Nara-Ya

4.6
67 reviews
$50 and over
Japanese
Nestled at the heart of the District Wharf, Nara-Ya brings traditional Japanese Cuisine with a modern inflection, helmed by Executive Chef Lucas Irwin and D.C. renowned Creative Culinary Director Kaz Okochi. Featuring an elegant alla carte menu, Nara-Ya takes pride in the culinary artistry of the traditional Japanese kitchen while advocating a personal responsibility to environmental demands. It is our practice to source out local produce while offering sustainable farm raised and wild caught global marine products, while maintaining an unparalleled dining experience at Nara-Ya. In addition, Nara-Ya boasts an extensive sake & Japanese whisky list, including exceptional offerings rarely seen outside of the islands of Japan. Accompanying the sake & whisky list is an intensive champagne and wine list accentuating our culinary offerings.

Reservations may be cancelled 24 hours in advance. Within 24 hours or no-shows will be 25.00 per guest fee

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
  • Diner temperature check required
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 67 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
A
Ashley
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food3service2ambience5

Ambiance is nice. Presentation looks great, but service didn’t match. Often waited long periods of time for water, refills, and we ordered the chef tasting no one explained what we were being offered. They charge the 20% Gratuity in your bills so perhaps there’s no incentive for the server to provide quality.

Nara-Ya
Responded 2 days ago

Good Afternoon, My sincere apologies for your experience. I have located your check and will be having a serious discussion with the server in question. Sometimes people may not like the food, but service should always be exemplary. Please reach out to me so I can make this right. Thank you, Michael

Report
A
Anonymous
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food1service1ambience3

Server took forever to check on us. We waited almost 30 minutes for our check, without getting our final course. Overall services was poor.

Ambience was nice, nice view of the water. However, food wasn't worth it.

Nara-Ya
Responded 2 days ago

Good Afternoon, My sincere apologies for your experience on Mother's Day. I could offer excuses and explanations but that won't make up for your poor experience. Please reach out to me and I'll do what it takes to make this right. Warm Regards, Michael

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Mother’s Day

Nara-Ya
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for your great review!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Austin
3 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service3ambience5

Great ambiance and amazing view of the water. Had a prix fixe menu with each person ordering 3 appetizers and 1 entree. Assumed we'd still be hungry after (tapas ya know) but the portions were honestly stunning and we were practically full before the entree. Recommend the Ramen, Clam Chowder, Tuna/Salmon Tower, Roasted Cauliflower and Fried Tofu (roughly in that order). Our waiter was kind of meh (honestly he was lucky the gratuity was included in the 20% Service Tax) but literally everyone else was delightful. Absolutely would recommend and go back.

Nara-Ya
Responded 2 days ago

Thanks for your great review! Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We came for the Mother’s Day Brunch and it was awesome! From our waiter, Angel, to the food, everything was perfect. My favorites were the Miso Clam Chowder and French Toast; and let’s not forget the fabulous drinks. My hubby and I will definitely be back.

Nara-Ya
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the great review! Happy you had a wonderful time.

Report
SP
StPP
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had not been inside a restaurant in over a year, and with full vaccinations we wanted to go someplace to really celebrate - WOW was this an incredible experience to get us back into the dining scene! The everything was wonderful - our server, Angel, made incredible recommendations and had just the right level of attention (not overbearing, not missing-in-action); the food was beautiful upon arrival at the table and delicious; and the cocktails were absolutely delicious. The whole staff helped us to celebrate our anniversary, as well as getting back out with people again. We highly recommend it!

Nara-Ya
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your great review! Love it! So happy you came and enjoyed yourselves. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
FR
FelipeR
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great food - absolute must try new restaurant in DC

Nara-Ya
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your great review!

Report
SL
SpoonieLuv
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall2food2service3ambience4

a trendy place with very overpriced mediocre food and drinks.

MK
McKenzie
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really loved this place! I enjoyed our waitress who was very knowledgeable and informed us of Japanese traditions, while being very patient and helpful. The ambiance and food was delicious. Of course in traditional American fashion I did wish portions were larger but we definitely enjoyed the meal and experience we had!

Nara-Ya
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for the great review! I've forwarded your feedback to our culinary team and we will be making changes in the near future. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report
K
Kiki
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 6 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was tasty. Portions could be bigger. My waiter was Angel & he was great & made great recommendations.

Nara-Ya
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for your great review! I've shared your feedback with our culinary team. We will be making adjustments in the near future. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Orange County
7 reviews
Dined on 6 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Angel was amazing! He recommended amazing food and cocktails. He also checked in to make sure we had everything we needed to enjoy ourselves! We’ll definitely ask for him next time we dine here.

E
Esqchica
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined on 5 May 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

With my brother-in-law in town to babysit, my husband and I snagged a date night. We attended a digital art exhibit at Artechouse and were excited to dine at nearby Nara-Ya. The model tall hostess led us to our table and was amenable when we asked to be seated by the window instead. The waitstaff, food servers and table buspeople obviously work as a team because the service was virtually seamless. The crispy cauliflower with shishito pepper and miso puree with forbidden rice was so delicious we placed an order for a second serving. When the white, sweet smoked wafted from the zuke tuna, we were salivating. We were not disappointed with the smooth, and flavorful tuna. The poached lobster roll with miso brown butter soy was simply fun on our palates! While the miso cured pompano fish was as delicate as they come, the roasted bone fish dashi sauce accompanying the fish was so perfect I wanted a hunk of bread to sop up the sauce! Deep dish matcha tiramisu appropriately served with a mini shovel shaped spoon was almost the perfect ending to our night out. I write “almost” because when the bill arrived we were surprised and a bit miffed to see a 20% “service charge”. Had we been clearly notified in advance, the charge would’ve caused no concern and our evening would’ve ended wonderfully. But to see the unexplained charge at the end of the meal caused us concern. Was every diner being charged, or just us? Was the charge a gratuity, a COVID cleaning charge, a way to more evenly distribute funds to the staff? There’s plenty of fine print on the menu. Surely there was space to explain the 20% service charge. Despite the delectable meal, the lack of transparency about the service charge left a bad taste in our mouths. Not the way we wanted to end our date night. We did not seek out management because we decided to give Nara-Ya management the benefit of the doubt and assume the 20% would be distributed to the staff.

TJ
TaylorJ
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 5 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sherette was amazing!!! Every dish was perfect. We really appreciate everyone at Nara-Ya for providing us with a beyond memorable experience. We will be back!

NC
NicoleC
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 2 May 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Ambience and service was great but the food wasn’t as good as other
Restaurants with the same price
Point.

Nara-Ya
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thank you for your overall good review. I've forwarded your feedback to our culinary team. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for coming in.

Report
ME
MicheleE
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a great experience and our waiter went above and beyond the food was delicious except the desert which was not great.

Nara-Ya
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thank you for your great review! Glad you had a wonderful experience. I've forwarded your feedback over to our culinary team. Thank you!

Report
FH
FaithH
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Very sexy and nice place to go to. Great fir dare night or a night out with friends

Nara-Ya
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report
MP
MyaP
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Very beautiful dinner. Perfect for girls night out!

Nara-Ya
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thank you for the great review! We love girls nights at Nara-Ya!

Report
EP
EllePea21
Washington DC
10 reviews
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was amazing! The drinks were beautiful and mostly/majority great too! The atmosphere was beautiful and trendy! Everything was so fresh and the service was quick and attentive. Expensive but worth it. Will definitely go again!

Nara-Ya
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thank you so much for this awesome feedback. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report
N
vipNikki
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

My husband & I were celebrating our 22nd year anniversary. Our server was extremely knowledgeable about the all of the menu options and the service that she provided was phenomenal. Overall excellent dining experience!

Nara-Ya
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thank you so much for the great review and thank you for spending your very special anniversary with us. Looking forward to seeing you and yours again!

Report
RB
RameshB
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on 1 May 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Roasted cauliflower was fantastic. Drinks were good. Wague Beef was excellent as served but for the money I believe they could have added another OZ....Scallops were wonderful''

.
Only thing i did not like was NaraYa Sushi....it did not have a fresh fish appeal....

Nara-Ya
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thank you for your great review! Sorry our sushi did not meet your expectations. I've sent feedback to our culinary team so we can work on improving it.

Report
c
vipchickeats
Charleston
9 reviews
Dined on 30 April 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Had a great meal here -- enjoyed the view, the ambience and the sushi. Great service as well. Would return!

Nara-Ya
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thank you for the excellent review!

Report
JB
JudithB
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 30 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Just discovered this Wharf restaurant and will be sure to return. Food and service outstanding. A bit expensive, but par for the course at the Wharf. Great waterfront view. Lovely all around.

Nara-Ya
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thank you for your awesome review! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report
NG
vipNikkiG
Richmond
3 reviews
Dined on 29 April 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Not even sure how it’s rated but that’s even overrated and overpriced! Made to pay. $10 “cleaning fee” on a $450 for 2 person check! If I wanted to clean I would have stayed home! Food was salty and mediocre!

DL
DLon
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

I went here for my birthday dinner and had an amazing time. Christian provided us with the best service. I would have liked to have a sample of all of the vegan food because everything looked so great but I’ll definitely be back soon!

Nara-Ya
Responded on 4 May 2021

Thank you for the great review! We have added the tasting menu back to the menu as of this last weekend. Thank you for the great feedback for Christian. I let him know and he says "Thank you" Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report
MW
MichelleW
San Diego
1 review
Dined on 24 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was such a great experience and the food was amazing

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 24 April 2021
Overall3food4service1ambience5

Service was below average. Our server wasn’t very attentive or friendly which was extremely disheartening because this was my boyfriend and I’s first time at the restaurant. The food was delicious and beautifully plated. The weather was very overcast but the view of the water was still great. There was a 20% tip added to the bill automatically which usually wouldn’t bother me but for the type of service we received I found it to be ridiculous.

JF
JackF
Baltimore
8 reviews
Dined on 24 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Beautiful restaurant. Well priced for the area and tasty food. I would return.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 23 April 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience5

I thoroughly enjoyed my time. The food and service was amazing.

WT
WorldTraveler
Anchorage
14 reviews
Dined on 23 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely and relaxing dinner. Very tasty and beautiful experience. The serving style for each was well thought out. Very knowledgeable waitstaff. I missed having their tasting menu so I will need to come back to see what other beautiful surprises await. The only thing which could have been better was there is only 1 elevator so hard to obtain social distancing getting in/out, but here is a stairway next to the elevator which I will take next time.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New Orleans
2 reviews
Dined on 21 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Eel roll is one of the best sushi rolls I’ve ever had!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 20 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Nara-Ya was amazing! The wait times were wonderful and the food was amazing. The check in due to COVID was easy and the staff is 10/10. Can’t wait to go back!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Atlanta
2 reviews
Dined on 20 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was my first time visiting Nara-ya and it exceeded all of my expectations!
No effort has been spared creating a lush ambience and the attention to detail is impeccable; even right down to how your check is delivered. BONUS: wait until you see the restroom!
10/10!
If you’re thinking about going this is your sign to just go. Run!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
6 reviews
Dined on 18 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I had fun and enjoyed myself. The food was really good and environment was calm and aesthetically pleasing!

CS
401CoryS
Toronto
9 reviews
Dined on 17 April 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Loved the vibe. Entire table enjoyed the food but agreed the sushi was disappointing.

Would recommend.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on 17 April 2021
Overall2food1service3ambience2

Beautiful water views and tasty cocktails, food probably the worse food that I ever had in DC.

Everything was extremely salty, when I said salty I meant it. The miso clam chowder was watery and salty as sea, also the first time that I had a sushi roll that I had to return because of how salty it was, the prawn was the only edible item that we enjoy, the flavors of the tiradito were good but the texture of the fish was extremely odd.

I feel like the chefs there need Edit on they food. They are trying too hard and are missing the elegance on the food and don’t let the ingredients shine on they own. They are forcing too much

We decided to leave before ordering main courses and desserts because we were afraid of the salt. I had to run to the cvs because of the pain in my stomach because all the salt.

Nara-Ya
Responded on 19 April 2021

Thank you for the positive note on the views. Our food is typically excellent across the board. I am sorry to hear that you thought some of the items were too salty. Our miso soup does have salt in it, though we taste it when we make it each day to ensure it is not too salty. As for the sushi roll I am unsure how it would have become salty. I have discussed the situation with our culinary team and our Culinary Director Kaz Okochi. Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for visiting DC.

Report
ZM
ZainebM
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 17 April 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Really good, however plates were too small and too pricey for the size.

JL
JacquesL
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 14 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service, would recommend anyone to check it out won’t be disappointed

Nara-Ya
Responded on 18 April 2021

Thank you so much for your great review!

Report
RM
vipRohanM
Washington DC
7 reviews
Dined on 11 April 2021
Overall3food5service1ambience5

Fantastic quality of fish, service left much, much to be desired.

Waiter was inattentive — most of the time there was spent trying to flag him down to take our order.

Cocktails took ~30 minutes to arrive, after first course despite being ordered first.

Unlikely to return.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on 10 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food, excellent service, excellent ambiance

R
Rachel
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on 10 April 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

I appreciate the thoughtful vegan options on the menu. Cocktails and decor were great too!

FAQs

Nara-Ya is rated 4.6 stars by 67 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.