POMONA’S

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
121 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£26 to £40
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary British

Top tags:

Casual
Pomona’s restaurant and bar proudly presents a British menu from Chef Ruth Hansom
Ethically sourced local produce, from the land, sea and earth. A relaxed fine dining atmosphere, with seasonal all-day menus, sharing plates and tasting menu, can be enjoyed inside or out, with a glass of wine or a bespoke cocktail created by our award-winning mixologist.
What 121 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
A
1 review
Dined on 13 October 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

Nice atmosphere and decor. However the food was nothing special. Typical brunch and the quantities quite small. Something that you could find in any other brunch place. The cocktails were a bit overrated. Ordered the mushroom fricassee with poached eggs but the eggs were clearly not poached but soft boiled.
In overall, nice to try out but would not go back any time soon.

s
London
51 reviews
Dined on 5 October 2019
Overall 4food 4service 2ambience 3

Had a family meal, celebrating my mother in law's birthday. We were greeted by friendly receptionists. Lovely decor and interesting menu choices. Some of us wanted to try the tasting menu and others wanted to go a la carte but we were told this wasn't possible so the whole table opted for the a la carte. All dishes were great - Halibut, Duck and Bavette steak superbly cooked and we were very impressed with the chips too (extremely fluffy inside & crispy on the outside). Starters were lovely too - cauliflower dish had amazing flavour even though I would have liked it slightly less cooked. The only downside was the waiting staff who seemed enthusiastic but we just didn't feel comfortable with. We felt he was trying to come across very sophisticated and fluent in the way he tried to describe the menu. What made it difficult/awkward was when he took the bread plates away even before any of us had a chance to eat the bread and as he did so, he said to us that 'oh our restaurant do not charge for the bread'. He may have had a good intention but to us, it just came across as though he assumed none of us ate the bread for not wanting to be charged.... whereas, in reality, our bread was served and he took the plates away within a few min... Although my husband was rather offended by this exchange, we decided to try and not let it ruin our lovely dinner and we certainly did enjoy the food and wine. I would be happy to recommend the restaurant for its food to my friends but perhaps with a small caveat of our experience.

SL
1 review
Dined on 1 October 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 2

I was so excited to bring my Australian family to this restaurant to sample British food - amazing local produce and amazing flavours
However I think the menu was overly fussy - and my tuna was very bland, and the whole menu was very Expensive - especially the wine and overly fussy and small portions s
It was a shame the ingredients weren’t allowed to just shine through
Although a nice try I don’t feel the food justified the price

KA
London
1 review
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 4

The place is nice in terms of design and ambience, althouth the portions are ridiculisly small. I cannot recommend it as a restaurant. Hugely overpriced

OT
London
1 review
Dined on 15 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Delicious food and excellent service!!!
Looooove it!

l
London
1 review
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Excellent menu - all our party thought the food excellent. Good service and pleasant ambience. Very happy evening.

KY
London
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent service with great food & presentation. Enjoyable evening.

V
London
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

We had a very enjoyable time at the restaurant. The food was delicious & the waiter was very attentive.

Y
London
32 reviews
Dined on 21 August 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Quiet on an August evening. Lovely outside seating and very pleasant food and service.

R
London
17 reviews
Dined on 16 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Cute interior with a lovely garden. Great seasonal menu and service

m
London
1 review
Dined on 7 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 2

Very small portions, expensive (even for Notting Hik)

M
London
1 review
Dined on 23 July 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 5

I used to love the menu at pomonas but it became a bit too healthy and complicated. The scrambled eggs were a bit liquid and the salmon wasn't exceptional for the price. But the service is outstanding, as always.

S
London
7 reviews
Dined on 12 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Stylish sunlit spaces inside and out. Relaxed ambience and understated, but efficient service. Every single morsel of food was delicious.

OT
London
5 reviews
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Very nice diner, nice set up and service. Would definitely come back.

E
London
2 reviews
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

beautiful quiet, quirky restaurant in nottinghill! perfect for brunch, lunch or dinner with friends!!

OT
London
2 reviews
Dined on 5 July 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Cute venue with delicious food

DJ
Charleston
9 reviews
Dined on 21 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The dishes were creative with quality ingredients. Lovely relaxing meal.

SD
Los Angeles
6 reviews
Dined on 16 June 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 5

Nice atmosphere, good service, good food although the portions are quite small for the price. Very nice that they accept dogs.

A
London
10 reviews
Dined on 8 June 2019
Overall 2food 3service 5ambience 3

The branch portions are tiny for the money you pay (pretty much a piece of toast with something on top). The sides are expensive too. We paid £90 for 3 people and left feeling hungry. The chocolate fondant dessert was very good and we recommend it. It's a nice place for coffee and dessert but not for food.

HS
1 review
Dined on 24 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 2ambience 4

The ambiance was lovely but the food was really disappointing and terribly over priced. We went for a birthday and came a long way, but it was just ok. The food came really slowly, and we had the veggie tasting menu which was interesting but a lot of the dishes were similar and there wasn't much of it. Desert was delicious. I left feeling a bit disappointed and wished we'd gone somewhere else.

JC
London
1 review
Dined on 22 May 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Terrible service. The staff didn't seem to know what they were serving.
Waited for at least 20 minutes before we even got a drink.
Offered a 10% discount which I did not ask for - they shouldn't have charged at all.
I felt terribly embarrassed to have taken my business colleagues from Sweden.

POMONA’S
Responded on 24 May 2019

Dear John, Thank you for the review and apologies that you had an unpleasant experience. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service here at Pomona's and on this occasion we clearly fell short. Please can you email me your feedback and I would like to invite you back to join us in the future. Regards, Jay Decker Restaurant Director, jay@pomonas.co.uk

Report
AA
London
3 reviews
Dined on 18 May 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

It's a very nice and kids friendly place. U thought it was a bit overpriced for the portions you get

U
London
107 reviews
Dined on 12 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always lovely food and the best cafe to come with kids

E
London
5 reviews
Dined on 4 May 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 5

Change of chef and of menu this week. Not quite the same. The new portions are actually now quite small. Someone had the tuna and was tiny. Gutted that the buttermilk bennedicts are no longer on the menu.
Might give it another go before a final decision but left disappointed that one of our favourite new spots is no longer “there”. On the upside, the staff and ambiance is still fab !

POMONA’S
Responded on 7 May 2019

Dear Elle, Thank you for the review. At Pomona's we strive for excellence so I am glad to read that you still enjoyed the staff and ambience. We are very excited to announce the arrival of our new chef. Ruth Hansom is a multi award winning chef and champions using only the freshest, locally sourced and seasonal British produce. The menu has plenty of variety so we're confident you'll find something more to your liking next time. Please email me jay@pomonas.co.uk if you would like to return.

Report
SC
London
1 review
Dined on 1 May 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 1

Food was good however the service was poor with the server not even knowing what dishes were served on the menu

POMONA’S
Responded on 3 May 2019

The day you dined with us was actually the launch of our brand new summer menu and clearly you experience some teething problems. Over the last month we have done extensive menu training and tastings and so I am disappointed to hear your comments. At Pomona's we pride ourselves on giving excellent customer service and I am sorry that on this occasion we fell short. My email is jay@pomonas.co.uk, I would like to investigate your comments and invite you back in the future. Jay, Restaurant Director

Report
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 29 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Food is decent, on a higher end for its value.

POMONA’S
Responded on 9 May 2019

Thank you for the review. Since your last visit we have now launched our wonderful new Summer menu. We do hope you come and visit us again soon.

Report
AL
London
6 reviews
Dined on 28 April 2019
Overall 1food 1service 3ambience 1

If you have kids and want to have lunch in the middle of a kids playground - then this is the place!!

POMONA’S
Responded on 3 May 2019

Dear Agathe, At Pomona's we pride ourselves on giving excellent customer service and I am sorry that on this occasion we fell short. We have listened to the feedback over the weekend and will be implementing a new procedure that avoids this situation occurring in the future. My email is jay@pomonas.co.uk, I would like to invite you back in the future. Jay, Restaurant Director

Report
R
London
2 reviews
Dined on 28 April 2019
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 1

Bad service.
Owner to nstressed our and speaks impolitely to customers.

POMONA’S
Responded on 3 May 2019

Dear Rhty, At Pomona's we pride ourselves on giving excellent customer service. Pomona's is not a playground and we do have some basic rules regarding small children to help ensure that the venue a desirable restaurant for everyone. My email is jay@pomonas.co.uk, If you would like to discuss the matter further. Jay, Restaurant Director

Report
JS
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Friendly staff and easy family dining option for younger kids. Will come again!

OT
London
1 review
Dined on 26 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Good all round meal and experience

E
London
5 reviews
Dined on 21 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Love the buttermilk eggs Benedict. To die for. Such a lovely place. Looking forward to the terrace being opened.

POMONA’S
Responded on 3 May 2019

Great news!! The garden is now open!

Report
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 7 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Really friendly service. Nice food and pretty good ambiance.

POMONA’S
Responded on 12 April 2019

Thank you for your review:) We hope to have you back soon! Pomona's Team

Report
SF
London
32 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 4

Lovely neighbourhood restaurant! We really like Pomona's - not just because it's dog friendly. The service is normally great but they were packed for mother's day and it was super busy and noisy. Most of the meals at our table of 5 were great (the crumpets weren't toasted properly and our waiter forgot a couple of things). Overall we'll definitely go back again. The menu is healthy and changes regularly. They do need more for vegans though. Tx.

POMONA’S
Responded on 12 April 2019

Dear SFC43, Many thanks for your constructive review. We were indeed quite busy on Mother's day and did feel our service fell below our usual standards. We have however taken the matter into action as we pride ourselves on bringing excellent service. Our summer menu will be live early May along with the opening of our terrace. We will then be offering a wider range of plant based dishes:) We hope to see you back soon! Pomona's Team

Report
CC
London
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Really welcoming and family friendly environment, great food, great staff will definitely return x

POMONA’S
Responded on 12 April 2019

Thank you for your lovely review! We hope to have you back soon. Pomona's Team

Report
NZ
London
1 review
Dined on 27 March 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

Food was outstanding, we also really liked the atmosphere and the service was good, but you should tell the waitress that you don't make people taste a wine that had a plastic cork...otherwise fantastic!

POMONA’S
Responded on 12 April 2019

Dear NicolaZ, Thank you for your lovely feedback! We are pleased you had a great time. As for the tasting of the wine, it is just a question of etiquette- we like to remain theatrical. You would be surprised but you can get oxidised wine even with synthetic cork, although this is less likely to happen. We hope to have you back soon! Pomona's Team

Report
N
London
1 review
Dined on 10 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The brunch was really good, and as we had 4 kids around the table we were happy that colouring pencils and plastic cups + nice kids menu were provided. We even managed to have proper adult conversations. There is plenty of room to store buggies and accomodate high chairs. The service was good and efficient. The only negative was that the music was quite loud and it's not what you really want on a Sunday morning for brunch.

OT
Berlin
4 reviews
Dined on 24 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

I wish they would open the outside area as the kids like to stand up from the table fairly quickly and that is an ideal place to be., especially seeing that for us one of the main attractions is that the place is spacious and airy and provides some breathing space for the children.

EW
London
2 reviews
Dined on 16 February 2019
Overall 1food 2service 3ambience 2

Totally empty on a Saturday night so not the best atmosphere. Very few vegetarian options and food was unimaginative and didn’t come across as being very fresh (main dish was quite cold, salad seemed to have sweet chilli sauce on it)... wouldn’t come back especially not for a special occasion.

OT
1 review
Dined on 9 February 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 3

The food tasted like plastic!!! We were 5 girls , each of us ordered something different and none of us were capable of finishing our plates due to lack of flavor! When we expressed our concern to the waitress she completely ignored and disregarded us. Such a shame for a restaurant with a cute Instagramable design.

NM
London
1 review
Dined on 9 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always good I hope people continue to support this place as it’s be a shame for it to close down ever! Keep up the good work POMONA’S

1
2
3
4