vipReynoldsan
Washington DC
37 reviews
Dined on 27 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Nice outdoor space that made us comfortable even with other guest. Food is always excellent and our server was responsive, friendly and made some great suggestions.

Matchbox - One Loudoun
Responded on 30 August 2020

Hello Mr. Reynolds, Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback of your great experience with us last Thursday! Your server was Cristian on that particular evening and I am so glad to hear that he took such great care of you and your guest, I will make sure to share this with him as well. I hope you had a wonderful weekend and we look forward to seeing you soon! Best Regards, Marisa Roberts

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Richmond
5 reviews
Dined on 14 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service. Great food. Drinks were a little spendy but delicious. Had fun and we will be back.

Matchbox - One Loudoun
Responded on 17 August 2020

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us today! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Marisa Roberts

Report
J
vipJake
Washington DC
51 reviews
Dined on 14 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A great experience!

Matchbox - One Loudoun
Responded on 17 August 2020

Jake, We are so glad you had such a great experience this weekend! Come back and visit us soon! Best Regards, Marisa Roberts

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Miami
3 reviews
Dined on 8 August 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a great experience here.

Matchbox - One Loudoun
Responded on 9 August 2020

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us! We look forward to seeing you soon! Warm Regards, Marisa Roberts

Report
AT
vipAndreaT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 8 August 2020
Overall2food3service1ambience2

We frequently dine in and carry out from this location . This was by far the worst dine in experience we've ever had at this location. It might be awhile before we go back.

Matchbox - One Loudoun
Responded on 17 August 2020

Andrea, I am very sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with us. I would like the opportunity to make this right for you, so please call me here at the One Loudoun Matchbox location at your convenience. I look forward to hearing from you and hope you had a great weekend. Best Regards, Marisa Roberts

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 1 August 2020
Overall3food5service1ambience5

bad service good food

SB
SamanthaB
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on 25 July 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Service was outstanding! This was our first visit, I will be back.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Washington DC
10 reviews
Dined on 25 July 2020
Overall2food2service4ambience3

We’ve been here before and loved it but unfortunately this time were extremely disappointed. Our server was great but the food was not worth the $200 bill. My salad with steak was $24 and it came as a small side salad with 4 tiny pieces of tough cheap cut steak on it - I actually had to spit most of it out in a napkin I’m embarrassed to say! My husbands Cobb salad came and it was a bowl of mostly chopped romaine with no dressing. finally got some dressing after requesting it. My family members did get a crab cake and some pasta which they loved so maybe they were just off their salad games tonight. They also marked my reservation as a no show even though I checked in! Sad we lost $200 on this dinner but hopefully they will be back on their game in the future.

DM
DarleneM
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on 25 July 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

This is a regular dining spot for us and glad that it has re-opened. They are doing a great job with adhering to Covid guidelines. All dining parties were spaced apart and all staff were wearing masks. Of course, the food was excellent ad always.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Miami
4 reviews
Dined on 24 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Birthday surprise! Service was wonderful and fantastic!

w
vipwillyh
Washington DC
58 reviews
Dined on 19 July 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience4

This is a very good restaurant. Food tasted very good. We had a poor server, but witnessed several other tables with excellent servers. We will go back again and give it another try.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 19 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server, Chris, was outstanding! My friends and I had such a great time! The drinks were great and the food was great!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 17 July 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Outside dining available, hand sanitizer for patrons was not

C
vipCindyb831
Washington DC
42 reviews
Dined on 11 July 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Claudia provided great service and took very good care of our party. She was very attentive and helpful.

KJ
KyleJ
Baltimore
3 reviews
Dined on 11 July 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Met a friend for Saturday brunch. The staff was amazingly attentive, professional and masked.. The restaurant was clean, atmosphere and noise level was quite nice. Inside seating was set up for social distancing based on the size of your party which was really nice. While the food was delicious the portions were a little on the small side. Overall a good choice and I would recommend.

KT
KathyT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 14 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a favorite! We visited during COVID-19 and found a clean restaurant.

S
vipSabs
Washington DC
38 reviews
Dined on 7 March 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience2

Food was very good. First table they showed us had a cold blast directed down onto the table. Very uncomfortable so we asked to be moved (it made me recall a similar experience last time we ate there!). Only table available was in bar area which was very loud - but it is a bar! Server came quickly and took our drink order which came a bit slowly considering we were in the bar and had a couple of draft beers. Then it took quite a bit of time for server to return to take our dinner order. Food came out fast. We would return but wait until spring/summer as I think the heat system actually creates a number of spots on tables where you feel you are sitting in a draft. Not pleasant.

MC
MikeC
1 review
Dined on 7 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, excellent service and fun atmosphere! Can’t wait to go back.

AT
vipArleneT
Washington DC
9 reviews
Dined on 5 March 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Our meals were great as always. So happy to see the ginormous meatball incorporated into an entree. It was DELICIOUS!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 1 March 2020
Overall3food5service1ambience3

Great food. Terrible service if you are seated in the bar area.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 1 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Brunch was amazing ! Our waitress superb !! Went with the 31.50 brunch all you can eat menu and everything was a HIT ! Huge fan of chicken and waffles and that Deff did hit the spot !!!! I’m going back for sure !!!!!! Oh and the MIMOSAS - nothing beats such a good brunch with those 3$ mimosas! And they are pretty generous with the champagne proportions !

CD
ColleenD
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on 1 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server Eric was very personable and knowledgeable. This was our second time trying their brunch and it is fantastic!

MP
MelissaP
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience1

Not sure why but we were sat in the bar area that was extremely noisy. It was a date so I couldn't hear my date at all. If it wasn't a date I'd be ok being in the bar area.

JS
JerSly
Richmond
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall2food3service4ambience1

Very disappointed! THREE TIMES we indicated to staff that our dinner was to celebrate our daughter-in-law’s birthday and NOTHING was done by anyone to celebrate .... not even a cupcake with a candle! Considering the cost ($60 per person) to us, you would think management would chip in something! A scoop of ice cream? A cookie? What a let down. For an “upscale” restaurant (as they sell themselves) I expected a more customer-oriented team than what we experienced. Will NOT return. Also very noisy atmosphere.

SD
SDKing
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience2

This was our second dinner at Matchbox, and it didn't measure up to the first. We had a 6:00 reservation for 4. Our waiter was very nice, but, he had a hard time hearing us and we kept having to repeat ourselves. We finally got our orders in, had calamari as an app. Really disappointed at the portion, it was barely enough for everyone to get a few pieces. For the price, I would have expected that it would have been ample enough to serve a family of 4. We eat out frequently and I travel for work, it was the smallest, most expensive dish of calamari I'd ever seen. Dinner came, in increments, not all the dishes came at the same time. The last thing to come out was sweet potato fries . . not an item that should've come 10 minutes after the rest of the meal. The food was good, not great, honestly for 4 people that had a couple of drinks, and app and dessert, with a bill over $200, it was not even close to the best $200 meal I've had. Very disappointed with the overall experience.

G
vipGingersnap
Washington DC
11 reviews
Dined on 29 February 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Great brunch ( the breakfast nachos and the cinnamon rolls are amazing). Service was excellent. Love the casual atmosphere.

OM
OnlyMe
1 review
Dined on 28 February 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Matchbox offers a fun atmosphere that is family friendly as well as great for a date night. Our dinner was a girl's night out and perfect spot to catch up with friends. The food was just the right amount and super yummy. I would definitely come again.

LF
LoriF
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 22 February 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience3

A little pricey but great service and the food was excellent.

A
Angst
Washington DC
20 reviews
Dined on 22 February 2020
Overall3food5service2ambience4

Came here for my wife's birthday dinner , food was excellent, service is a bit shaky , but slow . Long wait for drinks , long wait and several asks for take out boxes for left overs

LB
LindaB
1 review
Dined on 20 February 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Our group enjoyed our first time lunching here. The food was great—soup of the day excellent. Server took good care of us—promptly refilling our drinks. The speaker & music over our upstairs table was a little loud & couldn’t really be adjusted just over our table. We had some lunchers who could have used elevator but weren’t offered the service. Our server did offer & was very sure to tell us that coming out in the kitchen was where we should be—otherwise we probably would have gone back to ground floor wondering about our mistake. Thanks for a great lunch.

w
weekendfor2
Richmond
14 reviews
Dined on 19 February 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Too loud . Sat in the back room. I felt like they need to do something for the excessive loudness of the room. People seemed like they were yelling to each other.
Our server was very nice.

n
vipninaf
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 17 February 2020
Overall4food4service2ambience3

Service is always lacking and slow here for some reason. I have been here many times and it is consistently off.

KC
vipKipnCandi
Washington DC
11 reviews
Dined on 17 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The BEST. Good for any occasion!

JL
JoeL
Louisville
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Brunch was excellent. They have a flat fee unlimited tapas style brunch, where you can try small plates of tasty food. It was the perfect brunch experience.

FAQs

Matchbox - One Loudoun does offer delivery in partnership with Caviar and Uber Eats. Matchbox - One Loudoun also offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at (571) 918-8024.

Matchbox - One Loudoun is rated 4.5 stars by 364 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.