POMONA’S

4.3
100 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary British
Top tags:
  • Brunch
  • Neighbourhood Gem
  • Healthy
Pomona’s restaurant and bar proudly presents a British menu from Chef Ruth Hansom
Ethically sourced local produce, from the land, sea and earth. A relaxed fine dining atmosphere, with seasonal all-day menus, sharing plates and tasting menu, can be enjoyed inside or out, with a glass of wine or a bespoke cocktail created by our award-winning mixologist.
What 100 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
JC
London
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Terrible service. The staff didn't seem to know what they were serving.
Waited for at least 20 minutes before we even got a drink.
Offered a 10% discount which I did not ask for - they shouldn't have charged at all.
I felt terribly embarrassed to have taken my business colleagues from Sweden.

POMONA’S
Responded 18 hours ago

Dear John, Thank you for the review and apologies that you had an unpleasant experience. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service here at Pomona's and on this occasion we clearly fell short. Please can you email me your feedback and I would like to invite you back to join us in the future. Regards, Jay Decker Restaurant Director, jay@pomonas.co.uk

Report
Helpful
AA
London
3 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

It's a very nice and kids friendly place. U thought it was a bit overpriced for the portions you get

Report
Helpful
E
London
5 reviews
Dined on 4 May 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 5

Change of chef and of menu this week. Not quite the same. The new portions are actually now quite small. Someone had the tuna and was tiny. Gutted that the buttermilk bennedicts are no longer on the menu.
Might give it another go before a final decision but left disappointed that one of our favourite new spots is no longer “there”. On the upside, the staff and ambiance is still fab !

POMONA’S
Responded on 7 May 2019

Dear Elle, Thank you for the review. At Pomona's we strive for excellence so I am glad to read that you still enjoyed the staff and ambience. We are very excited to announce the arrival of our new chef. Ruth Hansom is a multi award winning chef and champions using only the freshest, locally sourced and seasonal British produce. The menu has plenty of variety so we're confident you'll find something more to your liking next time. Please email me jay@pomonas.co.uk if you would like to return.

Report
Helpful
SC
London
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 1

Food was good however the service was poor with the server not even knowing what dishes were served on the menu

POMONA’S
Responded on 3 May 2019

The day you dined with us was actually the launch of our brand new summer menu and clearly you experience some teething problems. Over the last month we have done extensive menu training and tastings and so I am disappointed to hear your comments. At Pomona's we pride ourselves on giving excellent customer service and I am sorry that on this occasion we fell short. My email is jay@pomonas.co.uk, I would like to investigate your comments and invite you back in the future. Jay, Restaurant Director

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 29 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Food is decent, on a higher end for its value.

POMONA’S
Responded on 9 May 2019

Thank you for the review. Since your last visit we have now launched our wonderful new Summer menu. We do hope you come and visit us again soon.

Report
Helpful
AL
London
5 reviews
Dined on 28 April 2019
Overall 1food 1service 3ambience 1

If you have kids and want to have lunch in the middle of a kids playground - then this is the place!!

POMONA’S
Responded on 3 May 2019

Dear Agathe, At Pomona's we pride ourselves on giving excellent customer service and I am sorry that on this occasion we fell short. We have listened to the feedback over the weekend and will be implementing a new procedure that avoids this situation occurring in the future. My email is jay@pomonas.co.uk, I would like to invite you back in the future. Jay, Restaurant Director

Report
Helpful
R
London
2 reviews
Dined on 28 April 2019
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 1

Bad service.
Owner to nstressed our and speaks impolitely to customers.

POMONA’S
Responded on 3 May 2019

Dear Rhty, At Pomona's we pride ourselves on giving excellent customer service. Pomona's is not a playground and we do have some basic rules regarding small children to help ensure that the venue a desirable restaurant for everyone. My email is jay@pomonas.co.uk, If you would like to discuss the matter further. Jay, Restaurant Director

Report
Helpful
JS
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Friendly staff and easy family dining option for younger kids. Will come again!

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 26 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Good all round meal and experience

Report
Helpful
E
London
5 reviews
Dined on 21 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Love the buttermilk eggs Benedict. To die for. Such a lovely place. Looking forward to the terrace being opened.

POMONA’S
Responded on 3 May 2019

Great news!! The garden is now open!

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 7 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Really friendly service. Nice food and pretty good ambiance.

POMONA’S
Responded on 12 April 2019

Thank you for your review:) We hope to have you back soon! Pomona's Team

Report
Helpful
SF
London
32 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 4

Lovely neighbourhood restaurant! We really like Pomona's - not just because it's dog friendly. The service is normally great but they were packed for mother's day and it was super busy and noisy. Most of the meals at our table of 5 were great (the crumpets weren't toasted properly and our waiter forgot a couple of things). Overall we'll definitely go back again. The menu is healthy and changes regularly. They do need more for vegans though. Tx.

POMONA’S
Responded on 12 April 2019

Dear SFC43, Many thanks for your constructive review. We were indeed quite busy on Mother's day and did feel our service fell below our usual standards. We have however taken the matter into action as we pride ourselves on bringing excellent service. Our summer menu will be live early May along with the opening of our terrace. We will then be offering a wider range of plant based dishes:) We hope to see you back soon! Pomona's Team

Report
Helpful
CC
London
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Really welcoming and family friendly environment, great food, great staff will definitely return x

POMONA’S
Responded on 12 April 2019

Thank you for your lovely review! We hope to have you back soon. Pomona's Team

Report
Helpful
NZ
London
1 review
Dined on 27 March 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

Food was outstanding, we also really liked the atmosphere and the service was good, but you should tell the waitress that you don't make people taste a wine that had a plastic cork...otherwise fantastic!

POMONA’S
Responded on 12 April 2019

Dear NicolaZ, Thank you for your lovely feedback! We are pleased you had a great time. As for the tasting of the wine, it is just a question of etiquette- we like to remain theatrical. You would be surprised but you can get oxidised wine even with synthetic cork, although this is less likely to happen. We hope to have you back soon! Pomona's Team

Report
Helpful
N
London
1 review
Dined on 10 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The brunch was really good, and as we had 4 kids around the table we were happy that colouring pencils and plastic cups + nice kids menu were provided. We even managed to have proper adult conversations. There is plenty of room to store buggies and accomodate high chairs. The service was good and efficient. The only negative was that the music was quite loud and it's not what you really want on a Sunday morning for brunch.

Report
Helpful
OT
Berlin
3 reviews
Dined on 24 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

I wish they would open the outside area as the kids like to stand up from the table fairly quickly and that is an ideal place to be., especially seeing that for us one of the main attractions is that the place is spacious and airy and provides some breathing space for the children.

Report
Helpful
EW
London
2 reviews
Dined on 16 February 2019
Overall 1food 2service 3ambience 2

Totally empty on a Saturday night so not the best atmosphere. Very few vegetarian options and food was unimaginative and didn’t come across as being very fresh (main dish was quite cold, salad seemed to have sweet chilli sauce on it)... wouldn’t come back especially not for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on 9 February 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 3

The food tasted like plastic!!! We were 5 girls , each of us ordered something different and none of us were capable of finishing our plates due to lack of flavor! When we expressed our concern to the waitress she completely ignored and disregarded us. Such a shame for a restaurant with a cute Instagramable design.

Report
Helpful
NM
London
1 review
Dined on 9 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always good I hope people continue to support this place as it’s be a shame for it to close down ever! Keep up the good work POMONA’S

Report
Helpful
AK
London
2 reviews
Dined on 31 December 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

New year celebration

Report
Helpful
OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 31 December 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Truly wonderful restaurant

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on 26 December 2018
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Great for family and kids!

Report
Helpful
OT
London
4 reviews
Dined on 25 November 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Chilled and relaxed. Good food and fun atmosphere

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 25 November 2018
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

My partner loved the steak hash! I ordered the buttermilk pancakes expecting to be really soft and fluffy like how it was 2 years ago. It was good but not what I had in mind.

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 2 November 2018
Overall 3food 5service 4ambience 1

We are both very familiar with the higher end spectrum of restaurant, and I must say I was extremely impressed with the quality of food! However it was slightly ruined by the absolutely plain atmosphere, and cheap looking furniture (I'm an interior architect and would be happy to go through and help you get a better atmosphere free of charge, that's how much I believe in you really succeed) also be aware of the sink in the loo, it splashes everywhere!

Report
Helpful
QP
London
22 reviews
Dined on 28 October 2018
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 2

The restaurant has the feel of a children’s nursery, and not because it was filled with children, although it was. I think it’s a decent place for families looking to unwind with small kids but I would not go there for other occasions. The service was friendly and attentive. The food was alright although expensive relative to the size of the portions.

Report
Helpful
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 28 October 2018
Overall 5food 3service 4ambience 3

Great wagyu burger. Family friendly place

Report
Helpful
H
London
30 reviews
Dined on 23 September 2018
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

It was quite different to what I expected! Much brighter, more colourful and energetic than it appears from the outside. The food is superb and it has a fun feeling to it. Would return

Report
Helpful
OT
London
2 reviews
Dined on 23 September 2018
Overall 5food 3service 5ambience 5

Friendly and attentive staff, breakfast was pleasant and as expected however nothing ‘wow’. Would go back for a friendly breakfast or lunch again.

Report
Helpful
JC
London
7 reviews
Dined on 17 September 2018
Overall 2food 4service 1ambience 2

The food was good, however, some of the staff seemed more concerned with their personal affairs than the task at hand.

This restaurant is billed as a smart place to eat, however, it is really only a step up from an independent surf and turf establishment.

Report
Helpful
J
Edinburgh
5 reviews
Dined on 13 September 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Brilliant service and very tasty light lunch menu. we had peaches with burratta and crab toast which were both delicious. Cocktails are also great!

Report
Helpful
V
London
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Beautiful restaurant, its really nice to be in London and feel like its overseas somewhere sunny! I had a business lunch here and staff and food were fantastic.

Report
Helpful
RO
Cambridge
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Booked a table for myself for a post-matinee theatre visit. On arrival, all staff were extremely friendly & helpful - a great asset setting the tone for the evening. The venue is light & airy, with an outside area for warmer weather. I was seated close to the open kitchen, so could watch the chefs in action (always good if youre a lone diner) & see their creations as the dishes were taken to tables. I had decided to forego a full meal as I was travelling straight afterwards & didnt want to risk falling asleep, so I chose a main of Belly Pork - beautifully cooked, full of flavour & with THE best crackling! I also had a rather good cocktail - an Aperol Spritz (yumyum).

Great to see a really talented chef heading the kitchen & I am certainly intending to visit many more times in the future. Congrats to all, & thank you for a perfect visit.

Report
Helpful
BW
London
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

a very nice experience with a good selection of good food, the food was second to none as was the table service, we were made to feel our custom was valued and the decor was clean and modern will certainly visit again once we return to London.

Report
Helpful
J
London
4 reviews
Dined on 23 August 2018
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 3

It was really quiet which was odd for a Thursday night. We were one of three tables there. Servers were very nice. The food was good but the burger was extremely salty. Would try it again because it might have just been an off night.

Report
Helpful
CL
1 review
Dined on 5 August 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The team was great, efficient and friendly. The food was amazing and consistent. The best was probably the nice terasse!
Well done, we will come back soon :-)

Report
Helpful
GM
London
3 reviews
Dined on 1 August 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Really excellent service - added to a really super evening!

Report
Helpful
PW
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2018
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 2

Our first visit to Pomona and disappointing. On arriving the ambience was low energy and the service was ‘tries hard but poorly trained’. Food just about Ok. Very empty for a Friday night yet we got no sense the cares whether we were there or not.

Report
Helpful
CR
1 review
Dined on 25 July 2018
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 4

Good service, great presentation, but the food just didn’t come up to scratch, overall poor value...hopefully it all looked good on paper ind to the eye, but the taste and execution was in the end poor and consequently expensive...shame

Report
Helpful
C
London
11 reviews
Dined on 14 July 2018
Overall 2food 1service 2ambience 3

the garden was nice but food was not good and very scarce, we all had to get two mains each to be able to have enough food dinner

Report
Helpful
1
2
3