Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. London
  4. West End London
  5. St. James's
PAPA L's KITCHEN, St James's, London

PAPA L's KITCHEN

4.6
4.6
440 Reviews
£41 and over
African
PAPA L’s KITCHEN is a pioneer of modern African cuisine. We are passionate about creating a unique, shared dining experience, combining the exotic ingredients and flavours of Africa with cuisine from around the world. Executive Chef Gomez has put together an exciting winter menu with some of his signature dishes such as The grilled King Tiger Prawns, Tempura Okra, BBQ Lamb Cutlets and Honey Glazed Salmon. Lawrence's career started at The Ivy in West Street and he has also worked in establishments such as Sexy Fish and Scott's in Mayfair. Lawrence has just recently returned from Annabel's pop-up restaurant in Saudi Arabia where he was Executive Chef. PAPA L's creates a relax vibe with a good playlist and a very organic ambience which is part of the PAPA L's Experience.




Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable booking network.

If you like, we'll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.


Is this your restaurant?
Claim this listing

Additional information

  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Price
    £41 and over
  • Cuisines
    African, International, West African
  • Hours of Operation
    Dinner Wed–Sat 17:00–23:00
  • Phone number
    020 7434 3697
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Dress Code
    Smart Casual
  • Executive Chef
    Lawrence Gomez
  • Private party facilities
    Available upon request - please direct all enquiries to www.papalskitchen.com/bookings
  • Area
    St. James's
  • Parking Details
    Mon - Sat 8:30am - 6:30pm Pay By Phone Max Stay 4 Hours
  • Public Transit
    TRAINS - Piccadilly Circus (1min walk) Buses: 12, 88, 94, 453, 8, 9, 139 and 159
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Vegan, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What 440 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

4.6
4.6 based on recent ratings
  • 4.7Food
  • 4.6Service
  • 4.4Ambience
  • 4.4Value

NoiseEnergetic

440 Reviews
  1. MarkB

    San Francisco

    6 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    6 reviews

    Dined on 9 November 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    It was a wonderful experience with somebody that had a lot of knowledge about food and culture. It was also quiet and quaint which I absolutely loved.

    Is this helpful?

  2. OyinkansolaA

    London

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 4 November 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 3
    Really delicious food and tasty cocktails. Additionally lovely staff. The key area of improvement is the decor and ambience, which could definitely be improved. The atmosphere and vibes should be more reflective of the chef's background and influence and match the location to provide a more classy and dining experience

    Is this helpful?

  3. NubianGem

    London

    21 reviews

    5.0

    21 reviews

    Dined on 4 November 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    I visited on 04/11/2023, with three friends who hadn’t been to Papa L’s before. They all really enjoyed the food and were glad to be introduced to Papa L’s. The food and service is always excellent hence I have visited a few times. I will definitely visit again, I and keep telling friends and family to visit and enjoy the excellent food.

    Is this helpful?

  4. Adam

    Bristol

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 3 November 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Outstanding food and cocktails. Good number of options. Service was a little bit slow and the price was a bit more than expected but overall a fantastic experience. Would 100% recommend.

    Is this helpful?

  5. Jackie

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 28 October 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 4
    3. Service 4
    4. Ambience 4
    Nice experience, good portions. The cassava fries was my favorite

    Is this helpful?

  6. Dave

    Berkshire

    2 reviews

    2.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 28 October 2023

    1. Overall 2
    2. Food 3
    3. Service 1
    4. Ambience 2
    Food was ok, nothing too exciting, service was shambolic, floors, walls and fittings are falling apart

    Is this helpful?

  7. jandr

    London

    4 reviews

    5.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 27 October 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 4
    The food was amazing & staffs were nice and friendly. Visited for my friend’s birthday for the first time, definitely will visit again.

    Is this helpful?

  8. EricaC

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 27 October 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Food was delicious and waiter provided exceptional service. Portion sizes for meals were perfect also. Would highly recommend.

    Is this helpful?

  9. YOsi

    London

    15 reviews

    5.0

    15 reviews

    Dined on 21 October 2023

    1. Overall 5
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 5
    Amazing food and excellent customer service. This is my favourite restaurant in the west end.

    Is this helpful?

  10. FoodieSel

    London

    13 reviews

    vip
    4.0

    13 reviews

    Dined on 14 October 2023

    1. Overall 4
    2. Food 5
    3. Service 5
    4. Ambience 3
    I had the kings prawns as an entree and the lamb chops. The king prawns were divine as I love spicy food. The lamb was so tender. Overall I enjoyed the food but I think the deco could be improved to be more aligned with prices.

    Is this helpful?

FAQs

PAPA L's KITCHEN is rated 4.6 stars by 440 OpenTable diners.

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable booking network.

If you like, we'll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.


Is this your restaurant?
Claim this listing
Google Map for PAPA L's KITCHEN

16-17 Jermyn Street, St James's, London SW1Y 6LT

Additional information

  • Area
    St. James's
  • Hours of Operation
    Dinner Wed–Sat 17:00–23:00
  • Price
    £41 and over
  • Cuisines
    African, International, West African
  • Dining style
    Casual Dining
  • Dress Code
    Smart Casual
  • Parking Details
    Mon - Sat 8:30am - 6:30pm Pay By Phone Max Stay 4 Hours
  • Public Transit
    TRAINS - Piccadilly Circus (1min walk) Buses: 12, 88, 94, 453, 8, 9, 139 and 159
  • Payment Options
    AMEX, Mastercard, Visa
  • Executive Chef
    Lawrence Gomez
  • Additional
    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Vegan, Wheelchair Access, Wine
  • Phone number
    020 7434 3697
  • Private party facilities
    Available upon request - please direct all enquiries to www.papalskitchen.com/bookings
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Impressum
  • Cookies and Interest-Based Ads
  • Cookie Preferences
Copyright © 2024 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 500, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking Logo
Priceline Logo
KAYAK Logo
Agoda Logo
OpenTable Logo